
 

 

 
 

Important Provider Bulletin 
 

This is an important issue of the Medicaid Provider Bulletin to notify providers of changes in the Medicaid program 
as a result of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) and Envision, the revised 
Medicaid claims processing system.  Much of the information in this bulletin discusses changes that are effective 
October 1, 2003, that may impact claims processing and payment.  Please read this bulletin carefully and refer to it 
when submitting claims on and after October 1, 2003. 
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Medicaid Information Is At Your Fingertips 24 – 7 – 365 
On Monday, October 6, 2003, access to the Mississippi Division of Medicaid’s (DOM) system will be further 
enhanced with the addition of the Web Portal interface to the Envision computer system.   The Mississippi 
Envision Web Portal provides Medicaid-related 
content to providers and the interested public.  
The Web Portal contains two kinds of contents, 
public and private.  The public pages of the 
Web Portal provide general information such as 
contact information, frequently asked questions 
(FAQs), statistics, and other static Web content.  
No confidential provider or patient-related data 
is disclosed on the portal’s public pages.  
Private Web pages are accessible only by 
authorized users and may contain protected 
provider and patient healthcare information. 
 

Please note that the word “public” in reference 
to the Envision portal’s functionality is not synonymous with “non-secure.”  Rather, public pages of the Web 
Portal are those that are available to all users, regardless of their registration status: unregistered, pending, or 
registered.  Therefore, some pages that are considered public are also secure and employ 128-bit encryption 
with SSL v3.0, such as the Web-based provider enrollment application. 
 

At the heart of the Envision system is the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS).  The Web 
Portal interface will allow Mississippi Medicaid providers direct web/internet based access to information 
contained in the MMIS and other Envision subsystems.  It is called a Web Portal because the site serves as a 
“portal” for the exchange of data and other information between the Medicaid providers and the Division of 
Medicaid.  Access to the Mississippi Envision Web Portal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days 
a year via the Internet at http://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com.  Don’t forget to bookmark the DOM Web Portal in 
your browser Favorites the first time you visit the site so you can quickly return again and again.   
 

In order to use the secure portion of the Web Portal, providers must be registered users. 
The first person to register under your provider number will be assigned as the Master Administrator (MA) for 
all users of your organization.  It is important that you keep this fact in mind as you complete the initial user 
registration so that the appropriate individual becomes the Master Administrator.   The MA will be able to add 
more users in your organization and reset passwords.  The MA will also establish what Web Portal access 
rights each user within your organization has.  The MA may assign a user any one, combination of, or all of 
the following Web Portal rights:  
 

• Beneficiary Eligibility Inquiry • Claims Status Inquiry 
• Payment Status Inquiry • EDI Exchange 
• Ask Provider Relations • User Administration 

 

Additionally, please note as you plan to register users within your organization that each registered user is 
required to have his/her own unique e-mail address.  This is how notification of initial passwords and reset 
passwords is communicated to members of your organization.  If members of your organization do not have 
their own unique e-mail address, they can obtain a FREE e-mail account from any one of the many Internet 
companies such as Yahoo, Hotmail, Netscape, among others.   
 

Don’t delay. Register today, as answers to many of your DOM questions will only be a mouse click away!    
The address is: http://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com. 



Mississippi Medicaid Bulletin September 2003 

 
3 

HIPAA Contingency 
 

To improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the health care system, Congress enacted the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 which requires covered entities to use national standards for 
electronic health care transactions.  The law is clear that covered entities, including providers and health plans, may 
not conduct noncompliant transactions after the compliance deadline.   
 

If you are a health care provider who submits electronic healthcare information, it is important that your practice 
management system supports the use of these transactions.  Please communicate with your software vendor or 
billing agent about their progress towards HIPAA compliance. As the covered health care provider, it is your 
responsibility to ensure that the transactions you conduct electronically are compliant with the HIPAA regulations.  
If your practice management systems are unable to support the HIPAA mandated electronic transactions, you will 
be required to submit your claims on paper unless the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) extends 
the period within which you may comply “based on the nature and extent of the failure to comply.” 

 

The Mississippi Division of Medicaid (DOM) is currently renovating and testing its Medicaid Management 
Information System (MMIS) to support adoption of the new standard transactions and will implement all HIPAA 
mandated electronic health care transactions on October 1, 2003. 
 

 

September 2003 Provider Workshop Reminder 
 

If you were not able to attend the August provider training workshops, The Division of Medicaid and ACS State 
Healthcare would like to remind you that a final provider workshop will be held on Tuesday, September 9, 2003. 
The workshop will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with registration beginning at 8 a.m. The morning 
workshops will include a general session with concurrent sessions by claim type. The sessions will be repeated in 
the afternoon workshops. The general session will address HIPAA, EDI, the Envision system enhancements and 
changes, the new format of the Remittance Advice and WINASAP 2003. The concurrent sessions will address 
billing changes, code changes and other related topics.  
 

The location and schedule for September 9, 2003 is listed below.   
 

September 9, 2003 - Jackson, MS 
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 

400 Greymont Avenue 
Jackson, MS 39201 

 

Morning Schedule 
8:00 – 8:30 Registration 
8:30-11:30  General Session ( EDI, Envision, HIPAA, RA and WINASAP 2003) 
8:30 – 9:50 HCFA-1500 Billers 
8:30 – 9:50 Nursing Facility Billers 
10:10 – 11:30 DME Billers 
10:10 – 11:30 UB-92 Billers 

 

Afternoon Schedule 
1:00 – 1:30 Registration for participants (not attending morning sessions) 
1:30 – 2:50 General Session ( EDI, Envision, HIPAA, RA and WINASAP 2003) 
1:30 – 2:50 HCFA 1500 Billers 
1:30 – 2:50 Nursing Facility Billers 
3:10 – 4:30 DME Billers 
3:10 – 4:30 UB-92 Billers 

 

******Please note that for each morning and afternoon session, the same information will be discussed. You can 
choose to attend one general session (morning or afternoon) and one claim type session.*******  
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Attention All Mississippi Medicaid Providers 
 

October is quickly approaching and so is the switch to the ACS EDI Gateway, Inc. claims clearinghouse.  The 
claims clearinghouse will support the HIPAA mandated electronic transactions, such as the 837 Professional, 
Dental and Institutional.  The clearinghouse will be in effect on October 1, 2003, as of 5:01 PM CDT. Providers 
billing in the current formats (NECS, WINASAP2000, NSF or UB92) will need to submit those claims for 
payment no later than 5:00 PM CDT on October 1, 2003.  (Please Note: All Nursing Homes using the old formats 
must submit claims for the month of September by 5:00 PM CDT on October 1, 2003).  Any claims received in the 
NECS, WINASAP2000, NSF or UB92 formats after 5:00 PM CST will not be processed for payment. 
 

 

Attention All NECS and WINASAP2000 Users 
 

As of October 1, 2003 at 5:01 PM CDT you will no longer be able to submit claims to Mississippi Medicaid using 
NECS or WINASAP2000.  WINASAP2003 is replacing both NECS and WINASAP2000.  This software supports 
the HIPAA-mandated electronic transactions, such as 837 Professional, Dental and Institutional. 
 

If you have not already received notification to download the software, please do so at http://msmedicaid.acs-
inc.com or contact the EDI Support Unit at 1-866-225-2502 to request a copy on CD-ROM. 
 
If you are currently using WINASAP2000, you will be able to convert your patient, provider and reference tables 
into the new version.  Claims will not be converted to the new version.  If you are using WINASAP2000 version 
7.0, when you convert to WINASAP2003 you will need to correct the provider number from the old 7-digit number 
to the new 8-digit number (If you are using WINASAP2000 version 8.0, you do not need to correct the provider 
number).  Follow the steps below or contact the EDI Support Unit for assistance at 1-866-225-2502. 
 

Steps to correct Provider Number: 
1. Once you have converted the data, open WINASAP2003. 
2. Open the Provider Reference table. 
3. Select the provider record you need to correct. 
4. Click copy located at the bottom of the window. 
5. Add a zero to the beginning of the number. 
6. Click save. 
7. Delete the old record with the 7-digit ID. 

 

As of 5:01 PM CDT on October 1, 2003, you will no longer be able to submit using NECS or WINASAP2000.  
You will also need to make sure you submit claims with your new 8-digit provider ID.  If you need assistance, 
please contact the EDI Support Unit at 1-866-225-2502. 
 

 
UB-92 and CMS-1500 Paper Claim Submission 

 

Effective October 1, 2003, paper submissions of the UB-92 and CMS-1500 claim forms will be processed using 
Optical Character Recognition (OCR).  OCR technology is widely accepted by commercial and governmental 
healthcare financing organizations. Mississippi Medicaid is implementing the technology in an effort to increase 
efficiency, accuracy, and more timely processing of Provider claims.  OCR processing requires that claims be 
typewritten on “red drop-out” forms.  UB-92 and CMS-1500 claim forms can be purchased from a variety of 
vendors including forms distributors, print vendors, and office supply companies.   
 

Providers are encouraged to use typewritten “red drop-out” forms for all UB-92 and CMS-1500 paper claims 
submissions.  Handwritten, photocopied, and other black and white formats will cause a delay in claim processing 
and payment. 
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Re-enrollment Update 
 
Review and processing of all provider re-enrollment applications received by August 8, 2003, will be completed by 
September 30, 2003.  Any re-enrollment applications received on or after August 8, 2003, may not be completed 
by the September 30, 2003, deadline. Claims with dates of service beginning October 1, 2003, will deny for any 
provider whose re-enrollment is not completed by September 30, 2003. 
 
