PUBLIC NOTICE
December 28, 2017

Pursuant to 42 C.F.R. Section 447.205, public notice is hereby given to the submission of a Medicaid
State Plan Amendment (SPA). Effective January 1, 2018, the Division of Medicaid, in the Office of the
Governor, is submitting SPA 18-0001 Long-Term Care (LTC) Updates, Transmittal #18-0001.

1.

Mississippi Medicaid SPA 18-0001 LTC Updates modifies the reimbursement methodology by
adding respiratory therapy expenses as an allowable cost.

The total annual aggregate expenditures is estimated to be $1,229,300. The federal financial
impact is estimated to be $913,910 annually. The state financial impact is estimated to be
$315,390 annually.

SPA 18-0001 will allow LTC facilities to include respiratory therapy expenses as an allowable
cost on the LTC facility’s cost report pursuant to 42 C.F.R. § 483.65. This SPA also:

a) Clarifies the allocation of costs by hospital-based long-term care facilities and assessments
other than the long-term care bed tax,

b) Revises the error threshold for expanded case-mix nurse reviews from greater than twenty-
five percent (25%) to twenty-five percent (25%) and greater, and

c) Revises the verbiage of when a hospital leave is broken to be consistent with the definition of
patient days.

A copy of the proposed SPA will be available in each county health department office and in the
Department of Human Services office in Issaquena County for review. A hard copy can be
downloaded and printed from  www.medicaid.gov or may be  requested
at Margaret.Wilson@medicaid.ms.gov or 601-359-5779.

Written comments will be received by the Division of Medicaid, Office of the Governor, Office
of Policy, Walter Sillers Building, Suite 1000, 550 High Street, Jackson, Mississippi 39201,
or Margaret.Wilson@medicaid.ms.gov for thirty (30) days from the date of publication of this
notice. Comments will be available for public review at the above address and on the Division of
Medicaid’s website at www.medicaid.ms.gov.

A public hearing on this SPA will not be held.


http://www.medicaid.gov/
mailto:Margaret.Wilson@medicaid.ms.gov
mailto:Margaret.Wilson@medicaid.ms.gov
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/
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D. Delinquent Cost Reports

Cost reports that are submitted after the due date will be assessed a
penalty in the amount of $50.00 per day the cost report is
delinquent. This penalty may only be waived by the Director of the
Division of Medicaid.

E. What to Submit

For facilities with costs allocated from hospitals, home offices and
related management companies the listed information is required for all
entities. All cost reports must be filed in electronic format, with
the following:

1. +—Working Trial Balance, facility and home office (if
applicable);
42— Grouping schedule showing the general ledger accounts grouped
together and reported on the various lines of the cost report.
32. Depreciation Schedule(s). If the facility has different book
and Medicaid depreciation schedules, copies of both depreciation

schedules must be submitted. ———H—the faciH ity
has—home—ofFice—costs;—coplies—ofFthe homeoffFice depreciation—
schedulemust—alsobesubmitted;

2—3. Any work papers used to compute the
reclassifications and adjustments made iIn the cost
report(s);

3=2. 4= Narrative description of purchased management services or
a copy of contracts for managed services, 1T applicable;
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are adopted the Division of Medicaid.

H. Amended Cost Reports

The Division of Medicaid accepts amended cost reports 1In
electronic format for a period of thirty-six (36) months following
the end of the reporting period. Amended cost reports should
include Form 1, in order to explain the reason for the amendment
in the Section I11; Form 2 with original signature; and all forms
that are being amended along with work papers for any revised
reclassifications and/or adjustments. Each form and schedule
submitted should be clearly marked “Amended” at the top of the
page. Amended cost reports submitted after the annual base rate is
determined will be used only to adjust the individual provider’s
rate. Cost reports may not be amended after an audit has been
initiated.

I Desk Reviews

The Division of Medicaid will conduct cost report reviews, as
deemed necessary, prior to rate determination. The objective of the
desk reviews is to evaluate the necessity and reasonableness of
facility costs iIn order to determine the allowable costs used iIn
the calculation of the prospective per diem rate.

Desk review will be performed using desk review programs developed
by the Division of Medicaid. Providers will be notified, 1in
writing, of all adjustments made to allowable costs.
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may be requested to submit additional information prior to the
completion of the desk review.
3. 3—AIll desk review findings will be sent to the provider
or its designated representative.
4. All desk reviews may be amended multiple times.
5. Desk reviews amended after the annual base rate is determined
will be used only to adjust the individual provider’s rates.
_ i . lod_af I L e red
L [ onl i he_ individual dor? )
6. Desk reviews may not be the final determination of
allowable costs used in the calculation of the provider’s
rate. All cost reports have the potential to be audited.

J. Audits of Financial Records

The Division of Medicaid will conduct en-s#te-audits as necessary to

verify the accuracy and reasonableness of the financial and statistical
information contained in the Medicaid cost report. Audit adjustments
(whether in the provider’s favor or not) will be made. All adjustments
will include written descriptions of the line number on the cost report
being adjusted, the reason for the adjustment, the amount of the
adjustment, and the applicable section of the State Plan or CMS Pub. 15-1
that is being used to justify the change.

Audits issued after the annual base rate is determined will be used only

to adjust the individual provider’s rate.

K. Record Keeping Requirements

Providers must maintain adequate Tfinancial records and statistical data
for proper determination of costs payable under the program. The cost
report must be based on the financial and statistical records maintained
by the facility. All non-governmental facilities must file cost reports
based on the accrual method of accounting. Governmental facilities have
the option to use the cash basis of accounting for reporting. Financial
and statistical data must be current, accurate and in sufficient detail
to support costs contained in the cost report. This includes all
ledgers, books, records and original evidence of cost (purchase
requisitions for supplies, invoices, paid checks,
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inventories, time cards, payrolls, basis for allocating costs, etc.) which
pertain to the determination of reasonable costs. Statistical data should
be maintained regarding census by payment source, room numbers of

residents, hospital leave days and therapeutic leave days.

Financial and statistical records should be maintained In a consistent
manner from one period to another. However, a proper regard for
consistency need not preclude a desirable change iIn accounting procedures,
provided that Tfull disclosure of significant changes are made to the
Division of Medicaid. This disclosure should be made as a footnote on the

cost report and should include the effect of the change.

All financial and statistical records, including cost reports, must be
maintained for a period of three (3) years after submission to the Division

of Medicaid. Records pertaining to amended cost reports must be maintained

for a period of three (3) years after the submission date of the amended

cost report. Records pertaining to open reviews or audits must also be

maintained until the review or audit is finalized.

A provider must make available any or all financial and statistical records
to the Division of Medicaid or its contract auditors for the purpose of

determining compliance with the provisions of this plan or Medicaid policy.

For those cost reports selected for audit, all records which substantiate

the information included in the cost report will be made
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available to the Division of Medicaid reviewers during the scheduled auditfieldisit,
including any documentation relating to home office and/or management company coOSts.
Records of a non-related management company will be made available to support the non-

related party status of the management company. Information requested during an

audit that 1i1s submitted after the provider’s receipt of the Medicaid

adjustment report will not be accepted. Providers will not be allowed to

submit this information at a later date, the cost report may not be amended

in order to submit the additional information, and an appeal of the

disallowance of the costs associated with the requested information may not

be made.

The provider being audited is required to make available within the boundaries of the
State of Mississippi, when 1t iIs reasonable to do so, all information required for the
Division to verify the accuracy and reasonableness of the financial and statistical
information contained in the Medicaid cost reports. When the Division of Medicaid concurs
with the provider that it is not reasonable to make all necessary information available
for review within the boundaries of the State of Mississippi (for example, when the
records to be reviewed are too costly to ship compared to the costs of travel necessary
travel will be paid by the division of Medicaid. However, if, in the opinion of the
Division of Medicaid, the necessary information may be reasonably made available within
the boundaries of the State of Mississippi and the provider being audited chooses not to
make the necessary information available within the State’s boundaries, the provider will
bear all expenses and costs related to the audit, including, but not limited to travel and
reasonable living expenses, and those costs will not be allowable on any subsequent cost
report. Travel expenses and costs will include those allowed per policy issued by the
Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration, Office of Purchasing and Travel for
state employees traveling on official state business. The provider Is required to make
available to the Division of Medicaid reviewers, whenever possible, adequate space and

privacy for the auditors to conduct the audit.
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A. Allowable Costs

In order for a cost to be an allowable cost for Medicaid reimbursement
purposes, It must be reasonable and necessary in the normal conduct of
operations related to providing patient care in accordance with CMS PRM

15-1 guidelines.

The following list of allowable costs is not comprehensive, but serves
a general guide and clarifies certain key expense areas. The absence
of a particular cost does not necessarily mean that it iIs not an

allowable cost.

1. Accounting Fees. Accounting fees 1incurred for the

preparation of the cost report, audits of the
financial records, bookkeeping services, tax return
preparation of the nursing facility and other related
services are allowable costs. Accounting fees
incurred for personal tax planning and 1Income tax

preparation of the owner are not allowable costs. Accounting

fees resulting from suits against federal and or state agencies

administering the Medicaid program are not allowable costs and

should not be claimed until all appeal remedies have been

exhausted and the provider has prevaileds in their appeal or

litigation.

2. Advertising Costs-Allowable. The allowability of advertising

costs depends on whether they are appropriate and helpful in

developing, maintaining, and furnishing
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C. Social, Fraternal, and Other Organizations. Generally, these

organizations concern themselves with activities unrelated to
their members® professional or business activities. Their
objectives and functions cannot be considered reasonably
related to the care of beneficiaries.

Consequently, provider costs incurred 1In connection with
memberships in social, fraternal, and other organizations are
not allowable.

