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MS Medicaid
P r o v i d e r  B u l l e t i n

Division of Medicaid Adjusting to Affordable 
Care Act Requirements

Over the last several years there 
has been a great deal of interest 
in the Affordable Care Act. The 
majority of the provisions of this 
law were set to be implemented 
by January 1, 2014. Now that the 
date has passed, I thought it might 
be instructive to review the history 
and requirements of the Affordable 
Care Act and how it’s affecting the 
Mississippi Division of Medicaid 
(DOM) and you as the provider. 

History and Background 
On March 23, 2010, President Obama signed the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) into law. On 
March 30, 2010, Congress enacted and passed into law 
the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 
as an amendment to the PPACA. Together, these two laws 
(commonly referred to as the Affordable Care Act or ACA) 
comprise the largest comprehensive reform to the United 
States health care system since the enactment of Medicare 
and Medicaid in 1965. However, the constitutionality of the 
ACA was challenged by several states, and their repeal efforts 
reached the United States Supreme Court.

On June 28, 2012, the Supreme Court upheld the ACA with 
the caveat of restricting one section impacting Medicaid 
expansion. The ACA, as written, requires states to enlarge their 
Medicaid programs to cover lower-income adult populations. 
If states refused to cover these individuals, the Center for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) could withhold the 
federal matching funds for the states’ existing Medicaid 
beneficiaries. The Supreme Court ruled that this tenant of 
the law was unduly coercive to states to expand Medicaid 
coverage. Therefore, states now had the option to expand 
or not to expand Medicaid to cover this non-pregnant, non-
elderly adult population. 

During the 2013 session, the Mississippi Legislature decided 
not to expand the Medicaid program to cover non-pregnant, 
non-elderly adults. However, the Mississippi Division of 
Medicaid is still required to comply with the mandatory 
requirements of the ACA which are described below. 
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Foster Children Expansion to Age 26 
In Mississippi, the health-care needs of most foster children 
are covered either by Medicaid or the Department of Human 
Services (DHS). Currently, eligible foster children receive 
Medicaid coverage until age 21. Beginning January 2014, the 
ACA mandate requires states to extend coverage to age 26. 
This regulation builds upon the Foster Care Independence 
Act of 1999, which gave states the option of extending 
Medicaid coverage to foster children from age 18 to age 21.

The expansion of coverage for foster children coincides with 
ACA requirements for private insurers to allow children to 
be covered by their parents’ health insurance to age 26. As 
of December 31, 2013, 6,919 children are in foster care and 
on adoption assistance certified by DHS for services that 
are covered by Medicaid. DOM estimates that the extension 
of Medicaid coverage for foster children from age 21 to 
age 26 will have a financial impact on the state budget of 
approximately $12 million over the next seven years. 

Health Insurer Fee 
Another ACA mandate requires private health insurers 
nationwide to pay an annual fee of $8 billion. On the surface 
the health insurance fee seems to have little impact to the 
state or DOM. However, our managed care organizations that 
participate in the Mississippi Coordinated Access Network 
(MississippiCAN) will be impacted by this fee. As a result, this 
fee will be passed down to DOM in the form of an increase 
in cost per beneficiary participating in the MississippiCAN 
program. DOM estimates that managed care fees will increase 
by 1.4 percent in 2014 and by 2.5 percent for 2015 through 
2020. The estimated financial impact to the state from 2014 
through 2020 for the health insurer fee is $92 million.

New Methodology to Determine Eligibility for Medicaid
Included in the ACA mandates and part of eligibility 
modernization is an updated method for determining 
income qualifications called Modified Adjusted Gross Income 

(MAGI), which utilizes Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rules. 
Theoretically, MAGI will standardize and simplify the eligibility 
process nationwide by changing how income is calculated 
and household composition is defined. For example, the 
current complex system of income disregards will be replaced 
by a flat 5 percent universal rate and stepparents will be 
included in the broader family definition.

MAGI will apply to populations who make up 65 percent 
of our beneficiaries such as children, caretakers, pregnant 
women and low income families. This system will not apply 
to a specific list of categories including the Age, Blind and 
Disabled (ABD) group and foster care children. The net 
effect of eligibility modernization is expected to increase 
the number of individuals who qualify for Medicaid services. 
These updates will help us be a more efficient agency to 
provide access to quality health-care in the state.

Enhanced Payments to Primary Care Physicians
In order to ensure access for services to meet the anticipated 
higher demand for care, the ACA requires states to pay 
primary care physicians (family medicine, internists and 
pediatricians) fees equal to those paid by Medicare. These 
enhanced payments will minimize the difference between 
the state’s Medicaid fees effective July 1, 2009, and Medicare 
fees for 2013 and 2014. There is a wide range between 
Medicaid to Medicare fees across the country; listed below 
are a few facts regarding this comparison: 
 
•	 The latest data from 2012 indicates Medicaid physician 

fees were 66 percent of Medicare fees. 

•	 Medicaid rates in the southeastern United States average 
76% of Medicare.

•	 In Mississippi, Medicaid physician fees are 90 percent of 
Medicare. 

•	 Mississippi has the 7th highest ratio of Medicaid to 
Medicare physician fees in the country. 

 
The primary care fee increase is fully funded by the federal 
government for 2013 and 2014 (calendar years). Right 
now it is uncertain if the enhanced payment to primary 
care physicians will continue beyond 2014, and ultimately, 
this decision will be determined by our elected officials. If 
enhanced payments are extended, the estimated cost to the 
state would be approximately $76 million for 2015 to 2020. 

The Welcome Mat Population
Currently a segment of the population qualifies for Medicaid 
but is not enrolled in the program. It is anticipated that the 
increase in awareness surrounding the ACA will encourage 
this already eligible group of people to seek health-care 
coverage through Medicaid. In addition, through pressure 
from the individual mandate (the ACA requirement that 
individuals obtain some form of health insurance), referrals 
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Web Portal Reminder
For easy access to up-to-date information, providers are encouraged to use the Mississippi Envision Web Portal. The Web 
Portal is the electronic approach to rapid, efficient information exchange with providers including eligibility verification, 
claim submission, electronic report retrieval, and the latest updates to provider information. The Mississippi Envision 
Web Portal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year via the Internet at www.ms-medicaid.com.

from the Health Insurance Exchange, and potential loss 
of employer coverage, many people will discover they are 
actually eligible for Medicaid.

