Font Size

Office of Mental Health Programs

Mental health programs provide a way for people to get the mental health treatment they need in a variety of settings, depending on age and conditions. However, several of our programs are limited to children under age 21. Some services are not covered, while others may require a specific diagnosis to be covered. Additionally, some services require prior authorization for coverage. Geriatric psychiatric services are not covered. The Office of Mental Health programs is comprised of two divisions: Mental Health Services and Special Mental Health Initiatives.

Mental Health Programs
The Mental Health Programs division oversee the following programs:

  • Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID)
  • Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR)

Special Mental Health Initiatives
The Special Mental Health Initiatives division oversee the following programs:

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) Services
  • Community Support Program 1915(I)
  • Intellectual Disabilities/Developmental Disabilities (ID/DD) Waiver
  • Mississippi Youth Programs Around the Clock (MYPAC)
  • Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Services

Mental Health Services
The Mental Health Services Division oversees the following programs:

  • Acute Freestanding Psychiatric Facilities
  • Community/Private Mental Health Centers (CMHC/PMHC)
  • Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) and Rural Health Clinics (RHC)
  • Outpatient Mental Health Hospital Services
  • Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF)
  • Psychiatric Units at General Hospitals
  • Psychiatric Services by Physician or Nurse Practitioner
  • Therapeutic and Evaluative (T&E) Mental Health Services for Children