 

8-digit Provider Number 
 
The 8-digit provider number must be used for any claims filed on and after October 2, 2003. Any claims filed with 
a provider number using fewer than 8 digits will deny for provider number not on file. The 8-digit provider number 
will also be required to access the AVRS. 
 

 
Standard Place of Service Codes for Professional Claims 

 
Listed below are place of service codes that will be used on claims filed on and after October 1, 2003.  These codes 
should be used on professional claims to specify the entity where services were rendered.  The Division of 
Medicaid (DOM) is required to accept all of these place of service codes but is not required to pay for services in 
places not covered by DOM in accordance with DOM policy and procedures. 
 

Place of 
Service Code 

Place of Service 
Name 

Place of Service Description 

01-02 Unassigned N/A 
03 School A facility whose primary purpose is education. 
04 Homeless Shelter  A facility whose primary purpose is to provide temporary housing to 

homeless individuals (e.g., emergency shelters, individual or family 
shelters). 

05 Indian Health Service 
Freestanding Facility 

A facility or location, owned and operated by the Indian Health Service, 
which provides diagnostic, therapeutic (surgical and non-surgical), and 
rehabilitation services to American Indians and Alaska Natives who do not 
require hospitalization. 

06 Indian Health Service 
Provider-Based 
Facility 

A facility or location, owned and operated by the Indian Health Service, 
which provides diagnostic, therapeutic (surgical and non-surgical), and 
rehabilitation services rendered by, or under the supervision of, physicians 
to American Indians and Alaska Natives admitted as inpatients or 
outpatients. 

07 Tribal 638 
Freestanding Facility 

A facility or location, owned and operated by an American Indian or Alaska 
Native tribe or tribal organization under a 638 agreement, which provides 
diagnostic, therapeutic (surgical and non-surgical), and rehabilitation 
services to tribal members who do not require hospitalization. 

08 Tribal 638 Provider-
Based Facility 

A facility or location, owned and operated by an American Indian or Alaska 
Native tribe or tribal organization under a 638 agreement, which provides 
diagnostic, therapeutic (surgical and non-surgical), and rehabilitation 
services to tribal members admitted as inpatients or outpatients. 

09-10 Unassigned N/A 
11 Office Location, other than a hospital, skilled nursing facility (SNF), military 

treatment facility, community health center, State or local public health 
clinic, or intermediate care facility (ICF), where the health professional 
routinely provides health examinations, diagnosis, and treatment of illness 
or injury on an ambulatory basis. 

   
   

Continued on the next page 
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Place of 
Service Code 

Place of Service 
Name 

Place of Service Description 

12 Home Location, other than a hospital or other facility, where the patient receives 
care in a private residence 

13 Assisted Living 
Facility 

Congregate residential facility with self-contained living units providing 
assessment of each resident’s needs and on-site support 24 hours a day, 
7 days a week, with the capacity to deliver or arrange for services, 
including some health care and other services. 

14 Group Home Congregate residential foster care setting for children and adolescents in 
state custody that provides some social, health care, and education 
support services and that promotes rehabilitation and re-integration of 
residents into the community. 

15 Mobile Unit A facility/unit that moves from place-to-place equipped to provide 
preventive, screening, diagnostic, and/or treatment services. 

16-19 Unassigned N/A 
20 Urgent Care Facility Location, distinct from a hospital emergency room, an office, or a clinic, 

whose purpose is to diagnose and treat illness or injury for unscheduled 
ambulatory patients seeking immediate medical attention. 

21 
 

Inpatient Hospital A facility, other than psychiatric, which primarily provides diagnostic, 
therapeutic (both surgical and nonsurgical), and rehabilitation services by, 
or under, the supervision of physicians to patients admitted for a variety of 
medical conditions. 

23 Emergency Room – 
Hospital 

A portion of a hospital where emergency diagnosis and treatment of illness 
or injury is provided. 

24 Ambulatory Surgical 
Center 

A freestanding facility, other than a physician’s office, where surgical and 
diagnostic services are provided on an ambulatory basis. 

25 Birthing Center A facility, other than a hospital’s maternity facilities or a physician’s office, 
which provides a setting for labor, delivery, and immediate postpartum 
care as well as immediate care of newborn infants. 

26 Military Treatment 
Facility 

A medical facility operated by one or more of the Uniformed Services.  
Military Treatment Facility (MTF) also refers to certain former U. S. Public 
Health Service (USPHS) facilities now designated as Uniformed Service 
Treatment Facilities (USTF). 

27-30 Unassigned N/A 
31 Skilled Nursing 

Facility 
A facility which primarily provides inpatient skilled nursing care and related 
services to patients who require medical, nursing, or rehabilitative services 
but does not provide the level of care or treatment available in a hospital. 

32 Nursing Facility A facility which primarily provides to residents skilled nursing care and 
related services for the rehabilitation of injured, disabled, or sick persons, 
or, on a regular basis, health-related care services above the level of 
custodial care to other than mentally retarded individuals. 

33 Custodial Care 
Facility 

A facility which provides room, board and other personal assistance 
services, generally on a long-term basis, and which does not include a 
medical component. 

34 Hospice A facility, other than a patient’s home, in which palliative and supportive 
care for terminally ill patients and their families are provided. 

35-40 Unassigned N/A 
41 Ambulance-Land A land vehicle specifically designed, equipped and staffed for lifesaving 

and transporting the sick or injured. 
42 Ambulance-Air or 

Water 
An air or water vehicle specifically designed, equipped and staffed for 
lifesaving and transporting the sick or injured. 

43-48 Unassigned N/A 
49 Independent Clinic A location, not part of a hospital and not described by any other Place of 

Service code, that is organized and operated to provide preventive, 
diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabilitative, or palliative services to outpatients 
only. 

Standard Place of Service Codes Continued…

Continued on the next page 
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Place of 
Service Code 

Place of Service 
Name 

Place of Service Description 

50 Federally Qualified 
Health Center 

A facility located in a medically underserved area that provides Medicare 
beneficiaries preventive primary medical care under the general direction 
of a physician. 

51 Inpatient Psychiatric 
Facility 

A facility that provides inpatient psychiatric services for the diagnosis and 
treatment of mental illness on a 24-hour basis, by or under the supervision 
of a physician. 

52 Psychiatric Facility-
Partial Hospitalization 

A facility for the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness that provides a 
planned therapeutic program for patients who do not require full time 
hospitalizations, but who need broader programs than are possible from 
outpatient visits to a hospital-based or hospital-affiliated facility. 

53 Community Mental 
Health Center 

A facility that provides the following services:  outpatient services, 
including specialized outpatient services for children, the elderly, 
individuals who are chronically ill, and residents of the CMHC’s mental 
health service area who have been discharged from inpatient treatment at 
a mental health facility; 24 hour a day emergency care services; day 
treatment, other partial hospitalization services, or psychosocial 
rehabilitation services; screening for patients being considered for 
admission to State mental health facilities to determine the 
appropriateness of such admission; and consultation and education 
services. 

54 Intermediate Care 
Facility/Mentally 
Retarded 

A facility which primarily provides health-related care and services above 
the level of custodial care to mentally retarded individuals but does not 
provide the level of care or treatment available in a hospital or SNF. 

55 Residential 
Substance Abuse 
Treatment Facility 

A facility which provides treatment for substance (alcohol and drug) abuse 
to live-in residents who do not require acute medical care.  Services 
include individual and group therapy and counseling, family counseling, 
laboratory tests, drugs and supplies, psychological testing, and room and 
board. 

56 Psychiatric 
Residential Treatment 
Center 

A facility or distinct part of a facility for psychiatric care which provides a 
total 24-hour therapeutically planned and professionally staffed group 
living and learning environment. 

57 Non-residential 
Substance Abuse 
Treatment Facility 

A location that provides treatment for substance (alcohol and drug) abuse 
on an ambulatory basis. Services include individual and group therapy and 
counseling, family counseling, laboratory tests, drugs and supplies, and 
psychological testing. 

58-59 Unassigned N/A 
60 Mass Immunization 

Center 
A location where providers administer pneumococcal pneumonia and 
influenza virus vaccinations and submit these claims as electronic medical 
claims, paper claims, or using the roster billing method.  This generally 
takes place in a mass immunization setting, such as a public health center, 
pharmacy, or mall but may include a physician office setting. 

61 Comprehensive 
Inpatient 
Rehabilitation Facility 

A facility that provides comprehensive rehabilitation services under the 
supervision of a physician to inpatients with physical disabilities.  Services 
include physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech pathology, social 
or psychological services, and orthotics and prosthetics services. 

62 Comprehensive 
Outpatient 
Rehabilitation Facility 

A facility that provides comprehensive rehabilitation services under the 
supervision of a physician to outpatients with physical disabilities.  
Services include physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech 
pathology. 

63-64 Unassigned N/A 
65 End-Stage Renal 

Disease Treatment 
Facility 

A facility other than a hospital which provides dialysis treatment, 
maintenance, and/or training to patients or caregivers on an ambulatory or 
home-care basis. 

   

Standard Place of Service Codes Continued…

Continued on the next page 
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Place of 
Service Code 

Place of Service 
Name 

Place of Service Description 

66-70 Unassigned N/A 
71 Public Health Clinic 

 
 

A facility maintained by either State or local health departments that 
provides ambulatory primary medical care under the general direction of a 
physician. 

