Font Size

Traumatic Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury (TBI/SCI) Waiver

The TBI/SCI Waiver is a home and community-based waiver that provides services to beneficiaries who, but for the provision of such services would require the level of care found in a nursing facility. This statewide waiver is administered jointly by the Division of Medicaid and the Department of Rehabilitation Services.

Emergency Preparedness and Response the COVID-19

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved the below Appendix K:  Emergency Preparedness and Response in response to the COVID-19 outbreak for the Traumatic Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury Waiver.

Who is Eligible for the Traumatic Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury Waiver?

Eligibility for the TBI/SCI Waiver is limited to individuals who have a traumatic brain injury or a spinal cord injury and are medically stable. The extent of the injury must be certified by the individual’s physician. Brain or spinal cord injury that is due to a degenerative condition, congenital condition, or that resulted from medical intervention is excluded. Beneficiaries of this waiver must be Medicaid eligible in one of the following categories of eligibility:

  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Low Income Families and Children Program
  • Disabled Child Living at Home
  • Working Disabled
  • Children Under Age 19 Under 100% of Poverty
  • Disabled Adult Child
  • Protected Foster Care Adolescents
  • CWS Foster Children and Adoption Assistance Children
  • IV-E Foster Children and Adoption Assistance Children
  • Income level up to 300% of the SSI federal benefit rate

 Traumatic Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury Services

Services provided under the TBI/SCI Waiver include:

  • case management
  • attendant care
  • respite
  • environmental accessibility adaptations
  • specialized medical equipment and supplies
  • transition assistance