
Volume 20, Issue 3 September 2014

1

MS Medicaid
P r o v i d e r  B u l l e t i n

understanding CHiP income-eligibility 
Changes

Beginning December 1 of this 
year, about 25,000 children in 
Mississippi between the ages 
of 6-19 will transition from the 
Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) to the Division of 
Medicaid’s Mississippi Coordinated 
Access Network (MississippiCAN). 
This represents a significant and 
complex change for Medicaid, and 
we are working hard to minimize 
any impact on providers and 
beneficiaries.

As we have touched on previously in the Provider Bulletin, 
this and many other changes are the result of the Affordable 
Care Act (ACA).  

At the end of July, just over 71,000 children in the state were 
enrolled in CHIP. Due to implementation of ACA mandates, 
the income limit for CHIP has changed for children from 
6-19 years old from 100-200 percent of the federal poverty 
level (FPL) to 134-209 percent. This change relates to new 
Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) limits, which went 
into effect January 1. This means families with slightly higher 
incomes will continue to be eligible for coverage under CHIP, 
but it also creates a coverage gap from the 100-133 percent 
range. This coverage gap affects more than 25,000 children, 
which Medicaid will now cover through our MississippiCAN 
program. Our plan is to roll those children into MississippiCAN 
starting in December.

We already have a category of children in the managed 
care environment – those under one year of age, as they are 
covered under the pregnant women category. For children 
who remain Medicaid-eligible after their first birthday, we will 
continue their coverage under MississippiCAN. We are able to 
do this because the 2014 Legislature authorized us to enroll 
eligible children of all ages in our managed care program. As 
detailed before, these changes are the right thing to do, both 
for the long-term health and wellbeing of eligible children 
and because it allows the agency better cost-predictability.

Those children who were previously in MississippiCAN under 
the age of one year will remain in MississippiCAN after their 
first birthday if they remain Medicaid-eligible and others, 
ages 6-19 with lower family incomes, will be added who have 
been previously covered by CHIP. Eventually our plan is to 
enroll all of the children in Medicaid into our managed care 
environment.

Any changes to categories of eligibility are bound to be 
complicated and difficult to explain, which is why DOM held 
informational workshops for providers throughout July across 
the state to answer MississippiCAN questions. From August 
through September, we held another round of workshops 
aimed at current and potential beneficiaries. 

As we continue to work out the details throughout the fall, 
we are committed to making this transition as smooth and 
coordinated as we possibly can.
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Case Mix training revisions and
updates for nursing Facilities

Mississippi Division of Medicaid will be transitioning to the RUG-IV 48-group classification model effective 

for the January 1, 2015 Medicaid rates. Beginning January 1, 2015 case mix reviews and Roster Reports will 

reflect this grouper model change. In preparation for this transition, DOM has contracted with Myers and 

Stauffer LC, to conduct provider training. Training is scheduled in three locations as follows: 

	 • October 27; Hilton-County Line Road, Jackson

	 • October 28; Lake Terrace Convention Center, Hattiesburg

	 • October 30; BancorpSouth Convention Center, Tupelo

Registration information will be available soon by logging into mslc.com/Mississippi/ and select Resources, 

and then location preferred. Seats will be limited, so early registration is recommended. 

Topics to be discussed in training:

	 • RUG-IV 48 Grouper Model

	 • Supportive Documentation Guidelines

	 • Case Mix Review Protocol

	 • Time-Weighted Roster Report Methodology With Roster Report Samples

	 • New Portal For Bed Hold Reporting  

http://www.mslc.com/Mississippi/
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We need your help to tell us how well the MississippiCAN program is doing. Please take a few minutes to complete this survey by placing a checkmark beside 
your response about your experience with MississippiCAN. If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Coordinated Care at (601) 359-3789.  

MississippiCAN Provider Survey  

1. How would you describe your overall experience with the                                              
MississippiCAN Program?                                                                                                              
[  ]Excellent            [  ]Good             [  ]Fair           [  ]Poor  

2. In general, do you think the quality of care for the eligible                    
Mississippi Medicaid beneficiaries has improved?                                                                                          
[  ] Improved Very Much         [  ]  Somewhat Improved                                               
[  ] Not Improved                        

3. How long have you been a MississippiCAN Provider?                                                                         
[  ] More than a year                         [  ]Six months                                                                        
[  ] Recently became a Provider    [  ] Not a MississippiCAN Provider                                   
If you marked not a MississippiCAN  Provider STOP             

4. In which plan are you enrolled?                                                                                                        
[  ] Magnolia Health Plan         [  ] United Healthcare                                                                    
[  ]  Both  