Legal Fees. Legal fees—areallowable iFf they are relatedto patient
_ L I I | . .

Facihity- Legal fees, expenses and costs 1incurred by nursing

facilities shall be allowable, in the period incurred, if said costs

are reasonable, necessary and patient-related. These legal fees,

expenses and costs shall be documented in the provider’s file, and

shall be clearly identifiable, 1including identification by case

number and title, if possible. Failure to clearly identify these

costs shall result in disallowance.

Legal fees resulting from suits against federal
and/or state agencies administering the Medicaid program are not

allowable costs and should not be claimed until all appeal

remedies have been exhausted andunless the provider has prevaileds

in their appeal or litigation.

Management Fees Paid to Related Parties and Home Office Costs.

The allowability of the cost of management fees paid to related parties
and home office costs will be based on CMS PRM 15-1 standards.
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The fTollowing types of costs are not considered allowable
organization costs: costs relating to the issuance and sale
of shares of capital stock or other securities, such as
underwriters®™ fees and commissions, accountant®s or lawyer~s
fees, cost of qualifying the 1issues with the appropriate

state or federal authorities, stamp taxes, etc.

Allowable organization costs should be amortized over a

period of not less than sixty (60) months.

13. Owners®™ and Officer’s Salaries. A reasonable allowance of

compensation for services of —owners and officers 1iIs an

allowable cost, provided the services are actually
performed iIn a necessary function. The requirement that the

function be necessary means that had the owner or officer not

rendered the services, the institution would have had to
employ another person to perform them. The services must be

pertinent to the operation and sound conduct of the facility.

Compensation paid to an employee who is an immediate relative

of the owner or officers of the facility is also reviewable
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under the test of reasonableness. For this purpose, the
following persons are considered "immediate relatives™:
husband and wife; natural parent, child and sibling; adopted
child and adoptive parent; stepparent, stepchild,
stepbrother, and stepsister; Tfather-in-law, mother-in-law,
son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, and sister-in-

law; grandparent and grandchild.

The maximum salary allowed for owners or officers, including

owner administrators shall be computed at 150% of the
average salary paid to non-owner administrators for the
previous calendar year for each classification of
facilities. For example: The average salary of non-owner
administrators for calendar year 1992 for each
classification of facilities would be multiplied by one
hundred and Tfifty percent (150%) to determine the maximum

allowable owner administrator or officer —salary for calendar

year 1993. Limits are published each year in the Medicaid
Bulletin. The maximum compensation is considered to include
forty or more work hours per week. The maximum will be

decreased ratably for owners or officers average time

worked which is less than forty hours per week. Owners and
officers are allowed to receive compensation from more than

one facility. Total hours
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worked per week at all owned facilities can—not exceed sixty
hours for each individual to be considered allowable. This
limitation applies for salaries that are paid by the
facility and/or by the home office.

14. Personal Hygiene Items. The cost of routine personal
hygiene i1tems and services as required to meet the needs of
residents, 1including, but not [limited to, hair hygiene
supplies, comb, brush, bath soap, disinfecting soaps or
specialized cleansing agents when indicated to treat special
skin problems or to fight infection, razor, shaving cream,
toothbrush, toothpaste, denture adhesive, denture cleaner,
dental floss, moisturizing Hlotion, tissues, cotton balls,

cotton swabs, deodorant, incontinence care and
supplies,s sanitary napkins and related supplies, towels,
washcloths, hospital gowns, hair and nail hygiene
services, bathing, over-the-counter drugs that are not
covered by the Mississippi Medicaid drug program,
and basic personal laundry. Basic hair cuts and
shampoos must be provided by the facility at no additional
cost to the resident. Basic haircuts and shampoos may be

done by facility staff or a licensed barber or beautician.
IT the fTacility elects to use a licensed barber or
beautician, the resident may not be charged a fee for the
service. Barber and beauty services requested by the
resident that are 1In addition to basic haircuts and
shampoos may be billed to the residents.
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supplements; materials and supplies for the operation, maintenance
and repair of buildings, grounds and equipment; linens and laundry
alternatives; and postage. Medical supplies necessary for the
provision of care in order to attain or maintain the highest
practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each
resident, as determined by resident assessments and individual plans
of care are allowable costs. Any supplies or equipment ordered
by a resident®s attending physician must be provided by the facility
and will be an allowable cost.

Therapy Expenses. Costs attributable to the administering of

therapy services are allowablesheuld—bereported—on—Form—65—Linre2.
Physical, Occupational and Speech Language Pathology tFherapy

expenses will be included in the per diem rate for NFSD, PRTF and

ICF/11D providers. Physical, Occupational and Speech Language

Pathology tFherapy expenses for Small Nursing Facilities and

Large —Nursing Facilities will be reimbursed on a fee for

service basis. Respiratory therapy expenses will be included in the

per diem rate for all long-term care facilities.
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Travel. Travel expenses incurred for facility business that is
related to patient care are allowable costs. Travel must be
documented as to the person traveling, dates of the trip,
destination, purpose of the trip, expense description, and the
cost. Travel incurred by employees not related to the owner for
“in-town travel™ (travel within the town of the TfTacility) does
not need to be itemized if the expenditure is less than $50.00.

Utilities. This includes electricity, natural gas, fuel oil,
water, waste  water, garbage collection, hazardous waste
collection, telephone and communications and cable television
charges.

Medicaid Assessment. The monthly nursing Tfacility, ICF/1ID
and PRTF bed assessments based on bed occupancy,—referred—to—n

1972,  as——amendeds will be considered allowable costs on the
cost report filed by each long-term care facility, 1In accordance
with the CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual, Part 1, Section
2122 .1.

Training Costs. Training costs, other than nurse aide training,
are an allowable cost where the fees paid are (a) to maintain
current certifications, (b) directly applicable to your current
position, and therefore related to patient care, or (c) for
training on software updates. These costs are allowable i1n the
cost report period incurred.

Educational costs other than on-the-job training — Costs of education

of employees at accredited and technical institutions to acquire an
undergraduate or graduate degree are allowable iIn accordance with the
Provider Reimbursement Manual (PRM) 15-1 section 416.3 as modified by
the following;

The costs should not be claimed until the cost report period after
the employee has attained their degree. The costs should amortized
over a similar number of periods for which tuition was paid or the
continued employment agreement period (between the employee and the
facility) whichever is longer. 1i1.e. If 4 semesters of tuition were
paid, then the expense should be spread over 2 years of a cost report

period.

B. Non-Allowable Costs

Certain expenses are considered non-allowable for Medicaid purposes
because they are not normally 1incurred in providing patient care.
These non- allowable costs 1i1nclude, but are not Ilimited to, the
following types of expenses.

1. Advertising Expense Non-Allowable. Costs of fund-raising, including
advertising, promotional, or publicity costs incurred for such a
purpose, are not allowable.

TN NO 15-00417-001 DATE RECEIVED
SUPERSEDES DATE APPROVED

TN NO 2610-02715-004 DATE EFFECTIVE




ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 68

Costs of advertising of a general nature designed to iInvite
physicians to utilize a provider®s fTacilities 1In their

capacity as independent practitioners are not allowable.

Costs of advertising incurred 1iIn connection with the
issuance of a provider®s own stock, or the sale of stock

held by the provider in another corporation, are considered
reductions iIn the proceeds from the sale and, therefore, are

not allowable.

Costs of advertising to the general public which seeks to
increase patient utilization of the provider®"s fTacilities
are not allowable. Situations may occur where advertising
which appears to be iIn the nature of the provider®"s public
relations activity i1s, In fact, an effort to attract more
patients. An analysis by the Division of Medicaid or its

contractor of the advertising copy and its distribution may

then be necessary to determine the specific objective.

2. Bad Debts. Bad debts are not an allowable cost for Medicaid

reimbursement purposes.
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3. Barber and Beauty Expense. The cost of a barber and beauty shop
located in the facility must be excluded from allowable costs 1f

the residents are charged for these services. Costs to
exclude include salaries and fringe benefits of barber and
beauty shop staff, utilities, supplies and capital costs related
to the square Tfootage used for this purpose. IT the facility
does not submit a cost Tfinding with the cost report, the
revenue Ffor barber and beauty services will be deducted from
allowable costs. The cost of barber and beauty services provided
to residents for which no charge is made should be
included iIn care related costs in the allowable cost section
of the cost report.

4. Contributions. Contributions are not an allowable cost. This

includes political contributions and donations to religious,
charitable, and civic organizations.

5. Feeding Assistant Training. Feeding Assistant training is a non-

allowable cost. Reimbursement for feeding assistant training 1Is
made to the provider through direct billing.

6. Income Taxes - State and Federal. State and federal income

taxes paid are not allowable costs for Medicaid reimbursement
purposes.

7. Other Medicaid assessments

a) Any portion of Medicaid Hospital assessments and I1GTs, will be

considered non-allowable costs on the cost report filed by each

long-term care facility.

b) Medicaid Assessments other than the monthly Medicaid LTC bed

assessments based on occupancy, will be considered non-allowable

costs on the cost report filed by each long-term care facility.
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10. Other Non-Allowable Costs. The cost of any services

provided for which residents are charged a fee 1s a non-
allowable cost. In addition, the amount paid for any item
subject to direct reimbursement by the Division of Medicaid

is a non-allowable cost.

11. Penalties and Sanctions. All penalties and sanctions
assessed to the facility are considered non-allowable costs.
These 1i1nclude, but are not Ilimited to, delinquent cost
report penalties, Internal Revenue Service penalties, civil

money penalties, delinquent bed assessment penalties,
late payment fees and insufficient check charges.

12. Television. The cost of providing television service to

residents is a non-allowable cost i1If residents are charged a

fee for this service.

