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Throughout much of the year,
many of the Medicaid policy
and delivery changes we have
implemented at the Mississippi
Division of Medicaid (DOM)
have been directly related to
the COVID-19 pandemic, such
as the extension of telehealth
services. However, that has not stopped us from
pursuing common-sense improvements that enhance
the Medicaid experience for our stakeholders.

DREW L. SNYDER
Executive Director
MS Division of Medicaid

Most recently, we have worked in cooperation with the
Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) to
increase the Medicaid reimbursement rate for
emergency ground ambulance transportation.

Previously these rates were calculated at 70% of the
Medicare rate. A collaborative agreement with MSDH
will make it possible for those reimbursements to be
calculated at 100% of the Medicare rate, resulting in an
estimated increase of $7.8 million per year at no
additional cost to the state.

One of my priorities at DOM has been to develop strong
partnerships with the roughly 30,300 providers around
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the state. Wherever possible, | want to reduce
unnecessary administrative burdens while enhancing
value to taxpayers and consumers. In this case, we are
maximizing the use of federal funds to support a critical
service.

While we are still weathering the COVID-19 pandemic,
we are continuing to move forward as an agency.

Budget Outlook for SFY 2020

As state fiscal year (SFY) 2020 wrapped up at the end
of June, lawmakers hammered out the details of the
Mississippi Division of Medicaid’s (DOM) budget
appropriation for SFY 2021, which began July 1. Those
details include a state support appropriation of $899
million, which is 3.4% less than what we were budgeted
for SFY 2020. By comparison, our initial budget request
for SFY 2021 was $979 million.

Lawmakers have had to adjust to the fact that state tax
revenues plunged in April during the statewide
shutdown, meaning many agencies will have to make
do with tighter budgets in the current fiscal year.

continued on page 2
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However, DOMis in a good position, thanks
to our enhanced federal match rate. In an
effort to help states respond to the public
health emergency, the Families First
Coronavirus Response Act increased the
Federal Medical Assistance Percentage
(FMAP) rate for Medicaid programs for the
duration of the outbreak. The impact in
Mississippi is an increase from 76.98% to
83.18%. That should help us weather the
storm despite an uptick in enrollment.

Meanwhile, we are continually adapting to
the unfolding COVID-19 outbreak, and our
workforce is doing its best to slow the spread
of coronavirus. Many of our emergency
policies will remain in place until the end of
the public health emergency. Forinformation
and updates, please visit https://medicaid.
ms.gov/corona-virus-updates/.
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WEB PORTAL REMINDER

For easy access to up-to-date information, providers are encouraged to use the Mississippi Envision Web Portal. The
Web Portal is the electronic approach to rapid, efficient information exchange with providers including eligibility verification,
claim submission, electronic report retrieval, and the latest updates to provider information. The Mississippi Envision
Web Portal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year via the Internet at www.ms-medicaid.com
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Emergency Telehealth Policy

As the state continues to combat the COVID-19
outbreak, the Mississippi Division of Medicaid (DOM)
extended its coverage of enhanced telehealth services
through the end of the public health emergency.The
policy improves access for beneficiaries by allowing
them to receive telehealth services in their homes
without a telepresenter present, cutting back on
unnecessary travel, clinic visits and possible exposure.
Beneficiaries can use their cell phones, computers or
other devices to receive care from a DOM-approved
distant-site provider. For more information, view the
Emergency Telehealth Policy and FAQs at: https://
medicaid.ms.gov/coronavirus-updates/.

Attention: Hospital Providers
Inpatient Authorization
Process

Effective September 1, 2020, hospital providers will
be required to adhere to the outlined timeframe
for requesting authorizations from the Division of
Medicaid (DOM) Utilization Management and Quality
Improvement Organization (UM/QIO), Alliant Health
Solutions. Nothing in this notification will supersede
DOM authorization process for Maternity related
services or Newborns.

Elective or Non-Emergency Inpatient Admission

« The provider shall request authorization for Elective
or Non-Emergency Inpatient Admission from Alliant.
Prior authorization must be obtained at least one (1)
to three (3) business days before admission.

