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MS Medicaid
P R O V I D E R  B U L L E T I N

New Program Preserves Supplemental 
Hospital Payments

Last December, the Mississippi 
Division of Medicaid (DOM) 
transitioned inpatient hospital 
services into our managed-
care program, the Mississippi 
Coordinated Access Network 
(MississippiCAN), capping a major 
implementation effort and fulfilling 
a key priority for the agency.

This is just one of the moves helping 
to position Medicaid as a leading 
driver of health policy in this state. 
Specifically, the intent of making 

inpatient hospital services part of managed care is to improve 
follow-up care after a beneficiary is discharged from a hospital 
setting, keep the beneficiary active in their personal health, 
provide follow-up care with a case manager and prevent 
possible readmissions for the same condition. Prior to this 
transition, we were one of the few states with a managed-care 
program that did not include inpatient services.

The state Legislature authorized this inpatient roll-in during 
the 2015 session and also mandated the development and 
implementation of the Mississippi Hospital Access Program 
(MHAP). MHAP is a critical part of the inpatient transition 
because without it, hospitals would lose upper payment limit 
(UPL) funding.

As many in the provider community are aware, UPL funds are 
supplemental Medicaid payments designed to provide 
additional funds to hospitals up to the level that Medicare 
would have allowed for similar inpatient services. Hospitals 
rely heavily on this supplement, but they typically are not 
allowed in a managed-care environment because UPL funding 
is based on a fee-for-service reimbursement model. The loss 
of UPL, which totaled $533 million in 2015, would be 
devastating to hospitals, so we needed to create a new 
inpatient supplemental payment structure to maintain that 
funding for Mississippi hospitals. 

Using this model, DOM makes payments to our managed care 
organizations, who then distribute the full amount of MHAP 
funds to the hospitals that participated in the UPL program. 
Ultimately, MHAP aims to protect patient access to hospital 
care by maintaining supplemental hospital reimbursement at 
the fiscal year 2015 level. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
approved MHAP and in May, CMS issued new regulations 
known as a final rule, impacting all Medicaid managed care 
programs. One important component of the new regulations 
is a requirement that pass-through payments, such as MHAP, 
are fully phased out or that the payments transition to 
accountability-based models by July 1, 2027. Consequently, 
CMS required DOM to put together a corrective action plan 
(CAP) explaining how we plan to modify MHAP.
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According to the regulations, at least 10 percent of pass-
through payments must be phased out or transitioned each 
year beginning with state fiscal year 2019, which begins July 
2018. 

The fact is managed care is becoming an indispensable 
component to administering a Medicaid program, but 
managed care will not thrive without including inpatient 
services. Hospitals would be greatly affected by the loss of 
supplemental payments they depend on. This is a very 
contentious subject in this state, and my goal is to clearly 
communicate that this is a necessary step and one that is 
backed by state and federal law.

Ultimately, this means we will have to devise a way to link 
MHAP payments to utilization, quality, or outcomes, and 
according to the final rule we have ten years to complete the 
transition. This accountability-based model is nothing new; 
Medicare does the same thing, and so do many private insurers. 
We do not yet know what our model is going to look like, but 
I am committed to actively involving hospitals to be a part of 
the planning. Planning is underway to bring hospital 
representatives and other stakeholders together for the first 
in a series of informational meetings beginning this fall.

WEB PORTAL REMINDER
For easy access to up-to-date information, providers are encouraged to use the Mississippi Envision Web Portal. The Web 
Portal is the electronic approach to rapid, efficient information exchange with providers including eligibility verification, 
claim submission, electronic report retrieval, and the latest updates to provider information. The Mississippi Envision 
Web Portal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year via the Internet at www.ms-medicaid.com.
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PROVIDER COMPLIANCE

Attention All Elderly and Disabled 
(E&D) Waiver Adult Day Care 
(ADC) Providers

RATE CHANGE!
For dates of service on or after July 1, 2016, the ADC rate is 
$61.82 per day.  This is the maximum rate allowed under the 
current CMS approved Elderly and Disabled Waiver.  The 
procedure code for ADC is S5102 and must be billed with a U1 
modifier for services provided under the Elderly and Disabled 
Waiver.