13. Vending Machines. The cost of providing vending machines is

a non-allowable cost. IT a cost finding is not submitted
with the cost report, the vending machine revenues will be

offset against allowable costs.
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3. That the services, TfTacilities, or supplies are those which are commonly
obtained by nursing facilities from other organizations and are not a basic
element of patient care ordinarily furnished directly to patients by
nursing facilities.

4. That the charge to the provider is in line with the charge for such services,
facilities, or supplies in the open market and no more than the charge made
under comparable circumstances to others by the organization for such
services, facilities, or supplies.

Where all of the conditions of this exception are met, the charges by the supplier to the
provider for such services or supplies are allowable as costs.

D. Hospital Based Costs Allocation

1. For costs allocated from hospitals, the costs must be reasonable and necessary in the

provision of patient care at the long-term care facility (LTC) providers. All cost

allocation determinations must be in accordance with Chapters 21, 22 and 23 of CMSPRM
Publication 15-1.

2. Allocation of these costs must be in a manner that is auditable and that is supported

by documentation that verifies the allocation of expense is applicable to the LTC

facility for which services were rendered.

3. For LTC facilities that are not contiguous to the hospital, square footage or number

of personnel is not an acceptable allocation statistic. Documented provision of

service must be maintained related to the allocation of any cost center other than

Administrative and General (A&G), which should be allocated on the accumulated cost

basis. This documentation includes, but is not limited to, time or assignment

schedules documenting the provision of service to the affected LTC facilityNF,—NFSD;
PRTF,—orICF/HID.

4. As part of the allocation of the A&G cost center, only costs of those areas, included

in the A&G center, that provided service to the attached LTC facility should be

allocated to them.

1-5. Hospital providers are not mandated to componentize their A& or other cost

centers;s but, should the hospital provider choose not to do so, any expenses

allocated to the LTC facility contrary to the instructions in items 1-4 above should

be calculated and removed before inclusion in the Medicaid Long Term Cost Report

forms.

BE. Definitions
1. Reasonable - The consideration given for goods or services is the amount that
would be acceptable to an independent buyer and seller in the same transaction.
2. Necessary - The purchase is required for normal, efficient, and continuing

operation of the business.
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resident at the time of his/her admission of the amount of the charge.
Semi-private room accommodations are covered by the Medicaid reimbursement

rate.

Reserved Bed Days Payments

The Division of Medicaid will reimburse a long-term care facility for bed
days held for Title XIX beneficiaries under the following conditions and

limitations.

A Hospital Leave
Facilities will be reimbursed a maximum of Tfifteen (15) days for each
hospital stay for residents requiring acute hospital care. Residents
must receive continuous acute care during acute hospital leave. Should a
resident be moved from an acute care hospital bed to a bed in the hospital
that 1is certified for a less than acute care service, the Medicaid
program may not be billed for any period of time 1iIn which services
other than acute care services are received by the resident. The period
of leave will be determined by counting, as the first day of leave,
the day the resident left the Tfacility. A—leave—oF —absence—For
I stali _ is brol T id I acili .
24—hours—or—tlonger— A day begins at midnight and ends twenty-four (24)
hours later.
The facility must reserve the hospitalized resident®s bed in anticipation
of his/her return. The bed may not be TFfilled with another resident
during the covered period of hospital leave. Facilities may not refuse to
readmit a resident from hospital leave when the resident has not been
hospitalized for more than fifteen (15) days and still requires nursing
facility services.
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Each facility must establish and follow a written bed-hold and
resident return policy which conforms to requirements of the Medicaid
State Plan and other state and fTederal regulations. Hospital leave
days may not be billed if the facility refuses to readmit the resident
under their resident return policy. Repayment will be required of a
facility which bills Medicaid for fifteen (15) days of hospital leave,
discharges the resident, and subsequently refuses to readmit the resident
under their resident return policy when a bed is available. Leave days
must be billed iIn accordance with the applicable Mississippi Division
of Medicaid—provider—manualProvider Billing Handbook and Administrative
Code.

Home/Therapeutic Leave

The Division of Medicaid will reimburse long-term care Tacilities for
home/therapeutic leave days with limits per resident, per state fiscal
year ((July 1 - June 30), as determined by the Mississippi State
Legislature. Nursing Facility residents are allowed TFifty-two (52)
days per state Tfiscal year in addition to Christmas Day, the day
before Christmas, the day after Christmas, Thanksgiving Day, the day
before Thanksgiving and the day after Thanksgiving. ICF/11D residents
are allowed eighty-four (84) days per state fiscal year in addition to
Christmas Day, the day before Christmas, the day after Christmas,
Thanksgiving Day, the day before Thanksgiving and the day after
Thanksgiving. PRTF residents are allowed eighteen (18) days per state
fiscal year. Leave days must be determined, authorized and billed in

accordance with the applicable applicable—Mississippi Division of
Medicaid Provider Bbilling Handbook andprevider—manual Administrative
Code.
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Submission of MDS Forms and Bed Hold Days Information.

Assessments of all residents must be submitted electronically in

accordance with CMS requirements. Bed hold days information must be

submitted electronically to the Division of Medicaid’s designee.

Data processing on all assessments started within a calendar quarter will
be closed on the fifth (5th) day of the second (2nd) month following the
quarter, e.g., the MDS"s with start
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dates between July 1, 1996 and September 30, 1996 will be closed out for
the fTinal calculations on November 5, 1996. This allows a fTull month
for the submission and correction of all MDS"s begun iIn a calendar
quarter. Assessments for a specific quarter which are received after the
file has been closed will not be entered for previous quarterly
calculations but will be reflected iIn subsequent quarterly calculations
and In the annual report. Refer to Roster Reports below for an exception

to the close of the guarter.

The submission schedule may be extended as deemed necessary by the
Division of Medicaid for extenuating circumstances. This will include
the dates of submission following the end of a calendar quarter and the

use of assessments received after the cut-off date.

Assessments Used to Compute a Facility"s Average Case Mix Score.

All resident assessments completed per a calendar quarter will be used to
compute the quarterly case mix average for a facility. These will include
the last assessment from the previous calendar quarter. Bed Hold days,
which are therapeutic leave and hospital leave days, will be calculated
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at the lower of the case mix weight as computed for the resident on leave
using the assessment being utilized for payment at the point in time the
resident starts the leave, or a case mix score of 1.000. Assessments
used will affect the case mix computation using the start date of
the assessment except for new admissions and reentries. The
computation of the Tfacility"s case mix score will use the date of
admission for new admissions or residents that are reentered after a
discharge from the facility. In computing a facility"s average case mix,
the dates of admission or reentry will be counted and the dates of
discharge will not be counted in the computation.

Medicaid Reviews of the MDS. The accuracy of the MDS will be
verified by Registered Nurses. At least ten percent (10%) of the total

facilitybeds will be selected for the sample. The sample should
include at least one resident from each major classification group.
Residents may be added to the minimum sample as deemed appropriate by
the review nurse(s) and/or other case mix staff. The sample will not
be limited to Title XIX beneficiaries since the total case mix of the
facility will be used in computing the per diem rate. IT more—than
twenty-five percent (25%) or greater of the sample assessments are fTound

to have errors which change the classification of the resident, the sample

will be expanded.
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Policies adopted by the Division of Medicaid will be used as a
basis for changes 1iIn reviews of the MDS, the sample selection
process, and the acceptable error rate. If MDS data 1s not

available, the Division may temporarily cease performing reviews.

Roster Reports. Roster reports are used for reporting each

beneficiary’s MDS RUG classification with assigned case mix index (CMI)
for all days within the report period. Bed hold days are reflected on
the roster reports. The facility’s weighted average index, or score,
iIs also reported. Roster reports are run for each calendar quarter
(quarterlies) and for each cost report period (annuals). The annual
rosters are used to set base per diem rates each January 1. The
quarterlies are used in setting the direct care per diem rate each
quarter. Roster reports are made available to all fTacilities
electronically. Interim roster reports should be checked by the
facilities to confirm assessments completed by the facility have been
submitted to the QIES ASAP System used by the Division of Medicaid
case mix database and to confirm discharge assessments are reflected
on the report. Facilities should also use the interimroster reports and

bed hold reports to confirm all hospital and home/therapeutic leave

has been properly reported. Missing assessments, discharge assessments,

and bed hold days information should be submitted electronically prior

to the close of the quarter. If the quarter close date is on a weekend,
a State of Mississippi holiday, or a federal holiday, the data should
be submitted on or before the first business day following such weekend

or holiday.
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An ADL score is calculated for all assessments. The ADL score determines which

grouper the assessment i1s under for its specific category. The only exception

is the category of Extensive Services.

Depression Groups

The major categories of Special Care High, Special Care Low and Clinically
Complex have splits which indicate whether or not a resident meets specific
indicators of depression. In order to be classified in one of the
depression groups, the following criteria must be present based on the MDS:
The presence and frequency of symptoms of depression are determined by a
standardized severity score greater than or equal to 10. The Total Severity
Score 1is derived from responses to items contained iIn the PHQ-90 Resident
interview or the PHQ-9-0VO Staff Assessment of Mood. Copyright © Pfizer

Inc. All rights reserved.
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In an index maximized classification system, assessments are sorted from those
having the highest acuity/d4—resource utilization to those with the least
acuity/resource utilization. Once the criteria for placement in one of the
seven major categories iIs met, the ADL score, Depression Severity Score
and/or Restorative Nursing Program 1is determined, and the final group
classification is made.

An  additional group classification 1is included to allow placement of
assessments that become delinquent or inactive. This group classification
(BCl,) is given the same weight as the lowest group classification.

The classification will be calculated electronically at the Division of Medicaid
or its designee using the MDS assessment and the MDS RUG IV classification

model - Submission requirements are addressed in section 3-2(A).