5. Have you ever been visited by a provider representative from the 
plans?                                                                                                                          
[  ] Yes     [  ]  No  

6. Do you receive a member roster panel from the  plan or                      
Coordinated Care Organization?  [  ] Yes [  ]  No                                                                                                                              
If so, how often? [  ]  Daily    [  ] Weekly   [  ]  Monthly   [  ]Never                                                                                      

7. Do you receive notifications of changes from the plans?                                                 
[  ] Yes  [  ]  No                                                                                                                         
If so,  how often? [  ]  Monthly  [  ] Quarterly  [  ]  Annually [  ] Other                                                                                                           

8. How do you receive provider notifications?                                                                        
[  ] Web Portal    [  ] Email     [  ] Mail       [  ] Fax         [  ] Never     

9. Are you a CHIP Provider?                                                                                            
[  ] Yes  [  ] No 

10. When do you check  eligibility for your patients?   

[  ] Week before  [  ] Day before   [  ] Date of service    [  ] Other       

 

 

                  Strongly 
Agree 

Agree Disagree Strongly 
Disagree 

N/A 

11.  My claims are processed in a timely manner. 
      

12.  Claims have been paid at the correct rate (no less than what Medicaid 
would pay).      

13.  Claims inquiries are answered promptly. 
     

14.  When I call the Plans, I am able to speak directly with someone  and get my 
questions answered.      

15.  Denial notifications consistently provide denial reasons. 
     

16.  The plan’s Provider Grievance  & Appeals process is effective. 
     

17.  The Prior Authorization process is working efficiently. 
     

18.  My staff and I are familiar with the MississippiCAN program and the     
services they provide.      

19.  I would recommend MississippiCAN to eligible Mississippi Medicaid     
beneficiaries and other providers.      

20.  My facility utilizes the Disease and Care Management programs. 
     

21.  I think Mississippi Medicaid beneficiaries understand the                             
MississippiCAN program.      

                                                                                                                                                   

O F F I C E  O F  T H E  G O V E R N O R        

Walter Sillers Building  |  550 High Street, Suite 1000  |  Jackson, Mississippi 

COMMENTS: 

Facility:______________________________Provider Type:___________________________County:_____________________________
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neWS
Mississippi Medicaid issues new 
Beneficiary Identification Card
On May 5, 2014, Mississippi Medicaid beneficiaries were 
issued a new Medicaid identification (ID) card. New Medicaid 
ID cards do not reflect any change in eligibility or the benefits 
and the services beneficiaries are currently receiving.

❖ Medicaid beneficiaries were issued new blue ID cards, 
which replaced their current green ID cards 

❖ Family Planning Waiver beneficiaries received new yellow 
ID cards, which will replace their old yellow ID cards 

❖ All new Medicaid ID cards will display the new Medicaid 
logo 

When visiting a provider, beneficiaries are required to present 
their Medicaid ID card and a picture ID or a similar form of 
identification to confirm their identity. Beneficiaries need to 
present their new Medicaid ID when receiving any type of 
medical service. 

During this NEW ID card issuance transition, providers should 
continue to accept the old green Medicaid ID cards through 
September 30, 2014. Old green Medicaid ID cards should no 
longer be accepted effective October 1, 2014.

tips for individual Providers 
When they relocate
Your Mississippi Medicaid Provider number belongs to you, 
the individual provider, not the practice. Often times providers’ 
numbers are established with the address and banking 
information that belongs to the practice that is initiating the 
enrollment rather than the individual provider. When the 
individual provider changes practices, the information of 
his/her prior practice remains on his/her Medicaid provider 
file until he/she submits the required forms to change the 
addresses and banking information.  

When the individual provider changes practices or affiliations, 
the provider should check their addresses and banking 
information on file with DOM. Verifying the information on 
their provider file will prevent the non-receipt of important 
letters/notices and payment to incorrect accounts. 

SuBMiTTiNG CHaNGe OF BaNkiNG iNFOrMaTiON

The Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement form should 
be printed from the web portal at https://msmedicaid.acs-
inc.com/msenvision/downloadenrollmentPackage.do and 
should be completed and signed by the individual provider. 
A preprinted voided check or deposit slip or a letter on bank 
letterhead signed by a bank official should be submitted to 
verify the accuracy of the information noted on the form. 
The Direct Deposit Authorization agreement and the bank 
verification can be faxed to Xerox Provider Enrollment at 888-
495-8169 or can be mailed to the following address:

 Xerox Provider Enrollment Department
 P. O. Box 23078
 Jackson MS 39225

Once the update to your individual file has been completed, at 
any point that you bill claims on your individual number you 
will receive a paper check mailed to your billing address on 
file for 2-3 payment cycles. Ongoing, you will began receiving 
your Mississippi Medicaid Reimbursement electronically 
deposited according to the information on your provider file. 

https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/downloadenrollmentPackage.do
https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/downloadenrollmentPackage.do
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reminder for All MS Cool Kids 
(ePSdt) Providers
DOM does not cover routine physical examinations, such as 
school, sports, or employment physicals unless  performed 
in conjunction with the MS Cool Kids (EPSDT) well check 
screening program for EPSDT-eligible beneficiaries. All age 
appropriate screening components for the annual screening 
visit must be performed and documented in the medical 
record for MDOM  reimbursement.

Cool Kids (EPSDT) providers are also reminded that the EPSDT 
annual screenings do not count against the office visit service 
limits.  Examinations included in the annual Cool Kids (EPSDT) 
screenings are: 

• A comprehensive health and developmental history/
assessment

• An unclothed physical examination
• Appropriate immunizations
• Age appropriate laboratory tests
• Adolescent counseling
• Health education, including anticipatory guidance
• Vision, hearing, and dental screen

The documentation requirements for the EPSDT Program can 
be found in the Mississippi Administrative Code, Title 23, Part 
223 – EPSDT Services at www.medicaid.ms.gov. For questions 
relating to MS Cool Kids, please contact the Office of Medical 
Services at 601-359-6150 or 1-800-421-2408.

WeB POrTal reMiNDer
For easy access to up-to-date information, providers are encouraged to use the Mississippi Envision Web Portal. The Web 
Portal is the electronic approach to rapid, efficient information exchange with providers including eligibility verification, 
claim submission, electronic report retrieval, and the latest updates to provider information. The Mississippi Envision 
Web Portal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year via the Internet at www.ms-medicaid.com.

http://www.ms-medicaid.com
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Prior Approval for Solid organ 
transplants 
Solid organs such as heart, heart/lung, liver, single or bilateral 
lung and small bowel require prior approval before the 
transplant is performed. This requirement does not apply 
to kidney, cornea, bone marrow and peripheral stem cell 
transplants unless performed in conjunction with another 
transplant. Prior approval is required regardless of the age of 
patient or diagnosis.

DOM has contracted with eQHealth Solutions to handle 
medical necessity review for transplants. Transplant facilities 
or physicians needing information regarding transplant 
services may contact Geraldine Bethley, R.N. at 601-359-9600 
or email geraldine.bethley@medicaid.ms.gov.

Hysterectomy Consent 
DOM covers a hysterectomy when deemed medically 
necessary in an inpatient or outpatient hospital setting. 
The Mississippi Administrative Code, Title 23, Part 202, 
Hospital Services, Rule 5.6 requires providers to complete 
the Sterilization Consent Form and the Hysterectomy 
Acknowledgement Form prior to the surgery. If prior 
acknowledgement is not possible due to a life-threatening 
emergency, the physician performing the hysterectomy must 
complete Section C of the form. The Sterilization Consent 
Form and the Hysterectomy Acknowledgement Form is 
located under the Resources section of the Medicaid website 
at www.medicaid.ms.gov by clicking on the Forms link. 

Questions may be directed to the Office of Medical Services 
at 601-359-6150 or 1-800-421-2408.

Circumcision Coverage Policy 
reminder 
Providers are reminded of the DOM policy on coverage of 
circumcisions that has been in effect since August 1, 2000, as 
cited below. 

routine Newborn and Other Not Medically Necessary 
Circumcisions
No benefits will be provided for the routine circumcision of 
newborn infants or other circumcisions for whom medically 
necessity is not documented according to the criteria listed 
below.

Medically Necessary Circumcisions
Medically necessary circumcision will be covered based on 
documentation of medical necessity. Medically necessary 
circumcisions may be performed in the inpatient hospital 
setting (subject to precertification of all inpatient days), the 
outpatient hospital setting, ambulatory surgical center, or a 
physician’s office. Each of the following criteria must be met 
for coverage:

Provider CoMPliAnCe
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1. Medical necessity for the procedure is fully documented 
in the medical records,

AND

2. Documentation in the medical records includes:

• a diagnosis which justifies the medical necessity for 
circumcision. Examples include, but are not limited 
to, recurrent balanoposthitis or recurrent urinary tract 
infections, AND

• failure of the patient to respond to conservative 
treatment, AND

• the recurrent nature of the medical condition,

AND

3. The sole diagnosis is not phimosis.  A diagnosis of 
phimosis alone will not be sufficient documentation of 
medical necessity,

AND

4. There is documentation such as physician progress 
notes and office records to justify the medical necessity. 
A pathology report alone will NOT be sufficient as 
documentation of medical necessity.