72 Rural Health Clinic A certified facility that is located in a rural medically underserved area that 
provides ambulatory primary medical care under the general direction of a 
physician. 

73-80 Unassigned N/A 
81 Independent 

Laboratory 
A laboratory certified to perform diagnostic and/or clinical tests 
independent of an institution or a physician’s office. 

82-98 Unassigned N/A 
99 Other Place of 

Service 
Other place of service not identified above. 

 
 

 
 

Local Code Conversion Table 
Effective For Dates Of Services On And After October 1, 2003 

 
 
TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
Ambulance 

 
W2000 

 
A0428  

 
Origin/Destination Modifiers: D, E, 
G, H, I, J, N, P, R, S, X 

 
Ambulance 

 
W2007 

 
A0436  

 
Origin/Destination Modifiers: D, E, 
G, H, I, J, N, P, R, S, X 

 
Ambulance  

 
W2008 

 
A0435  

 
Origin/Destination Modifiers: D, E, 
G, H, I, J, N, P, R, S, X 

Ambulance W2010 A0380 Origin/Destination Modifiers: D, E, 
G, H, I, J, N, P, R, S, X 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2200 

 
T2001 

 
None                                                  

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2201  

 
Code Closed 
  

 
None 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2202 

 
Code Closed  
 

 
None 

Ambulance W2205 A0428 Origin/Destination Modifiers: D, E, 
G, H, I, J, N, P, R, S, X 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2211 

 
A0210 

 
None 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2212 

 
A0210 

 
None 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2280 

 
S0215 for  
NET Individual 
Providers & 
T2003 for NET 
Group Providers  

 
None 

    
    

Standard Place of Service Codes Continued…
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2291 

 
A0190 

None 

 
NET: Non Emergency Transportation 

 
W2292 

 
A0190 

 
None 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3000 

 
90862 

 
HW 

Mental Health andCMHC W3005 90804, 90806, or 
90808 

HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3006 

 
H0031 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3007 

 
H0032 

 
HW and HT 
 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3008 

 
H0039 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3009 

 
90846 
90847 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3010 

 
90853 
90857 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3015 

 
H2030 

 
HW and HB 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3016 

 
H2012 

 
HW 

Mental Health and CMHC  
W3020 

 
T1502 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3021 

 
T1017 

 
HW and HB 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3022 

 
T1017 

 
HW and HA 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3023 

 
T1001 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3025 

 
90849 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3026 

 
H2015 

 
HW and HA 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3027 

 
H0035 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3036 

 
H2019 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3037 

 
H2017 

 
HW 

 
Mental Health and CMHC 

 
W3038 

 
H2030 

 
HW and HC 

HCBS Elderly / Disabled  
W3100 

 
T1016 

 
U1 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3101 

 
S5150 

 
U1 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3102 

 
S5151 

 
U1 

 
HCBS 
TBI /SCI 

 
W3102 

 
S5151 

 
U5 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3103 

 
S5102 

 
U1 

HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3104 

 
S5165 

 
U5 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3105 

 
S5130 

 
U1 

    

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3106 

 
S5150 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3106 

 
S5150 

 
U5 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3107 

 
S5136 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3108 

 
A4521 – A4525 
 

 
U3 

 
HCBS  
MR/DD 

 
W3108 

 
A4554 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3108 

 
A4338 – A4346 
 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3108 

 
Select appropriate 
DME code 

 
U5 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3109 

 
H2019 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3110 

 
T1016 

 
U3 

 
HCBS  
MR/DD 

 
W3112 

 
T1005 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3112 

 
T1005 

 
U5 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3113 

 
S5170 

 
U1 

 
HCBS Independent Living 

 
W3114 

 
S5125 

 
U2 

 
HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3114 

 
S5125 

 
U5 

 
HCBS Independent Living 

 
W3115 

 
T1016 

 
U2 

 
HCBS 
TBI / SCI 

 
W3115 

 
T1016 

 
U5 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3117 

 
S5151 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3118 

 
S5136 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3119 

 
S5125 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3120 

 
S5100 

 
TT and U3 
 

    
    
    

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 

Continued on the next page 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3121 

 
T2015 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3122 

 
H2024 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3123 

 
G0151 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3124 

 
G0152 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3125 

 
G0153 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3126 

 
H0045 

 
U3 

 
HCBS 
MR/DD 

 
W3127 

 
T1005 

 
U3 

 
HCBS Elderly / Disabled 

 
W3128 

 
T2001 

 
U1 

 
Mental Health 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W3305 

 
90804,90806, 
90808, 90810, 
90812 or 90814 

 
HA with AH or AJ 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W3005 

 
90847 

 
EP 

 
Mental Health  
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W3310 

 
90846 or 90847 
or H0031 

 
HA with AH or AJ 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W3310 

 
90849 

 
EP 

 
Mental Health 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W3315 

 
90853 
90857 

 
HA with AH or AJ 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W3315 

 
90853 

 
EP 

 
Mental Health 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W3320 

 
H2012 

 
HA with AH or AJ 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W4001 

 
92507 

 
EP  

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4001 

 
92507 

 
EP 

 
Expanded 
EPSDT 

 
W4002 

 
92507 

 
EP 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4002 

 
92507 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W4003 

 
92507 

 
EP 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4003 

 
92507 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W4010 

 
92508 

 
EP 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4010 

 
92508 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W4011 

 
92508 

 
EP 

    

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 

Continued on the next page 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4011 

 
92508 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W4012 

 
92508 

 
EP 

 
SCHOOL 

 
W4012 

 
92508 

 
EP 

 
Family Planning 

 
W5830 

 
J7300 or S4989 

 
FP 

 
Vaccine For  
Children (VFC) 

 
W6000, W6001 

W6005, W6006 

W6010, W6011 

W6015, W6020 

W6025, W6026 

W6030, W6031 

W6035, W6036 

W6040, W6041 

W6045, W6050 

W6055, W6060 

W6065, W6070 

W6075, W6080 

W6085, W6086 

W6090, W6091 

W6092, W6095 

W6100, W6101 

W6102, W6103 

W6105, W6106 

W6107, W6108 

W6116, W6119 

 
90471 or  
 
90471  and  
90472 

 
EP 

 
Antepartum Visit  
1st Trimester 
 
 
Antepartum Visit 
2nd Trimester 
 
                                                           
Antepartum Visit 
3rd Trimester 

 
W6130                    
W6140                    
W6150           

 
For all three (3)  
 
local codes, the 
 
following is  
 
applicable:   
 
 
For Visit #1, 2, or 
3:  Bill appropriate  
E & M code per 
visit 
 
For Visit #4, 5, or 
6:  59425 per visit 
 
For Visit #7 and 
above: 59426 per 
visit 

 
TH on all antepartum maternity 
visits 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W7000 

 
S9123 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W7001 

 
S9124 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W7002 

 
S9524 

 
EP 

 
Not Applicable 

 
W7003 

 
Code Closed 

 
Not Applicable 

    
    

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 

Continued on the next page 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
Dental  

 
W7100 

 
D7999 

 
None 

Dental W8999 Code Closed  Not Applicable 
 
Family Planning 

 
W9009 

 
99201 - 99215 

 
FP 

EPSDT W9010 99401 EP 
 
Family Planning 

 
W9014 

 
A4260 

 
FP 

 
HCBS 
Assisted Living 

 
W9017 

 
T1016 

 
U4 

HCBS 
Assisted Living 

 
W9018 

 
T1020 

 
U4 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9021 

 
99358 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9022 

 
99358 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9023 

 
99358 and 
99359 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9024 

 
99358 and  
99359 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9025 

 
99371 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9026 

 
99372 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9027 

 
99372 

 
EP 

 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9028 

 
99373 

 
EP 

 
Rape 

 
W9127 

 
Appropriate 
Evaluation 
and Management 
code 

 
None 

 
PHRM 

 
W9350 

 
T1023 

 
TH 

 
PHRM 

 
W9351 

H1002 
 

 
TH 

PHRM W9352 T1017 TH 
 
PHRM 

 
W9353 

 
T1023 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9355 

 
S9470 

 
TH 

 
PHRM 

 
W9356 

 
H0023 

 
TH 

 
PHRM 

 
W9357 

 
S9445 

 
TH 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9358 

 
Code Closed 

 
Not Applicable 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9360 

 
Code Closed 

 
Not Applicable 

 
PHRM 

 
W9361 

 
S9123 

 
TH 

 
PHRM 

 
W9362 

 
S9470 

 
TH 

    
    
    Continued on the next page 

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
PHRM 

 
W9363 

 
S9127 

 
TH 

EPSDT W9364 Code Closed Not Applicable 
 
EPSDT 

 
W9365 

 
99173 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9366 

92551  
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9367 

 
Code Closed  

 
Not Applicable 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9368 

 
99381 or 99391 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9369 

 
99382 or 99392 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9370 

 
99381 or 99391 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9371 

 
99381 or 99391 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9372 

 
99381 or 99391 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9373 

 
99381 or 99391 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9374 

 
99382 or 99392 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9375 

 
99382 or 99392 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9376 

 
For Age 1 to 4: 
99382 or 99392 
 
For Age 5 – 11: 
99383 or 99393 

 
EP 

 
EPSDT 

 
W9377 

 
For age 12 – 17: 
99384 or 99394 
 
For age 18 – 21: 
99385 or 99395 

 
EP                                                      

EPSDT W9378 Code Closed Not Applicable 
 
PHRM 

 
W9379 

 
T1017 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9380 

 
Code Closed 

 
Not Applicable  

 
PHRM 

 
W9381 

 
S9470 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9382 

 
H0023 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9383 

 
S9445 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9384 

 
S9123 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9385 

 
S9470 

 
EP 

 
PHRM 

 
W9386 

 
S9127 

 
EP 

EPSDT W9387 Code Closed Not Applicable 

EPSDT W9388 Code Closed  Not Applicable 
 
EPSDT 

 
W9401 

 
99371, 99372, or  
99373 

 
EP 

    