TN NO 15-00417-0011 DATE RECEIVED
SUPERCEDES DATE APPROVED
TN NO 2610-02715-004 DATE EFFECTIVE




Attachment 4.19-D
Page 99

reports used to calculate the base rate will be the cost report filed for the
period ending in the second calendar year prior to the beginning of the
calendar rate year. For example, the base rates effective January 1, 2015
will be determined from cost reports filed for the year ended June 30, 2013
for state owned Tfacilities, for the year ended September 30, 2013 for
county owned facilities and for the year ended December 31, 2013 (or other
approved year-end) fTor all other facilities, unless a short period cost
report and rate calculation are required by other provisions of this plan.

A description of the calculation of the per diem rate is as follows:

A. Direct Care Base Rate and Care Related Rate

Determination
Direct care costs include salaries and fringe benefits for registered
nurses (RN"s),(excluding the Director of Nursing, the Assistant

Director of Nursing and the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI)

Coordinator); Qlicensed practical nurses (LPN"s); nurse aides;
respiratory therapists; feeding assistants; contract RN"s, contract

LPN"s, and contract nurse aides; contract respiratory therapists;

contract feeding assistants;s medical supplies and other direct care

supplies; medical waste disposal; and allowable drugs.
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B. Case Mix Adjusted Per Diem Rate

A per diem rate will be calculated for each nursing Tfacility on a
quarterly basis. Each nursing facility"s direct care base rate will be
multiplied by 1its average case mix Tfor the period two calendar quarters
prior to the start date of the rate being calculated. For example, the
January 1, 2015 rate will be determined by multiplying the direct care base
rate by the average case mix Tor the quarter July 1, 20143 through
September 30, 20143. This will result in the case mix adjusted direct care
per diem rate. This i1s added to the care related per diem rate, the therapy
per diem rate for NFSD’s only, the administrative and operating per diem
rate, the per diem fair rental payment, and the per diem return on equity
capital to compute the facility"s total standard per diem rate for the
calendar quarter. The direct care per diem base rate, the care related per
diem rate, the therapy per diem for NFSD’s only, the administrative and
operating per diem rate, the per diem fair rental payment, and the per diem
return on equity capital are computed annually and are effective fTor the
period January 1 through December 31. The case mix
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X 80%) to equal a minimum of eighty percent (80%) occupancy. Reserved bed
days will be counted as an occupied bed for this computation. Facilities
having an occupancy rate of less than eighty percent (80%) should complete
Form 14 when submitting their cost report.

3-7 State Owned NF"s

NF*s that are owned by the State of Mississippi will be included in the
rate setting process described above in order to calculate a prospective
rate for each Tacility. However, state owned Tfacilities will be paid
based on 100% of allowable costs, subject to the Medicare upper limit.
A state owned NF may request that the per diem rate be adjusted during
the year based on changes in their costs. After the state owned NF's
file their cost report, the per diem rate for each cost report period will
be adjusted to the actual allowable cost for that period, subject to the
Medicare upper limit.

3-8 Adjustments to the Rate for Changes in Law or Regulation

Adjustments may be made to the rate as necessary to comply with changes
in state or federal law or regulation.

3-9 Upper Payment Limit (UPL)

Non-state government owned or operated NF"s will be reimbursed in accordance
with the applicable regulations regarding the Medicaid upper payment limit.
For each facility, the amount that Medicare would have paid for the
previous year will be calculated and compared to payments actually made
by Medicaid during that same time period. The calculation will be made
as fTollows: MDS data 1is run for a sample population of each Tfacility to
group patient days into one of the Medicare RUGs. An estimated amount
that Medicare would have paid on average by facility 1is calculated by
multiplying each adjusted RUG rate by the number of days for that RUG.
The sum is then divided by the total days for the estimated average per
diem by facility that Medicare would have paid. From this amount, the
Medicaid average per diem for the time period is subtracted to determine the
UPL balance as a per diem. The per diem 1is then multiplied by the
Medicaid days for the period to calculate the available UPL balance amount
for each facility. This calculation will then be used to make payment
for the current year to nursing Tacilities eligible for such payments in
accordance with applicable regulations regarding the Medicaid upper payment
limit. 100 percent of the calculated UPL will be paid to non-state
government-owned or operated Tfacilities, 1in accordance with applicable
state and federal laws and regulations, including any provisions specified
in appropriations by the Mississippi Legislature.
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CHAPTER 4
RATE COMPUTATION — ICF/1ID"S

| 4-1 Rate Computation - ICF-/1ID"s - General Principles
It is the intent of the Division of Medicaid to reimburse Intermediate Care
Facilities for |Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities a rate that is
adequate for an efficiently and economically operated facility. An efficiently
and economically operated facility 1is defined as one with direct care
costs, therapy costs, care related costs, and administrative and operating
costs less than 110% of the median and an occupancy rate of 80% or more.
4-2 Computation of Rate for Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with
Intellectual Disabilities
A per diem rate will be established annually for the period January 1 through
December 31, unless this plan requires a rate being calculated at another
time. Cost reports used to calculate the rate will be the cost report filed for
the period ending iIn the second calendar year prior to the beginning of the next
calendar rate year, unless this plan requires a short period cost report to be
used to compute the facility rate. For example, the rates effective January
1, 2015 will be determined from cost reports filed for the cost report year ended
in 2013 unless a short period cost report and rate calculation is required by
other provisions of this plan. Costs wused in the rate calculations may be
adjusted by the amount of anticipated increase in costs or decrease in costs
due to federal or state laws or regulations.
A description of the calculation of the rate is as follows:
| A Direct Care, Therapies, Care Related, and Administrative and Operating
Rate Determination
1. Determine the per diem cost for direct care costs, therapies, care
related costs, and administrative and operating costs for each
facility during the cost report period. This is done by adding the
total allowable costs for these cost centers and dividing the result
by the total patient days.
2. Trend each facility"s per diem cost as determined in 1, above, to
the middle of the rate year using the ICF-/IID and PRTF Trend
Factor. This is done by multiplying the ICF-/11D and PRTF Trend
Factor in order to trend costs forward from the
| TN NO 15-80417-001 DATE RECEIVED
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administrative and operating costs, the per diem property payment,

and the per diem return on equity payment.

State Owned ICF-/1ID"s

ICF-/1ID"s that are owned by the State of Mississippt will
be included 1i1n the rate setting process described above 1iIn
order to calculate a prospective rate for each facility. However,
state owned fTacilities will be paid based on 100% of allowable
costs, subject to the Medicare upper limit. A state owned ICF-
/11D may request that the per diem rate be adjusted during the year
based on changes iIn their costs. After the state owned ICF-/11D’s
file their cost report, the per diem rate for each cost report
period will be adjusted to the actual allowable cost for that

period.

Adjustments to the Rate for changes in Law or Regulation

Adjustments may be made to the rate as necessary to comply with

changes in state or federal law or regulation.
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the facility rate. For example, the rates effective January 1, 2001

will be determined from cost reports filed for the cost report year

ended in 1999 unless a short period cost report and rate calculation

is required by other provisions of this plan. Costs used in the rate

calculations may be adjusted by the amount of anticipated increase iIn

costs or decrease iIn costs due to Tfederal or state laws or
regulations.

However, the PRTF rates effective January 1, 2010, will continue
to be effective through June 30, 2012, for facilities in operation as
of August 25, 2010. For fTacilities initially Medicaid certified
between August 25, 2010 and June 30, 2012, the per diem base rate
effective the first day of certification, computed in accordance with
this plan subject to January 1, 2010 ceilings, will be used as the
base rate through June 30, 2012. No adjustments to the rate,
otherwise required by this plan, will be used to determine PRTF rates
after January 1, 2010 and before July 1, 2012, except that rates will
be adjusted to incorporate Tacility cost changes related to the
provider tax limit increase effective October 1, 2011.

A description of the calculation of the rate is as follows:

A. Direct Care, Therapies, Care Related, and Administrative and Operating

Rate Determination

1. Determine the per diem cost for direct care costs, therapies,
care related costs, and administrative and operating costs for each
facility during the cost report period. This is done by adding the
total allowable costs for these cost centers and dividing the result
by the total patient days.

2. Trend each facility"s per diem cost as determined in 1, above,
to the middle of the rate year wusing the ICF-/IID and PRTF
Trend Factor. This is done by multiplying the ICF-/IID and PRTF
Trend Factor in order to trend costs forward from the mid-point

of the cost report period to the mid-point of the payment period.
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77.93%) + (4.15% X 22.07%) = 5.70% direct care and care related trend
factor. The therapy trend factor 1In the example 1iIs 6.32%. The
administrative and operating trend factor in the example is 8.75%.

6-4 Trend Factor — PRTF’s and ICF/IID’s

One (1) trend fTactor will be used in computing the rates for PRTF’s
and ICF-/11D"s. A trend factor will be determined by combining the
trend factors determined for each cost center, as determined In Section 7-
2. The PRTF and ICF-/11D trend factor will be computed by weighting the
total allowable costs iIn each of the four (4) cost centers to the total
costs of the four (4) cost centers. The percent of each cost center to
total costs will be multiplied by the individual trend Tfactors to
determine an adjusted trend factor. The total of the adjusted trend
factors will be the PRTF and ICF-/11D trend factor. For example:

PRTF and ICF-/11D TREND FACTORS — 2004

Allowable Trend % of Total Adjusted
Cost Center Costs Factor Costs Trend Factor
Direct Care $216,911,547 6.13% 44 .83% 2.75%
Therapies 17,048,995 6.32% 3.52% 0.22%
Care Related 61,417,034 4.15% 12.70% 0.53%
Admin./Oper. 188,448,481 8.75% 38.95% 3.41%
Total $483,826,057 100.00% 6.91%

| In this example the PRTF and ICF-/11ID Trend Factor is 6.91%.
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Direct Care Costs-Expenses incurred by nursing facilities for the hands

on care of the residents. These costs include salaries and
fringe Dbenefits for R¥egistered Naurses (RN’s), (excluding the
Director of Nursing, the Assistant Director of Nursing and the Resident
Assessment Instrument (RAI) Coordinator; L¥icensed Ppractical Nrurses
(LPN”S); nurse aides; feeding assistants; contract RN"s, LPN*"s,

Respiratory Therapist (RTs) and nurse aides; medical supplies and

other direct care supplies; medical waste disposal; and allowable drugs.