The medical documentation may be included either in the 
surgeon’s report or the beneficiary’s attending physician 
records. Documentation of conservative treatment must 
include, but is not limited to, teaching about appropriate 
drug therapy used to treat the condition. Documentation 
must be legible and available for review if requested.

Reimbursement for hospital inpatient procedures will be 
included in the All Patient Refined Diagnosis Related Groups 
(APR-DRGs) payment and hospital outpatient procedures will 
be paid using the Outpatient Prospective Payment System 
(OPPS) payment method. Facility charges for procedures 
performed in the ambulatory surgical center are paid 
according to the Medicaid Ambulatory Surgical Center 
procedure schedule. Physician fees are reimbursed based on 
the Medicaid Physician Fee Schedule.

Appropriate anesthesia, which is considered the standard of 
care, is covered in accordance with the Division of Medicaid’s 
policies for anesthesia services.

Questions may be directed to the Office of Medical Services 
at 601-359-6150 or 1-800-421-2408.

Payment error rate 
Measurement (PerM) Federal 
Fiscal Year 2014 
PERM was developed by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) to measure improper payments in the 
Medicaid program and the Children’s Health Insurance Plan 
(CHIP). PERM reviews will be conducted in three areas: 
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• Managed Care payments 

• Fee-for-service claims review includes medical record 
collection, medical review, and data processing reviews.  

• FY2014 through FY2016 cycles will not include an 
eligibility component.

• To line up with the new Affordable Care Act eligibility 
environment, CMS will revise the PERM eligibility 
program in time to reinstate the eligibility component 
in the FY2017 cycle.

For more information regarding PERM, please refer to CMS 
website http://www.cms.gov/PERM.
PERM Reviewers include:

The Lewin Group – Statistical Contractor (SC) – is responsible 
for sampling and calculation of error rates.

A+ Government Solutions – Review Contractor (RC) – is 
responsible for medical reviews. 

A+ Government Solutions will contact providers directly, 
via telephone, fax, and mail from a sample of providers to 
collect medical documentation for review to substantiate 
claims paid in federal fiscal year 2014 (October 1, 2013 
through September 30, 2014). 

For assistance in faxing information or any other concerns to 
A+, please call 301-987-1100. The toll free number for records 
to be faxed to A+ is 1-877-619-7850.

The first request for documentation by A+ should be mailed 
to the providers starting September 2014. Providers must 
respond as soon as possible. 

• 75 Days – Provider must submit medical records to A+ 
within 75 days of date of letter. 

• 14 Days – Provider must submit additional medical 
records to A+ within 14 days of date of letter when the 
contractor makes a request for additional information. 

• Failure to comply will result is an automatic error and 
recoupment of paid claim.   The Mississippi Division of 
Medicaid (DOM) requests that providers also send a copy 
of the supplemental documentation to the attention 
of DOM PERM to confirm that documentation is 
complete. This will eliminate the problem of incomplete 
documentation from provider, and allows DOM to secure 
the additional documentation from the provider to avoid 
error assignments and subsequent claims recoupment 
or repayment. 

PERM reviewers/contractors will examine claims to determine 
whether the provider:

• Responded to the request for documentation within the 
required time frame;

• Submitted documentation, but the documentation did 
not support the procedure code that was reimbursed;

• Submitted insufficient documentation;

• Submitted a procedure code that was an error (such as, 
the provider performed a procedure but billed using an 
incorrect procedure code);

• Billed with an incorrect diagnosis;

• Billed for the separate components of procedure code 
when only one inclusive procedure code should have 
been billed;

• Billed for an incorrect number of units for a particular 
procedure or revenue code; 

• Billed for a service determined to have been medically 
unnecessary based on the information in the medical/
service record about the patient’s condition;

• Billed and was paid for a service that was not in 
agreement with a documented policy, regulation or 
other requirement;

• Met all DOM, CMS and other applicable policies, 
procedures and regulations. 