Third Party Billing
Did you know most third party billing questions or problems 
can be resolved by simply referring to the MS Administrative 
Code or the Provider Billing Handbook? This information is 
available on the Division of Medicaid’s website at https://
medicaid.ms.gov/providers/.   The support staff in the Office 
of Recovery is available to assist providers with any additional 
third party billing issues and can be reached at 1-800-421-2408.  

Providers can also report third party insurance updates directly 
to the Third Party Recovery File Maintenance Unit via email at 
tplpolicyupdate@medicaid.ms.gov.  Your email will be promptly 
handled within three to four business days.

Attention Maternity Providers
The Division of Medicaid (DOM) covers inductions of labor or 
cesarean sections prior to one (1) week before the treating 
physician’s expected date of delivery when medically necessary 
in accordance with Part 222, Chapter 1, Rule 1.1 B.

DOM does not cover non-medically necessary early elective 
deliveries. DOM defines an early elective delivery as delivery 
one (1) week prior to the treating physician's expected date of 
delivery. An elective delivery performed after one (1) week 
prior to the treating physician’s expected date of delivery, is 
considered a covered service.

If you have any questions, please contact your Provider 
Representative or the Office of Medical Services at 601-359-
6150
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Billing Updates for Mental Health 
Providers

2016 ANNUAL RATE UPDATES
Effective July 1, 2016, the Division of Medicaid (DOM) revised 
reimbursement rates for mental health providers as required 
by State law and the State Plan. New fee schedules for mental 
health program areas are posted under the provider tab on 
the DOM website and accessible through the following links:

Community/Private Mental Health Centers:
https://www.medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/
CommunityMentalHealthCenter.pdf

Psychiatry:
https://www.medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/
MentalHealthPsychiatry.pdf

Therapeutic and Evaluative Services for Expanded EPSDT (T&E):
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/
TherapeuticEvaluativeMentalHealthChildren.pdf

Please refer to the most current CPT Code Book for the 
appropriate procedure code(s) for services provided.

You may contact Kimberly Evans or Felita Bell at 601-359-9545, 
with questions. 

Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Services
Effective November 1, 2015, Mississippi Division of Medicaid 
(DOM) received Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) approval of State Plan Amendment (SPA) 15-017 Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT).  SPA 
15-017 requires that DOM EPDST providers adhere to the 
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Bright Futures 
Periodicity Schedule for physical, mental, psychosocial and/or 
behavioral health, vision, hearing, adolescent, and 
developmental screening services.  SPA 15-017 also requires 
DOM EPSDT providers adhere to the requirements of the 
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) for dental 
screening services.  

EPSDT screenings must be provided by currently enrolled DOM 
EPSDT providers who have signed an EPSDT specific provider 
agreement.  EPSDT providers may seek reimbursement for 
services rendered in accordance with the AAP Bright Futures 
Periodicity Schedule for dates of service on and after November 
1, 2015.  

EPSDT screenings must include:

1. An initial or established age appropriate medical screening 
which must include, at a minimum:

 9 A comprehensive health and developmental history 
including assessment of both physical and mental 
health development.

 9 A comprehensive  unclothed physical exam (which 
may be accomplished by examining each unclothed 
body system individually).

 9 Appropriate immunizations according to the Advisory 
Committee for Immunization Practices (ACIP) and 
specific  to age and health history.*

 9 Laboratory tests adhering to the AAP Bright Futures 
Periodicity Schedule. 

 9 Sexual development and sexuality screening adhering 
to the AAP Bright Futures Periodicity Schedule, and
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 9 Health education, including anticipatory guidance.

2. Adolescent counseling and risk factor reduction 
intervention to include diagnosis with referral to a 
Mississippi Medicaid enrolled provider for diagnosis and 
treatment for defects discovered.

3. Developmental screening or surveillance to include 
diagnosis with referral to a Mississippi Medicaid provider 
for diagnosis and treatment for defects discovered.

4. Psychosocial/behavioral assessment to include referral to 
a Mississippi Medicaid provider for diagnosis and 
treatment for defects discovered.