Fair Rental System-The gross rental system as modified by the

Mississippi Case Mix Advisory Committee and described in this
plan.

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with

Intellectual Disabilities (ICF-/I11ID)-A classification of Jlong-term

care Tacilities that provides services only for individuals with
intellectual disabilities In accordance with 42 CFR Part 483, Subpart |I.

Minimum Data Set (MDS)-The resident assessment instrument approved by

the Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS), for use by all Medicaid and Medicare certified
nursing facilities in Mississippi including section S, as applicable.

Mississippi  Alzheimer’s Unit Weights—-A calculation, based on actual

time and salary information of the care givers, of the
relationship of each RUG IV group to the average for residents in

licensed Alzheimer’s Units.
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Delinquent Cost Reports

Cost reports that are submitted after the due date will be assessed a
penalty in the amount of $50.00 per day the cost report is
delinquent. This penalty may only be waived by the Director of the
Division of Medicaid.

What to Submit

For facilities with costs allocated from hospitals, home offices and
related management companies the listed information is required for all
entities. All cost reports must be filed in electronic format, with
the following:

1. Working Trial Balance, facility and home office @f
applicable);

2. Grouping schedule showing the general ledger accounts grouped
together and reported on the various lines of the cost report.

3. Depreciation Schedule(s). IT the facility has different book and
Medicaid depreciation schedules, copies of both depreciation
schedules must be submitted. Any work papers used to
compute the reclassifications and adjustments made 1in the cost
report(s); Narrative description of purchased management services
or a copy of contracts for managed services, 1T applicable;
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are adopted the Division of Medicaid.

H. Amended Cost Reports

The Division of Medicaid accepts amended cost reports 1In
electronic format for a period of thirty-six (36) months following
the end of the reporting period. Amended cost reports should
include Form 1, in order to explain the reason for the amendment
in the Section I11; Form 2 with original signature; and all forms
that are being amended along with work papers for any revised
reclassifications and/or adjustments. Each form and schedule
submitted should be clearly marked “Amended” at the top of the
page. Amended cost reports submitted after the annual base rate is
determined will be used only to adjust the individual provider’s
rate. Cost reports may not be amended after an audit has been
initiated.

l. Desk Reviews

The Division of Medicaid will conduct cost report reviews, as
deemed necessary, prior to rate determination. The objective of the
desk reviews is to evaluate the necessity and reasonableness of
facility costs iIn order to determine the allowable costs used iIn
the calculation of the prospective per diem rate.

Desk review will be performed using desk review programs developed
by the Division of Medicaid. Providers will be notified, 1n
writing, of all adjustments made to allowable costs.
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may be requested to submit additional information prior to the
completion of the desk review.

3. All desk review findings will be sent to the provider or its
designated representative.

4. All desk reviews may be amended multiple times.

5. Desk reviews amended after the annual base rate is determined
will be used only to adjust the individual provider’s rates.

6. Desk reviews may not be the Ffinal determination of allowable
costs used in the calculation of the provider’s rate. All cost
reports have the potential to be audited.

J. Audits of Financial Records

The Division of Medicaid will conduct audits as necessary to verify the
accuracy and reasonableness of the financial and statistical information
contained 1n the Medicaid cost report. Audit adjustments

(whether in the provider’s favor or not) will be made. All adjustments

will include written descriptions of the line number on the cost report being
adjusted, the reason for the adjustment, the amount of the adjustment,
and the applicable section of the State Plan or CMS Pub. 15-1 that is being used
to justify the change.

Audits issued after the annual base rate is determined will be used only

to adjust the individual provider’s rate.

K. Record Keeping Requirements

Providers must maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for
proper determination of costs payable under the program. The cost report
must be based on the financial and statistical records maintained by the
facility. All non-governmental facilities must file cost reports based on the
accrual method of accounting. Governmental facilities have the option to use
the cash basis of accounting for reporting. Financial and statistical data
must be current, accurate and in sufficient detail to support costs
contained In the cost report. This includes all ledgers, books,
records and original evidence of cost (purchase requisitions for

supplies, invoices, paid checks,
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inventories, time cards, payrolls, basis for allocating costs, etc.) which
pertain to the determination of reasonable costs. Statistical data should
be maintained regarding census by payment source, room numbers of

residents, hospital leave days and therapeutic leave days.

Financial and statistical records should be maintained In a consistent
manner from one period to another. However, a proper regard for
consistency need not preclude a desirable change iIn accounting procedures,
provided that Tfull disclosure of significant changes are made to the
Division of Medicaid. This disclosure should be made as a footnote on the

cost report and should include the effect of the change.

All financial and statistical records, including cost reports, must be
maintained for a period of three (3) years after submission to the Division
of Medicaid. Records pertaining to amended cost reports must be maintained
for a period of three (3) years after the submission date of the amended
cost report. Records pertaining to open reviews or audits must also be

maintained until the review or audit is finalized.

A provider must make available any or all financial and statistical records
to the Division of Medicaid or its contract auditors for the purpose of

determining compliance with the provisions of this plan or Medicaid policy.

For those cost reports selected for audit, all records which substantiate

the information included in the cost report will be made
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available to the Division of Medicaid reviewers during the scheduled audit, including any
documentation relating to home office and/or management company costs. Records of a non-
related management company will be made available to support the non- related party status
of the management company. Information requested during an audit that is submitted
after the provider’s receipt of the Medicaid adjustment report will not be
accepted. Providers will not be allowed to submit this information at a
later date, the cost report may not be amended in order to submit the additional
information, and an appeal of the disallowance of the costs associated with the

requested information may not be made.

The provider being audited is required to make available within the boundaries of the
State of Mississippi, when 1t iIs reasonable to do so, all information required for the
Division to verify the accuracy and reasonableness of the financial and statistical
information contained in the Medicaid cost reports. When the Division of Medicaid concurs
with the provider that it is not reasonable to make all necessary information available
for review within the boundaries of the State of Mississippi (for example, when the
records to be reviewed are too costly to ship compared to the costs of travel necessary
travel will be paid by the division of Medicaid. However, if, in the opinion of the
Division of Medicaid, the necessary information may be reasonably made available within
the boundaries of the State of Mississippi and the provider being audited chooses not to
make the necessary information available within the State’s boundaries, the provider will
bear all expenses and costs related to the audit, including, but not limited to travel and
reasonable living expenses, and those costs will not be allowable on any subsequent cost
report. Travel expenses and costs will include those allowed per policy issued by the
Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration, Office of Purchasing and Travel for
state employees traveling on official state business. The provider is required to make
available to the Division of Medicaid reviewers, whenever possible, adequate space and

privacy for the auditors to conduct the audit.
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A. Allowable Costs

In order for a cost to be an allowable cost for Medicaid reimbursement
purposes, It must be reasonable and necessary in the normal conduct of
operations related to providing patient care in accordance with CMS PRM

15-1 guidelines.

The following list of allowable costs is not comprehensive, but serves
a general guide and clarifies certain key expense areas. The absence
of a particular cost does not necessarily mean that it iIs not an

allowable cost.

1. Accounting Fees. Accounting fees incurred for the

preparation of the cost report, audits of the
financial records, bookkeeping services, tax return
preparation of the nursing facility and other related
services are allowable costs. Accounting fees
incurred for personal tax planning and 1Income tax
preparation of the owner are not allowable costs. Accounting
fees resulting from suits against federal and or state agencies

administering the Medicaid program are not allowable costs and
should not be claimed until all appeal remedies have been
exhausted and the provider has prevailed in their appeal or

litigation.

2. Advertising Costs-Allowable. The allowability of advertising

costs depends on whether they are appropriate and helpful in

developing, maintaining, and furnishing
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C. Social, Fraternal, and Other Organizations. Generally, these

organizations concern themselves with activities unrelated to
their members® professional or business activities. Their
objectives and functions cannot be considered reasonably
related to the care of beneficiaries.

Consequently, provider costs incurred 1in connection with
memberships in social, fraternal, and other organizations are
not allowable.

Legal Fees. Legal fees, expenses and costs incurred by nursing

facilities shall be allowable, in the period incurred, if said costs
are reasonable, necessary and patient-related. These legal fees,
expenses and costs shall be documented iIn the provider’s file, and
shall be clearly identifiable, 1including identification by case
number and title, If possible. Failure to clearly identify these
costs shall result in disallowance.

Legal fees resulting from suits against federal

and/or state agencies administering the Medicaid program are not
allowable costs and should not be claimed until all appeal
remedies have been exhausted and the provider has prevailed in

their appeal or litigation.

Management Fees Paid to Related Parties and Home Office Costs.

The allowability of the cost of management fees paid to related
parties and home office costs will be based on CMS PRM 15-1
standards.
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The fTollowing types of costs are not considered allowable

organization costs: costs relating to the issuance and sale

of shares of capital stock or other securities, such as

underwriters®™ fees and commissions, accountant®s or lawyer”s

fees, cost of qualifying the 1issues with the appropriate
state or federal authorities, stamp taxes, etc.

Allowable organization costs should be amortized over a

period of not less than sixty (60) months.