CMS will host a series of interactive PERM Provider Education 
webinars. Provider may also submit questions to the 
designated PERM Provider email address at: PERMProvider@
cms.hhs.gov

For assistance from DOM, please call PERM representative 
Koteshya L. Guidry at 601-359-9128 or 1-800-421-2408, or 
email Koteshya.Guidry@medicaid.ms.gov 

http://www.cms.gov/PERM
mailto:PERMProvider%40cms.hhs.gov?subject=
mailto:PERMProvider%40cms.hhs.gov?subject=
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recovery Audit Contractors 
(rACs) Changes to Abrasion 
limits 
Effective July 1, 2014, abrasion limits and calculations have 
changed. All DOM providers subject to audits by PRGX Global 
Inc., the RAC contractor for the State of Mississippi, will notice 
a reduction in the number of additional documentation 
requests (ADR) received from the RAC. The volume of records 
that can be requested in each wave is now calculated at 2.5% 
of the volume of claims submitted by the provider in the 
previous calendar year divided by five waves. As a result, ADR 
requests will be mailed every 72 days, for a total of five waves 
per year. The upper bound limit of the number of records 
the RAC can request has been capped at 200 for providers 
who submit a high volume of claims. The lower bound limit 
for providers who submit a fairly low volume of claims is 
20. The RAC can request no more than 200 claims per wave 
and no less than 20 claims per wave depending on provider  
claim volume.  

All changes are outlined on the DOM website located at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/recovery-auditor-
contractors/. DOM encourages providers to monitor the 
website for updates and announcements regarding the 
Mississippi Overpayment Audit Recovery program. Additional 
opportunities for provider education and training will be 
forthcoming.

Billing updates for Mental 
Health Providers 
2014 annual rate updates
Effective July 1, 2014, DOM revised the rates for providers 
based on 90% of the current Medicare rate, as defined in 
State Law. The new rates are listed in the chart below: 

Code                                              Previous 
rate

New 
rate

Code                                              Previous 
rate

New 
rate

90785         4.13 12.54 96372 20.82 20.21

90791 128.61 116.73 99201 36.05 35.60

90792                  108.59 125.90 99202 61.67 61.65

90832 53.76 56.66 99203 89.70 89.66

90833 36.24 57.78 99204 137.57 138.72

90834 70.38 75.18 99205 170.98 173.50

90836 58.88 73.13 99211 16.61 16.34

90837 103.28 112.55 99212 36.05 35.88

90838 95.04 96.48 99213 60.51 60.71

90846 64.83 100.58 99214 89.10 89.90

90847 77.76 103.86 99215 119.58 120.83

90849 28.85 29.31 99354 82.75 85.16

90853 21.24 24.97 99355 81.16 83.48

90870 141.23 108.69 M0064 45.77 44.22

96111 108.45 117.90

NCCi edits for Group Therapy and interactive Complexity
DOM claims processing procedures for Group Therapy (90853) 
and Interactive Complexity (90785) has been modified to be 
in compliance with the National Correct Coding Initiative 
(NCCI). NCCI mutually exclusive ruling mandated certain 
codes cannot be billed simultaneously by a provider for 
a beneficiary on the single date of service. Effective July 1, 
2013, NCCI mandated the following:

❖ Group Therapy (90853) is only allowed to be billed once 
per date of service. 

❖ Interactive Complexity (90785) is only allowed to be 
billed once per date of service. 

Medicaid NCCI Edit files and reference documents are updated 
quarterly and can be viewed at http://www.medicaid.gov/
Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Data-and-
Systems/National-Correct-Coding-Initiative.html. 

Please contact Kimberly Evans, Kimberly Sartin Holloway, or 
Charlene Toten-Hobson at 601-359-9545, should you have 
questions.

http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Data-and-Systems/National-Correct-Coding-Initiative.html
http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Data-and-Systems/National-Correct-Coding-Initiative.html
http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Data-and-Systems/National-Correct-Coding-Initiative.html
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Attention All Medicaid 
Audiologists and Hearing 
Providers 
Effective December 1, 2013, the following CPT codes for 
digital hearing aids were opened for coverage: V5254, V5255, 
V5256, V5257, V5258, V5259, V5260, and V5261. The codes 
require prior authorization through eQHealth Solutions, a 
Utilization Management/Quality Improvement Organization 
contracted with the Agency. A complete list of procedural 
codes requiring prior authorization may be found by 
accessing the hearing fee schedule at http://www.medicaid.
ms.gov/FeeScheduleLists.aspx.

Providers may contact eQHealth Solutions by calling 1-866-
740-2221 (local: 601-360-4961), via email at education@eqhs.
org or by visiting their website at ms.eqhs.org. 

update Your Provider File!
Providers are encouraged to utilize the Change of Address 
form and the Direct Deposit Authorization agreement located 
on the Envision Web Portal at https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.
com/msenvision/. Once completed, these forms should be 
faxed to the attention of Provider Enrollment at 1-888-495-
8169. This helps to ensure that the Mississippi Division of 
Medicaid has the most current and accurate information on 
your provider file. 