As a result, the welcome mat has the potential of adding 
48,000 to 72,000 Mississippians to Medicaid as beneficiaries. 
The welcome mat population represents a significant 
financial challenge to DOM and the state, being the largest 
expenditure of the mandatory ACA provisions. In respect to 
medical services costs, this population will be considered 
regular beneficiaries, matched at our current federal medical 
assistance percentage (FMAP) of 73.05 percent. The total 
estimated cost to cover the welcome mat population and 
maintaining these enrollees through 2020 is $413 million in 
expenditures to the state budget. 

CHIP to Medicaid Transition
The ACA requires that states extend Medicaid coverage up 
to 138 percent of the federal poverty level for children ages 
6 to 18 years of age. In Mississippi this transition will affect 
approximately 30,000 children and was set to happen on 
January 1, 2014. Due to concerns over the continuity of care 
for these children during this transition, Mississippi asked 
for and was granted an extension of this deadline until 
December 31, 2014. The federal government will provide an 
enhanced FMAP for this transitioning population through 

2020. Because of the enhanced FMAP, this transition is 
projected to be a cost-saver for DOM of approximately $239 
million over the next seven years. 

DOM has been working diligently to prepare for the mandatory 
changes required by the ACA. The ACA significantly impacts 
how we operate Medicaid in Mississippi. Our goal is for a 
seamless transition as DOM works to minimize any disruptions 
to you as the provider community.
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iPASS Summit
www.msmaonline.com

The Mississippi State Medical Association (MSMA) is hosting the 2014 iPASS Summit to provide an opportunity for 
physicians and their staff to:

✓	 Gain direct access to major healthcare payers, including the Division of Medicaid, eQhealth Solutions,  
MedSolutions, Xerox, MississippiCAN/CHIP, UnitedHealthcare, Magnolia Health Plan, Ambetter, etc.

✓	 Learn tips to get paid more efficiently;

✓	 Meet payor representatives to resolve individual claims issues; and

✓	 Preview new programs, policy changes, and claims submittal tips.

The 2014 iPASS events will be held on the following dates at the locations noted below:

May 2, 2014	 Oxford, MS	 Oxford Conference Center
May 7, 2014	 Hattiesburg, MS	 Lake Terrace Convention Center
May 9, 2014	 Pearl, MS	 Hinds Community College, Muse Center

For more information and/or questions, please visit www.msmaonline.com.
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Pre-Admission Screening Training Course for New Screeners

Attention: Long Term Care Providers and Hospital Discharge Planners

The Division of Medicaid, Bureau of Institutional Long Term Care / Case Mix is pleased to announce its 2014 training 
course on the Pre-Admission Screening Application (PAS) process.

Ø	The course objective is to educate attendees on current PAS policy, completing the PAS application and the 
electronic PAS submission process.

Ø	Target audience: providers/employees requiring basic PAS training or individuals who may be new to the 
PAS process. 

Ø	There is no charge for the training.

Course Dates/Time

Location/Site: 
Mississippi Division of Medicaid
Walter Sillers Building
550 High Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Fourth Floor Conference Room

Tuesday, March 25, 2014		 1:00 - 4:00 P.M.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014		  1:00 - 4:00 P.M.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014		  1:00 - 4:00 P.M.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014	 1:00 - 4:00 P.M.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014	 1:00 - 4:00 P.M.

For additional information you may contact Gay Gipson at 601-359-9529 or Cherlyn Carter at 601-359-5251. To enroll, 
complete and submit the following information to the attention of Gay Gipson.

Fax: 601-359-9521 or email: gay.gipson@medicaid.ms.gov

Attendee Name and Title: 

Facility Name and Provider ID:

Date of Course/Training:

Phone Number: Fax Number:

Directions: From I-55, take the High Street exit (Exit 96 B, toward the State Capitol). The Walter Sillers Building is located at the 
corner of President Street and High Street (the 6th red light after exiting onto High St.). You may park in the lot on the right or 
visitor parking on the ground floor of the parking garage (located directly behind the Sillers Building). Once inside the Sillers 
Building, a guard will have you sign in and issue a visitors pass.
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Providers Must Verify Medicaid Eligibility,  
MississippiCAN Eligibility, and Third-Party Coverage

It is the responsibility of the Medicaid provider to verify a Medicaid beneficiary’s eligibility each time the beneficiary 
appears for a service. Evidence of eligibility is demonstrated by the Medicaid identification card issued to each 
Medicaid eligible member in a family. A beneficiary is expected to present his/her Medicaid identification card 
when services are rendered. This includes presentation of other cards for medical services, such as MississippiCAN, 
Medicare, other Third-party coverage (i.e. Blue Cross/Blue Shield). Medicaid is the payer of last resort after other 
payers or third-parties.

Medicaid providers may verify beneficiary eligibility status by several methods:  

✓	 Calling the fiscal agent at 1-800-884-3222,

		  Select (*) for MississippiCAN enrollment and eligibility,
		  Select (1) for Non-MSCAN Beneficiary Calls,
		  Select (2) for Provider related Calls, or
✓	 Calling the Automated Voice Response System (AVRS), or
✓	 Accessing the Point of Service eligibility verification system, or
✓	 Accessing the Envision Web Portal at new address www.ms-medicaid.com

Providers must state or enter the date of service to verify the correct payer, as eligibility changes from regular Medicaid 
coverage to MississippiCAN coverage. MSCAN has two Coordinated Care Organizations (CCOs): Magnolia Health Plan 
and UnitedHealthcare. Eligibility also changes from one CCO to the other. These two CCOs are to be billed for medical 
services for all beneficiaries that are enrolled in MSCAN. These CCOs also have Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and 
Behavioral Health subcontractors to which providers must submit claims directly. Delays in submitting claims to the 
proper payer may result in timely filing denials.