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 
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TYPE SERVICE 

 
LOCAL CODE 

 
HCPCS CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

 
Mental Health 
Expanded EPSDT 

 
W9405 

 
T1017 

 
HA with AH or AJ 

 
Anesthesia 

 
W9500 

 
36620 or 36625 

 
AA, GC, QX or QZ 

Anesthesia W9501 36488, 36489, 
36490, or 36491 

AA, GC, QX, or QZ 

Anesthesia W9502 93502 AA, GC, QX, or QZ 

Maternity Anesthesia W9510 62319 AA, GC, QX, or QZ 
 
Maternity Anesthesia 

 
W9511 

 
62311 

 
AA, GC, QX, or QZ 

 
Maternity Anesthesia  

 
W9514, W9515 
W9518, W9519 
W9520, W9521 
W9522 

 
Select one of 
following codes: 
01960, 01961,  
01962, 01963, 
01964, 01967, 
01968, or 01969 

                                             
AA, GC, QX or QZ        

 
Newborn Hearing 

 
W9523 

 
V5008 

 
None 

 
Hearing Aid 

 
Z5250 

 
V5014 

 
None 

 
Hearing Aid 

 
Z5252 

 
V5299 

 
None 

 
Hearing Aid 

 
Z5254 

 
V5299 

 
None 

 
Hearing Aid 

 
Z5255 

 
V5264 

 
None 

 
Medical Supplies 

 
Z0000 –  
Z9999 (Excluding 
Z5250, Z5252, 
Z5254, and 
Z5255 as 
conversion for 
these codes listed 
above) 

 
Select appropriate 
DME code 

 
SC 

 
Anesthesia 

DP GC Not applicable 

 
DME 

 
MODIFIER 1 

 
RR 

 
Not Applicable 

 
DME 

 
MODIFIER 2 

 
KR 

 
Not Applicable 

 
DME 

 
MODIFIER 3 

 
NU 

 
Not Applicable 

 
DME 

MODIFIER 4 RP Not Applicable 

 
DME 

MODIFIER 5 MS Not Applicable 

 
DME  

 
MODIFIER 6 

 
UE 

 
Not Applicable 

 
DME  

 
MODIFIER 7 

 
SC 

 
Not Applicable 

Local Code Conversion Table Continued… 
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Codes for Ambulance Services 
On and After October 1, 2003  

 

ALS EMERGENCY SERVICES 
A0427  Ambulance service, advanced life support, emergency transport, level 1 (ALS 1-emergency) 
A0390  ALS mileage ( per mile) 

Mississippi Medicaid policy does not allow billing for the initial 25  
  patient loaded miles. 
 

BLS EMERGENCY SERVICE 
A0429  Ambulance service, basic life support, emergency transport, (BLS- emergency) 
A0380  BLS Mileage (per mile) 

Mississippi Medicaid policy does not allow billing for the initial 25 
  patient loaded miles. 
 

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE TRANSPORT (Includes Dialysis Transports) 
A0428  Ambulance Service, basic life support, non-emergency transport (BLS) 
A0380  BLS Mileage (per mile) 

Mississippi Medicaid policy does not allow billing for the initial 25 
   patient loaded miles. 
 

NEONATAL TRANSPORT 
A0225  Ambulance service, neonatal transport, base rate, emergency transport, one way  
A0390  ALS mileage (per mile) 
  Mississippi Medicaid policy does not allow billing for the initial 25 
  patient loaded miles. 
 

DRUGS 
J0000 –  Injectable Drugs 
J9999   
  For Mississippi Medicaid, solutions are inclusive in the base rates 
  and cannot be filed separately under the HCPCS “J” Code. 
 

AIR AMBULANCE – HELICOPTER  
A0431  Ambulance service, conventional air services, transport, one way (rotary wing) 
A0436  Rotary wing air mileage, per statute mile 
 

AIR AMBULANCE – FIXED WING 
A0430  Ambulance service, conventional air services, transport, one way (fixed wing) 
A0435  Fixed wing air mileage, per statute mile 
 

 

Non-Emergency Transportation Billing Changes 
 

Effective October 1, 2003, the procedure codes for billing non-emergency transportation services by group 
providers (provider type J3) will change.  Procedure code A0100 is being replaced with procedure code A0110 and 
procedure code W2280 will be replaced with procedure code T2003.  These new codes will be in effect for all 
transports with a date of service on or after October 1, 2003.  Transports prior to that time period should be billed 
using the old procedure codes.  The proper procedure code will be listed at the bottom of the closed transaction 
summary. 
 
If NET providers have any questions, they may contact the Bureau of Compliance and Financial Review at 1-800-
421-2408 or 601-987-4868. 
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Type of Service Codes 
 

Claims filed on and after October 1, 2003, will not require the use of type of service codes. This was the code used 
in field 24C on the CMS-1500 claim form. 
 

 

Standard HCPCS and CPT Codes 
 

Effective October 1, 2003, the Division of Medicaid will accept claims that use any of the standard HCPCS and 
CPT codes. This does not mean that all codes will be paid. The Division of Medicaid will still determine which 
codes will be paid for Medicaid-covered services and which codes are not for Medicaid-covered services. The 
Division of Medicaid will continue to price codes and establish pricing methodology based on Medicaid policy and 
procedures. 
 

 

2003 CPT and HCPCS Codes 
 

The additions, changes and deletions to the 2003 CPT and HCPCS codes are now loaded into the Medicaid 
Management Information System (MMIS).  The new codes are effective for dates of service beginning January 1, 
2003.  The discontinued CPT and HCPCS codes will not be accepted after September 30, 2003.  
 
 

Anesthesia Services Billed by Anesthesiologists and CRNAs 
 

Effective for claims with dates of services on and after October 1, 2003, the following changes are applicable to 
anesthesia services billed by anesthesiologists and CRNAs.  These changes are in compliance with HIPAA 
regulations regarding standard coding and reporting.  
 

1. For anesthesia services performed in conjunction with surgical procedures, anesthesiologists and CRNAs must 
bill the appropriate code from the CPT Code range 00100 through 01999. 

 

2.  Anesthesiologists and CRNAs must report time units in one-minute increments.  One minute of anesthesia time 
will equal one unit. Providers will no longer report time units in 15 minutes (or any part of 15-minute) time 
increments.   

 

Effective for dates of services on and after October 1, 2003, the following changes are applicable to maternity 
anesthesia services billed by anesthesiologists and CRNAs.  These changes are also in compliance with HIPAA 
regulations regarding standard coding and reporting.  

 

1. Local maternity anesthesia codes W9514, W9515, W9518, W9519, W9520, W9521, and W9522 will be 
closed.  Anesthesiologists and CRNAs must bill the appropriate code from the CPT range 01960 through 01969 
for maternity anesthesia.    

 
2.  Local codes W9500, W9501, and W9502 will be closed.  Providers will report the appropriate CPT codes for 

the insertion of arterial lines, CVP lines, and flow directed catheters.   
 

For all services (maternity and non-maternity) billed to Medicaid, providers must continue to report one of the 
following modifiers with each code: 
 AA   Anesthesia performed personally by anesthesiologist 
 QX   CRNA service with medical direction by a physician 
  QZ   CRNA service without medical direction by a physician  
  

Modifier DP is a local modifier which is no longer valid after September 30, 2003. For dates of services on and 
after October 1, 2003, modifier GC must be utilized when the service has been performed in part by a resident 
under the direction of a teaching physician.    
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Continued on the next page 

Maternity Anesthesia Billed by Delivering Physician 
 

Effective for dates of services on and after October 1, 2003, the following coding changes apply to maternity 
anesthesia services provided by the delivering physician: 
 

 1. Local code W9510 will be closed. Providers must report CPT Code 62319. 
 2. Local code W9511 will be closed. Providers must report CPT Code 62311. 
 

The delivering physician must report modifier TH with 62311 and/or 62319 to identify the service as maternity 
related. 
 
 

 
 

Billing For Maternity Services 
On and After October 1, 2003 

 
Effective for dates of services on and after October 1, 2003, the Division of Medicaid is making changes to the 
codes by which delivering physicians are reimbursed for maternity services.    
 
The changes are as follows: 
 

1. Local codes W6130, W6140, and W6150 which are currently used to reimburse antepartum visits will no  
longer be valid.  The closure of these codes is in compliance with HIPAA regulations that prohibit use of 
local codes. 

2. Providers must utilize CPT evaluation and management codes 99201 through 99215, 59425, and 59426 to 
bill antepartum visits as listed below. 
(A)  Providers must bill CPT Codes in the 99201 through 99215 range for antepartum visits 1 or 2 or 3.  

Bill one code per visit.  
(B) Providers must bill CPT code 59425 for antepartum visits 4, 5, or 6.  Bill one code per visit. 
(C) Providers must bill  CPT code 59426 for antepartum visits 7 or over.  Bill one code per visit.  

