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Inpatient Certification for HMO Members

It is necessary that Medicaid eligibility be verified for each inpatient hospital stay to
determine the appropriate agency to contact for inpatient certification.  If the Medicaid
recipient is in an HMO, the managed care information is provided at the time eligibility
is verified.  It is important that hospital utilization review  (UR) staff know when a
Medicaid recipient is an HMO member.

Certification for Inpatient General Hospital Stays:    HMOs are responsible for
certifying services for those Medicaid recipients enrolled with an HMO.
HealthSystems of Mississippi (HSM) is responsible for certifying services for Medicaid
recipients who are not in an HMO.

Staff at HSM who are contacted by hospital UR staff will ask if the Medicaid recipient
is in an HMO.  If the UR staff does not have this information or advises HSM that the
patient is not in an HMO and HSM provides certification, the certification will be
invalid if it is determined that the patient was an HMO member at the time of
certification.  It will then be the responsibility of the hospital to address reimbursement
with the HMO.

Certification for Inpatient Psychiatric Services:    Senate Bill 2100 as passed by the
Legislature during the 1997 Session requires a carve out of mental health services from
the HMO program.  Since mental health services are carved out of the HMO program,
HSM is responsible for all certifications of Medicaid recipients enrolled with an HMO

(Continued on page 2)
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Billing Tip- When filing HCFA claim forms, claims should not be
continued to a second page as stated in section 6.02 # 28 of the
Mississippi Medicaid Physician Manual.

Medicaid Charges for Fee Schedules and Provider Manuals

Medicaid fee schedules are available in hard copy form and on diskette.  The current
fee schedule contains 158 pages.  The charge for a hard copy of the fee schedule is
$92.  The fee schedule on diskette costs $45.78.

One provider manual is provided for each provider number.  If providers request
additional manuals, they must submit their request in writing to the Division of
Medicaid.  The charge for an additional manual is $25 per manual plus postage.

All requests for information should be sent to :

Rose Compere
Information Officer
Division of Medicaid
239 North Lamar Street, Suite 801
Jackson, MS 39201-1399
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whose primary diagnosis is a mental health diagnosis in the ICD-9 code range of 290-
319.99.  There will be some cases in which the primary diagnosis for admission
purposes is a medical diagnosis and once the medical need is met, the patient continues
the inpatient stay due to a mental health diagnosis.  An example would be someone
who is admitted for attempted suicide.  Once the treatment for the injury is no longer
primary, the mental health diagnosis to deal with issues causing the attempted suicide
becomes the primary diagnosis.  In this case, the HMO is responsible for certifying the
stay necessary to address the medical diagnosis.  When the primary diagnosis changes,
the HMO is no longer responsible for certifying days and the hospital UR staff must
contact HSM to certify these days.  It is the responsibility of the HMO to notify the
Division of Medicaid, Managed Care Division of any member who remains
hospitalized and whose primary diagnosis becomes a mental health diagnosis in the
range of 290-319.99.  The hospital will also have to split bill the inpatient stay so that
EDS can properly process the claims.

HMOs and Telephone Numbers for Inpatient Certification:  
AmeriCan Medical Plans 1-800-254-5184
Apex Healthcare 1-800-598-1668
Family Health Care Plus 1-800-323-1999
Mississippi Managed Care Network 1-800-410-3025

Questions about the process for inpatient certification should be directed to the HMO
in which the Medicaid recipient is enrolled or to HSM.

(Continued from page 1)
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Change in Prior Approval Requirement for NSAIDS

Beginning April 1, 1998 ALL innovator brand name non-steroidal anti-inflammatory
drugs (NSAIDS) will require prior approval.  Until that date, the present policy will
continue, i.e., prior approval is required only for single source brand name NSAIDS.

HealthMACS Referral Log

HealthMACS Primary Care Providers (PCP) are encouraged to use the HealthMACS
referral log, which has been provided at HealthMACS workshops or to create their
own tool/system to track all HealthMACS requests for authorization both approved
and denied.  The importance of this log is to track all authorizations to ensure that
medical records documentation is returned to the PCP.  The log is also used as a tool
along with the PCP services rendered by non-PCP report to periodically monitor any
misuse of the PCP’s authorization number.

As of April 1, 1998, both emergent and urgent care situations will require post
authorization.  True non-urgent/non-emergent situations are to be redirected back to
the PCP.  This makes it even more important for PCPs to keep an accurate
HealthMACS authorization log to document when authorization was approved or
denied.  When the PCP receives his/her services rendered by non-PCP report, it is to
be matched with the PCP’s referral log to ensure that the use of the PCP's
HealthMACS authorization number was used as specified by the PCP.

Hospital emergency rooms are required by federal law to complete medical screenings
on each patient presenting to the emergency room (ER).  If the medical screening
determines that the patient has a true non-urgent/non-emergent situation, the ER is to
redirect the patient back to the assigned PCP.  It is expected that PCPs will provide
post authorization for these medical screenings.  Without HealthMACS authorization,
the hospital will not be reimbursed for the medical screening.  If the ER must provide
treatment for stabilization, the PCP will be requested to provide post authorization for
this treatment.

The PCP is to assist with educating enrollees who use the emergency room for
problems that need to be treated by the PCP.  The PCP can call the Managed Care
Hotline at 1-800-627-8488 to request that a client field representative contact the
enrollee to provide education about the appropriate use of health care services, when
to go to the emergency room, when to contact the PCP, etc.

If you are a HealthMACS PCP and you identify or suspect that another provider is
using your HealthMACS authorization number without your permission, please call
the Managed Care Division at 1-800-421-2408 Ext. 6133.  You will be asked to
provide verification of the discrepancies noted on the PCP services rendered by non-
PCP report as well as copies of your referral log.  As a reminder: Use of the PCP’s
HealthMACS authorization number without the PCP’s permission is considered
fraud.
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Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday.  However, funds are not transferred until the
following Thursday and Remittance Advices usually arrive the following Friday.

March 1998

EDS Correspondence Unit
1-800-884-3222 or 601-960-2800


