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Starting
April 1, 1998,
claimsfound
to have been
submitted
for Stadol Nasal
Spray with
erroneous
guantities, i.e., in
milliliters instead of
per bottle, will be
voided by the
Division of
Medicaid.

Void/Adjustments of Stadol Nasal Spray Claims

Pharmacy providers should review all claims submitted since February 1, 1998 for
Stadol Nasal Spray and void/adjust any claims that were submitted with the quantity in
milliliters rather than per bottle (e.g. the quantity “one” for one bottle should be billed
instead of “three” milliliters). This change in billing procedure was announced in the
Mississippi Medicaid Bulletin in January and February of 1998.

Starting April 1, 1998, claims found to have been submitted for Stadol Nasal Spray
with erroneous quantities, i.e., in milliliters instead of per bottle, will be voided by the
Division of Medicaid. It will then be the pharmacy provider’s responsibility to
resubmit these claims with the proper quantity, e.g., “one” for one bottle dispensed,
“two” for two bottles dispensed, etc.
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Newborn Hearing Screens - Correction

On page 6 of the February, 1998 Medicaid Bulletin, the policy on “Newborn Hearing
Screens’ has an incorrect code.

In the fourth paragraph, providers should change CPT code 98585 to 92585. The
sentence should read “Under Mississippi Medicaid, CPT codes 92585 and 92587 may
be used only for diagnostic testing of newborns who have failed the initial and second
screening.”

BBA imposes new federal mandates

HealthM ACS Policy Changes

The Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (BBA) has imposed new federal mandates for State
Medicaid managed care programs. In an effort to meet these federal mandates,
HealthMACS may have some policy changes over the next several months. Please
continue to monitor monthly provider bulletins for articles regarding policy changes as
required by the BBA.

New HealthMACS dligibles have had a choice of selecting and/or changing their
HeathMACS primary care provider (PCP); however, the BBA mandates regulations
which will require some modification to this process. New eligibleswill be allowed a
90-day window of change once their initial lock-in has begun. These recipients will be
identified and notified six weeks before their enrollment period begins to inform them
that a PCP has been selected for them and they have a 90-day window to change PCPs
if they are not happy with this selection.

Due to the modification of the HealthMACS enrollment process, HealthMACS
providerswill not receive any computerized recipient assignment for May. In
May, the only assignments PCPs will receive will be those eligibles who have called the
HeathM ACS Hotline and selected or changed PCPs or have had their selection
submitted by their PCPs. Computerized assignments will resume in June.

The Managed Care Division will be sending al HealthMACS PCPs a letter which will
summarize BBA requirements that affect HealthMACS. Thisletter will also request
information from PCPs. Upon receipt of the letter, PCPs are encourage to respond
promptly as PCP feedback will assist in ensuring that revisions to HealthMACS policy
occur in the most effective manner for participating PCPs and the patients they serve.

Contracts with Health M aintenance Or ganizations (HM Os)

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) will enter contracts with HMOs at the beginning of
each state fiscal year (July 1). No contracts will be entered into during the state fiscal
year. Any HMO interested in contracting with the DOM must complete an application
and submit it to the DOM Managed Care Division no later than May 1, 1998.
Applications may be obtained by contacting the Managed Care Division at (601) 359-
6133.

Page 2



The Mississippi Medicaid Bulletin

April 1998

Billing Tips

In order to reduce billing inaccuracies, and assist with questions, the following list of
common billing errorsis presented.

1.

When submitting claims for recipients with a third party payment amount, put
the payment amount in field 29 on the HCFA-1500 and form locator 54 on
the UB92. If the payment amount is less than 20% of billed charges, the clam
form should indicate “LESS THAN 20% PROOF ATTACHED” .

When the third party payment source denies payment, indicate “TPL DENIAL
ATTACHED” in the body of the claim form. Please note that an attachment
from the TPL source indicating additional information has been requested and
the information was not supplied or the conditions of the TPL guidelines for
coverage have not been met does not constitute avalid TPL denial.

When billing for services denied by Medicare for recipients who are eligible for
Medicare and Medicad, you must indicate “MEDICARE DENIAL
ATTACHED” on the clam form. Be sure all TPL denia attachments reflect
the dates of service being billed.

If it has been (30) days from the time a clam was paid by the Medicare
intermediary for services rendered to recipients who are both Medicare/
Medicaid eligible and both the deductible and/or coinsurance amounts have not
yet been reimbursed by Medicaid, the Mississippi Medicaid Crossover Form
should be completed and submitted for processing.

Medicaid currently uses one (1) digit “place of service’” and “type of service”
codes. Please be sure to use the correct place of service and type of service
when completing the claim forms. These codes are listed in Appendix M and
N in the back of the Physician’s Provider Manual. For other provider types,
refer to the Table of Contents in the front of the provider manua for the
location of the appropriate appendix.

Providers completing the Consent for Sterilization Form for planned
sterilization procedures should follow the guidelines as established on page 209
of the Physicians Provider Manual (revised 1996 edition). Only one properly
completed consent form is required for al providers rendering services for any
sterilization procedure.

If you have gquestions about billing that you would like to have answered, please call
the EDS correspondence unit at 1-800-884-3222 or send them to EDS Provider
Relations Unit, P O Box 23061, Jackson, MS 39225-3061 or fax them to (601) 960-

2807.

These questions and others will be answered under “Billing Tips’ in other

issues of the Mississippi Medicaid Bulletin.

If you have
guestions about
billing, please
call the
EDS
Correspondence
Unit at
1-800-884-3222
or mail them
to
EDS Provider
Relations Unit
P O Box 23061,
Jackson, MS
39225-3061
or
fax them to
(601) 960-2807.

HCPCS Code J0585

HCPCS code J0585 represents an injectable medication defined as botulinum toxin
type A, per unit. Please be certain to bill per unit for dates of service on and after
January 1, 1998 and per 100 units for dates of service prior to January 1, 1998.
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Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. However, funds are not transferred until the
following Thursday and Remittance Advices usualy arrive the following Friday.




