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Notice to Providers of Reduction in Reimbursement 
 

The Director of Medicaid is required by law to recommend expenditure 
containments when expenditures are expected to exceed funds available for any 
Fiscal Year.  Medicaid is facing a $90,000,000 shortfall in state revenues for 
FY2009.  Therefore, cost containment measures will be implemented for dates of 
service effective August 6, 2008, subject to federal approval, as listed below: 
 

• Reimbursement to certain non-institutional providers will be reduced an 
additional 5% above the 5% reduction currently in place as outlined in 
the MS Code Ann.  §43-13-117 (1972 as amended).  Examples of non-
institutional providers include, but are not limited to, physicians, dentists, 
therapy providers, durable medical equipment suppliers and independent 
laboratory and radiology providers. 

• “Lower of” logic will be implemented for Part B crossover claims.  The 
Division of Medicaid will pay the co-pay and deductible amount only up 
to the Medicaid rate on file.  Any crossover claims in excess of the 
Medicaid rate on file will be reduced to the Medicaid rate on file.  If the 
co-pay and deductible amount is less than the Medicaid rate on file, the 
co-pay and deductible amount will be paid only up to the amount due the 
provider for the co-pay and deductible amount.  

• Payments to certain Nursing Facilities, Intermediate Care Facilities for 
the Mentally Retarded and Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities 
will be reduced by 6.1%.   

• Payments to certain hospital providers for inpatient and outpatient 
hospital services will be reduced by 33.5%. 
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MYPAC and Mental Health Providers: Medicaid Billing  
 

MS Youth Programs Around the Clock (MYPAC) is a new Medicaid Home and Community-Based waiver 
program.  Eligible youth, with serious emotional disorders, now have an alternative to psychiatric residential 
treatment facility (PRTF) placement.    
 
The MYPAC provider is responsible for the cost of all mental health services for the enrolled youth. Medicaid 
will make payment only to a MYPAC provider for mental health services rendered to youth enrolled in 
MYPAC.  
 
Mental health services claims, which are submitted to the Division of Medicaid from a provider other than the 
MYPAC provider, will be denied.  This change only applies to Medicaid reimbursement for mental health 
services, and does not affect the billing and reimbursement for other Medicaid services provided to the MYPAC 
enrollee. 
 
If you have questions regarding this change, please contact Bonlitha Windham, Division Director, Bureau of 
Mental Health Programs at 601-359-9536 or  mhbmw@medicaid.state.ms.us . 
 

 
Reminder to Nursing Facilities 

Billing Bedhold and Therapeutic Leave Days 
 

Nursing facilities billing for bedhold inpatient days and/or therapeutic leave days should use the actual date 
span of the leave on the respective lines, when filing for those services.  Refer to the September 2004, and July 
2005 Medicaid Bulletins for additional information. 
    
If additional information is required, contact Provider and Beneficiary Relations at 601-359-6133 or 1-800-884-
3240. 

 
 

Prescriber Licenses:  When does a prescription become invalid? 
 

In Mississippi, a prescription becomes invalid 30 days after the prescriber/patient relationship is terminated. The 
State of Mississippi recognizes the prescriber/patient relationship as one that is terminated when the patient is 
no longer able to seek personal treatment or consultation from the prescriber. Examples of the prescriber/patient 
relationship termination include, a prescriber’s license being revoked; death, retirement or incarceration of the 
prescriber; loss of privileges to prescribe controlled substances; or other sanctions imposed upon him/her. For 
comprehensive information on this topic, refer to the Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Regulations, and Pharmacy 
Practice Act, Article XII, Section 7 (Effective July 1, 1998). 
 
Prescriptions for controlled substances become invalid immediately upon the expiration or revocation of the 
prescriber’s license (refer to Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 1306.03). In other words, as soon as an 
adverse action on a prescriber’s license by the appropriate licensing jurisdiction, authority to prescribe or 
dispense controlled substances under that license ceases. 
 
The Division of Medicaid recommends that pharmacies/pharmacists update their prescription files as soon as 
information is received that a prescriber’s license is no longer valid. The information that a prescriber’s license 
is no longer valid may be received via newsletters, faxes or other types of communication. It is the 
responsibility of each pharmacist to insure that the dispensing of medications is done properly through 
continued adherence to both state and federal laws.   
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Reminder: Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad/Paper Federal Mandate 

 
All non-electronic prescriptions are required to be written on 
tamper-resistant pads/paper.  The tamper resistant prescription 
pads/paper requirement applies to all outpatient drugs, including 
over-the-counter drugs.  It also applies whether DOM is the 
primary or secondary payer of the prescription being filled. This 
new provision impacts all DOM prescribers, physicians, dentists, 
optometrists, nurse practitioners, and other providers, who 
prescribe outpatient drugs. Additionally, computer generated 
prescriptions are not exempt from the CMS required mandate.  
 