 
The number of the antepartum visit is defined as the number of the visit(s) that the beneficiary has been to one 
physician.  For example, if a beneficiary goes to Dr. A for antepartum visit 1, 2, 3, and 4 and then moves and goes 
to Dr. B,  Dr. A will bill the appropriate evaluation and management code for each antepartum  visit 1 or 2 or 3 and 
CPT code 59425 for antepartum visit 4.  Dr. B will then bill for his antepartum visits starting with antepartum visit 
number 1, etc.  
 

3. CPT Codes 59409, 59514, 59612, and 59620 will be closed as of October 1, 2003. 
4. CPT Codes 59410, 59515, 59614, and 59622 will be used to reimburse deliveries and postpartum care as of 

October 1, 2003. The postpartum care is inclusive of both hospital and office visits following vaginal or 
cesarean section deliveries.  

5.  CPT code 59430 which is currently used to reimburse the postpartum office visit will be closed and no 
longer utilized by the Division of Medicaid because both hospital and office postpartum care are inclusive 
in CPT codes 59410, 59515, 59614, and 59622.  

6.  Modifier TH identifies “obstetrical treatment/services, prenatal and postpartum” and must be reported with  
each code for antepartum visits and deliveries and postpartum care.  The Division of Medicaid will utilize 
this modifier to track data and to bypass the physician visit limitation of twelve (12). Antepartum office 
visits will not be applied to this limitation.  
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Billing for Maternity Services Continued… 
 

The following chart is being provided as a reference for providers.   
 

 
CPT 

CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

DESCRIPTION BILLING 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
99201 
 
 

 
TH 

 

Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of a new patient which requires these 
three components: 
(1) A problem focused history, 
(2) A problem focused examination, and 
(3) Straightforward medical decision making. 

 
Bill for date of services on and after 
10/01/03 only if appropriate to bill 
antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
99202 

 
TH 

 

 
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of a new patient, which requires these 
three components: 
(1) An expanded problem focused history, 
(2) An expanded problem focused examination; and 
(3) Straightforward medical decision making. 

 
Bill for date of services on and after 
10/01/03 only if appropriate to bill 
antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 
 

 
99203 

 
TH 

 
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of a new patient, which requires these 
three key components: 
(1) A detailed history, 
(2) A detailed examination, and  
(3) Medical decision making of low complexity. 

 
Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
99204 

 
TH 

 
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of a new patient, which requires these 
three key components: 
(1) A comprehensive history, 
(2) A comprehensive examination, and  
(3) Medical decision making of moderate complexity.   

 
Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
99205 

 
TH 

 
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of a new patient, which requires these 
three key components: 
(1) A comprehensive history, 
(2) A comprehensive examination, and 
(3) Medical decision making of high complexity 

 
Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
99211 

 
TH 

 
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of an established patient that may not 
require the presence of a physician.  Usually, the 
presenting problem(s) are minimal.  Typically, 5 
minutes are spent performing or supervising these 
services. 

Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
99213 

TH  
Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of an established patient, which requires 
at least two of these three key components: 

(1) An expanded problem focused history; 
(2) An  expanded problem focused examination, 
(3) Medical decision making of low complexity. 

 
Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 
 

 
99214 

 
TH 

Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of an established patient, which requires 
at least two of these three key components: 
(1) A detailed history, 
(2) A detailed examination, 
(3) Medical decision making of moderate complexity. 

Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 
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CPT 

CODE 

 
MODIFIER 

DESCRIPTION BILLING 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
99215 

 
TH 

Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 
management of an established patient, which requires 
at least two of these three key components: 
(1) A comprehensive history, 
(2) A comprehensive examination, 
(3) Medical decision making of high complexity. 

Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 only if appropriate to 
bill antepartum visit 1 or 2 or 3.  Bill 
one code per visit. 

 
59400 

 
TH 

Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 
vaginal delivery (with or without episiotomy, and/or 
forceps) and postpartum care 

Closed 

 
59409 

 
TH 

Vaginal delivery only (with or without episiotomy and/or 
forceps) 

Closed as of 10/01/03 

 
59410 

 
TH 

 
Including postpartum care 

Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03. 

 
59425 

 
TH 

Antepartum care only: 4 - 6 visits Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 for each antepartum 
visit 4 or 5 or 6. 

 
59426 

 
TH 

Antepartum care only: 7 or more visits Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03 for each antepartum 
visits 7 or over. 

 
59430 

 
TH 

Postpartum care only (separate procedure) Closed as of 10/01/03. 

 
59510 

 
TH 

Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 
cesarean delivery, and postpartum care 

Closed. 

59514 TH Cesarean delivery only Closed as of 10/01/03 

59515 TH Including postpartum care Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03. 

 
59610 

 
TH 

Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 
vaginal delivery (with or without episiotomy, and/or 
forceps) and postpartum care, after previous cesarean 
delivery 

Closed. 

 
59612 

 
TH 

Vaginal delivery only, after previous cesarean delivery 
(with or without episiotomy and/or or forceps) 

Closed as of 10/01/03 

 
59614 

 
TH 

 Including postpartum care Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03. 

 
59618 

 
TH 

Routine obstetric care including antepartum care, 
cesarean delivery, and postpartum care, following 
attempted vaginal delivery after previous cesarean 
delivery 

Closed. 

 
59620 

 
TH 

 
Cesarean delivery only, following attempted vaginal 
delivery after previous cesarean delivery; 

 
Closed as of 10/01/03. 

 
59622 

 
TH 

 
Including postpartum care 

 
Bill for dates of services on and 
after 10/01/03. 

 
Rural Health Clinics (RHC), Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC), and Mississippi State Department of 
Health (MSDH) will be reimbursed according to the reimbursement methodology that applies to the clinic, 
with encounter rate or fee for service, whichever is applicable. 

 

Billing for Maternity Services Continued… 
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Procedure Code Changes for EPSDT and PHRM/ISS Services 
 

Effective October 1, 2003, the local W codes for billing Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment (EPSDT) and Perinatal High Risk Management/Infant Services Systems (PHRM/ISS) services 
were converted to Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Code System 
(HCPCS) codes as required by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).  EPSDT 
providers must utilize the Preventive Medicine New Patient CPT codes 99381 through 99385 for initial 
screenings with an EP modifier, and Preventive Medicine Established Patient CPT codes 99391 through 
99395 for periodic screenings with an EP modifier.  Any interperiodic visit outside of the EPSDT periodic 
screenings should be billed using the appropriate CPT Evaluation and Management codes. PHRM/ISS case 
management agencies must utilize the appropriate HCPCS codes with an EP modifier for PHRM/ISS infants 
and “TH” modifier for PHRM/ISS Pregnant Women respectively.  
 
Below are three charts listing the procedure code changes for the EPSDT and PHRM/ISS programs. 
 

Chart 1 
 

EPSDT Periodic Examination Schedule 
 

Screening Code Modifier 
 

Age of Child Period Limits 
for Allowable 
Screening 

Unit 

New 
Patient 

Established 
Patient 

    

99381 99391 EP 0 – 1 Months 0 – 45 days 1 
99381 99391 EP 2 Months 46 – 90 days 1 
99381 99391 EP 4 Months  91 -150 days  1 
99381 99391 EP 6 Months  151 – 240 days 1 
99381 99391 EP 9 Months  241 – 330 days 1 
99382 99392 EP 12 Months 331 – 400 days 1 
99382 99392 EP 15 Months 401 – 500 days 1 
99382 99392 EP 18 Months 501 – 731 days  1 
99382 99392 EP 2 – 4 years Annually* 1 
99383 99393 EP 5 - 11 years Annually* 1 
99384 99394 EP 12 – 17 years Annually* 1 
99385 99395 EP 18 - 21 years Annually* 1 

 
 

Vision and Hearing 
 

Screening 
Code 

Modifier EPSDT Description Age of Child Period 
Limitations 

Unit 

99173 EP Vision Screen 3 – 21 Years Annually* 1 
92551 EP Hearing Screen 3 – 21 Years Annually* 1 

 
 

Adolescent Counseling 
 

Screening 
Code 

Modifier EPSDT Description Age of 
Child 

Period 
Limitations 

Unit 

99401 EP Adolescent Counseling 9 – 21 
Years 

Annually* 1 

 
*The annual visit must be performed only once during the state fiscal year.  The state fiscal year begins July 1 and ends June 30.  
 