Payer Card Color Type Service Telephone DOM
Mississippi Medicaid Blue (new cards)

Green (old cards)
Multiple 1-800-884-3222 1-800-421-2408

Medicare Red/White/Blue 1-800-633-4227

MississippiCAN 1-800-884-3222(*) 1-800-421-2408
Magnolia Health Plan Purple Medical 1-866-912-6285
           Cenpatico (same card) Behav Hlth 1-866-912-6285
           Univita     (same card) DME 1-866-912-6285
           US Script (same card) Pharmacy 1-800-460-8988

MississippiCAN 1-800-884-3222(*) 1-800-421-2408
UnitedHealthcare White Medical 1-877-743-8731
     UBH-OptumHealth (same card) Behav Hlth
     OptumRx (same card) Pharmacy 1-877-305-8952

CHIP 1-800-884-3222 1-800-421-2408
UnitedHealthcare White Multiple 1-877-743-8731
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NEWS

Especially for You . . . Our 
Providers
The Mississippi Division of Medicaid (DOM) is diligent in 
keeping its Providers informed and updated on all Medicaid 
related Federal and State regulations. There are various 
avenues through which the DOM distributes and makes 
available updates to its providers. The Envision Web Portal, 
“your One-Stop Resource”, is one of those options as it 
offers providers the ability to search and retrieve pertinent 
information. Providers may log into the web portal for 
answers to frequently asked Medicaid questions, contact 
information, provider bulletins, banner messages, online 
provider enrollment and to check the enrollment status of 
pending applications. Access to the web portal is available 
24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year at www.
ms-medicaid.com. 

Additionally, “Late Breaking News” postings are available 
to providers for a more up-to-date listing of issues and 
recommended resolutions concerning Medicaid claims 
concerns. Providers may also contact Xerox Provider and 
Beneficiary Services at (800) 884-3222, if you have questions 
or need additional information.

Medicaid Identification Card 
Changes Color
In the coming months, all newly approved and current 
Mississippi Medicaid beneficiaries will receive a blue 
identification card displaying the new Mississippi Division 
of Medicaid logo. For current beneficiaries, the new blue 
identification card will replace their green identification card. 

During the transition of issuing new Medicaid Identification 
cards, all providers are asked to continue to provide services 
for all eligible beneficiaries with green or blue Medicaid cards. 
It is important to note, that the color change for Medicaid's 
identification cards does not reflect any changes in benefits 
or services.

❖	 If there are questions regarding identification cards or 
if a beneficiary needs a replacement identification card, 
providers should contact Xerox at (800) 884-3222.

❖	 To verbally verify a beneficiary's eligibility status or 
service limits, providers should contact Xerox at (800) 
884-3222 or the MS Division of Medicaid, Bureau of 
Provider Beneficiary Relations at (800) 421-2408.

More details will be forthcoming as the new blue MS  
Medicaid Identification card is rolled out.
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Phase II Cardiac Rehabilitation 
Services
Effective February 1, 2014, Mississippi Division of Medicaid 
(DOM) will cover Phase II Cardiac Rehabilitation services for 
Medicaid beneficiaries eighteen (18) and older when ordered 
by a physician and if medically necessary. DOM defines Phase 
II Cardiac Rehabilitation services as a physician supervised 
program designed to recondition the cardiovascular system 
and restore beneficiaries with cardiovascular heart disease to 
their optimal functional status including their physiological, 
psychological, social, vocational and emotional status. Phase 
II Cardiac Rehabilitation Services must be furnished in the 
outpatient hospital setting with physician supervision as 
required in compliance with AACVPR guidelines, and prior 
authorized by the current Utilization Management and 
Quality Improvement Organization (UM/QIO).

DOM covers up to thirty-six (36) Phase II Cardiac Rehabilitation 
sessions per twelve (12) months regardless of the number 
of qualifying episodes. The thirty-six (36) Phase II Cardiac 
Rehabilitation sessions must occur within twelve (12) weeks 
from initiation of services unless a medical condition prevents 
the beneficiary from completing the thirty-six (36) sessions.  

Prior authorization for the extension must be obtained 
from the Utilization Management and Quality Improvement 
Organization (UM/QIO) for up to an additional twelve (12) 
weeks.

If you have any questions, please contact Fallon Brewster, 
Program Administrator, or Christy Lyle, Program Nurse, at 
601-359-6150.

Mississippi Medicaid Provider 
Billing Manual
The Mississippi Medicaid Provider Billing Manual is designed 
to provide guidance and assistance to providers in submitting 
beneficiary claims to the Mississippi Division of Medicaid 
(DOM). The manual provides step-by-step instructions on 
completing claim forms to ensure providers are reimbursed 
in a timely manner for services rendered.

Providers may obtain a hard copy of the manual at a 
minimal cost, by contacting the fiscal agent’s Provider  
and Beneficiary Services Unit toll-free at 1-800-884-3222,  
or an electronic version of the Manual may be downloaded  
at www.medicaid.ms.gov. This manual must be used in 
conjunction with the Mississippi Administrative Code, Title 
23. Key Medicaid reimbursement issues are addressed in  
the Administrative Code, and fee schedules are also found  
on the www.medicaid.ms.gov website.
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Medicaid and CHIP Eligibility 
Changes Related to the 
Affordable Care Act (ACA)
The Mississippi Division of Medicaid has been working since 
the fall 2011 to develop and implement changes to our 
Medicaid eligibility systems required by the ACA. Although 
all of the changes required by ACA have not been completed, 
below are the new categories of eligibility that have been 
implemented.

