
HIPAA Compliance  
Provider Re-enrollment 

 
The Division of Medicaid (DOM) must enter into new provider agreements with all 
Mississippi Medicaid providers to meet requirements for the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).  The revised provider agreements will 
address privacy and electronic billing requirements.  If you have a signed provider 
agreement with DOM, it is not necessary for you to prepare any statement to meet 
HIPAA compliance requirements.  You will receive what you need from DOM in 
time to meet the October 16, 2002 implementation deadline. 
 
Because it is necessary to send new provider agreements to all Mississippi Medicaid 
providers, this opportunity will be used to re-enroll all current Medicaid providers.  
This is necessary to be sure current addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, tax 
identification numbers, banking information, etc. are in the provider files for 
processing claims and paying providers. 
 
Future monthly Medicaid provider bulletins will notify you when the provider 
agreements and re-enrollment packets will be sent to you and the deadline for 
returning these documents to the fiscal agent. 
 

 
Pharmacy Program Reminder 

 
H2 antagonists and PPIs are limited to a 64-day supply for treatment of dyspepsia, 
gastrointestinal reflux disease, ulcer therapy and other short-term GI conditions.  For 
maintenance treatment of GERD,  Zollinger-Ellison syndrome, and gastric 
hypersecretory conditions, the physician must write the medically accepted diagnosis 
on the face of the prescription.  The pharmacist may, upon receipt  
of an acceptable prescription, override the 64-day limitation. 
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HIPAA UPDATE 
Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information 

[45 CFR Parts 160 - 164] 
 

Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information (the Privacy Rule) became effective on April 14, 
2001.  Most health plans and health care providers that are covered by the new rule must comply with the 
requirements by April 2003.   
 

The Privacy Rule for the first time creates national standards to protect individuals’ medical records and other personal 
health information.   
ü It gives patients more control over their health information. 
ü It set boundaries on the use and release of health records. 
ü It establishes appropriate safeguards that health care providers and others  must achieve to protect the privacy of 

health information. 
ü It holds violators accountable, with civil and criminal penalties that can be imposed if they violate patients’  privacy 

rights. 
ü And it strikes a balance when public responsibility requires disclosure of some forms of data — for example, to 

protect public health.   
 

For patients — it means being able to make informed choices when seeking care and reimbursement for care based on 
how personal health information may be used. 
ü It enables patients to find out how their information may be used and what disclosures of their information have 

been made. 
ü It generally limits release of information to the minimum reasonably needed for the purpose of the disclosure. 
ü It gives patients the right to examine and obtain a copy of their own health records and request corrections.   
 

What does this regulation require the average provider or health plan to do?  
 

For the average health care provider or health plan, the Privacy Rule requires activities, such as: 
ü Providing information to patients about their privacy rights and how their information can be used. 
ü Adopting clear privacy procedures for its practice, hospital, or plan. 
ü Training employees so that they understand the privacy procedures. 
ü Designating an individual to be responsible for seeing that the privacy procedures are adopted and followed. 
ü Securing patient records containing individually identifiable health information so that they are not readily available 

to those who do not need them. 
 

Responsible health care providers and businesses already take many of the kinds of steps required by the rule to 
protect patients’ privacy.  Covered entities of all types and sizes are required to comply with the final Privacy Rule.  To 
ease the burden of complying with the new requirements, the Privacy Rule gives needed flexibility for providers and 
plans to create their own privacy procedures, tailored to fit their size and needs.  The scalability of the rules provides a 
more efficient and appropriate means of safeguarding protected health information than would any single standard.  For 
example: 
ü The privacy official at a small physician practice may be the office manager, who will have other non-privacy 

related duties; the privacy official at a large health plan may be a full-time position and may have the regular 
support and advice of a privacy staff or board. 
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(Continued from previous page) 
 

ü The training requirement may be satisfied by a small physician practice, providing each new member of the 
workforce with a copy of its privacy policies and documenting that new members have reviewed the policies; 
whereas a large health plan may provide training through live instruction, video presentations, or interactive 
software programs. 

ü The policies and procedures of small providers may be more limited under the rule than those of a large hospital 
or health plan based on the volume of health information maintained and the number of interactions with those 
within and outside the health care system.   
 

NOTE:  This information was taken from the Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights web 
site at http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/hipaa 
 

Billing Influenza and Pneumonia Immunizations for Adults 
 

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) continues efforts to educate Medicaid providers and beneficiaries on the benefits 
of receiving influenza and pneumonia immunizations prior to the influenza season. DOM requests that providers assist 
in the effort to increase influenza and pneumonia protection in the state. 
 

In order to receive maximum reimbursement for providing these services, physicians and nurse practitioners should 
bill as indicated below: 
 

For beneficiaries who come in only for these immunizations, physicians, physician assistants and nurse practitioners 
may bill  E&M procedure code 99211, the vaccine code(s), and the G administration code(s). This E&M procedure 
code does not count toward the 12 office visit limit for beneficiaries. 
 

For beneficiaries who are seen by the physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner for evaluation or treatment 
and receive these immunizations, the provider may bill the appropriate E&M procedure code, the vaccine code(s), 
and the G administration code(s). The E&M procedure code billed in this instance will count toward the 12 office 
visit limit for beneficiaries. 
 

Rural health clinic (RHC) and federally qualified health center (FQHC) providers will count visits under current 
procedures. Providers will not count or bill for visits when the only service involved is the administration of influenza 
or pneumonia vaccine.  
 

All immunizations for children must be handled through the Vaccine Program for Children. 
 