Compliance with the tamper-resistant prescription pad/paper 
requirement is allowed to occur in two phases. For the first 
phase, in order to be considered “tamper-resistant”, a prescription must have contained at least one of three 
features by April 1, 2008. All three features are required on the prescription pads by October 1, 2008.  
 
For a comprehensive listing of tamper resistant prescription pad/paper (TRPP) features and exemptions to the 
federal mandate, refer to the agency’s website at www.dom.state.ms.us, Pharmacy Services, and select TRPP 
information.  
 

 

REMINDER:  PHARMACY REFILL POLICY 
 
In accordance with state law, Medicaid provides up to a 31-day supply of a 
medication to Medicaid beneficiaries. 
 
• Medicaid will not pay for a prescription refill until 75% of the day’s 

supply of the drug has elapsed as indicated on the prescription.  
 
EXAMPLE:  A prescription for a 31-day supply has been 75% used by the 
23rd day after it was dispensed.  The prescription may be refilled on the 23rd 
day.  Any attempt to refill a prescription through the Point-of-Sale system 
before the 23rd day will be automatically denied. 
 
If a prescription for a 31-day supply of a non-controlled substance was filled 
on July 1, 2008 and the prescription has refills remaining, and the beneficiary 
has not exhausted monthly service limits, then the prescription can be refilled 
on July 24, 2008 (1 + 23 = 24).  
 
                 
• Medicaid will not pay for a prescription refill until 85% of the days’ supply of any controlled 

substance (Schedule III, IV, and V) has elapsed as indicated on the prescription.  
 
EXAMPLE:  A prescription for a 31-day supply has been 85% used by the 26th day after it was dispensed.  The 
prescription may be refilled on the 26th day.  Any attempt to refill a prescription through the Point-of-Sale 
system before the 26th day will be automatically denied. 
 
If a prescription for a 31- day supply of a controlled substance was filled on July 1, 2008  and the prescription 
has refills remaining, and the beneficiary has not exhausted monthly service limits, then the prescription can be 
refilled on July 27, 2008. (1 + 26 = 27). 
 

           Continued on the next page 
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(Continued from page 3) 
 
• By law, Schedule II narcotics cannot be refilled; therefore, Medicaid will not pay for a prescription 

refill for any Schedule II narcotic, nor will Medicaid pay for a new prescription until 85% of the 
days’ supply has elapsed.  

 
EXAMPLE:  A prescription for a 31-day supply has been 85% used by the 26th day after it was dispensed. 
 
If a new prescription for a 31-day supply of a Schedule II substance was filled on July 1, 2008 and a new 
prescription is submitted for payment,  and the beneficiary has not exhausted monthly service limits, then 
Medicaid can reimburse for the new prescription as of the July 27, 2008 date. (1 + 26 = 27). 
 
For additional information regarding DOM’s Pharmacy Program, including the prescription refill policy, refer 
to the Pharmacy Manual which may be found on the agency’s website at www.dom.state.ms.us. 

 

Drugs Marketed in the United States That Do Not Have Required FDA Approval 

The Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act generally requires that drugs marketed in the United States be 
shown to be both safe and effective prior to marketing, and widespread use in the general population. FDA 
approval means not only that the product has been reviewed for safety and effectiveness, it means the agency has 
reviewed manufacturing quality, inspected manufacturing controls, and has reviewed the product labeling to ensure 
it adequately conveys the drug’s benefits and risks. It also means that the drug product is consistently monitored for 
safety, effectiveness, and adherence with manufacturing quality standards. FDA estimates that there are several 
hundred different unapproved prescription drug active ingredients on the market, and that less than 2% of prescribed 
drugs are unapproved. 
 
Drugs that are marketed without required FDA approval may not meet modern standards for safety, 
effectiveness, quality, and labeling. However, some drugs, mostly older products, continue to be marketed 
illegally in the United States, without required FDA approval. Many healthcare providers are not aware of the 
unapproved status of some drugs and have continued to unknowingly prescribe those drugs because the drugs’ 
labels do not disclose that they lack FDA approval. 

There may be a number of examples whereby unapproved prescribed drugs are placed on the market.  These are only 
a few:  

• The company may not have received approval for a drug; 
• One or more companies may have approval for a drug, but others may be manufacturing that drug without 

having gone through the FDA approval process to show that their versions of the drug have the same quality 
and benefits as the drugs that are approved;  

• There may be approval for a drug to be sold as a single active ingredient, but other companies may be 
manufacturing a drug that combines that ingredient with other ingredients without FDA approval;   

• A combination of ingredients is approved, but the single ingredient is sold without approval.  