Emergency Inpatient Admission

« The provider must request authorization for an
Emergency Inpatient Admission within one (1)
business day of admission.

Continued Stay Review

+ Provider must request a continued stay review
within 2 business days prior to the expiration of the
authorization but no later than 1 business day after
the expiration of the authorization.

Retrospective Review

+ Requests for post service reviews will be considered
when prior authorization was not obtained due to
extenuating circumstances. (i.e., beneficiary was
unconscious upon arrival, acts of nature impairing the
provider’s ability to verify the beneficiary coverage/
eligibility status, services authorized by another
payer who subsequently determined member was
not eligible at the time of service, etc.)

More information regarding DOM policy can be found
at https://medicaid.ms.gov/.

For assistance with authorization requests, please
visit Alliant Health Solutions website at https://
ms.allianthealth.org/.

HOSPITAL INPATIENT APR-
DRG ALERT - July 1, 2020
Updates

The Mississippi Division of Medicaid (DOM) is proposing
the following changes to the hospital inpatient APR-
DRG payment methodology effective for the payment
of hospital inpatient claims for discharges on and after
July 1,2020:

The following APR-DRG parameters will be updated:

a. Base Payment - will change from $6,574 to $6,590

b. Pediatric mental health policy adjustor - will change
from 2.00 to 1.95

c. Adult mental health policy adjustor — will change
from 1.60 to 1.50

d. DRG Cost Outlier Threshold - will change from
$47,000 to $53,500
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DOM estimates the overallimpact of the above changes
will be a savings of $2,846,599 in state and federal
funds, which DOM intends to invest in community
based mental health services. This savings represents
less than 0.5% of the DOM hospital inpatient budget.

Due to significant changes in the clinical logic and
relative weights from version 35 to version 37 of the 3M
APR-DRG grouper, DOM will not update to version 37
onJuly 1,2020.The changes to the logic and weightsin
version 37 would have a substantial impact on hospital
reimbursement; as a result DOM has decided to remain
on version 35 of the APR-DRG grouper and weights for
an additional year in order to maintain stability in DRG
payments. DOM will assess the impact of version 38
of the APR-DRG grouper and weights when they are

released in October 2020 and will consider whether to
update to that version or move to Mississippi specific
weights until the 3M weights better reflect relative costs
in the Mississippi Medicaid population.

Please keep in mind that hospitals are not required to
purchase 3M software for payment of claims; however,
all hospitals that have purchased the 3M software
should ensure their internal systems are updated to
reflect all changes that occur for hospital discharges
beginning on and after July 1, 2020.

The APR-DRG Provider Update Presentation and other
APR-DRG materials for July 1, 2020 is available on the
DOM website https://medicaid.ms.gov/providers/
reimbursement/.

Important Updates for Private Duty Nursing Providers

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) final filed the
Administrative Code for Private Duty Nursing (PDN)
and Personal Care Service (PCS) providers that will be
effective July 1,2020 and can be viewed on DOM’s Final
Administrative Code Filings page. PDN and PCS are for
early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment
(EPSDT) eligible beneficiaries, when medically necessary
and prior authorized by the Utilization Management and

Quality Improvement Organization (UM/QIO). Failure to
obtain prior authorization will result in denial of payment.
DOM is contracted with Alliant Health Solutions as the
UM/QIO vendor, responsible for determining medical
necessity for fee-for-service (FFS) beneficiaries. Please
refer to Alliant Health Solutions’ provider portal https://
ms.allianthealth.org/ or call Alliant directly at 1-888-224-
3067.