❖	 New Categories of Eligibility (COE) – DOM has five new 
COEs to match the ACA eligibility requirements. There 
will be some new eligible beneficiaries in these COEs, 
and many that simply moved from a different COE. 
Beneficiaries who are in these COEs are eligible for full 
Medicaid benefits. The new COEs are:

New Category of Eligibility

071 Newborns Newborn age 0-1 with income 
at or below 194% FPL

072 Children 1-5 Children age 1-5 with income 
at or below 143% FPL 

073 Children 6-19 Children age 6–19 with 
income at or below 107% FPL

074 Quasi-CHIP Children age 6-19 with 
income between 107% and 
133% FPL who would have 
qualified for CHIP under pre-
ACA rules

075 Parents/
Caretakers

Parents/Caretakers of children 
under age 18

❖	 Changing COE – DOM is making updates to the 
description for some COEs. The eligible beneficiary 
that no longer fits into an old COE is being moved to a 
different COE. Due to the change in COEs, beneficiaries 
will still be eligible for Medicaid or CHIP.

088 Pregnant Women Pregnant Women under 
194%

099 CHIP Children age 1-19 with 
income between 133% 
and 209% FPL
Children age 0-1 with 
income above 194% to 
209% FPL

❖	 Discontinued COEs – DOM is discontinuing three COEs, 
which are being replaced with the new ones explained 
above. The eligible beneficiaries in these COEs are 

generally just being moved into a new COE and are not 
losing eligibility for Medicaid.

085 Medical Assistance Medical Assistance for 
Intact Family

087 Expanded Medicaid Children age 1-5 under 
133%

091 Poverty Level Children under age 19 
under 100%

Applicants may now apply for Medicaid or CHIP benefits in 
any one of the following ways:

•	 Local Medicaid Regional Office
•	 Apply by phone
•	 Mail-in paper application
•	 Apply on-line at the Division of Medicaid website  

www.medicaid.ms.gov
•	 Apply on-line at the Federal  web portal website  

www.healthcare.gov
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Billing Evaluation & 
Management (E & M) Codes for 
Mental Health Services
Effective July 1, 2013, Evaluation and Management CPT 
codes (99201-99205, 99211-99215) billed for mental health 
services required one of the modifiers below. These modifiers 
are needed in order for the service to be applied to the 
appropriate service limit.  

Provider Type Claim Type Modifier

Clinic C

HI
Psychiatrist 
Physician

P

Nurse Practitioner K

Community Mental Health Center 
Private Mental Health Center

M HW

 
Any claims previously submitted with a date of service on or 
after July 1, 2013, that do not include the required modifier for 
psychiatry E & M services should be voided and resubmitted.  
Please contact Kim Sartin-Holloway, Charlene Toten, or 
Bonlitha Windham at 601-359-9545 if you have questions. 

Billing With Anatomical 
Modifiers
Providers must bill multiple units on a single line for CPT/
HCPCS codes performed on the same date of service, 
unless anatomical modifiers are appropriate to indicate the 
differences in each line. If the same CPT/HCPCS code is billed 
on two or more separate lines for the same date of service, the 
additional lines will deny as duplicates unless the appropriate 
modifier is appended to the code indicating the reason for 
multiple lines.

Examples:

Incorrect Billing of Multiple Lines – Second line would deny 
as duplicate

Line 1		  73070-TC		  1 unit
Line 2		  73070-TC		  1 unit
	
Line 1		  73140-TC		  1 unit
Line 2		  73070-TC		  1 unit

Line 1		  V2100			   1 unit
Line 2		  V2100			   1 unit

Correct Billing of Multiple Lines	

Line 1		  73070-TC-RT		  1 unit
Line 2		  73070-TC-LT		  1 unit

Line 1		  73140-TC-F3		  1 unit
Line 2		  73070-TC-F5		  1 unit

Line 1		  V2100-RT		  1 unit
Line 2		  V2100-LT		  1 unit

State Level Registry for Provider 
Incentive Payments
The Medicaid Electronic Health Records (EHR) Provider 
Incentive Program is a part of the stimulus program known 
as the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.  
Participation in this program is voluntary. However, in 
order to receive incentive payments Providers are asked to 
submit yearly attestation through the Mississippi State Level 
Registry (https://ms.arraincentive.com). Normally, an eligible 
professional may participate in the EHR Provider Incentive 
program for six years. The last year to start in this program 
is 2016. If an eligible professional participates for the entire 
six years he/she can receive incentive payments totaling 
$63,750.00.

PROVIDER COMPLIANCE



Volume 20, Issue 1 March 2014

11

Providers that are eligible to participate include:

1)	 Physicians 

2)	 Nurse Practitioners

3)	 Dentists

4)	 Certified Mid Wives

5)	 Physicians Assistants under the leadership of a 
Qualified Physician working in a Federally Qualified 
Health Clinic

6)	 Doctors of Optometry

To get started and enroll in the MS Medicaid EHR Provider 
Incentive Program, providers must:

1)	 Adopt, Implement or Upgrade technology that is 
Office of National Coordinator (ONC) certified

2)	 2)	Have a Medicaid patient volume of at least 30% from 
a selected 90-day period

It has been brought to the attention of the MS Division of 
Medicaid (DOM) that several third-party consulting groups 
are working with providers as they submit EHR attestations 
to the DOM. DOM cautions providers before they enter into 
a contract with a third-party consulting group, that a detail 
review of the consulting group be completed, to validate 
their authenticity. DOM has identified several groups that are 
misrepresenting the EHR Provider Incentive Program. There 
are, however some consultants, endorsed by the MS Division 
of Medicaid, that are doing an outstanding job. Please contact 
the DOM before any commitments are made with a  third-
party consultant. DOM has staff available that will share our 
experiences with the known consultants working in the State.

For additional information about participation in the 
Mississippi Medicaid EHR Provider Incentive Program, please 
contact our staff.