 Continued on the next page 
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Chart 2 
 

Reimbursement for Services to Infants in the High-Risk 
Case Management Program 

 

Medicaid will reimburse high-risk case management agencies for case management enhanced services to 
infants using the procedure codes and limits listed below:   
 

 
NEW    ESTABLISHED   DESCRIPTION    LIMITS 
PATIENT   PATIENT 
CODE    CODE               

 
 

EPSDT EXAMINATION UP TO ONE YEAR OF AGE 
     
99381-EP   99391-EP   0-1 Months   1 Exam 

 
99381-EP   99391-EP      2 Months   1 Exam 

 
99381-EP   99391-EP       4 Months   1 Exam 

 
99381-EP   99391-EP       6 Months   1 Exam 

 
99381-EP   99391-EP       9 Months   1 Exam 

 
99382-EP   99392-EP       12Months    1 Exam 

 
 

 
CODE    DESCRIPTION    PRICE    Limits      
         

 
T1017-EP   Infant High Risk    $15.10    Monthly 

Management  
 

S9470-EP Nutritional Counseling   $28.97        1 of 6 extra screens 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
     
H0023-EP Psychological Counseling    $28.97    1 of 6 extra screens 

           
S9445-EP   Health Education    $28.97    1 of 6 extra screens 

           
S9123-EP   In-Home Nurse Visits   $28.97    1 of 6 extra screens 

 
S9470-EP   In-Home Nutritionist   $28.97    1 of 6 extra screens 
    (Place of Service) 12  

 
S9127-EP   In-Home Social Worker  $28.97    1 of 6 extra screens 

 

T1023-EP   Infant Risk Screening  $18.90    2 done in the lst 
            year of life 

 
An encounter payment is generated by these codes for the State Department of Health and Federally Qualified 
Healthcare Centers.  All other codes pay fee-for-Service to individual and group providers. 
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Chart 3 
 

Reimbursement for Services to Pregnant 
Women in the High - Risk Case Management 

Program 
 
Medicaid will reimburse high-risk case management agencies for case management enhanced services 
to pregnant women using the procedure codes and limits listed below: 

 
 
CODE  DESCRIPTION      UNIT  LIMITS              PROVIDER      REIMBURSEMENT- 
                     TYPE        
        

 
T1023-TH Maternal Medical     Encounter 1 Per Pregnancy per Physician/     $15.12 
  Risk Screen       Midwife 

 
H1002-TH Initial Case Mgt.  Encounter 1 Per Pregnancy  Case   $48.38 
     (1)     Manager 

 
T1017-TH Maternal Case  Encounter 9 Per Pregnancy  Case    $15.12 
  Management  Monthly     Manager 

 
S9470-TH Nutritional  Personal 8 Per Pregnancy in  Case   $16.13 
  Assessment/  Encounter Conjunction with  Manager 
  Counseling    H0023-TH 

 
 
H0023-TH Psychosocial  Personal  NOTE: S9470-TH Case   $16.13 
  Assessment/  Encounter    Manager 
  Counseling 

 
S9445-TH Health    On-on-One 10 Per Pregnancy Case    $ 6.05 
  Education  or Group    Manager 

 
S9123-TH In-Home   Actual  5 Per Pregnancy  Case    $24.19 
  Registered  Visit  Combined With  Manager 
  Nurse Visit    S9470-TH &  
       S9127-TH 

 
S9470-TH In-Home  Actual  5 Per Pregnancy  Case   $24.19 

Nutritionist  Visit  Combined with  Manager 
     Place of  S9123-TH & 
     Service (12) S9127-TH 

 
S9127-TH In-Home Social  Actual  5 Per Pregnancy  Case   $24.19 
  Worker   Visit  Combined with  Manager 
       S9470-TH & S9123-TH   

 

An encounter payment is generated by these codes for the State Department of Health and Federally Qualified 
Healthcare Centers.  All other codes pay fee-for-Service to individual and group providers. 
 

If you have questions concerning the Division of Medicaid, EPSDT Programs please call 1-800-421-2408 or 601-
359-6150. 
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Family Planning Program 
 

Effective October 1, 2003 the Division of Medicaid will implement a 
Family Planning Program. This demonstration waiver program extends 
Medicaid coverage of family planning services to women throughout 
the state that meet the following eligibility criteria: 
 

• Have family income at or below 185% of the Federal poverty 
guidelines; and 

• Are of childbearing age.  The target population is women 13 to 
44.  

 

Women certified as eligible for family planning services under this Family Planning Program will remain 
Medicaid eligible for five years with eligibility re-certification every two years.  Loss of eligibility will occur 
nly when a woman moves from the state, becomes Medicaid eligible in another aid category, becomes 
pregnant, reaches the age of 44, or requests that her case be closed. 
 

These women will be eligible for Medicaid coverage of family planning services only.  The AVRS eligibility 
transaction response will identify these women as eligible for family planning services only, in Aid Category 
92 (FP-W).  They will also be issued a yellow Medicaid card to denote that they are in the Family Planning 
Program. These women will not be eligible to receive any other Medicaid benefits.  
 

Procedure codes that will be used for the Family Planning Program may be found on the DOM website at 
www.dom.state.ms.us, go to drop down box and select “fee schedule”. For more information about the Family 
Planning Program, you may call the Division of Medicaid at 1-800-421-2408 or (601) 359-6150. 
 

 

DME and Medical Supply Coding Changes Effective October 1, 2003 
 

As a result of the changes required for HIPAA compliance and use of standardized code sets, the Division of 
Medicaid has made significant changes in the procedure code formulary for durable medical equipment and 
medical supplies. These changes include the following: 
 

• Closure of obsolete HCPCS procedure codes 
• Closure of all local codes, i.e., Z codes for medical supplies 
• Replacement of closed codes with appropriate 2003 HCPCS codes 

 

In addition, the fee schedule for DME and medical supplies has been updated. In some cases, this update 
resulted in increased maximum fees for DME and medical supply items. Also, please be reminded that ostomy 
supplies and MIC-KEY gastrostomy feeding supplies are being priced at cost plus 15%. 
 

These changes were discussed in detail at the August Provider Workshops. If you were unable to attend, you 
can access the code crosswalks and updated fee schedule on the DOM web site at www.dom.state.ms.us. If 
you have any questions, please call the Division of Medicaid at 1-800-421-2408 and ask for Medical Services 
at Ext. 5683. 
 

 
Dialysis Policy Revised 

 

Effective September 1, 2003, the Division of Medicaid has revised dialysis policy, Section 41.0 of the 
Provider Policy Manual. Dialysis providers may view these revisions by accessing the DOM website at 
www.dom.state.ms.us. 
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Removal of Certification Requirements 
 for Certain Medical Supplies Related to Diabetes and Asthma 

 
Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2003, certification of the following medical supply items 
through HealthSystems of Mississippi will NOT be required: 
 

 

 
Until changes can be made to the MMIS claims processing system later this year, the following temporary 
procedure must be followed to enable claims for these medical supply items to be reimbursed: 
 

1. The DME provider must obtain a written prescription for the item(s) from the beneficiary’s 
physician. The prescription must be retained in the DME provider file and be available for audit 
upon request. 

 
2. It is NOT necessary for the provider to submit a Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) form to 

HSM for these items only. Providers may use the CMN form as the physician’s prescription if 
they choose. If the CMN form is completed, it must be retained in the DME provider file and be 
available for audit upon request. 

 
3. The DME provider must complete a Plan of Care form according to the forms and instructions in 

the Mississippi Medicaid Provider Policy Manual Section 10. The Plan of Care form for items 
exempted from HSM certification must be completed separately from other items that still require 
certification. 

 
4. The Plan of Care form(s) must be submitted via mail, or fax to HealthSystems of Mississippi at 1-

888-204-0159. 
 

5. HealthSystems of Mississippi will process the Plan of Care form(s) and issue a Treatment 
Authorization Number (TAN) that will be sent to the provider. 

 

6. The provider must enter the TAN on the CMS-1500 claim form for the item(s) in order for 
payment to be made. 

HCPCS Code 
(prior to 10/1/03) 

HCPCS Code 
(after 10/1/03) 

Item Description 

Z7703 
 Z7704 
Z7705 
 Z7707 
Z7720 
 Z7880 

A4250 Diabetic urine test strips or tablets 
 

Z7700 
Z7706 

A4253 Blood glucose test strips for glucometer 

Z8250 
 Z8252 

A4259 Lancets – 100 count 

Z8360 A4245 Alcohol prep pads 
Z8510 S8490 Insulin syringes 
E0607 E0607 Glucometer 
A4256 A4256 Glucometer control solutions – high and low 
A4254 A4254 Replacement batteries for Glucometer 
A4258 A4258 Spring lancet devices 
A4614 A4614 Peak flow meters 
A4627 A4627 Asthma spacers 

Continued on the next page 
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Removal of Certification Requirements Continued… 
 
7. It is NOT necessary to submit a Medicare Explanation of Benefits (EOB) to HSM for beneficiaries 

who are dually eligible for the following supplies only:   
 

Z7703, Z7704 
Z7705, Z7707 
Z7720, Z7880 

A4250 Diabetic urine test strips or tablets 
 

Z8360 A4245 Alcohol prep pads 
Z8510 S8490 Insulin syringes 
A4627 A4627 Asthma spacers 

 

These items can be billed directly to Medicaid because they are not covered by Medicare. All other items on 
the list must be billed to Medicare as the primary payer. 

 
8. All items NOT listed in this document must still be certified by HealthSystems of Mississippi as described 

in the Mississippi Medicaid Provider Policy Manual Section 10.  Items requiring certification must be listed 
on separate Plan of Care forms from items not requiring certification. 

 
9. This is a temporary process until systems changes can be made later this year. When those changes 

are completed, this temporary process will become obsolete. 
 
 

 

Pharmacy News 
 

Pharmacy Paper Claim now available on line.  The pharmacy paper claim is to be utilized for any paper 
claim needs including Medicare/Medicaid dually eligible beneficiaries whose claims have been denied, 
rejected, or whose indications are for non-Medicare covered indications.  To access the form electronically: 
 

• www.dom.state.ms.us 
• Link to Medicaid provider page 
• Forms for providers 
• Medicaid Pharmacy Invoice 
 
Or directly to: 
 www.dom.state.ms.us/Provider/Publications/Provider_forms/Title_XIX_pharmacy_invoice.pdf 

 

The claim form may be typed electronically, printed, signed and mailed to the Pharmacy Bureau to facilitate 
payment.  Mailing address is:  Division of Medicaid, Pharmacy Bureau, 239 North Lamar St., Suite 801, 
Jackson, MS 39201. 
 

Pharmacy Services new website.   Watch for our new link on the Medicaid website. It is being updated for 
easy navigating and accessibility by users.   
 

