Font Size

Mental Health

Mental Health

Mental health programs provide a way for people to get the mental health treatment they need in a variety of settings, depending on age and conditions. However, several of our programs are limited to children under age 21. Some services are not covered, while others may require a specific diagnosis to be covered. Additionally, some services require prior authorization for coverage. Geriatric psychiatric services are not covered. The Office of Mental Health programs is comprised of two divisions: Mental Health Services and Special Mental Health Initiatives.

Special Mental Health Initiatives
The Special Mental Health Initiatives division oversee the following programs:

  • Autism pilot program
  • Federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics
  • In-patient detox for chemical dependency
  • Intellectual disabilities/developmental disabilities
  • Mississippi Youth Programs Around the Clock (MYPAC)
  • Psychiatric services by physician or nurse practitioner

Mental Health Services
The Mental Health Services Division oversees the following programs:

  • Acute freestanding psychiatric facilities
  • Community/private mental health centers
  • Therapeutic and evaluative mental health services
  • Outpatient mental health hospital services
  • Pre-admission screening and resident review
  • Psychiatric residential treatment facilities
  • Psychiatric units at general hospitals