Shakarma Green, Provider Incentive Program Specialist
601-359-6142	 shakarma.green@medicaid.ms.gov

Tommie Milton, Provider Incentive Program Specialist
601-359-6143	 tommie.milton@medicaid.ms.gov

Nick Maisel, Provider Incentive Program Manager
601-576-4165	 nick.maisel@medicaid.ms.gov

Online resources for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program:

CMS – This site offers guidance and additional information on 
the EHR Incentive Program Index.
http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Legislation/
EHRIncentivePrograms/index.html

HealthIT.Gov – This is a very helpful site when planning and 
implementing an Electronic Health Record system. This site 

includes frequently asked questions by providers who have 
enrolled in EHR.
http://www.healthit.gov/providers-professionals/ehr-
implementation-steps
 

NEW Medicaid Requirements: 
Ordering, Referring or 
Prescribing (ORP) Providers
Traditionally, most providers have enrolled in the Mississippi 
Medicaid program to furnish covered services to Medicaid 
beneficiaries and to submit claims for such services.  However,
42 CFR 455.410(b) of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires  
state Medicaid agencies enroll all ordering, referring or 
prescribing physicians and other eligible professionals 
providing services under the State Plan or under a waiver 
of the State Plan. The Division of Medicaid will begin 
implementation of this requirement effective January 1, 2014.  

Beginning April 1, 2014, claims submitted by  providers who 
actually render services to Medicaid beneficiaries based 
on your order, referral, or prescription (ORP) will be denied 
for such items or services unless you, the ORP Provider is 
enrolled in Medicaid and your National Provider Identifier 
(NPI) number is included on the claim submitted to Medicaid 
by the rendering provider.

Physicians or other professionals who are already enrolled 
with Mississippi Medicaid as participating providers and 
who submit claims to Medicaid are not required to enroll 
separately as ORP providers.
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There are two options for enrolling as a Medicaid provider:
 

1.	 The provider may complete a short form application 
for providers that wish ONLY to enroll as an “Ordering, 
Referring and Prescribing (ORP)” provider. Effective 
January 1, 2014, this application will be located at www.
ms-medicaid.com, select provider, provider enrollment 
and follow the prompts to the ORP application and 
instructions. If there are questions, please contact Xerox 
at 1-800-884-3222.

	 Participation as an ORP provider allows Medicaid 
reimbursement for the covered services and supplies 
you ordered, referred or prescribed for our Medicaid 
beneficiaries. A provider enrolled as an ORP cannot 
submit claims to Medicaid for payment for services 
rendered. 

Remember, enrolling with Medicaid as an ORP provider:

•	 Does not obligate you to see Medicaid patients

•	 Does not mean that you will be listed as a Medicaid 
provider for patient assignment or referral

•	 Helps ensure that your orders, referrals and 
prescriptions for Medicaid patients are accepted and 
processed appropriately

 OR

2.	 The provider may enroll as a Mississippi Medicaid “Billing/
Servicing Provider” by completing the Mississippi 
Medicaid Provider Enrollment Application located at 
www.ms-medicaid.com. The “Billing/Servicing” provider 
can order, refer, prescribe AND receive payment for 
services rendered.

ORP Implementation Process 

I. Fee for service claims

a.	 Claims submitted January 1, 2014 and thereafter will 
suspend if the ordering or referring provider’s NPI is 
not valid and that provider is not actively enrolled as a 
participating Medicaid provider.

b.	 If the NPI number of the ordering/referring is not enrolled 
with Medicaid as an active provider, the claim will 
suspend for a 90 day grace period giving the ordering/
referring Provider time to enroll.

c.	 When the claim suspends, the Medicaid system will 
systematically look for the most current address 
information for the ordering/referring provider and 
a system generated letter will be sent to the provider 
with information regarding the ORP requirement and 
enrollment instructions for Mississippi Medicaid. If the 
ordering/referring Provider does not enroll during the 
90 day grace period, the claims will deny on the 91st 
day and thereafter until the ordering/referring provider 
enrolls. 

II. ORP for Pharmacy Point of Sale Claims

a.	 Prescription claims with a date written on or after January 
1, 2014, must be written by a prescriber who has a valid 
and active MS Medicaid enrollment which is verified by 
the prescriber’s NPI number. 

b.	 Beginning January 1, 2014, first time claims  received 
for non-Medicaid providers “with a date written” on or 
after January 1, 2014, will post NCPDP Reject `56-Non 
Matched Prescriber ID’ with the accompanying message 
‘FEDERAL LAW REQUIRES THAT ALL MEDICAID PRESCRIBERS 
ARE ENROLLED AS A MEDICAID PROVIDER. NPI SUBMITTED 
ON CLAIM MUST BE THE ACTUAL PRESCRIBER ON THE 
PRESCRIPTION (RX); ANY OTHER IS CONSIDERED FRAUD’. 

c.	 The Medicaid system will systematically look for the 
most current address information for the ordering/
referring provider NPI noted on these first time claims 
received with a date written on or after January 1, 2014, 
and a system generated letter will be sent to the provider 
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with information regarding the ORP requirement and 
enrollment instructions for Mississippi Medicaid.

d.	 If the Prescriber’s NPI number is not enrolled with 
Medicaid as a valid and/or active provider, that prescriber 
will have a grace period of 90 days to enroll.

e.	 If these prescribers do not enroll during their 90 day 
grace period, then on the 91st day and thereafter their 
Medicaid prescriptions will deny. 

f.	 Pharmacy claims will not actually start denying until 
April 1, 2014 and after.

What is the Pharmacist’s Role:  

1.	 Enter the correct NPI for the prescriber. It is imperative that 
the NPI on the claim be the prescriber of the prescription. 
Any other NPI used is considered fraud. 

2.	 Remind prescribers to enroll if you continue to see NCPDP 
Reject `56-Non Matched Prescriber ID’ on that prescriber’s 
claims.

All other instructions related to claims billing for this 
requirement will be located at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/
BillingManuals.aspx or you may contact your Provider 
Field Representative. (Please reference the Provider Field 
Representative list contained in this Bulletin).

HIPAA Operating Rules Phase II  
& Provider Enrollment Form 
Changes, Effective 12/30/2013
Current Providers

Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Provider Enrollment 
Form (Existing Form) 
The current EDI Provider Enrollment form available for 
download on the Web Portal at www.ms-medicaid.com 
(Provider Tab, Provider Enrollment, Download Enrollment 
Package, EDI Provider Enrollment Form) will no longer include 
the option for 835 Transactions. This form will still need to be 
submitted to request all other EDI Transactions.