" . Reimbursement Required
Procedure Code Description of Service Rate per Unit Modifier
Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA),
59122 Providing Care in the Home >17.26 N/A
Nursing Care, in the Home; by a
59123 Registered Nurse (RN), Per Hour »32.41 EP
. . TG- Home
59123 Nursing Care, in the Home; by a $51.00 Ventilator
Registered Nurse (RN), Per Hour
Dependent
Nursing Care, in the Home; by a
59124 Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Per Hour »26.00 EP

Please refer to DOM'’s public website to view current fee schedules. The Envision Interactive Fee Schedule is a helpful
resource to look up individual procedure codes based on date of service. https://medicaid.ms.gov/providers/fee-
schedules-and-rates/. If you have any questions, please contact Conduent Provider and Beneficiary Services at

1-800-884-3222.
4
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Important Notice to
Community Mental Health
Service Providers

On August 28, 2020, the Division of Medicaid submitted
the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) 20-
0022 Mental Health Coverage and Reimbursement.
Contingent upon approval from the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services, this SPA will be
effective September 1, 2020.

This SPA includes several enhancements, including,
but not limited to, the following: a) Allowing a more
innovative approach to providing Intensive Outpatient
Psychiatric services, b) Allowing providers of Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT)
community mental health services to provide services
to non-EPSDT beneficiaries, ¢) Adding coverage and
reimbursement of Acute Partial Hospitalization in the
outpatient hospital setting or free standing psychiatric
unit, a private psychiatric clinic or other provider
certified by the DMH or other appropriate entity as
determined by the Division of Medicaid, d) Adding
language to ensure that community mental health
services are covered for beneficiaries with a substance
use disorder, e) Removing annual service limits for Crisis
Response Services and Medication Administration, and
f) Increasing the rate for Mental Health Assessments
by a non-physician to 90% of the Medicaid physician
rate for Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluations.

Providersare encouraged toreview these enhancements
or changes at the following link:
https://medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/
uploads/2020/08/MS-SPA-20-0022-Mental-Health-
Services-and-Reimbursement-Public-Notice.pdf.

If you have any program questions, please contact the
Office of Mental Health at 601-359-9545.

Attention All Elderly and
Disabled (E&D) Waiver Case
Management Providers

RATE CHANGE!

For dates of service on or after July 1, 2020, the rate
for Case Management (T2022) has been changed

to $195.14 per month. As a reminder, Elderly and
Disabled Waiver services must always be billed with
a U1 modifier.

Durable Medical Equipment
Providers - Clarification for
Wheelchair Code E1220

Durable Medical Equipment (DME) providers are
reminded that Healthcare Common Procedure Coding
System (HCPCS) code E1220 can only be billed when
there is no HCPCS code or combination of HCPCS codes
which adequately describes the components and/or
accessories of a specially sized or constructed (Custom)
wheelchair. Code E1220 is a bundled code which only
includes those components and/or accessories with no
HCPCS code or combination of HCPCS codes assigned
that adequately describe(s) these items for a specially
sized or constructed wheelchair. Components and/or
accessories used to construct the wheelchair that have
an assigned HCPCS code with a fee on file, must be
billed separately by the HCPCS code.

E1220 is specific to one chair type and should not be
used in combination with other wheelchair codes.
Wheelchairs other than E1220 that require additional
items which have no codes or combination of codes
that adequately describe the items required for that
chair would utilize code E1399 - Durable Medical
Equipment Miscellaneous.

Patient Driven Payment
Model Update: Attention
Nursing Facility Providers

On May 15, 2020, CMS updated the minimum data
set (MDS) 3.0 item sets (version 1.17.2) to support the
calculation of Patient Driven Payment Model (PDPM)
case mix groups on all Omnibus Budget Reconciliation
Act (OBRA) assessments. Through this update, CMS
has provided states the option to begin requiring
and collecting the necessary MDS fields to categorize
OBRA MDS assessments submissions within the PDPM
resident classification system.

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) has made the
determination that beginning October 1, 2020,
Mississippi will begin requiring the completion and
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submission of the 28 MDS item set fields associated
with PDPM on all OBRA nursing home comprehensive
(NC) and quarterly (NQ) MDS assessment submissions.
These additional fields are located in Sections GG, |
and J. DOM believes this is a necessary step toward
the PDPM classification system as an alternative for the
Resource Utilization Group-IV (RUG-IV) classification
system that is utilized today as the basis for the case
mix reimbursement system.