13. Owners®™ and Officer’s Salaries. A reasonable allowance of

compensation for services of owners and officers 1is an
allowable cost, provided the services are actually
performed iIn a necessary function. The requirement that the
function be necessary means that had the owner or officer not
rendered the services, the institution would have had to
employ another person to perform them. The services must be
pertinent to the operation and sound conduct of the facility.
Compensation paid to an employee who is an immediate relative

of the owner or officer of the facility is also reviewable
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under the test of reasonableness. For this purpose, the
following persons are considered "immediate relatives™:
husband and wife; natural parent, child and sibling; adopted
child and adoptive parent; stepparent, stepchild,
stepbrother, and stepsister; Tfather-in-law, mother-in-law,
son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law, and sister-in-

law; grandparent and grandchild.

The maximum salary allowed for owners or officers, including
owner administrators shall be computed at 150% of the
average salary paid to non-owner administrators for the
previous calendar year for each classification of
facilities. For example: The average salary of non-owner
administrators for calendar year 1992 for each
classification of facilities would be multiplied by one
hundred and Tfifty percent (150%) to determine the maximum
allowable owner administrator or officer salary for calendar
year 1993. Limits are published each year in the Medicaid
Bulletin. The maximum compensation is considered to include
forty or more work hours per week. The maximum will be
decreased ratably for owners or officers average time
worked which is less than forty hours per week. Owners and
officers are allowed to receive compensation from more than

one facility. Total hours
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worked per week at all owned facilities cannot exceed sixty
hours for each individual to be considered allowable. This
limitation applies for salaries that are paid by the
facility and/or by the home office.

14. Personal Hygiene Items. The cost of routine personal
hygiene i1tems and services as required to meet the needs of
residents, 1including, but not [limited to, hair hygiene
supplies, comb, brush, bath soap, disinfecting soaps or
specialized cleansing agents when indicated to treat special
skin problems or to fight infection, razor, shaving cream,
toothbrush, toothpaste, denture adhesive, denture cleaner,
dental floss, moisturizing lotion, tissues, cotton balls,
cotton swabs, deodorant, 1incontinence care and supplies,
sanitary napkins and related supplies, towels, washcloths,
hospital gowns, hair and nail hygiene services, bathing,
over-the-counter drugs that are not covered by the
Mississippi Medicaid drug program, and basic personal
laundry. Basic hair cuts and shampoos must be provided by
the facility at no additional cost to the resident. Basic
haircuts and shampoos may be done by facility staff or a
licensed barber or beautician. IT the facility elects to
use a licensed barber or beautician, the resident may not be
charged a fee for the service. Barber and beauty services
requested by the resident that are in addition to basic
haircuts and shampoos may be billed to the residents.
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supplements; materials and supplies for the operation, maintenance
and repair of buildings, grounds and equipment; linens and laundry
alternatives; and postage. Medical supplies necessary for the
provision of care in order to attain or maintain the highest
practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of each
resident, as determined by resident assessments and individual plans
of care are allowable costs. Any supplies or equipment ordered
by a resident®s attending physician must be provided by the facility
and will be an allowable cost.

18. Therapy Expenses. Costs attributable to the administering of
therapy services are allowable. Physical, Occupational and Speech
Language Pathology therapy expenses will be included in the per diem
rate for NFSD, PRTF and ICF/IID providers. Physical, Occupational
and Speech Language Pathology therapy expenses for Small Nursing
Facilities and Large Nursing Facilities will be reimbursed on a
fee Tor service basis. Respiratory therapy expenses will be included
in the per diem rate for all long-term care facilities.
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Travel. Travel expenses incurred for Tfacility business that 1is
related to patient care are allowable costs. Travel must be
documented as to the person traveling, dates of the trip,
destination, purpose of the trip, expense description, and the
cost. Travel 1incurred by employees not related to the owner for
“in-town travel”™ (travel within the town of the Tfacility) does
not need to be itemized if the expenditure is less than $50.00.

Utilities. This includes electricity, natural gas, Tfuel oil,
water, waste water, garbage collection, hazardous waste
collection, telephone and communications and cable television
charges.

Medicaid Assessment. The monthly nursing facility, ICF/IID and
PRTF bed assessments based on bed occupancy, will be considered
allowable costs on the cost report filed by each long-term care
facility, 1in accordance with the CMS Provider Reimbursement
Manual, Part 1, Section 2122.1.

Training Costs. Training costs, other than nurse aide training, are
an allowable cost where the fees paid are (a) to maintain current
certifications, (b) directly applicable to your current position,
and therefore related to patient care, or (c) for training on
software updates. The costs are allowable in the cost report period
incurred.

Educational costs other than on-the-job training — Costs of education
of employees at accredited and technical institutions to acquire an
undergraduate or graduate degree are allowable In accordance with the
Provider Reimbursement Manual (PRM) 15-1 section 416.3 as modified by
the following;

The costs should not be claimed until the cost report period after
the employee has attained their degree. The costs should amortized
over a similar number of periods for which tuition was paid or the
continued employment agreement period (between the employee and the
facility) whichever is longer. 1.e. IFf 4 semesters of tuition were
paid, then the expense should be spread over 2 years of a cost report
period.

B. Non-Allowable Costs

Certain expenses are considered non-allowable for Medicaid purposes
because they are not normally 1incurred in providing patient care.
These non- allowable costs 1i1nclude, but are not Ilimited to, the
following types of expenses.

1. Advertising Expense Non-Allowable. Costs of fund-raising, including
advertising, promotional, or publicity costs incurred for such a
purpose, are not allowable.
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Costs of advertising of a general nature designed to iInvite
physicians to utilize a provider®s fTacilities 1In their

capacity as independent practitioners are not allowable.

Costs of advertising incurred 1iIn connection with the
issuance of a provider®s own stock, or the sale of stock

held by the provider in another corporation, are considered
reductions iIn the proceeds from the sale and, therefore, are

not allowable.

Costs of advertising to the general public which seeks to
increase patient utilization of the provider®"s fTacilities
are not allowable. Situations may occur where advertising
which appears to be iIn the nature of the provider®"s public
relations activity i1s, In fact, an effort to attract more
patients. An analysis by the Division of Medicaid or its

contractor of the advertising copy and its distribution may

then be necessary to determine the specific objective.

2. Bad Debts. Bad debts are not an allowable cost for Medicaid

reimbursement purposes.
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3. Barber and Beauty Expense. The cost of a barber and beauty shop
located in the facility must be excluded from allowable costs 1f
the residents are charged for these services. Costs to
exclude include salaries and fringe benefits of barber and
beauty shop staff, utilities, supplies and capital costs related
to the square Tfootage used for this purpose. IT the facility
does not submit a cost Tfinding with the cost report, the
revenue Ffor barber and beauty services will be deducted from
allowable costs. The cost of barber and beauty services provided
to residents for which no charge is made should be
included iIn care related costs in the allowable cost section
of the cost report.

4. Contributions. Contributions are not an allowable cost. This

includes political contributions and donations to religious,
charitable, and civic organizations.

5. Feeding Assistant Training. Feeding Assistant training is a non-

allowable cost. Reimbursement for feeding assistant training 1Is
made to the provider through direct billing.

6. Income Taxes - State and Federal. State and federal iIncome

taxes paid are not allowable costs for Medicaid reimbursement
purposes.

7. Other Medicaid assessments

a) Any portion of Medicaid Hospital assessments and I1GTs, will
be considered non-allowable costs on the cost report filed
by each long-term care facility.

b) Medicaid Assessments other than the monthly Medicaid LTC bed
assessments based on occupancy, will be considered non-
allowable costs on the cost report filed by each long-term
care facility.
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10. Other Non-Allowable Costs. The cost of any services provided

for which residents are charged a fee is a non- allowable
cost. In addition, the amount paid for any item subject to
direct reimbursement by the Division of Medicaid is a non-
allowable cost.

11. Penalties and Sanctions. All penalties and sanctions
assessed to the facility are considered non-allowable costs.
These 1i1nclude, but are not limited to, delinquent cost
report penalties, Internal Revenue Service penalties, civil

money penalties, delinquent bed assessment penalties,
late payment fees and insufficient check charges.

12. Television. The cost of providing television service to

residents is a non-allowable cost i1If residents are charged a

fee for this service.

13. Vending Machines. The cost of providing vending machines is

a non-allowable cost. IT a cost finding is not submitted
with the cost report, the vending machine revenues will be

offset against allowable costs.
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3. That the services, TfTacilities, or supplies are those which are commonly
obtained by nursing facilities from other organizations and are not a basic
element of patient care ordinarily furnished directly to patients by
nursing facilities.

4. That the charge to the provider is in line with the charge for such services,
facilities, or supplies in the open market and no more than the charge made
under comparable circumstances to others by the organization for such services,

facilities, or supplies.

Where all of the conditions of this exception are met, the charges by the supplier to the

provider for such services or supplies are allowable as costs.

D. Hospital Based Costs Allocation

1. For costs allocated from hospitals, the costs must be reasonable and necessary in the
provision of patient care at the long-term care facility (LTC) providers. All cost
allocation determinations must be in accordance with Chapters 21, 22 and 23 of PRM
Publication 15-1.

2. Allocation of these costs must be in a manner that is auditable and that is supported
by documentation that verifies the allocation of expense is applicable to the LTC
facility for which services were rendered.

3. For LTC facilities that are not contiguous to the hospital, square footage or number
of personnel is not an acceptable allocation statistic. Documented provision of
service must be maintained related to the allocation of any cost center other than
Administrative and General (A&G), which should be allocated on the accumulated cost
basis. This documentation includes, but is not limited to, time or assignment
schedules documenting the provision of service to the affected LTC facility.