5. Vision screening at a minimum to include diagnosis with 
referral to a Mississippi Medicaid optometry or 
ophthalmology provider for diagnosis and treatment for 
defects in vision, including eyeglasses.

6. Hearing screening at a minimum to include diagnosis with 
referral to a Mississippi Medicaid audiologist, otologist, 
otolaryngologist or other physician hearing specialists for 
diagnosis and treatment for defects in hearing including 
hearing aids.

7. Dental screening at a minimum to include diagnosis with 
referral to a Mississippi Medicaid dental provider for 
beneficiaries at or the eruption of the first tooth or by 
twelve (12) months of age for diagnosis and referral to a 
dentist for treatment and relief of pain and infections, 
restoration of teeth and maintenance of dental health.

DOM EPSDT providers must schedule and perform all age 
appropriate screenings and assessments in accordance with 
Mississippi Administrative Code Title 23, Part 223 Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment, which is currently 
under revision to align with the AAP Bright Futures.

DOM EPSDT providers must refer beneficiaries to other 
Mississippi Medicaid enrolled licensed practitioners for services 
necessary to correct or ameliorate physical, mental, 
psychosocial and/or behavioral health conditions discovered 
by the screening services, whether or not such services are 
covered under the Mississippi State Plan.

For more information regarding SPA 15-017,  please refer to 
the DOM website at https://medicaid.ms.gov/about/state-plan/
approved-state-plan-amendments/  or contact the Office of 
Medical Services at (601) 359-6150.

*DOM does not enroll providers in the  Vaccines For Children 
(VFC) Program.  To enroll in the VFC program, please contact 
the Mississippi Department of Health Immunizations at 601-
576-7751.

Provider Information regarding 
the Zika Virus
On June 1, 2016 the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) issued an Informational Bulletin informing Medicaid 
Agencies how Medicaid services can help states and territories 
prevent, detect, and respond to the Zika virus, including efforts 
to prevent the transmission and address health risks to 
beneficiaries. The Informational Bulletin may be found at https://
www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/
cib060116.pdf

The Mississippi Division of Medicaid’s (DOM) Zika coverage 
related to the June 1,2016 CMS informational bulletin is as 
follows:

 ¾ Prevention
• Vaccine – The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has 
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not approved a vaccine for Zika at this time.  Should 
one become available and be FDA approved, DOM will 
cover the vaccine through State Plan benefits available 
to all beneficiaries. 

 
• Insect Repellents – Mosquito repellents applied to the 

skin can aid in preventing Zika virus infection. The 
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommends people 
use Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-registered 
insect repellents with one of the following active 
ingredients: DEET, picaridin, IR3535, oil of lemon 
eucalyptus, or para-menthane-diol.

Effective August 1, 2016, DOM will cover mosquito 
repellents when prescribed by an enrolled Medicaid 
provider and billed by a Medicaid pharmacy provider.  
DOM will maintain a list of covered insect repellents 
which have been assigned National Drug Code (NDC) 
numbers by national drug databases such as First 
Databank and Medispan. Please refer to DOM’s website 
at  https://medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/.

Prescription claims for insect repellents will not count 
toward the five (5) prescription monthly service limit.

A maximum of two (2) cans/bottles per month per 
beneficiary will be allowed for all beneficiaries age 13 
and over. 

 ¾ Coverage – Family Planning service for men and women 
of child bearing age or women who are pregnant.

• Family Planning Counseling – DOM currently covers 
this service for all beneficiaries through the Family 
Planning Waiver, Annual Wellness Exams and in 
accordance with the EPSDT Bright Futures Wellness 
periodicity guidelines.

• Contraception – DOM covers all forms of contraceptives 
included in the bulletin (oral contraceptives, condoms, 
diaphragms, foams, gels, patches, rings, injections, 
tablets, emergency contraceptives and long-acting 
reversible contraceptives) through the Family Planning 
Waiver (FPW).  DOM covers all forms of contraceptives 
included in the FPW, except for condoms, for all 
beneficiaries regardless of category of eligibility (COE).