 
 

 

Swing Bed Policy Revised 
 

Effective September 1, 2003, the Division of Medicaid has updated policy, in the Swing Bed Manual, Section 
35.0 of the Provider Policy Manual.  Swing Bed providers may view these policies by accessing the DOM 
website at www.dom.state.ms.us. 
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Nursing Facilities and Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded  (ICF/MR) 
Claim Submission 

 
Effective October 1, 2003, Nursing Facilities and Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR) will be required to bill their claims on the UB92 Claim Form for reimbursement of services 
provided. The 837 Institutional Electronic form should be utilized for electronic submissions.  Turnaround 
Documents (TADs) will no longer be accepted after October 1, 2003. 
 

In an effort to ensure minimal disruption to September’s claims processing, ACS will generate and 
disseminate TADs for October to providers on September 22, 2003.   Any TAD submitted to ACS after 
October 1, 2003 will need to be submitted on a UB 92 claim form for reimbursement. Processing will proceed 
as normal for all TADs received before October 1, 2003. 
 

You may obtain a UB-92 claim form by visiting your local office supply store. Please refer to your billing 
manual for specific instructions on completing the UB 92. A summary of the billing instructions has been 
provided below as a quick reference guide. 
 

Summary of Billing Instructions  
 

1. Blank field – Required, enter the provider’s name exactly as it appears in the upper left hand corner of 
the remittance advice (RA).  Enter the provider’s mailing address, city, state, zip code and telephone. 

2. Blank Field – Not required 

3. Patient Control No. – Optional, enter the patient account number.  The patient’s account control 
number, when furnished, will be reflected on the RA. 

4. Type of Bill – Required, enter the type of bill code.  This code indicates the specific type of bill being 
submitted and is critical to ensure accurate payment. 

Bill types for nursing facilities and ICF/MRs are listed below: 

891 – Used when the resulting claim is for a complete stay, admission through discharge (admission  
through discharge claim). 

892 – Used when the resident/client is admitted and is still a resident in the facility through the date 
noted in Form Locator 6. The resulting claim is the first part of a split bill (interim – first 
claim). 

893 – Used when the stay for the resident/client is for the full month of billing, having been admitted       
the previous month. The resulting claim is an interim bill (Interim – continuing claim). 

894 – Used when the resident/client is discharged in a different month from admission. The resulting 
claim is the final bill (Interim – last claim). 

896 – Adjustment of Prior Claim. 

897 – Replacement of Prior Claim. 

898 – Void/Cancel of Prior Claim 

5. Fed. Tax. No. – Not required 

6. Statement Covers Period - Required, enter the inclusive days being reported on the bill in mm dd yy 
format. 

7. Cov D – Required, enter the number of covered days.  Date of death and discharge are not counted as 
covered days. 

Continued on the next page 
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Nursing Facilities and ICF/MR Claim Submission Continued…  

8. N-C D. - Required, enter the number of non-covered days. Date of death and discharge are not counted 
as covered days. 

9. C-I D. - Not required 

10. L-R.D. – Not required 

11. Blank Field  

12. Patient Name – Required, enter beneficiary’s name, as it appears on the Medicaid ID card, in last 
name, first name and middle initial format. 

13. Patient’s Address  - Required, enter the resident/client’s mailing address including street number and 
name or post office box number or RFD, city name, state name, zip code. 

14. Birthdate – Required, enter the month, day, and year of birth, mm dd yyyy format. 

15. Sex – Required, enter the sex of the patient: 

a. F – female, M – male, U – unknown 

16. MS - Not required 

17. Admission Date - Required, enter the month, day, and year of the admission of the beneficiary, mm dd 
yy format. 

18. Admission HR – Required, enter time of admission in military time  (24 hour clock) 

19. Admission Type – Required, enter the admission code. 1 – Emergency; 2 – Urgent; 3 – Elective. 

20. Admission SRC – Required, enter the appropriate source of admission code. 

21. D HR – Not Required 

22. STAT – Required, enter patient status code as of field 6 ‘through’ date. 

23. Medical Record Number – Optional 

24 – 30. Condition Code – Required if applicable, enter the appropriate condition code taken from the 
code structure of the Uniform Billing Manual. 

31. Blank Field – Not Required 

32 – 35. Occurrence Codes and Dates – Required if applicable, enter the appropriate occurrence code and 
date (dd mm yy format). Refer to the Uniform Billing Manual. 

36. Occurrence Span and Dates - Not required 

37. Blank Field - Required, if applicable, enter the Transaction Control Number (TCN) for proof of timely 
filing if this claim is a resubmittal. 

38. Blank field – Not required 

39-41. Value Codes and Amounts – Required, if applicable, enter the appropriate value code and amount. 
Refer to the Uniform Billing Manual. 

42. Revenue Code – Required, enter the revenue code that identifies a specific service or item. 

Revenue codes for nursing facilities and ICF/MRs are listed below: 

 101 – All-inclusive Room and Board 

 

 Continued on the next page 
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Nursing Facilities and ICF/MR Claim Submission: Billing Instructions Continued… 
 

181 – Hospital Leave (NF residents and ICF/MR clients are limited to 15 inpatient hospital days; the 
resident or client must be discharged from the NF or ICF/MR on the 16th day. 

183 – Therapeutic Leave; Nursing Facility residents are limited to 52 days per fiscal year plus six (6) 
additional days including the days before and after Thanksgiving and Christmas (Total 58 days). ICF/MR 
clients are limited to 84 days per fiscal year plus six (6) additional days including the days before and after 
Thanksgiving and Christmas (Total of 90 days). 

43. Description – Required, enter the standard abbreviation of the narrative description for revenue code.  

44. HCPCS/Rates – Required, enter the appropriate CPT or HCPCS code for the services. 

45. Service Dates – Required, for FDC and Hospital outpatient services only, enter the month, day and 
year, mm dd yy format. 

46. Service Units – Required, for all revenue codes and CPT or HCPCS procedure codes. Enter the 
number of units for each code. 

47. Total Charges - required, enter the total charges pertaining to the related revenue codes for the current 
billing period as entered in the statement covers period.  Charges incurred after the “through” date in 
field 6 cannot be billed on the UB-92.  Enter the grand total charges at the bottom for this field to be 
associated with revenue code 001. 

48. Non-Covered Charges – required, if applicable, enter the charges for any non-covered services such as 
take-home drugs of services by private duty nurses. 

49. Blank Field – Not required 

50. Payer – required, enter the name in A, B and C identifying each payer organization from which the 
provider might expect some payment for the bill.  One entry must be Medicaid, if the payer is 
Mississippi Medicaid.  The UB-92 claim form does not have a form field for payer address. 

51. Provider Number – required, enter the eight-digit MS Medicaid ID number as it appears in the upper 
right hand corner of the RA. 

52. Rel Info - Not Required 

53. Asg Ben - Not Required 

54. Prior Payment- Required, if applicable, enter the amount the hospital has received toward payment of 
this bill prior to the billing date by the indicated payer.   

55.  Est. Amount Due-Not required. 

56.  Blank Field-Not required. 

57.  Due From Patient- Not Required 

58. Insured’s Name- Required, enter the insured’s name in last name, first name order in A, B and C that 
relates to the payers in Form field 50 A, B and C. 

59. P. Rel-Not required. 

60. Cert.-SSN-HIC-ID No.-Required, enter the insured’s ID number in 50 A, B and C that relates to the 
insured’s name in 58 A, B and C.  When entering the Medicaid ID number copy the number exactly as 
it appears on the Medicaid ID Card.  A claim cannot be processed without the proper 9-digit ID 
number assigned to the individual who is receiving services. 

 
Continued on the next page 
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Nursing Facilities and ICF/MR Claim Submission: Billing Instructions Continued… 
 

61. Group Name-Required if applicable, state the name of the group or plan through which the insurance is 
provided to the insured. 

62. Insurance Group No.- Required if applicable, state the number assigned by the insurance company to 
identify the group under which the individual is covered. 

63. Treatment Authorization Code- Not Required 

64. ESC – Not Required. 

65. Employer Name-Required if applicable, enter the name of the employer that could provide a source of 
third party insurance payment. 

66. Employers Location-Required if applicable, enter the address of the insured’s employer. 

67. Prin Diag Cd-Required, enter the ICD-9-CM code for the principal diagnosis codes that relate to the 
billing period. 

68-75. Other Diag. Codes-Required, enter the ICD-9CM diagnosis codes that relate to the billing 
period. 

76. Adm. Diag. Cd-Required, enter the ICD-9-CM diagnosis code provided at the time of admission as 
stated by the physician. 

77. E Code-Not required. 

78. Blank Field-Not required 

79. P.C.-Required, enter code “9” in this field. 

80. Principal Procedure Code And Date- - Not Required. 

81. A-E Other Procedure Codes and Dates – Not Required 

82. Attending Phys. ID-Required, enter the 2-digit state code followed by the physician’s license number, 
name, and Medicaid provider number. 

83. Other Physician ID-Required if applicable, enter the 2-digit state code followed by the physician’s 
license number, name, and Medicaid provider number. 

84. Remarks - Optional  

85. Provider Representative Signature-Required, The form must be signed by a representative of the 
nursing facility or ICF/MR. The representative is certifying that the payment of eligible Title XIX 
benefits will be accepted as full payment for covered services and that notice will be given to the fiscal 
agent of further receipts.  The representative is also stating that it is understood that payment and 
satisfaction of this claim will be from federal and state funds.  Anyone filing false claims, statements 
of documents, or concealing a material fact, may be prosecuted under applicable federal or state laws. 