4. As part of the allocation of the A&G cost center, only costs of those areas, included
in the A&G center, that provided service to the attached LTC facility should be
allocated to them.

5. Hospital providers are not mandated to componentize their A&G or other cost centers;
but, should the hospital provider choose not to do so, any expenses allocated to the
LTC facility contrary to the instructions in items 1-4 above should be calculated and

removed before inclusion in the Medicaid Long Term Cost Report forms.

E. Definitions
1. Reasonable - The consideration given for goods or services is the amount that
would be acceptable to an independent buyer and seller in the same transaction.
2. Necessary - The purchase is required for normal, efficient, and continuing

operation of the business.
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resident at the time of his/her admission of the amount of the charge.
Semi-private room accommodations are covered by the Medicaid reimbursement

rate.

Reserved Bed Days Payments

The Division of Medicaid will reimburse a long-term care facility for bed
days held for Title XIX beneficiaries under the following conditions and

limitations.

A Hospital Leave
Facilities will be reimbursed a maximum of Tfifteen (15) days for each
hospital stay for residents requiring acute hospital care. Residents
must receive continuous acute care during acute hospital leave. Should a
resident be moved from an acute care hospital bed to a bed in the hospital
that i1s certified for a less than acute care service, the Medicaid
program may not be billed for any period of time 1In which services
other than acute care services are received by the resident. The period
of leave will be determined by counting, as the first day of leave,
the day the resident left the facility. A day begins at midnight and
ends twenty-four (24) hours later.
The facility must reserve the hospitalized resident®s bed in anticipation
of his/her return. The bed may not be TFfilled with another resident
during the covered period of hospital leave. Facilities may not refuse to
readmit a resident from hospital leave when the resident has not been
hospitalized for more than fifteen (15) days and still requires nursing
facility services.
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Each facility must establish and follow a written bed-hold and
resident return policy which conforms to requirements of the Medicaid
State Plan and other state and fTederal regulations. Hospital leave
days may not be billed if the facility refuses to readmit the resident
under their resident return policy. Repayment will be required of a
facility which bills Medicaid for fifteen (15) days of hospital leave,
discharges the resident, and subsequently refuses to readmit the resident
under their resident return policy when a bed is available. Leave days
must be billed iIn accordance with the applicable Mississippi Division
of Medicaid Provider Billing Handbook and Administrative Code.

B. Home/Therapeutic Leave

The Division of Medicaid will reimburse long-term care Tacilities for
home/therapeutic leave days with limits per resident, per state fiscal
year (July 1 - June 30), as determined by the Mississippi State
Legislature. Nursing Facility residents are allowed TFifty-two (52)
days per state Tfiscal year in addition to Christmas Day, the day
before Christmas, the day after Christmas, Thanksgiving Day, the day
before Thanksgiving and the day after Thanksgiving. ICF/11D residents
are allowed eighty-four (84) days per state fiscal year in addition to
Christmas Day, the day before Christmas, the day after Christmas,
Thanksgiving Day, the day before Thanksgiving and the day after
Thanksgiving. PRTF residents are allowed eighteen (18) days per state
fiscal year. Leave days must be determined, authorized and billed in

accordance with the applicable Mississippi Division of Medicaid Provider

Billing Handbook and Administrative Code.
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A Submission of MDS Forms and Bed Hold Days Information.

Assessments of all residents must be submitted electronically in
accordance with CMS requirements. Bed hold days information must be
submitted electronically to the Division of Medicaid’s designee.

Data processing on all assessments started within a calendar quarter will
be closed on the fifth (5th) day of the second (2nd) month following the
quarter, e.g., the MDS"s with start
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dates between July 1, 1996 and September 30, 1996 will be closed out for
the fTinal calculations on November 5, 1996. This allows a full month
for the submission and correction of all MDS®"s begun iIn a calendar
quarter. Assessments for a specific quarter which are received after the
file has been closed will not be entered for previous quarterly
calculations but will be reflected iIn subsequent quarterly calculations
and In the annual report. Refer to Roster Reports below for an exception

to the close of the quarter.

The submission schedule may be extended as deemed necessary by the
Division of Medicaid for extenuating circumstances. This will include
the dates of submission following the end of a calendar quarter and the

use of assessments received after the cut-off date.

B. Assessments Used to Compute a Facility"s Average Case Mix Score.

All resident assessments completed per a calendar quarter will be used to
compute the quarterly case mix average for a facility. These will include
the last assessment from the previous calendar quarter. Bed Hold days,

which are therapeutic leave and hospital leave days, will be calculated
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at the lower of the case mix weight as computed for the resident on leave
using the assessment being utilized for payment at the point in time the
resident starts the leave, or a case mix score of 1.000. Assessments
used will affect the case mix computation using the start date of
the assessment except for new admissions and reentries. The
computation of the Tfacility"s case mix score will use the date of
admission for new admissions or residents that are reentered after a
discharge from the facility. In computing a facility"s average case mix,
the dates of admission or reentry will be counted and the dates of
discharge will not be counted in the computation.

C. Medicaid Reviews of the MDS. The accuracy of the MDS will be
verified by Registered Nurses. At least ten percent (10%) of the total

facilitybeds will be selected for the sample. The sample should
include at Uleast one resident from each major classification group.
Residents may be added to the minimum sample as deemed appropriate by
the review nurse(s) and/or other case mix staff. The sample will not
be limited to Title XIX beneficiaries since the total case mix of the
facility will be used iIn computing the per diem rate. IT twenty-
five percent (25%) or greater of the sample assessments are found to have
errors which change the classification of the resident, the sample will be

expanded.
TN NO 17-0011 DATE RECEIVED
SUPERSEDES DATE APPROVED —

TN NO 15-004 DATE EFFECTIVE



ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 86

Policies adopted by the Division of Medicaid will be used as a
basis for changes 1iIn reviews of the MDS, the sample selection
process, and the acceptable error rate. IT MDS data 1is not

available, the Division may temporarily cease performing reviews.

Roster Reports. Roster reports are used for reporting each beneficiary’s

MDS RUG classification with assigned case mix index (CMI) for all days
within the report period. Bed hold days are reflected on the roster
reports. The facility’s weighted average 1index, or score, i1s also
reported. Roster reports are run for each calendar quarter
(quarterlies) and for each cost report period (annuals). The annual
rosters are used to set base per diem rates each January 1. The
quarterlies are used in setting the direct care per diem rate each
quarter. Roster reports are made available to all TfTacilities
electronically. Interim roster reports should be checked by the
facilities to confirm assessments completed by the facility have been
submitted to the QIES ASAP System used by the Division of Medicaid
case mix database and to confirm discharge assessments are reflected
on the report. Facilities should also use the interimroster reports and
bed hold reports to confirm all hospital and home/therapeutic leave
has been properly reported. Missing assessments, discharge assessments,
and bed hold days information should be submitted electronically prior
to the close of the quarter. If the quarter close date iIs on a weekend,
a State of Mississippi holiday, or a federal holiday, the data should
be submitted on or before the first business day following such weekend

or holiday.
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An ADL score is calculated for all assessments. The ADL score determines which
group the assessment is under for its specific category. The only exception
is the category of Extensive Services.

Depression Groups

The major categories of Special Care High, Special Care Low and Clinically
Complex have splits which indicate whether or not a resident meets specific
indicators of depression. In order to be classified in one of the
depression groups, the following criteria must be present based on the MDS:
The presence and frequency of symptoms of depression are determined by a
standardized severity score greater than or equal to 10. The Total Severity
Score 1i1s derived from responses to items contained iIn the PHQ-90 Resident
interview or the PHQ-9-0VO Staff Assessment of Mood. Copyright © Pfizer
Inc. All rights reserved.
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In an index maximized classification system, assessments are sorted from those
having the highest acuity/resource utilization to those with the least
acuity/resource utilization. Once the criteria for placement in one of the
seven major categories i1s met, the ADL score, Depression Severity Score
and/or Restorative Nursing Program 1is determined, and the final group
classification is made.

An  additional group classification 1is included to allow placement of
assessments that become delinquent or inactive. This group classification
(BCl,) is given the same weight as the lowest group classification.

The classification will be calculated electronically at the Division of Medicaid
or its designee using the MDS assessment and the MDS RUG IV classification

model - Submission requirements are addressed in section 3-2(A).
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reports used to calculate the base rate will be the cost report filed for the
period ending in the second calendar year prior to the beginning of the
calendar rate year. For example, the base rates effective January 1, 2015
will be determined from cost reports filed for the year ended June 30, 2013
for state owned Tfacilities, for the year ended September 30, 2013 for
county owned facilities and for the year ended December 31, 2013 (or other
approved year-end) fTor all other facilities, unless a short period cost
report and rate calculation are required by other provisions of this plan.

A description of the calculation of the per diem rate is as follows:

A. Direct Care Base Rate and Care Related Rate

Determination

Direct care costs include salaries and fringe benefits for registered
nurses (RN"s),(excluding the Director of Nursing, the Assistant
Director of Nursing and the Resident Assessment Instrument (RAI)

Coordinator); Qlicensed practical nurses (LPN"s); nurse aides;
respiratory therapists; feeding assistants; contract RN"s, contract
LPN"s, and contract nurse aides; contract respiratory therapists;
contract feeding assistants; medical supplies and other direct care

supplies; medical waste disposal; and allowable drugs.
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B. Case Mix Adjusted Per Diem Rate

A per diem rate will be calculated for each nursing Tfacility on a
quarterly basis. Each nursing facility"s direct care base rate will be
multiplied by 1its average case mix Tfor the period two calendar quarters
prior to the start date of the rate being calculated. For example, the
January 1, 2015 rate will be determined by multiplying the direct care base
rate by the average case mix Tfor the quarter July 1, 2014 through
September 30, 2014. This will result in the case mix adjusted direct care
per diem rate. This iIs added to the care related per diem rate, the therapy
per diem rate for NFSD’s only, the administrative and operating per diem
rate, the per diem fair rental payment, and the per diem return on equity
capital to compute the facility"s total standard per diem rate for the
calendar quarter. The direct care per diem base rate, the care related per
diem rate, the therapy per diem for NFSD’s only, the administrative and
operating per diem rate, the per diem fair rental payment, and the per diem
return on equity capital are computed annually and are effective for the
period January 1 through December 31. The case mix
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X 80%) to equal a minimum of eighty percent (80%) occupancy. Reserved bed
days will be counted as an occupied bed for this computation. Facilities
having an occupancy rate of less than eighty percent (80%) should complete
Form 14 when submitting their cost report.