 ¾ Detection of Zika Infection
• Diagnostic Services – DOM covers all forms of 

diagnostic testing included in the bulletin (CT scans, 
MRIs, ultrasounds, blood tests, urine tests and genetic 

testing) for all beneficiaries, as medically necessary.
 ¾ Treatment

• Targeted Case Management Services – DOM covers 
targeted case management services for beneficiaries 
enrolled in certain waivers, the Perinatal High Risk 
Management/Infant Services System (PHRM/ISS) 
program, the Early Intervention (EI) Program and 
through certain MississippiCAN programs.

• Physical Therapy and Related Services – DOM covers 
medically necessary physical, speech and occupational 
therapy services for all beneficiaries.

• Prescribed Drugs – DOM covers the drugs specifically 
mentioned in the bulletin, for all beneficiaries. 

• Long-Term Services and Supports – DOM covers 
medically necessary long-term rehabilitative services 
for all beneficiaries in institutional care and covers 
additional home and community-based services  
(HCBS) through EPSDT benefits and the five HCBS 
waivers, Assisted Living (AL), Elderly and Disabled 
(E&D), Intellectual Disabilities/Developmental 
Disabilities (ID/DD), Independent Living (IL), Traumatic 
Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury (TBI/SCI).

Mississippi Division of Medicaid 
Diabetes Self-Management 
Training (DSMT)
Effective April 1, 2015, the Division of Medicaid (DOM) began 
reimbursing for Diabetes Self-Management Training (DSMT). 
DOM defines DSMT as an interactive and collaborative process 
through which beneficiaries with diabetes gain the knowledge 
and skills needed to modify their behavior and self-manage 
the disease and its related conditions. 

DOM does not enroll a provider for the sole purpose of 
performing DSMT because DSMT is not a separately recognized 
provider type.  Providers seeking reimbursement for DSMT 
must meet all of the required criteria set forth in Miss. Admin. 
Code Part 200, Rule 4.8 in addition to being:

 y A current Mississippi Medicaid provider, 
 y Located in the state of Mississippi, and 
 y Accredited by the American Diabetes Association 

(ADA) or the American Association of Diabetes 
Educators (AADE).
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DOM covers DSMT when medically necessary, ordered by 
a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who 
is actively managing the beneficiary’s diabetes who has 
received prior authorization by the Utilization Management/
Quality Improvement Organization (UM/QIO), DOM or a 
designated entity when all the following criteria are met: 

 y The beneficiary has been diagnosed with diabetes by 
a physician,

 y The services are provided under the direct supervision 
of a physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, 
pharmacist or a registered nurse certified as a diabetes 
educator, and

 y The program meets the current ADA training standards.

A Plan of Care is required for DSMT and must include, but is 
not limited to:

 y An assessment of the beneficiary’s specific needs for 
training, 

 y Identification of the beneficiary’s specific diabetes self-
management goals, 

 y Behavioral interventions directed toward helping the 
beneficiary achieve identified self- management goals, 
and 

 y Evaluation of the beneficiary’s progress toward 
identified self-management goals.

DOM covers a total of seven (7) hours of DSMT. One (1) hour is 
covered for an individual session to assess the beneficiary’s 
training needs and six (6) hours are covered for group sessions 
consisting of two (2) or more individuals (not all of whom have 
to be Medicaid beneficiaries) unless the ordering physician 
determines a beneficiary would benefit from individual 
sessions instead of group sessions. The physician’s order must 
include a statement specifying DSMT training in individual 
sessions along with an explanation. 

The training must be furnished in increments of no less than 
one-half hour and be completed within a continuous six-
month period which begins with the initial assessment session.  
DSMT initial training is a one-time benefit for beneficiaries. 
Providers are encouraged to verify that the beneficiary has not 
received DSMT at another facility. Two (2) hours of follow-up 
training is covered each year when ordered by the physician 
actively managing the beneficiary’s diabetes. The follow-up 
training must not be initiated until at least 12 months following 
the completion of the initial training and must be prior 
authorized. The provider must document the specific medical 
condition that the follow up training is to address in both the 
referral for training and in the beneficiary’s medical record. 