It should be noted that the MDS fields necessary for
PDPM and RUG resident classification are available on
both the standard NC and NQ MDS item sets, and as
such providers will NOT need to file an Optional State
Assessment (OSA) at this time.

Cost Report Filing Extension

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) will extend the due
date for filing cost reports for following year ends:

Fiscal Year End

December 31,2019
January 31, 2020
February 29, 2020

Cost Report Due Date

August 31,2020
August 31,2020
September 30, 2020

Long Term Care cost reports should use the latest
cost report instructions and integrated cost report
forms located on the Division of Medicaid’s website
at https://medicaid.ms.gov/resources/forms/. Hospital
cost reports must be prepared in accordance with
the methods of reimbursement and cost finding in
accordance with Title XVIIl (Medicare) Principles of
Reimbursement, as described in the Medicare Provider
Reimbursement Manual, 15-1, or as modified by
Chapter 2, Cost Reporting and Cost Finding, of the
MississippiTitle XIX Inpatient Hospital Reimbursement
Plan.

These cost reports should be submitted electronically
through the Cost Report Database Portal at https://
mississippicostreports.mslc.com/. Registration docu-
ments, user guide and trainings on the web portal
(recording & slides) can be found at https://www.
mslc.com/mississippi/CRReviewResources.aspx. If you
have additional questions beyond any of the materials
mentioned, please email Myers and Stauffer at MS_
Web_Portal@mslc.com.

PHARMACY NEWS

NCPDP Field Required on
CII prescriptions, effective
September 21, 2020

OnJanuary 24, 2020, the CMS-0055-F final rule regarding
a modification to the use of the Telecommunication D.0
Standard was published in the Federal Register. This
final rule is not a modification of the standard itself.
The modification to the NCPDP D.0 Standard involves
treating Quantity Prescribed (460-ET) as required when
the transmission is for a Schedule Il controlled substance
asdefined in 21 CFR 1308.12.This modification enables
covered entities to clearly distinguish in a HIPAA retail
pharmacy transaction if a prescription is a “partial fill”
where less than the full amount prescribed is dispensed
under the CARA provision. This is a modification to
ensure information is available to help prevent
impermissible refills of Schedule Il drugs and to yield
better data for researchers to enhance understanding
of prescribing trends. CMS believes this modification
will assist with addressing the public health concerns
associated with prescription drug abuse in the United
States.

CMS-0055-F, EFFECTIVE DATE: March 24, 2020
This is the date covered entities can begin using
the Quantity Prescribed field for Schedule I
prescriptions.

CMS-0055-F, COMPLIANCE DATE: September 21,2020
This is the date that all covered entities must
require this field for all Schedule Il prescriptions.

On September 21, 2020, pharmacy providers must
enter a value in the ‘Quantity Prescribed’ field (460-
ET) on all Schedule Il prescription claims. Requiring the
Quantity Prescribed field will allow for calculations in
pharmacy systems so that the total quantity dispensed
of a Schedule Il controlled substance does not exceed
the quantity prescribed.
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OTC List Revision

DOM maintains two Covered OTC Lists. In July 2020,
these lists underwent a few minor edits. These changes
were made to make these lists more user-friendly for
Medicaid providers.

There are two OTC lists: (1) the master list, which lists all
covered OTC drugs found at https://medicaid.ms.gov/
providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-resources/ and (2) the
NDC-specific list found at https://www.ms-medicaid.
com/msenvision/

Covered OTC drugs which fall in therapeutic classes
found on the Preferred Drug List (PDL) are no longer listed
on the NDC-specific list although they remain covered.
Providers should consult the PDL to ascertain which
covered OTC drugs are preferred and nonpreferred.

FDA- Updated Insulin Pen
Dispensing Requirements

The purpose of this notice is to update the insulin pen
article that appeared in the pharmacy section of the
September 2019 Mississippi Medicaid Provider Bulletin,
Volume 25, Issue 3.

On November 15, 2019, the FDA published updated
labeling of insulin pen boxes due to a Tracked Safety
Issue (TSI) related to insulin pen products and medication
errors (packaging/dispensing confusion). The FDA's key
reason for the change was for safety purposes. Open
boxes may prevent beneficiaries from receiving all of the
appropriate labeling or product pamphlets and could
lead to adverse events.