3-7 State Owned NF"s

NF*s that are owned by the State of Mississippi will be included in the
rate setting process described above in order to calculate a prospective
rate for each Tacility. However, state owned Tfacilities will be paid
based on 100% of allowable costs, subject to the Medicare upper limit.
A state owned NF may request that the per diem rate be adjusted during
the year based on changes in their costs. After the state owned NF's
file their cost report, the per diem rate for each cost report period will
be adjusted to the actual allowable cost for that period, subject to the
Medicare upper limit.

3-8 Adjustments to the Rate for Changes in Law or Regulation
Adjustments may be made to the rate as necessary to comply with changes
in state or federal law or regulation.

3-9 Upper Payment Limit (UPL)

Non-state government owned or operated NF"s will be reimbursed in accordance
with the applicable regulations regarding the Medicaid upper payment limit.
For each facility, the amount that Medicare would have paid for the
previous year will be calculated and compared to payments actually made
by Medicaid during that same time period. The calculation will be made
as fTollows: MDS data 1is run for a sample population of each Tfacility to
group patient days into one of the Medicare RUGs. An estimated amount
that Medicare would have paid on average by facility 1is calculated by
multiplying each adjusted RUG rate by the number of days for that RUG.
The sum is then divided by the total days for the estimated average per
diem by facility that Medicare would have paid. From this amount, the
Medicaid average per diem for the time period is subtracted to determine the
UPL balance as a per diem. The per diem 1is then multiplied by the
Medicaid days for the period to calculate the available UPL balance amount
for each facility. This calculation will then be used to make payment
for the current year to nursing Tacilities eligible for such payments in
accordance with applicable regulations regarding the Medicaid upper payment
limit. 100 percent of the calculated UPL will be paid to non-state
government-owned or operated facilities, in accordance with applicable
state and federal laws and regulations, including any provisions specified
in appropriations by the Mississippi Legislature.
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CHAPTER 4
RATE COMPUTATION — ICF/1ID"S

4-1 Rate Computation - ICF/1ID"s - General Principles
It is the intent of the Division of Medicaid to reimburse Intermediate Care
Facilities for |Individuals with |Intellectual Disabilities a rate that is
adequate for an efficiently and economically operated facility. An efficiently
and economically operated facility is defined as one with direct care costs,
therapy costs, care related costs, and administrative and operating costs less
than 110% of the median and an occupancy rate of 80% or more.
4-2 Computation of Rate for Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with
Intellectual Disabilities
A per diem rate will be established annually for the period January 1 through
December 31, wunless this plan requires a rate being calculated at another
time. Cost reports used to calculate the rate will be the cost report filed for
the period ending iIn the second calendar year prior to the beginning of the next
calendar rate year, unless this plan requires a short period cost report to be
used to compute the facility rate. For example, the rates effective January
1, 2015 will be determined from cost reports filed for the cost report year ended
in 2013 unless a short period cost report and rate calculation is required by
other provisions of this plan. Costs used in the rate calculations may be
adjusted by the amount of anticipated increase in costs or decrease in costs
due to federal or state laws or regulations.
A description of the calculation of the rate is as follows:
A Direct Care, Therapies, Care Related, and Administrative and Operating
Rate Determination
1. Determine the per diem cost for direct care costs, therapies, care
related costs, and administrative and operating costs for each
facility during the cost report period. This is done by adding the
total allowable costs for these cost centers and dividing the result
by the total patient days.
2. Trend each facility"s per diem cost as determined in 1, above, to
the middle of the rate year using the ICF/1ID and PRTF Trend Factor.
This is done by multiplying the ICF/1ID and PRTF Trend Factor in
order to trend costs forward from the
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administrative and operating costs, the per diem property payment,

and the per diem return on equity payment.

E. State Owned ICF/I1ID"s

ICF/11D"s that are owned by the State of Mississippi will be
included 1In the rate setting process described above 1n order
to calculate a prospective rate for each facility. However, state
owned facilities will be paid based on 100% of allowable costs,
subject to the Medicare upper limit. A state owned ICF/1ID may
request that the per diem rate be adjusted during the year based on
changes in their costs. After the state owned ICF/1ID’s file their
cost report, the per diem rate for each cost report period will be

adjusted to the actual allowable cost for that period.

F. Adjustments to the Rate for changes in Law or Regulation

Adjustments may be made to the rate as necessary to comply with

changes in state or federal law or regulation.
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the facility rate. For example, the rates effective January 1, 2001

will be determined from cost reports filed for the cost report year

ended in 1999 unless a short period cost report and rate calculation

is required by other provisions of this plan. Costs used in the rate

calculations may be adjusted by the amount of anticipated increase iIn

costs or decrease 1In costs due to federal or state laws or
regulations.

However, the PRTF rates effective January 1, 2010, will continue
to be effective through June 30, 2012, for facilities in operation as
of August 25, 2010. For facilities initially Medicaid certified
between August 25, 2010 and June 30, 2012, the per diem base rate
effective the fTirst day of certification, computed in accordance with
this plan subject to January 1, 2010 ceilings, will be used as the
base rate through June 30, 2012. No adjustments to the rate,
otherwise required by this plan, will be used to determine PRTF rates
after January 1, 2010 and before July 1, 2012, except that rates will
be adjusted to incorporate facility cost changes related to the
provider tax limit increase effective October 1, 2011.

A description of the calculation of the rate is as follows:

A. Direct Care, Therapies, Care Related, and Administrative and Operating

Rate Determination

1. Determine the per diem cost for direct care costs, therapies,
care related costs, and administrative and operating costs for each
facility during the cost report period. This is done by adding the
total allowable costs for these cost centers and dividing the result
by the total patient days.

2. Trend each facility"s per diem cost as determined in 1, above,
to the middle of the rate year using the ICF/IID and PRTF
Trend Factor. This is done by multiplying the ICF/1ID and PRTF
Trend Factor in order to trend costs forward from the mid-point
of the cost report period to the mid-point of the payment period.
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77.93%) + (4.15% X 22.07%) = 5.70% direct care and care related trend
factor. The therapy trend factor 1In the example 1iIs 6.32%. The
administrative and operating trend factor in the example is 8.75%.

6-4 Trend Factor — PRTF’s and ICF/IID’s

One (1) trend fTactor will be used in computing the rates for PRTF’s
and ICF/I1ID"s. A trend factor will be determined by combining the
trend factors determined for each cost center, as determined in Section 7-
2. The PRTF and ICF/1ID trend factor will be computed by weighting the
total allowable costs iIn each of the four (4) cost centers to the total
costs of the four (4) cost centers. The percent of each cost center to
total costs will be multiplied by the individual trend Tfactors to
determine an adjusted trend Tfactor. The total of the adjusted trend
factors will be the PRTF and ICF/1ID trend factor. For example:

PRTF and ICF/11D TREND FACTORS — 2004

Allowable Trend % of Total Adjusted
Cost Center Costs Factor Costs Trend Factor
Direct Care $216,911,547 6.13% 44 .83% 2.75%
Therapies 17,048,995 6.32% 3.52% 0.22%
Care Related 61,417,034 4.15% 12.70% 0.53%
Admin./Oper. 188,448,481 8.75% 38.95% 3.41%
Total $483,826,057 100.00% 6.91%

In this example the PRTF and ICF/IID Trend Factor is 6.91%.
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Direct Care Costs-Expenses incurred by nursing facilities for the hands

on care of the residents. These costs include salaries and fringe
benefits for Registered Nurses (RN’s), (excluding the Director of
Nursing, the Assistant Director of Nursing and the Resident Assessment
Instrument (RAI) Coordinator; Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN’s); nurse
aldes; feeding assistants; contract RN"s, LPN"s, Respiratory Therapist
(RTs) and nurse aides; medical supplies and other direct care

supplies; medical waste disposal; and allowable drugs.

Fair Rental System-The gross rental system as modified by the

Mississippi Case Mix Advisory Committee and described in this plan.

Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with

Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID)-A classification of long-term care

facilities that ©provides services only for individuals with
intellectual disabilities In accordance with 42 CFR Part 483, Subpart |I.

Minimum Data Set (MDS)-The resident assessment instrument approved by

the Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS), for use by all Medicaid and Medicare certified
nursing facilities in Mississippi including section S, as applicable.

Mississippi  Alzheimer’s Unit Weights—-A calculation, based on actual

time and salary information of the care givers, of the
relationship of each RUG IV group to the average for residents in
licensed Alzheimer’s Units.
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	3. SPA 18-0001 will allow LTC facilities to include respiratory therapy expenses as an allowable cost on the LTC facility’s cost report pursuant to 42 C.F.R. § 483.65.  This SPA also:
	a) Clarifies the allocation of costs by hospital-based long-term care facilities and assessments other than the long-term care bed tax,
	b) Revises the error threshold for expanded case-mix nurse reviews from greater than twenty-five percent (25%) to twenty-five percent (25%) and greater, and
	c) Revises the verbiage of when a hospital leave is broken to be consistent with the definition of patient days.