If you have any questions or require additional information, 
please contact Xerox Provider and Beneficiary Services at 
1-800-884-3222. 

Billing tips to Avoid duplicate 
Claims
DOM along with Xerox State Healthcare, LLC have noticed a 
pattern in duplicate claims submitted by providers. To ensure 
that each claim is paid in a timely manner, providers should 
implement the following tips to avoid unnecessary denials.

❖ Bill all procedures provided on the same date of service 
on the same claim. 

❖ Providers are required to bill multiple units for the same 
procedure code (and modifier, if applicable) when more 
than one of the same procedure or service is provided on 
the same date of service.

❖ Providers should not bill the same procedure codes for 
the same date of service on separate claim lines. 

❖ Separate claims for the same date of service are only 
necessary if you run out of claim lines. 

❖ Do not re-bill the same claim repeatedly. 

❖ If all claim lines on the claim were paid, billing the same 
claim again will result in denials for duplicate services 
and may be considered fraudulent. 

❖ If claim lines are denied, read the edit messages listed 
at the bottom the remittance advice. These messages 
tell why the claims denied. Always refer to Medicaid’s 
Administrative Code, the Provider Billing Manual and 
the DOM Fee Schedules for detailed information about 
what services and procedure codes are covered as well 
as applicable service limits. 

❖ Incorrect billing may result in claim denials for duplicate 
procedures. 

❖ If you think a claim line was denied in error, contact 
the Xerox Call Center at 1-800-884-3222. Call Center 
Representatives are available to review, explain and if 
appropriate, provide instruction on how to reverse the 
denial to have the payment processed accordingly.

CPT only copyright 2013 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/FeeScheduleLists.aspx
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/FeeScheduleLists.aspx
ms.eqhs.org
ms.eqhs.org
http://ms.eqhs.org
https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/
https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/
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Pdl update october 1, 2014
Effective October 1, 2014, there will be a minor Preferred Drug 
List (PDL) update. To reference the current PDL, go to http://
www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/preferred-drug-
list/ and select MS PDL. The current PDL and Provider Notice 
PDL changes, effective October 1, 2014, are located on the 
site. DOM recommends adding this link to your favorites as it 
is a helpful resource.

Preferred drug list (Pdl): 
Clarification
Please note that the PDL addresses drugs dispensed in 
the pharmacy or point of sale (POS) venue only.  It is not 
applicable to drugs provided and billed by physician offices. 
Providers should refer to the prior authorization (PA) criteria 
column of PDL to determine specific PA criteria for non-
preferred products. 

Synagis Prior Authorization 
update
DOM covers the administration of Synagis® for eligible 
beneficiaries who meet the American Academy of 
Pediatrics (AAP) criteria for Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) 
immunoprophylaxis. On July 28, 2014, the AAP published 
a policy statement entitled, “Updated Guidance for 
Palivizumab Prophylaxis Among Infants and Young Children 

at Increased Risk of Hospitalization for Respiratory Syncytial 
Virus Infection” in Pediatrics. The new updated AAP guidance 
is available at http://pediatrics.aappublicaions.org/content/
early/2014/07/23/peds.2014-1665/.

DOM is reviewing the new AAP guidelines and updating 
the prior authorization criteria for Synagis®. The proposed 
new guidelines will be reviewed at the DOM Drug Utilization 
Review (DUR) Board Meeting, August, 21, 2014. After input 
from the DUR Board, DOM will finalize the criteria and 
update the 2014-2015 Synagis® PA form that is posted on the 
Pharmacy Bureau web page. After it has been posted, the new 
PA form can be found at www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/
pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/. PA requests for 
beneficiaries enrolled in MSCAN are to be submitted to the 
respective pharmacy benefits manager (PBM) and not to DOM.

Pharmacy Billing for Influenza 
and Pneumonia
DOM covers influenza and pneumonia immunizations as a 
Pharmacy covered service benefit for eligible beneficiaries 
aged 19 and older who are not residents of long-term care 
facilities. Influenza, pneumonia, and zoster immunizations 
are the only vaccines or immunizations covered as a 
Pharmacy benefit. A valid prescription must be on file as with 
other pharmacy services. Immunizations provided from a 
credentialed pharmacist count against a beneficiary’s service 
limits and co-payments are applicable. DOM reimburses 
for the drug’s ingredient cost and pays a dispensing fee for 
immunizations administered in the pharmacy venue. No 
administration fee is paid for immunizations administered in 
the pharmacy venue. 