Electronic Remittance Advices (ERA) Enrollment Form 
(New Form)
Current providers who will enroll, change, or cancel their 
ERA (835Transactions) will need to download, mail or fax in 
the new ERA Enrollment form. The form is available on the 
Web Portal at www.ms-medicaid.com (Provider Tab, Provider 
Enrollment, ERA Enrollment) or (Provider Tab, Provider 
Enrollment, Download Enrollment Package, ERA Enrollment 
Application).

Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement (Existing Form)
Current providers who will enroll, change or cancel their 
Direct Deposit Authorization will need to download, 
mail or fax the Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement 
form. The form is available on the Web Portal at www.
ms-medicaid.com (Provider Tab, Provider Enrollment,  
EFT Enrollment) or (Provider Tab, Provider Enrollment, 
Download Enrollment Package, Direct Deposit Authorization 
Agreement). A copy of the voided preprinted check, 
preprinted deposit slip, or bank letter must be submitted 
with the Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement form.

New Providers

Applying Online
The online Provider Enrollment Application on the Web Portal 
at www.ms-medicaid.com (Provider Enrollment, Enroll Online) 
contains many forms including the new ERA Enrollment form 
and the revised Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement 
form. These two forms may be submitted online or separately 
via mail. All other documents that require a signature must 
be mailed. The Provider Enrollment Application will not be 
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approved until a Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement 
form and a copy of the voided preprinted check or bank 
letter is received.  New providers enrolling online will need 
to download and mail/fax in the EDI Enrollment Application 
if additional EDI Transactions other than the 835 are desired.

Downloading a Paper Application
The downloadable Provider Enrollment Application 
on the Web Portal at www.ms-medicaid.com (Provider 
Enrollment, Download Enrollment Package) contains many 
forms including the revised EDI Enrollment form, new ERA 
Enrollment form, and the revised Direct Deposit Authorization 
Agreement form. The Provider Enrollment Application will not 
be approved until a Direct Deposit Authorization Agreement 
form and a copy of the voided preprinted check, preprinted 
deposit slip or a bank letter is received.

Updated 835 Companion Guide
The 835 Companion Guide has been updated in the new 
template as per CAQH CORE rules. It will be published on the 
GCRO website located at http://www.acs-gcro.com.

EFT Payments and Corresponding Remittance Advices (RA)
EFT (direct deposit) files sent to financial institutions will now 
contain additional data (record type ‘7’), which contains the 
re-association number needed to associate the EFT payment 
with the corresponding Check/EFT Payment number already 
shown on the Remittance Advices. It is the provider’s 
responsibility to reach out to their financial institutions and 
request this additional payment data to be sent to them.

Free Dual Delivery of Paper and Electronic Remittance 
Advices 
Providers newly enrolling in Electronic Remittance Advices 
may request free dual delivery of both paper and electronic 
RAs for at least 31 days or 3 payment cycles. After that time 
period, paper RAs will stop being printed and the provider will 
receive only ERAs. However, paper RAs are always available 
for download on the Web Portal even for providers enrolled 
in ERAs. Instructions for requesting dual delivery of RAs are 
on the ERA Enrollment form.

Changes to Claims Adjustment Reason Codes (CARC) and 
Remittance Advice Remark Codes (RARC) on 835s
Providers may expect to see new CARCs and RARCs on their 
835s as MS Medicaid has remapped their CARCs and RARCs 
as mandated per CAQH CORE.

Improving Claims Processing
At Xerox State Healthcare, LLC we are working to improve 
claims processing. We would like to make sure that every 
provider’s claim is processed correctly and expeditiously. In 
order to improve this process, DOM request that the Provider 
community:

1.	 Please do not staple your claims together. Providers can 
simply place their attachments behind the associated 
claim and place them in an envelope.

 2.	 Please sign the claim in ink. The vast majority of the 
claims are Returned to the Provider (RTP) because they 
are not properly signed. 

3.	 Providers are sending claims with Medicare Explanation 
of Benefits (EOB) showing that payment has been 
received by Medicare. Please submit requests for 
Medicaid payment on Crossovers. 

4.	 Please list the Third Party Liability (TPL) payment in 
the appropriate field. For all claims submitted with TPL 
payments, the payment must be shown in the prior 
payments (UB-04) field and the amount paid in the (CMS-
1500) field on the claim. 

5.	 Please do not send a stack of claims and one copy of 
the attachment that goes with each claim. If there is an 
attachment that is critical to the processing of the claim, 
copy the attachment for each claim and place it with 
its associated claim before submitting those claims for 
processing. 

6.	 Please submit standard 8x11 attachments.  Strips, cutouts 
and the like are not acceptable.

7.	 Please put the bill date on each claim. 

8.	 Please place bill types on UB-04’s and Crossover A’s. 

9.	 Please mail or electronically submit your claims. WE DO 
NOT ACCEPT FAXED CLAIMS.	
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All of the above will result in effective processing of your 
claims. We appreciate your time and cooperation with these 
matters. If you have any questions please call Provider and 
Beneficiary Services at 1-800-884-3222 or 1-888-495-8169.

Increased Primary Care Services 
Payments
On November 6, 2012, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services (CMS) issued the final rules to implement increased 
Medicaid payments for certain primary care services and 
vaccine administration billing codes provided by qualified 
practitioners enrolled as Mississippi Medicaid providers

For dates of services on or after January 1, 2013, through 
December 31, 2014, the Division of Medicaid (DOM) will 
reimburse certain primary care services provided by qualified 
providers meeting the requirements of 42 CFR 447.400(a) at 
the Medicare Part B fee schedule rate in effect for Calendar 
Years (CYs) 2013 and 2014 or, if greater, the payment rates 
that would be applicable in those years using the CY 2009 
Medicare physician fee schedule conversion factor. If there 
is no applicable rate established by Medicare, DOM uses the 
rate specified in a fee schedule established and announced by 

CMS. The specific E&M and vaccine procedure codes included 
in this program are listed in the Increased Primary Care Service 
Fee Schedule located on the DOM website at: http://www.
medicaid.ms.gov/Fees/NewIncPrimaryCareServFee.pdf.