86. Date-Required, enter the date the nursing facility or ICF/MR submits the form to the fiscal agent, dd 
mm yy format. 

If you are unsure of the type of claim form on which you should bill for Medicaid services, please contact 
ACS State Healthcare at 1-800-884-3222. 
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Correcting Multiple Surgery and/or Bilateral Surgery Claims 
 

Multiple surgery and/or bilateral surgery claims with dates of service prior to October 1, 2003, cannot be adjusted 
in the Envision system.   
 

All multiple surgery and bilateral surgery claims with dates of service October 1, 2003, and forward should not be 
submitted until October 2, 2003, or afterwards to ensure correct processing in the Envision system.  These claims 
should be billed in the HIPAA compliant format and in accordance with Division of Medicaid policy.   
 

To correct a claim, for dates of service prior to October 1, 2003, the provider must void the original claim and 
submit a corrected claim in accordance with policy in effect on October 1, 2003.   
 

 

DOM Issues New Surgery Policy 
 

The Division of Medicaid has completed the Surgery Section of the Provider Policy Manual.  The effective date of 
this new section is October 1, 2003.  Providers may view the new policy by accessing the DOM website at 
www.dom.state.ms.us and selecting the drop down link “Provider Manuals”.   
 

 

Mental Health Changes 
 

The Division of Medicaid’s Mental Health Services has revised the Community Based Mental Health Services and 
the Community Mental Health sections of the Provider Policy manual to reflect the following changes effective 
August 1, 2003.  Providers may access these revisions on the Division of Medicaid website at 
www.dom.state.ms.us.  
 

Community Mental Health 
Section 15.02:  Services--Revised to expand the definition of elderly to correspond with the Department of Mental 
Health Minimum Standards for community mental health centers. 
 

Section 15.07:  Credential Requirements for Day Treatment Staff – Revised to clarify credential requirements for 
day treatment staff. 
 

Section 15.30:  Billing Guidelines – Revised to clarify the appropriate use of the Place of Service Code “7” 
(nursing facility) and to include the MR/DD diagnosis for Adult Psychosocial Rehab. 
 

Community Based Mental Health Services 
Section 21.09:  Consent to Bill Medicaid--Adds a consent form that consents to treatment and authorizes payment 
of Medicaid benefits to the authorized provider. 
 

Sections 21.18- 21.20:  Defines the process for the Clinical Record Review, the Therapeutic Services Review, and 
the Psychological Evaluation Record Review and makes each a part of DOM policy.  
 

 
23-HOUR OBSERVATION 

 

Effective for dates of service on and after June 20, 2003, Mississippi Medicaid reimburses for CPT code 99217 
"Observation care discharge day management." As described in the 2003 CPT coding manual, this code is to be 
utilized by the physician to report all services provided to a patient on discharge from “observation status” if the 
discharge is on other than the initial date of “observation status.” Providers should also refer to the Mississippi 
Medicaid Provider Policy Manual Section 26.14 for additional policies on coverage of outpatient observation 
services. 
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Timely Filing ICN 
 

Claims processed after October 1, 2003, will be assigned a 17-digit Transaction Control Number (TCN).  The TCN 
is basically the same as the 13-digit Internal Control Number (ICN). Use the original ICN originally adjudicated as 
the Timely Filing ICN when re-submitting claims. The Envision system will accept the old 13-digit Timely Filing 
ICN and the 17-digit TCN.  

 
 

Billing Influenza and Pneumonia Immunizations for Adults 
 

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) is continuing efforts to educate Medicaid providers and beneficiaries on the 
benefits of receiving influenza and pneumonia immunizations prior to the influenza season.  DOM encourages 
providers to assist in the effort to increase influenza and pneumonia protection in the state.   
 
To receive maximum reimbursement for providing these services, physicians, nurse practitioners and physician 
assistants should bill for flu and pneumonia vaccines administered to beneficiaries age 19 and over as  described 
below. 
 

• For beneficiaries who come in for these immunizations only, the 
physician, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants may bill E&M 
procedure code 99211, the vaccine code(s), and the appropriate CPT 
administration code. E&M procedure code 99211 will not count 
toward the 12-office visit limit for beneficiaries. 

• For beneficiaries who are seen by the physician, nurse practitioner, or 
physician assistant for evaluation or treatment and receive these 
immunizations, the provider may bill the appropriate E&M procedure 
code, the vaccine code(s), and the CPT administration code(s).  The 
E&M procedure code billed in this instance will count toward the 12-
office visit limit for beneficiaries. 

• Effective October 1, 2003, HCPCS Codes G0008 and G0009 are no 
longer valid for billing administration fees for flu and pneumonia 
vaccine to beneficiaries age 19 and over.  For dates of service on and 
after October 1, 2003, providers must bill 90471 if one vaccine is 
administered and 90472 if a second vaccine is administered.  CPT 
Codes 90471 and 90472 may be billed only with the administration of 
flu and pneumonia vaccines. 

• Rural health clinic (RHC) and federally qualified health center 
(FQHC) providers will count the visit under current procedures.  Providers will not count or bill visits when 
the only service involved is the administration of influenza or pneumonia vaccine.  

 
Coding reimbursement for vaccines and administration for beneficiaries age 19 and older are as follows: 
 

Influenza Vaccines Pneumonia Vaccine Administration Fee 

CPT Code Fee CPT Code Fee CPT Code Fee 

90658  $8.02 90732  $13.10 90471 $6.44 

90659  $8.02   90472 $4.60 
 

All immunizations for children up to age 18 must be handled through the Vaccines for Children Program 
(VFC). 
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Vaccines for Children Program New Coding Requirements 
 

Effective October 1, 2003, Vaccines for Children Program (VFC) providers will no longer be able to utilize the 
codes in the W6000 through W6119 range for billing the administration fees for immunizations.  These local codes 
will be discontinued in accordance with Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations. 
 

The new billing requirements for dates of services on October 1, 2003, are as follows:  
To bill for administration of the immunizations provided in the Vaccines for Children Program, providers must bill 
CPT Code 90471 with an EP modifier and one unit for the single administration of one vaccine.  If more than one 
is administered, providers must also bill 90472 with an EP  modifier and indicate the appropriate number of 
units based on the number of additional vaccines administered to the beneficiary. Mississippi Medicaid allows $10 
for each vaccine administered.   

 

Following the designation of 90471 and 90472 with an EP modifier, the provider must also bill appropriate vaccine 
code(s) in the CPT 90476 through 90749 range with an EP modifier and show a zero ($00.00) charge.  The 
provider must bill only those codes covered by the VFC Program.  
 

Questions relating to these billing requirements should be directed to the Bureau of Maternal and Child Health at 
601-359-6150. 
 

 

Medicaid ID Numbers for Newborns 
 

When a baby is born to a mother who is receiving Medicaid at the time of birth, that baby is eligible for Medicaid.  
The exception to this is if the baby is released for adoption. In order to expedite getting Medicaid ID numbers for 
these babies, the birthing hospital should complete the Request for Newborn Health Information form and send it to 
the county Department of Human Services (DHS) for the baby’s county of residence. The form should be faxed to 
the DHS office as soon as possible, but no later than the mother’s discharge from the hospital. The policy and form 
regarding this are found in the inpatient hospital section of the Provider Policy Manual, Section 25.08, pages 1 and 
2. 
 

The hospital should not delay completing the form.  The baby needs to get a Medicaid ID as quickly as possible to 
expedite the claims payment process.   
 

Claims for babies should continue to be billed with the mother’s number + K until the baby receives his/her 
Medicaid ID number.  Effective November 1, 2003, the claims will pend for three payment weeks to give DHS 
time to transmit the baby’s Medicaid ID number.  If after three payments, the Medicaid ID has not been received, 
the claim will be processed using a temporary 200 number for the baby.  The exception is pharmacy claims which 
will process with a temporary 200 number due to the pharmacy point of sale process. 
 

Babies will not be sent Medicaid ID cards with 200 numbers.  They will be sent a Medicaid ID card once the 
number is assigned by DHS.  This is to prevent babies having multiple Medicaid ID cards and numbers, which 
causes problems in processing claims.  It will also reduce the possibility of misuse of Medicaid services due to one 
beneficiary having multiple Medicaid ID numbers.  
 

There is no change in the certification process for services that requires HSM to issue a treatment authorization 
number (TAN).  Please refer to the October 2002 provider bulletin for additional information regarding this 
process. 
 

If you have questions about the process for getting a Medicaid ID card for a newborn, contact ACS Customer 
Service at 1-800-884-3222. 
 
 

Policy Manual Reminder 
 

This bulletin is a document for the Mississippi Medicaid Policy Manual and must be placed behind Tab 88 of the 
manual. All providers are held accountable for all policies in the monthly Mississippi Medicaid Bulletins. 
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September 2003 
 

SUNDAY MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY SATURDAY 

 1 2 3 4 
 
 

5 6 

7 8 
 

9 10 11 12 13 

14 15 16 17 18 19 20 

21 22 23 24 25 26 27 

28 29 30 31    

Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. However, funds are not transferred until the following 
Thursday, and Remittance Advices usually arrive the following Friday. 

ACS 
P.O.  Box 23078 
Jackson, MS  39255 
 
 
If you have any questions

related to the topics in 
this bulletin, please 

contact ACS at 
 1-800 -884 -3222 or  

601 -206 -3000 
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