All immunizations for children age 18 and younger must 
be handled through the Vaccines for Children Program 
(VFC). For additional information regarding immunizations 
and Medicaid policies, refer to Title 23: Medicaid, Part 
224 Immunizations of the Administrative Code, which 
may be found at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/
administrative-code/ or contact the Office of Medical Services 
at 601-359-6150.

one dispensing Fee per drug 
per Month for Prescriptions 
Dispensed to LTC Beneficiaries
Effective July 1, 2014, and in accordance with Mississippi code 
§ 43-13-117(A) (9) (a), one (1) dispensing fee per drug (i.e. per 
national drug code or NDC) per month/resident may be paid 

PHArMACY

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/preferred-drug-list/
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/preferred-drug-list/
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/preferred-drug-list/
http://pediatrics.aappublicaions.org/content/early/2014/07/23/peds.2014-1665/
http://pediatrics.aappublicaions.org/content/early/2014/07/23/peds.2014-1665/
www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/
www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/administrative-code/
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/administrative-code/
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for long term care (LTC) beneficiaries. LTC beneficiaries are 
defined as beneficiaries residing in nursing homes, psychiatric 
residential treatment facilities, or intermediate care facilities 
for individuals with developmental disabilities.

Limited exclusions may include, but are not limited to, past 
medications, and resident moving from one facility to another 
in the same month. Exclusions to one (1) dispensing fee per 
drug per month require prior authorization. The Pharmacy 
Prior Authorization unit may be contacted at 1-877-537-0722.

doM Pharmacy Claims and 
valid Provider types
Since June 1, 2013, all pharmacy claims must have a valid 
prescribing provider type, a person, and not a building, i.e. 
clinic or hospital, national prescriber identification (NPI) 
number. A “prescriber” must be a person, and not a building.   

Effective June 1, 2013, claims using a clinic or hospital NPI 
will deny. Valid provider types include physicians, doctors 
of osteopathy, podiatrists, dentists, optometrists, nurse 
midwives, nurse practitioners and physician assistants.

Pharmacy Manual PA Form
In accordance with state law passed in the 2013 legislative 
session, health benefit plans, including DOM, are directed 
to establish a standardized pharmacy prior authorization 
form. The new form is located at http://www.medicaid.
ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/. 
Previous versions of the forms are no longer accepted after 
January 1, 2014.

All Prescribers Must be enrolled 
with Medicaid
Effective January 1, 2014, in accordance with Federal 
regulations at 42 CFR Subpart E, DOM requires that all 
ordering and referring physicians or other professionals 
providing services under the State plan or under a waiver of 
the Plan be enrolled as participating providers. Prescribers 
who write prescriptions for Medicaid beneficiaries must be 
enrolled as Medicaid providers. 

Pharmacy claims will begin denying on November 1, 2014, 
if the Prescriber is not an enrolled Medicaid provider. Please 
direct all questions related to enrolling as a Medicaid provider 
to Xerox 1-800-884-3222.

using incorrect Medicaid 
Identification Numbers
DOM covers outpatient drugs in a pharmacy setting for 
eligible beneficiaries with prescription drug benefits. Only 
medications prescribed to the beneficiary are to be billed 
using the beneficiary’s Medicaid ID. Sanctions may be 
imposed against a provider for engaging in conduct that 
defrauds or abuses the Medicaid program. This could include 
billing a child’s medication to a parent’s Medicaid ID number 
and vice-versa. 

http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-prior-authorization/
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reMinder to All ProviderS

All providers are held accountable for information contained in the  
Mississippi Medicaid Provider Bulletins in accordance with Medicaid's Administrative Code.

denial of Pharmacy Point  
of Sale Claims written by a  
non-enrolled Provider
42 CFR 455.410(b) of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires 
state Medicaid agencies to enroll all ordering, referring 
or prescribing physicians and other eligible professionals 
providing services under the State Plan or under a waiver of 
the State Plan.

DOM began implementation of this requirement effective 
January 1, 2014, and the current processes for pharmacy 
point of sale claims are noted below:  

❖ Prescription claims with a date written on or after January 
1, 2014, must be written by a prescriber who has a valid 
and active MS Medicaid enrollment which is verified by 
the prescriber’s individual NPI number.

❖ After January 1, 2014, first time claims received for non-
Medicaid providers “with a date written” on or January 
1, 2014, will post NCPDP Reject ’56-Non Matched 
Prescriber ID’ with the accompanying message ‘FEDERAL 
LAW REQUIRES THAT ALL MEDICAID PRESCRIBERS ARE 
ENROLLED AS A MEDICAID PROVIDER. NPI SUBMITTED 
ON THE CLAIM MUST BE THE ACTUAL PRESCRIBER ON 
THE PRESCRIPTION (RX); ANY OTHER IS CONSIDERED 
FRAUD’.

