Font Size


The Mississippi Division of Medicaid is a state and federal program created by the Social Security Amendments of 1965 (PL 89-97), authorized by Title XIX of the Social Security Act to provide health coverage for eligible, low income populations. All 50 states, five territories of the United States and District of Columbia participate in this voluntary matching program.

Mississippi Division of Medicaid Mission

The Mississippi Division of Medicaid responsibly provides access to quality health coverage for vulnerable Mississippians.

Mississippi Division of Medicaid Values

We are committed to accomplishing our mission by conducting operations with:

  • Accountability
  • Consistency
  • Respect

Mississippi Medicaid Background

In 1969, Medicaid was enacted by the Mississippi Legislature. The Mississippi Division of Medicaid, in the Office of the Governor, is designated by state statute as the single state agency responsible for administering Medicaid in Mississippi. The Mississippi Division of Medicaid has more than 900 employees located throughout one central office, 30 regional offices and over 80 outstations. Find a regional office or outstation that serves your county of residence.

Each state runs its own Medicaid program within federal guidelines, jointly funded by state and federal dollars. For Medicaid, the Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) is used to calculate the amount of federal matching funds for state medical services expenditures. The Social Security Act requires the Secretary of Health and Human Services to calculate and publish the FMAP annually.

What is Medicaid?

Medicaid provides health coverage for eligible, low income populations in Mississippi. These populations include children, low-income families, pregnant women, the aged and disabled. Eligible members do not directly receive money from Medicaid for health benefits. Enrolled and qualified Medicaid providers are reimbursed for health services.

Who is Eligible for Medicaid?

States must cover mandatory eligibility groups defined by federal law, but they have flexibility over covering optional eligibility groups. Eligibility for these groups is determined by a number of factors including family size, income and the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). Eligibility for people who receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and the aged, blind or disabled, are based on additional requirements such as income and resource limits.

Medicaid Versus Medicare

Medicaid is a jointly funded, state and federal government program that provides health coverage for eligible, low income populations. These populations vary by state and typically include children, low income families, pregnant women, the elderly and disabled.

Medicare is a federal insurance program that primarily provides health coverage to people age 65 and older, younger disabled and dialysis patients. Income is not an eligibility factor for Medicare.