For further information, please see FDA’s Unapproved Drugs Web Page, located at 
http://www.fda.gov/cder/drug/unapproved_drugs/default.htm . 
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Medicaid Covered Drugs for the Dually Eligible Beneficiary 

 
The Pharmacy Bureau has received inquiries regarding Medicaid drug coverage for the dually eligible 
beneficiary. Some Medicare Part D plans are revising their formularies to exclude FDA unapproved drugs as 
described in a prior article.  Medicaid drug coverage for the dual eligible is limited to: 

• Benzodiazepines—generic formulations only; 
• Barbituates—limited to phenobarbital and mephobarbital; 
• Over the counter medications—limited to DOM’s OTC formulary only;  
• Prescription vitamins—limited to folic acid, Vitamin K, vitamin B12 injection, and legend 

Vitamin D; prenatal vitamins for females up to age of 45 years of age;  fluoride vitamins for 
beneficiaries under the age of 21; some renal vitamins for dialysis beneficiaries; and  

• Butalbital/acetaminophen or aspirin analgesic combinations (for example--Fiorcet or Fiorinal) 
 

 
Reminder:  PDL Update on July 1, 2008   

 
PDL update:  The Division of Medicaid's Preferred Drug List (PDL) will be updated July 1, 
2008.  For a comprehensive list of the PDL, go to the Agency's website at 
www.dom.state.ms.us, under Pharmacy Services.   
 

 
FDA Advisory Regarding Albuterol Inhalers 

 
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have issued a public health advisory regarding the availability 
of chlorofluorocarbon (CFC)-propelled albuterol inhalers.  CFC propelled inhalers are harmful to the 
environment by contributing to depletion of the ozone layer above the Earth’s surface.  As of December 31, 
2008, CFC-propelled albuterol inhalers will no longer be available in the United States.  Hydrofluoroalkane 
(HFA)-propelled albuterol inhalers are a safe and effective alternative to CFC propelled albuterol 
inhalers.  FDA is advising patients and health care providers to switch to HFA-propelled albuterol as soon as 
possible.   

Albuterol is a beta-adrenergic agonist used in the treatment of bronchospasm in patients with asthma and 
chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).  Three HFA-propelled albuterol inhalers, Proair® HFA 
Inhalation Aerosol, Proventil® HFA Inhalation Aerosol, and Ventolin® HFA Inhalation Aerosol, have received 
FDA approval. All of these inhalers are available for use.  Levalbuterol, an isomer of albuterol, is an FDA 
approved alternative and is available as Xopenex HFATM Inhalation Aerosol.   

 
 
 
 

Policy Manual Reminder 
 

This bulletin is a document for the Mississippi Medicaid Provider Policy Manual and must be placed in Section 88 of the 
manual. All providers are held accountable for all policies in the monthly Mississippi Medicaid Bulletins. 
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ATTENTION:  Rural Health Centers and Federally Qualified Health Centers 
 

Provider Workshops – July, August, and September 2008 
 

ACS Government Healthcare Solutions, in conjunction with the Mississippi Division of Medicaid, will conduct 
provider workshops for billers at RHC and FQHC facilities during July, August, and September of 2008.  The 
workshop will cover the following topics: 
 

• Correct Billing Practices 
• Mississippi Medicaid Policy 
• NPI 
• Enhanced Web Portal Functionality 
• Encounter Payment Methodology 
• Medicare Part C claims 

 
The specific dates and locations of the workshops are as follows: 
 

Date/Time Location Date/Time Location 
July 30, 2008 
10:00 am – 2:00 
pm 

MSU Riley Center 
2200 Fifth Street 
Meridian, MS  39301 

August 20, 2008 
10:00 am – 2:00 pm 

BancorpSouth Conference 
Center 
387 East Main Street 
Tupelo, MS 38804 

August 6, 2008 
10:00 am – 2:00 
pm 

Days Inn 
1796 Sunset Drive 
Grenada, MS  38901 

September  5, 2008 
10:00 am – 2:00 pm 

Hattiesburg Lake Terrace 
Convention Center 
1 Convention Center Plaza 
Hattiesburg, MS 39401 

August 13 2008 
10:00 am – 2:00 
pm 

Natchez Eola Hotel  
110 N Pearl St 
Natchez, MS 39120 

  

 
 
The same information will be presented at each workshop.  Additionally, the workshops are free of charge. 
Seating is limited. It is imperative that you RSVP by July 18, 2008.  Mail the RSVP to:  ACS Government 
Healthcare Solutions, ATTN: Provider/Beneficiary Services, P.O. Box 23078, Jackson, MS 39225 or, fax it to 
ACS, Attn: Provider/Beneficiary Services at 601-572-3200.  You may contact Tamara Cry at 601-206-3028 or 
email her at tamara.cry@acs-inc.com to RSVP or if you have questions about the workshops.   
 