Beneficiaries under the age of eighteen (18) must be 
accompanied by a parent/guardian/legal representative.  

Individual sessions should be billed with HCPCS code G0108 
and the group sessions should be billed with G0109.  DOM’s 
current reimbursement for G0108 is $45.05/unit and $12.13/
unit for G0109. For Rural Health Clinic (RHC), Federally Qualified 
Health Center (FQHC), and the Mississippi State Department 
of Health (MSDH) providers, Diabetes Self-Management 
Training is included in the encounter rate for the core service. 
An encounter cannot be paid solely for DSMT. 

If your program is not currently Diabetes Self-Management 
Education (DSME) certified you may obtain additional help 
and information through the MSDH Diabetes Prevention and 
Control Program. Additional questions may be addressed by 
reviewing the various resources listed below or by calling the 
numbers are the bottom of this page.

Link to DSMT accredited Mississippi programs: 
http://diabetescoalition-ms.org/accredited-dsmt-programs/ 

Link to the MS Division of Medicaid Administrative Code Title 
23: Part 200, Chapter 5, Rule 5.6: https://medicaid.ms.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2014/01/Admin-Code-Part-200.pdf

Link to the MS Division of Medicaid Fee Schedule: ms-medicaid.
com/msenvision/AMA_ADA_licenseAgreement.do?strUrl=do
wnloadableFeeSchedule

Link to Mississippi Division of Medicaid coverage sheet:  
http://diabetescoalition-ms.org/wp-content/uploads/
sites/31/2015/05/DSMT-Medicaid-Coverage-fact-sheet-pdf.
pdf

 

 

 

Fee for Service MississippiCAN 
Prior Authorization: (866) 740-2221  

(601) 352-6353 
Questions:  (800) 421-2408 
 
DSMT Provider Manual 
http://ms.eqhs.org/Portals/10/DSMT%20Provi-
der%20Manual%20Final%2025.18.16.pdf 
 

United Healthcare:  (877) 743-8731 
 
 
Magnolia Health:     (866) 912-6285  
             (601) 863-0700 
 
http://www.magnoliahealthplan.com/for-
providers/important-notifications/ 

 

 

Prior Authorization: (866) 740-2221  
(601) 352-6353 

Questions:  (800) 421-2408 
 
DSMT Provider Manual 
http://ms.eqhs.org/Portals/10/DSMT%20Provi-
der%20Manual%20Final%2025.18.16.pdf 

 
UnitedHealthcare Community Plan:  (877) 743-8731 

Magnolia Health:     (866) 912-6285  
             (601) 863-0700 
 
http://www.magnoliahealthplan.com/for-
providers/important-notifications/ 
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Submission of Medicare Part C 
Claims on the Mississippi 
Envision Web Portal is Now 
Available!
The Mississippi Envision Web Portal has now been updated to 
allow providers to submit Part C claims electronically. When 
entering claims via the Web Portal, providers will not only have 
the options to submit CMS 1500 and UB-04 claims, but will also 
have the option to submit “Medicare Part C Institutional” or 
“Medicare Part C Professional” claims. If entered correctly, these 
claims should suspend for review of the Explanation of 
Medicare Benefits (EOMB), edit 0610. NOTE: The EOMB must 
be uploaded and attached to the claim during the submission 
process. Please allow up to 30 days to have the claim reviewed 
and released for payment or denial.

If you have questions, please contact Xerox Provider and 
Beneficiary Services at 800-884-3222.

Hospice Providers Update
DOM’s fiscal Agent, Xerox, has successfully updated the 
Medicaid MMIS claims processing system to process payment 
for Routine Home Care (Revenue 0651) level of Hospice 
services, as required by CMS’s methodology change.  As of July 
1, 2016, current Hospice claim payments should reflect the 
Tier-1 (T1) and Tier-2 (T2) Routine Home Care Rates.  The (T1) 
higher rate is for the first 60 days of services and the lower rate 
(T2) is for days 61 and thereafter.  Payment of the Service 
Intensity Add-on (SIA) rate for the last seven (7) days of life, 
which meet the registered nurse or social worker requirements, 
will not be paid until the following additional information is 
provided.