The new wording required on the package insert of
boxes of insulin pens is found in Section 16.2, and states,
“Dispense in the original sealed carton with the enclosed
Instructions for Use”. Your supply chain and inventory
management will dictate when you start seeing the
revised product labeling, if you haven't already.

This provider notice is intended to assist pharmacists
with appropriate submission of claims for unopened
boxes of insulin pens dispensed to fee for service, MSCAN
and MSCHIP beneficiaries.

The Division of Medicaid (DOM) requires that all drugs
be prescribed in a full month’s supply which may not
exceed a thirty-one (31) day supply. However, Medicaid
allows for the following exceptions:

Drug products where the only available package size
of the product is one that exceeds the thirty-one (31)
days’supply limit. ..

« Insulin pen cartridge boxes are considered
to fall under the exceptions as stated in DOM
Administrative Code Title 23, Part 214, Rule 1.6:
Prescription Requirements: https://www.medicaid.
ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Admin-Code-
Part-214.pdf

Pharmacy providers should bill an accurate days’supply
(on original claims and subsequent refills) based on
the prescribed quantity - according to the prescriber's
directions found on the prescription. If a larger quantity
is required to satisfy the prescribed directions, a
new prescription may need to be obtained from the
prescriber. It is important that the actual days’ supply
be submitted on prescription claims for insulin pens.

The Insulin Pen Quantity Limit List can be found on
DOM'’s website at: https://medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/
uploads/2019/02/INSULIN-Products-w-QTY-Limits.pdf




OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR
Walter Sillers Building | 550 High Street, Suite 1000 | Jackson, Mississippi 39201

MississippiCAN and CHIP Provider Survey

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION OF

MEDICAID

Name: Facility: Phone:

We need your help to tell us how well the MississippiCAN and CHIP programs are performing. Please take a few minutes
to complete this survey by placing a checkmark beside your response. If you have any questions, please contact the Office
of Coordinated Care (601) 359-3789. Please forward Provider Satisfaction surveys to:
MississippiCAN.Quality@medicaid.ms.gov

1. Describe your overall experience with the MississippiCAN/CHIP program?

[J Good I Fair [JPoor
2. Which MississippiCAN network are you enrolled?

[IMagnolia  [1United [JMolina Al
3. Which CHIP network are you enrolled?

[JUnited [JMolina CTAI

4. How often do you receive notification of changes from the Health Plans?
[JMonthly [(JQuarterly I Annually
5. How often do you check eligibility for your patients?

[ Daily [IWeekly [JMonthly [ At time of visit
6. Do you utilize the Health Plans’web portal?

[(IYes [ONo
7. Do you receive a member roster panel from the Health Plans?

[IYes [ONo

8. Do you know your provider representative with the Health Plans and does your provider representative
visit your facility?
[Yes ONo
9. Have you seen improvement in the quality of care with the Mississippi beneficiaries?
Olmproved  [ISomewhat Improved  [INot Improved

10. Claims are processed in a timely manner. [JAgree [1Disagree
11. Claims’inquiries are answered promptly by the Health Plan. [JAgree [1Disagree
12. The Health Plan’s Prior Authorization process works efficiently. [JAgree [1Disagree
13. Denial notifications provide clearly defined denial reasons. [JAgree [1Disagree
14. Claims are paid at the correct rates (no less than Medicaid’s). [JAgree [1Disagree
15. The Provider Grievance and Appeals process is effective. [JAgree [1Disagree
16. My facility is familiar with and refers patients to the CCO’s Disease and Care Management programs.
[JAgree (] Disagree
17. The provider workshops are beneficial for my type of practice. [JAgree [1Disagree

If you disagreed with any of the questions above, please provide your comments for improvement.