Effective November 1, 2000, procedure code 90724 was closed. Coding and reimbursement for vaccines and 
administration are as follows: 
 
                                    Influenza                                                                                               Pneumonia           

Vaccine            90658 (ages 19 and up)            $7.13   Vaccine             90732 (ages 19 and up)           $12.41 
Vaccine            90659 (ages 19 and up)            $7.02   Administration    G0009                                     $3.37 
Administration   G0008                                      $3.37                    
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ACS Announces November Provider Training                                                                                        
for Upcoming Fiscal Agent Transition 

 

Affiliated Computer Services (ACS) State Healthcare is very pleased to be assuming the fiscal agent responsibilities 
for the Mississippi Medicaid program on January 1, 2002.  To help ensure a smooth transition for the provider 
community, ACS will hold regional provider workshops to: 
 

=       Introduce ACS staff to Medicaid providers throughout the state 
=       Explain procedural changes that will take effect January 1, 2002 
 

All enrolled Medicaid providers will receive invitations with detailed information about the training within the next 

few weeks.  The training will take place as scheduled below: 
 

November 27th 

 

                                    Southaven                                                                     McComb 
                                    Southaven Community Center                                       McComb Public Library 
                                    320 Brookhaven Drive                                                  1022 Virginia Avenue 
                                    9:00-11:00 a.m.                                                            9:00-11:00 a.m. 
 

                                    Tupelo                                                                          Gulfport 
                                    Trace Inn                                                                      Holiday Inn Express 
                                    400 W Main Street                                                       9435 Highway 49 
                                    2:30-4:30 p.m.                                                              2:30-4:30 p.m. 
 

November 28th 

 

                                                Grenada                                                                       Hattiesburg 
                                    Holiday Inn                                                                   Lake Terrace Convention Center 
                                    Highway 8 W                                                               1 Convention Center Plaza 
                                    9:00-11:00 a.m.                                                            9:00-11:00 a.m. 
 

                                    Greenville                                                                     Meridian 
                                    Ramada Inn                                                                  Union Station     
                                    2700 Highway 82 E                                                      1901 Front Street 
                                    2:30-4:30 p.m.                                                              2:30-4:30 p.m. 

 
November 29th 

 

Jackson 
MS Agriculture and Forestry Museum 

1150 Lakeland Drive 
9:00-11:00 a.m. and 2:30-4:30 p.m. 
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HealthMACS Inpatient Hospital Admissions for Deliveries  
 
Effective with dates of service on or after October 1, 2001, inpatient admissions that require prior authorization from 
Health Systems of Mississippi (HSM) no longer require the HealthMACS authorization of the assigned Primary Care 
Provider (PCP). 
 

Because inpatient admissions for deliveries do not require prior authorization from HSM, these services will still 
require HealthMACS authorization.  Medicaid plans to make the systems changes needed so that inpatient 
admissions for deliveries will not require PCP authorization.  Due to the upcoming change in fiscal agents, it will be 
next year before this systems change can be implemented.  Once this change has been completed, providers will be 
notified in the monthly Medicaid provider bulletin.  Providers who have been unable to obtain the HealthMACS 
authorization of the assigned PCP for  inpatient claims for deliveries should contact Susan Mancil, Medicaid 
Managed Care Specialist, at 1-800-421-2408, extension 9-6089.  
 

This applies to claims for delivery services provided by both hospitals and physicians. 

Tobacco Cessation Services 
 
The Division of Medicaid covers tobacco cessation medications, including nicotine gum, nicotine patches, nicotine nasal 
spray, nicotine oral inhaler, and Zyban , for all beneficiaries. A physician’s prescription is required for all prescription 
and non-prescription tobacco cessation medications, and each prescription will count toward the ten (10) prescription 
per month limit. It is expected that utilization of these products will be in accordance with medical standards of practice, 
FDA guidelines, and manufacturers’ recommendations which generally limit product use to approximately 12 weeks. 
 

To maximize the effectiveness of tobacco cessation medications, beneficiaries should also receive tobacco cessation 
counseling from their physician or health care provider, which research has shown increases tobacco quit rates more 
effectively than medication alone. The clinical practice guideline, “Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence” from the U.
S. Department of Health and Human Services (June 2000), provides recommendations to physicians and health care 
providers for brief interventions that are effective in assisting tobacco users to quit. This document can be obtained from 
the internet at www.surgeongeneral.gov/tobacco/default.htm or by calling the National Cancer Institute at 1-800-4-
CANCER. 
 

Beneficiaries should also be strongly encouraged to seek free tobacco cessation counseling through The Mississippi 
Tobacco Quitline, a statewide toll-free telephone number (1-877-4US2ACT). The Division of Medicaid mails a letter 
and an information brochure about the Mississippi Tobacco Quitline to each beneficiary who has a prescription filled for 
tobacco cessation medication. Providers are encouraged to talk to beneficiaries about calling the Quitline to use the free 
counseling services. More information about the Mississippi Tobacco Quitline and other tobacco prevention and 
cessation programs can be found at www.healthy-miss.org or by calling the Quitline at 1-877-4US2ACT or The 
Partnership for a Healthy Mississippi at 601-362-0740. 

2001 ICD-9 Diagnosis and Procedure Codes 
 
The additions, deletions, and changes to the 2001 ICD-9 Diagnosis and Procedure codes have been loaded into the 
Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS).  Providers who have already submitted claims with the new codes 
and received denials because of invalid codes should resubmit the claims as soon as possible. 
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Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. However, funds are not transferred until the following Thursday, and 
Remittance Advices usually arrive the following Friday. 

If you have any 
questions related to the 
topics in this bulletin, 

please contact the EDS 
Correspondence Unit at 

1-800-884-3222 or  
601-960-2800. 
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Veteran’s Day  
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