Services rendered in an FQHC, RHC, or Mississippi Health 
Department clinic settings are excluded from the increased 
payments because reimbursement is included in the 
encounter rate.  

CMS defines a qualified provider as one who delivers certain 
primary care services and self-attests. Self-Attestation criteria 
is explained in detail on the Attestation Form.  

How to Attest

Providers can complete one (1) Self-Attestation Form for 
CYs 2013 and 2014 if the information is the same for each 
year. For CY 2013 and CY 2014, the cut-off date for receipt 
of Self-Attestation Forms is June 30, 2014. One final mass 
adjustment is scheduled for July 2014, for claims of providers 
having Attestation Forms received January 1, 2014, through 
June 30, 2014. 

Only newly approved Medicaid providers will be allowed 
to attest for CY 2014 after June 30, 2014, and no claims 
reprocessing by Medicaid will be conducted for these claims. 

Providers can verify the processing of electronically 
submitted Self-Attestation Form by accessing the Envision 
Web Portal. Forms are processed within five (5) business days 
from receipt. 

Self-Attestation Forms can be accessed on the DOM website, 
Envision Web Portal or by calling the Xerox Call Center at 
1-800-884-3222. Completed forms must be submitted to 
Xerox Provider Enrollment in one of the following ways:

•	 E-mailed to:	 msinquiries@xerox.com

•	 Mailed to:   	 Xerox Provider Enrollment
			   P. O. Box 23078
			   Jackson, MS. 39225

•	 Faxed to:  	 Xerox Provider Enrollment
			   1-888-495-8169

Program Integrity

Omission, misrepresentation or falsification of any 
information contained in the Self-Attestation or contained 
in any communication supplying information to Division 
of Medicaid to complete or clarify the application for the 
Increased Primary Care Services Payments may be punished 
by criminal, civil or other administrative actions. 
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Billing Modifiers for T & E 
Service Providers
It is a requirement that ALL Therapeutic and Evaluative 
Service providers MUST use “HA” as the Modifier 1 on all 
claims to ensure that the service is applied to the appropriate 
service limit.

HA= Child/Adolescent Program

Please contact Christal Ford, Kimberly Smith, or Charlene 
Toten-Hobson at 601-359-9545, should you have questions.

Billing Tips to Avoid Duplicate 
Claims
The Division of Medicaid along with Xerox State Healthcare, 
LLC have noticed a pattern in duplicate claims submitted 
by providers. To ensure that each claim is paid in a timely 
manner, providers should implement the following tips to 
avoid unnecessary denials.

❖	 Bill all procedures provided on the same date of service 
on the same claim. 

❖	 Providers are required to bill multiple units for the same 
procedure code (and modifier, if applicable) when more 
than one of the same procedure or service is provided on 
the same date of service.

❖	 Providers should not bill the same procedure codes for 
the same date of service on separate claim lines. 

❖	 Separate claims for the same date of service are only 
necessary if you run out of claim lines. 

❖	 Do not re-bill the same claim repeatedly. 

❖	 If all claim lines on the claim were paid, billing the same 
claim again will result in denials for duplicate services 
and may be considered fraudulent. 

❖	 If claim lines are denied, read the edit messages listed 
at the bottom the remittance advice. These messages 
tell why the claims denied. Always refer to Medicaid’s 
Administrative Code, the Provider Billing Manual and the 
Medicaid Fee Schedules for detailed information about 
what services and procedure codes are covered as well 
as applicable service limits. 

❖	 Incorrect billing may result in claim denials for duplicate 
procedures. 

❖	 If you think a claim line was denied in error, contact 
the Xerox Call Center at 1-800-884-3222. Call Center 
Representatives are available to review, explain and if 
appropriate, provide instruction on how to reverse the 
denial to have the payment processed accordingly.
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Preferred Drug List (PDL) 
Update, Effective April 1, 2014
Effective April 1, 2014, there will be a minor PDL update. Since 
2012, DOM's Preferred Drug List, or PDL, undergoes an annual 
review each autumn. The revisions brought about by this 
annual review will become effective the following January 
1st. Throughout the year, there will be quarterly additions, or 
deletions. Changes outside of January 1st implementation 
annual review updates will generally be small. 

To reference the current PDL, go to http://www.medicaid.
ms.gov/Pharmacy.aspx, and select MS Preferred Drug List 
(PDL), where you will find the current PDL as well as Provider 
Notice PDL changes, effective April 1, 2014. We recommend 
adding this link to your favorites as you will find it very helpful.

New Pharmacy Prior 
Authorization (PA) Manual Form
In accordance to state law passed in the 2013 legislative 
session, health benefit plans, including Medicaid, are directed 
to establish a standardized pharmacy prior authorization 
form. To reference the new Medicaid Pharmacy form, go to 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/Pharmacy.aspx, and click on 
Prior Authorization. Pharmacy PA FAX line is 1-877-537-0720. 

DOM encourages Medicaid providers to use preferred agents 
whenever possible; most preferred drugs do not require PA. 
Drugs designated as preferred have been selected for their 
efficaciousness, clinical significance, cost effectiveness, and 
safety for Medicaid beneficiaries.  Note that there are multiple 
preferred alternatives for non-preferred drugs. Before 

submitting a PA request, remember to check for options not 
requiring PA at the current PDL which may be referenced at  
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/Pharmacy.aspx.

Online PA submission is strongly recommended and is the 
quickest, most efficient way to enter and process a PA:

❖	 If you are a MS MEDICAID PRESCRIBER, please submit 
your PA requests via the Envision Web Portal for the most 
efficient processing at https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/
msenvision/pharmacyPriorAuthAction.do

❖	 If you are a MS MEDICAID PRESCRIBER, but are 
not a registered MS ENVISION WEB PORTAL USER,  
register at https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/
regUserSelection.do

 
Be mindful that in order for DOM to be in compliance with 
state law, submissions on forms used previously can no 
longer be accepted for Medicaid beneficiaries and will be 
returned to the prescriber.