Comments:

Toll-free 1-800-421-2408 | Phone 601-359-3789 | Fax 601-359-5252 | www.medicaid.ms.gov

Responsibly providing access to quality health coverage for vulnerable Mississippians
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Latasha Ford
(601.572.3298)

Prentiss Butler
(601.206.3042)

Claudia “Nicky” Odomes

(601.572.3276)

Randy Ponder or
Justin Griffin)

Erica G. Cooper
(601.206.3019)

Connie Mooney
(601.572.3253)

TBA (interim contact
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PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVES

PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVE AREAS BY COUNTY

AREA 1 AREA 2 AREA 3
Latasha Ford (601.572.3298) Prentiss Butler (601.206.3042) Claudia "Nicky" Odomes (601.572.3276)
Latasha.Ford@conduent.com rentiss.butler@conduent.com claudia.odomes@conduent.com
County County County
Desoto Benton Coahoma
Tunica Tippah Quitman
Tate Alcorn Bolivar
Panola Tishomingo Sunflower
Marshall Prentiss Leflore
Lafayette Union Tallahatchie
Yalobusha Lee Washington
Grenada Pontotoc Sharkey
Carroll Itawamba Humphreys
Montgomery Calhoun Yazoo
Webster Chickasaw Holmes
Monroe Issaquena

Justin Griffin (601.206.2922)

justin.grifin@conduent.com
Randy Ponder (601.206.3026)

randy.ponder@conduent.com

AREA 5
TBA (interim contact
Randy Ponder or Justin Griffin)

AREA 6
Erica G. Cooper (601.206.3019)
ERICA.Cooper@conduent.com

County County County
Hinds Clay Warren
Rankin Oktibbeha Claiborne
Madison Choctaw Jefferson
Attala Adams
Leake Franklin
Scott Wilkinson
Lowndes Amite
Winston Copiah
Noxubee Lincoln
Neshoba Pike
Kemper Lawrence
Newton Walthall
Lauderdale

AREA 7

Porscha Fuller (601.206.2961)
porscha.fuller@conduent.com

AREA 8
Connie Mooney (601.572.3253)
connie.mooney@conduent.com

County County
Simpson Pearl River
Jefferson Davis Stone
Marion George
Lamar Hancock
Covington Harrison

Smith Jackson
Jasper
Jones Slidell, LA
Forrest Mobile, AL
Perry

Greene

Wayne

Clarke

OUT OF STATE PROVIDERS

Interim Contacts: Justin Griffin (601.206.2922) justin.grifin@conduent.com

Randy Ponder (601.206.3026) randy.ponder@conduent.com




CONDUENT
P.O. BOX 23078
JACKSON, MS 39225

If you have any questions
related to the topics in this
bulletin, please contact
Conduent at 800 - 884 -3222

Mississippi Medicaid
Administrative Code and Billing
Handbook are on the Web
www.medicaid.ms.gov

Medicaid Provider Bulletins are
located on the Web Portal
www.ms-medicaid.com

SEPTEMBER 2020 | OCTOBER 2020 H NOVEMBER 2020

THURS, SEPT 3

MON, SEPT 7

THURS, SEPT 10
MON, SEPT 14
THURS, SEPT 17
MON, SEPT 21

THURS, SEPT 24

EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

Labor Day
DOM Closed

EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

Checkwrite

EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

Checkwrite

EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

{ THURS, OCT 1
MON, OCT 5
THURS, OCT 8
MON, OCT 12
THURS, OCT 15
MON, OCT 19
THURS, OCT 22
MON, OCT 26

. THURS, OCT 29

EDI Cut Off — 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite
EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite
EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite
EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite

EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

: MON, NOV 2
: THURS, NOV 5
: MON, NOV 9

: WED, NOV 11

: THURS, NOV 12
MON, NOV 16
: THURS, NOV 19
: MON, NOV 23

THURS, NOV 26

: MON, NOV 30

Checkwrite
EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite

Veteran's Day
DOM Closed

EDI Cut Off — 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite
EDI Cut Off — 5:00 p.m.
Checkwrite

Thanksgiving Day
DOM Closed

Checkwrite

Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. Provider Remittance Advice is available for download each
Monday morning at www.ms-medicaid.com. Funds are not transferred until the following Thursday.