We look forward to meeting with you. 
 
Sincerely, 
ACS Government Healthcare Solutions 
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Please complete the RSVP Section and mail or fax by July 18, 2008 to: 
 

ACS Government Healthcare Solutions 
ATTN: Provider/Beneficiary Services 

P.O. Box 23078 
Jackson, MS 39225 

 
Provider Name Provider Number 
  

Provider Telephone Number Contact Name 
  
Name (s) of Attendees  
 
 
 
Date of Workshop Location Attending 
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Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 

 
The Division of Medicaid began conducting Title VI Civil Rights Compliance Reviews during the month 
of June 2008 for the following provider groups: hospitals, nursing facilities, and a random sampling of 
physicians and dentists.  
 
Providers who have completed their compliance review with the Medicare Program will be requested to submit 
a copy of their current Medicare Civil Rights Compliance approval letter, and shall not be required to complete 
the Medicaid compliance review forms.  
 
The Division of Medicaid will make available all respective implementing regulations, relevant data, and 
required information necessary for the Office of Civil Rights to determine compliance by providers and other 
participating service providers with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975.  
 
The State Plan requirements may be retrieved from: www.dom.state.ms.us/ under the State Plan link; then 
select Section 7.2, Non Discrimination.  Other required documents for completion are on the ACS Web 
Portal at https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/; under Provider/Provider Enrollment/Download 
Enrollment Package; then Required Documentation, Civil Rights Compliance Information Request for 
Medicaid Certification. 
 
Once you have the required documentation to be submitted, mail it to:  Division of Medicaid, Attention: 
Dinne Ensley, 550 High Street, Suite 1000, Jackson, MS 39201-1399; or send it electronically, via e-mail 
as an attachment to fca.@dom.state.ms.us . 
 
If you need additional information, contact Evelyn Silas or Dinne Ensley at 601-359-6133. 

 
 

 
Web Portal Reminder 

 
For easy access to up-to-date information, providers are 
encouraged to use the Mississippi Envision Web Portal.  
The Web Portal is the electronic approach to rapid, 
efficient information exchange with providers including 
eligibility verification, claim submission, electronic report 
retrieval, and the latest updates to provider information. 
The Mississippi Envision Web Portal is available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year via the 
Internet at http://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com. 
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Policy Manual Additions/ Revisions 

 
The following policies and policy sections have been added and/or revised in the DOM Provider Policy Manual.  
Providers of these services may view these changes by accessing the DOM website at www.dom.state.ms.us 
and clicking on “Provider Manuals” in the left window.    

 
Manual Section Policy Section  New Revised Effective 

Date 
40.0 Home Health 40.03 Covered Services  X 07/01/08 
64.0 LTC/Pre-Admission  
         Screening (PAS) 

64.17 PAS Level II Requirements for 
Mental Illness (MI) or Mental Retardation 
(MR) 

 X 07/01/08 

65.0 Elderly & Disabled  
        Waiver 

65.02 Eligibility 
65.03 Provider Enrollment 
65.04 Freedom of Choice 
65.07 Covered Services 
65.08 Quality Management 
65.09 Documentation/Record Maintenance 

 X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 

07/01/08 

66.0 Independent Living  
        Waiver 

66.02 Eligibility 
66.03 Freedom of Choice 
66.06 Covered Services 
66.07 Quality Management 
66.08 Documentation/Record Maintenance 
66.10 Reimbursement 

 X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 

07/01/08 

11.0 Dental  11.13 Oral Surgery  X 08/01/08 
13.0 Ambulatory Surgical    
        Center 

13.02 Definitions  X 08/01/08 

53.0 General Medical Policy 53.20 Medical Visit Editing X  08/01/08 
55.0 Physician 55.03 Medical Visit Editing* X  08/01/08 
81.0 General Coding  
         Information 

81.03 Code Auditing X  08/01/08 

 
*This section cross references section 53.20 Medical Visit Editing. 
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25 
 

26 

27  28 
 

   C
H

E
C

K
W

R
IT

E
 29 30 31 

EDI Cut Off 
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Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday.  The Remittance Advice is available for download each Monday 
morning at http://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com while funds are not transferred until the following Thursday. 

ACS 
P.O.  Box 23078 
Jackson, MS  39225 
 
 

If you have any 
questions related to the 
topics in this bulletin, 
please contact ACS at 

 1-800 -884 -3222 
 
 
 

Mississippi Medicaid  
Manuals  

are on the Web 
www.dom.state.ms.us 

And 
Medicaid Bulletins are on 

the Web Portal 
http://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com 

 
 

PRSRT STD 
U.S. Postage Paid 

Jackson, MS 
Permit No. 53 

 