❖ At the time that the first time claim with a date written 
on or after January 1, 2014, comes through the Medicaid 
system, a system generated notice with the most current 
address information for the prescribing provider NPI 
noted will be sent to the provider with information 
regarding the requirement and enrollment options. 

❖ If the Prescriber’s NPI number is not enrolled with 
Medicaid as a valid and/or active provider, that prescriber 
will have a grace period of 90 days to enroll.

❖ If these prescribers do not enroll during their 90 day 
grace period, then on the 91st day and thereafter their 
Medicaid prescription will deny.

The initial deadline for denial of pharmacy claims was 
April 1, 2014. DOM has EXTENDED the deadline date for 
pharmacy claim denials to November 1, 2014 and after. 

To prevent denial of the rendering provider claims AND 
to ensure access to pharmacy services for our Mississippi 
Medicaid beneficiaries, please make sure that the prescribing 
provider’s individual NPI is noted on the prescription and all 
claims. It is required that all individual prescribing providers 
must be actively enrolled with DOM.

If you have any questions about enrollment, please contact 
Xerox Provider Services at (800)884-3222.
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PrOviDer FielD rePreSeNTaTive areaS BY COuNTY
area 1

Cynthia Morris (601.572.3237)
cynthia.morris2@xerox.com 

area 2
Prentiss Butler (601.206.3042)

prentiss.butler@xerox.com 

area 3
 Clint Gee (662.459.9753)

clinton.gee@medicaid.ms.gov
County County County
Desoto Alcorn Bolivar

Lafayette Benton Coahoma
Marshall Itawamba Leflore
Panola Lee Quitman

Tate Pontotoc Sunflower
Tunica Prentiss Tallahatchie

Tippah Yalobusha
Tishomingo

*Memphis Union
area 4 

Charleston Green (601.359.5500)
charleston.green@medicaid.ms.gov

area 5
ekida Wheeler (601.572.3265)

ekida.wheeler@xerox.com 

area 6 
Cherry Woods (601.206.3013)

cherry.woods@xerox.com 
County County County
Attala Holmes Kemper

Calhoun Humphreys Lauderdale
Carroll Issaquena Lowndes

Chickasaw Madison Neshoba
Choctaw Sharkey Newton 

Clay Washington Noxubee
Grenada Yazoo Winston
Monroe

Montgomery
Oktibbeha

Webster

area 7
Candice Granderson (601.206.3019)

candice.granderson@xerox.com

area 8
Justin Griffin (601.206.2922)

zip Codes (39041-39215)
justin.griffin@xerox.com 

randy Ponder (601.206.3026)
zip Codes (39216-39296)
randy.ponder@xerox.com 

area 9
Joyce Wilson (601.359.4293)

joyce.wilson@medicaid.ms.gov

County County County
Adams Hinds Copiah
Amite Leake

Claiborne Rankin
Franklin Scott

Jefferson Simpson
Warren

Wilkinson
area 10

Nadia Shelby (601.206.2961)
nadia.shelby@xerox.com

area 11
Pamela Williams (601.359.9575)

pamela.williams@medicaid.ms.gov

area 12
Connie Mooney (601.572.3253)

connie.mooney@xerox.com 
County County County
Clarke Covington George 
Forrest Jefferson-Davis Hancock
Greene Lawrence Harrison
Jasper Lincoln Jackson
Jones Marion Pearl River
Lamar Pike Stone
Perry Walthall
Smith
Wayne Mobile, al

OuT OF STaTe PrOviDerS lashundra Othello (601.206.2996) lashundra.othello@xerox.com
Jonathan Dixon (601.206.3022)  jonathan.dixon@xerox.com

Provider Field rePreSentAtiveS
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If you have any questions 
related to the topics in this 

bulletin, please contact
Xerox at 1-800 -884 -3222

Mississippi Medicaid 
Administrative code and 

Billing Manuals are on the Web
www.medicaid.ms.gov

Medicaid Bulletins are
located on the Web Portal

www.ms-medicaid.com
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1 2 3 4 5 6

7 8 9 10 11 12 13

14 15 16 17 18 19 20

21 22 23 24 25 26 27

28 29 30

checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. The Remittance Advice is available for download each Monday 
morning at www.ms-medicaid.com while funds are not transferred until the following Thursday.
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SePteMBer 2014

DOM & Xerox State Healthcare, LLC, 
welcome the fall!

www.medicaid.ms.gov
http://www.ms-medicaid.com
http://ww.ms-medicaid.com