Limited Number of CHIP 
Beneficiaries Moving to 
Medicaid Fee for Service (FFS)
In accordance to new federal guidelines, some CHIP 
beneficiaries are becoming Medicaid FFS eligible. Be advised 
that this is an ongoing process, which started January 1, 
2014. Beneficiary identification numbers for CHIP and Medicaid 
are the same. When processing a pharmacy claim for a CHIP 
beneficiary who becomes eligible for Medicaid FFS on 
January 1, 2014, the following message will be returned to 
pharmacy providers:

Bill Medicaid BIN 610084, PCN DRMSPROD, GROUP SIPPI.  
Issues call 800-884-3222.

PHARMACY
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Reminder to All Providers

All providers are held accountable for information contained in the  
Mississippi Medicaid Provider Bulletins in accordance with Medicaid's Administrative Code.

long-term care

2013 Owner Salary Limits for 
Long-Term Care Facilities
The maximum amounts that will be allowed on cost reports 
filed by nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for 
individuals with intellectual disabilities and psychiatric 
residential treatment facilities as owner’s salaries for 2013 are 
based on 150% of the average salaries paid to non-owner/
administrators that receive payment for services related to 
patient care. The limits apply to all salaries paid directly by the 
facility or by a related management company or home office. 
Adjustments should be made to the cost report to limit any 
excess salaries paid to owners. In addition, Form 15 should be 
filed as part of the Medicaid cost report for each owner.

The maximum allowable salaries for 2013 are as follows:

Small Nursing Facilities (1-60 Beds)	 $127,202

Large Nursing Facilities (61 + Beds)	 $149,048

Intermediate Care Facilities for individuals 	 $138,354
with intellectual disabilities (ICF-IID)

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF)	  $201,516

Allowable Board of Directors 
Fees for Nursing Facilities, 
ICF-IID’s and PRTF’s, 2013 Cost 
Reports
The Allowable Board of Directors fees that will be used in the 
desk reviews and audits of 2013 cost reports filed by nursing 
facilities (NF’s), intermediate care facilities for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities (ICF-IID’s), and psychiatric residential 
treatment facilities (PRTF’s) have been computed. The 
computations were made in accordance with the Medicaid 
State Plan by indexing the amounts in the plan using the 
Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers - All Items.  
The amounts listed below are the per meeting maximum 
with a limit of four (4) meetings per year.

The maximum allowable, per meeting Board of Directors fees 
for 2013 are as follows

		  Maximum Allowable
	 Category	 Cost for 2013
	 0 – 99 Beds	 $  3,928
	 100 – 199 Beds	 $  5,893
	 200 – 299 Beds	 $  7,857
	 300 – 499 Beds	 $  9,821
	 500 Beds or More	 $11,785
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PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVE AREAS BY COUNTY
AREA 1

Cynthia Morris (601.572.3237)
cynthia.morris2@xerox.com 

Area 2
Prentiss Butler (601.206.3042)

prentiss.butler@xerox.com 

AREA 3
 Clint Gee (662.459.9753)

clinton.gee@medicaid.ms.gov
County County County
Desoto Alcorn Bolivar

Lafayette Benton Coahoma
Marshall Itawamba Leflore
Panola Lee Quitman

Tate Pontotoc Sunflower
Tunica Prentiss Tallahatchie

Tippah Yalobusha
Tishomingo

*Memphis Union
AREA 4 

Charleston Green (601.359.5500)
charleston.green@medicaid.ms.gov

AREA 5
Ekida Wheeler (601.572.3265)

ekida.wheeler@xerox.com 

AREA 6 
Cherry Woods (601.206.3013)

cherry.woods@xerox.com 
County County County
Attala Holmes Kemper

Calhoun Humphreys Lauderdale
Carroll Issaquena Lowndes

Chickasaw Madison Neshoba
Choctaw Sharkey Newton 

Clay Washington Noxubee
Grenada Yazoo Winston
Monroe

Montgomery
Oktibbeha

Webster

AREA 7
Candice Granderson (601.206.3019)

candice.granderson@xerox.com

AREA 8
Justin Griffin (601.206.2922)

Zip Codes (39041-39215)
justin.griffin@xerox.com 

Randy Ponder (601.206.3026)
Zip Codes (39216-39296)
randy.ponder@xerox.com 

AREA 9
Joyce Wilson (601.359.4293)

joyce.wilson@medicaid.ms.gov

County County County
Adams Hinds Copiah
Amite Leake

Claiborne Rankin
Franklin Scott

Jefferson Simpson
Warren

Wilkinson
AREA 10

Nadia Shelby (601.206.2961)
nadia.shelby@xerox.com

AREA 11
Pamela Williams (601.359.9575)

pamela.williams@medicaid.ms.gov

AREA 12
Connie Mooney (601.572.3253)

connie.mooney@xerox.com 
County County County
Clarke Covington George 
Forrest Jefferson-Davis Hancock
Greene Lawrence Harrison
Jasper Lincoln Jackson
Jones Marion Pearl River
Lamar Pike Stone
Perry Walthall
Smith
Wayne Mobile, AL

OUT OF STATE PROVIDERS Lashundra Othello (601.206.2996) lashundra.othello@xerox.com
Jonathan Dixon (601.206.3022)  jonathan.dixon@xerox.com

PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVES
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If you have any questions 
related to the topics in this 

bulletin, please contact
Xerox at 1-800 -884 -3222

Mississippi Medicaid 
Administrative Code and 

Billing Manuals are on the Web
www.medicaid.ms.gov

Medicaid Bulletins are
located on the Web Portal

www.ms-medicaid.com
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Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. The Remittance Advice is available for download each Monday 
morning at www.ms-medicaid.com while funds are not transferred until the following Thursday.
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MARCH 2014

DOM & Xerox State Healthcare, LLC., 
welcome the spring season


