
PUBLIC NOTICE 
December 20, 2024 

 
Pursuant to 42 C.F.R. Section 447.205, public notice is hereby given for the submission of a 
Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) 25-0004 Hospice. The Division of Medicaid, in the 
Office of the Governor, will submit this proposed SPA to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) effective January 1, 2025, contingent upon approval from CMS, our Transmittal 
#25-0004. 
 

1.  Mississippi Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) 25-0004 is being submitted to allow 
the Division of Medicaid (DOM) to reimburse the hospice provider for services rendered 
on the date of death, effective January 1, 2025.    

 
2. The expected annual increase in expenditures is $32,412. The expected increase in 

federal annual aggregate expenditures is $18,693 for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY25) and 
$25,038 for FFY26. The expected increase in state annual aggregate expenditures is 
$3,744 for FFY25 and $7,374 for FFY26. 

 
3. The Division of Medicaid is submitting this proposed SPA to comply with 42 C.F.R. § 

447.201 that requires the Division of Medicaid to submit a SPA describing the policy and 
methods used in setting payment rates for each type of service included in the Mississippi 
State Plan. 

 
4.   A copy of the proposed SPA will be available in each county health department office 

and in the Department of Human Services office in Issaquena County for review. A hard 
copy can be downloaded and printed from www.medicaid.ms.gov, or requested at 601-
359-3984 or by emailing at DOMPolicy@medicaid.ms.gov.  

 
5. Written comments will be received by the Division of Medicaid, Office of the Governor, 

Office of Policy, Walter Sillers Building, Suite 1000, 550 High Street, Jackson, 
Mississippi  39201, or DOMPolicy@medicaid.ms.gov for thirty (30) days from the date 
of publication of this notice.  Comments will be available for public review at the above 
address and on the Division of Medicaid’s website at www.medicaid.ms.gov. 

 
6. A public hearing on this SPA will not be held. 
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TN No. 2010-031 25-0004 Date Received11/2/2010 

Supercedes Date Approved 1/27/2011 

TN No. 91-23 2010-031                                                                                    Date Effective 1/1/201101/01/2025  

 

Hospice 
 

Mississippi Medicaid’s hospice fee schedule is updated annually with an effective date of October 1 

for services provided on or after that date. All rates may be viewed at 

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/HospiceFees.aspx. 
 

The fee schedule reimburses for the hospice benefit, including routine home care, continuous home 

care, inpatient respite care and general inpatient care. These rates are authorized by section 

1814(i)(c)(ii) of the Social Security Act, which also provides for annual increases in payment rates 

for hospice care services. 

If a Medicaid beneficiary elects the Hospice Program and is admitted to a nursing facility as an 

individual on hospice at the same time or while residing in a nursing facility when the hospice 

election is made, the State pays the hospice provider a room and board rate that is 95% of the 

Medicaid Nursing Facility per diem rate for each Medicaid or dually eligible individual on 

hospice residing in a nursing facility. This rate is required by Section 1902 (a)(13)(B) of the 

Social Security Act and is an additional per diem rate paid on routine home care and continuous 

home care days. The Division of Medicaid reimburses the hospice provider for services rendered 

on the date of death. Room and board is not reimbursed on the date of death. Any Medicaid 

payment to the nursing facility ceases when the rate is paid to the hospice provider. The hospice 

provider pays the 95% rate to the nursing facility for room and board. All nursing facility rates 

may be viewed at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/Providers.aspx. 
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TN No.  25-0004 Date Received 

Supercedes Date Approved  
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Hospice 
 

Mississippi Medicaid’s hospice fee schedule is updated annually with an effective date of October 1 

for services provided on or after that date. All rates may be viewed at 

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/HospiceFees.aspx. 
 

The fee schedule reimburses for the hospice benefit, including routine home care, continuous home 

care, inpatient respite care and general inpatient care. These rates are authorized by section 

1814(i)(c)(ii) of the Social Security Act, which also provides for annual increases in payment rates for 

hospice care services. 

If a Medicaid beneficiary elects the Hospice Program and is admitted to a nursing facility as an 

individual on hospice at the same time or while residing in a nursing facility when the hospice 

election is made, the State pays the hospice provider a room and board rate that is 95% of the 

Medicaid Nursing Facility per diem rate for each Medicaid or dually eligible individual on hospice 

residing in a nursing facility. This rate is required by Section 1902 (a)(13)(B) of the Social Security 

Act and is an additional per diem rate paid on routine home care. The Division of Medicaid 

reimburses the hospice provider for services rendered on the date of death. Room and board is not 

reimbursed on the date of death. Any Medicaid payment to the nursing facility ceases when the 

rate is paid to the hospice provider. The hospice provider pays the 95% rate to the nursing facility 

for room and board. All nursing facility rates may be viewed at 

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/Providers.aspx. 
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