Reimbursement for the SIA component will require providers 
to identify on their claim when Registered Nurse (RN) or Social 
Worker (SW) services are provided. For RN services, providers 
will use 0559 Revenue Code and G0299 Procedure Code, along 
with the number of units provided. For this combination, one 
(1) unit is fifteen (15) minutes. For SW services, providers will 
use 0561 Revenue Code and G0155 Procedure Code for clinical 
social work services. For non-clinical social work services, 
Providers will use 0569 Revenue Code and G0155 Procedure 
Code, along with the number of units provided. These 
combinations will also be calculated as one (1) unit per fifteen 
(15) minutes.

In August, DOM anticipates a mass adjustment to re-process 
prior claims for dates of service January 1, 2016, through June 
30, 2016 (start of the new methodology processing).  The mass 
adjustment will correctly adjust those claims that were 
incorrectly paid at the higher “T1” rate for day 61 and after 
instead of the lower “T2” rate.  In most cases, this will result in 
a recoupment of funds due Medicaid ranging from $34.55 to 
$37.28, per day, per beneficiary, depending on the county in 
which services were provided.  Providers will need to resubmit 
SIA claims with the required additional coding in order to be 
reimbursed the SIA rate for beneficiaries that expired and had 
the pre-requisite services during the last seven (7) days of life.

DOM appreciates your patience during this process, and we 
apologize for the inconvenience.    

If you have rate questions, please contact T.J. Walker at 601-
359-6827, or T.J.Walker@medicaid.ms.gov.  If you have any 
claims questions, please contact Jay Horton at 601-359-9544, 
or James.Horton@medicaid.ms.gov. 

Long Acting Reversible 
Contraceptives Inpatient 
Reimbursement
Effective July 1, 2016, Mississippi Division of Medicaid will 
begin reimbursing hospitals outside of the All Patient Refined- 
Diagnosis Related Groups methodology (APR-DRG), for 
insertion of Long Acting Reversible Contraceptive (LARC) 
devices when the device is placed prior to discharge from a 
postpartum inpatient stay. To receive reimbursement, the 
hospital may submit a separate outpatient claim for the device 
and insertion listing only the correct Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) and/or Healthcare Common Procedural 
Coding System (HCPCS) code and National Drug Code (NDC). 
Reimbursement will be at the current outpatient prospective 
payment system (OPPS) rates for the date of service. All other 
services provided by the hospital must be billed on the 
inpatient claim and reimbursed at the appropriate APR-DRG 
rate.

LARCs inserted in an outpatient hospital or physician setting, 
will continue to receive reimbursement under applicable 
reimbursement methodologies, when billed using the correct 
CPT and/or HCPCS code and NDC.

Inpatient LARC placement postpartum (supplied by 
HOSPITAL and prior to discharge) 
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 y The hospital may submit an outpatient claim for LARC 
devices placed during the postpartum inpatient stay, 
listing only the date of the insertion as the date of 
service.

 y The claim should include only the LARC device and 
insertion billed under the applicable Revenue code(s) 
with the appropriate device CPT and/or HCPCS code 
and the NDC for the product supplied.

 y Reimbursement for LARCs will be at the current 
outpatient prospective payment system (OPPS) rates 
for the date of service.

 y All other services provided by the hospital must be 
billed on the inpatient claim and reimbursed at the 
appropriate APR-DRG rate.

 y Any professional claims submitted should not 
duplicatively include a LARC device.

 y Inpatient LARC placement postpartum (supplied by 
PHYSICIAN and prior to discharge)

 y The hospital will not be reimbursed for the LARC device 
when it is provided by the physician during the 
postpartum inpatient stay.

 y All other services provided by the hospital must be 
billed on the inpatient hospital claim and 
reimbursement will be calculated at the appropriate 
APR-DRG rate.

 y The physician will submit a CMS1500 professional claim 
for services provided and include the appropriate 
device HCPCS code, and the NDC for the product 
supplied.

 y Reimbursement for the LARC will be the physician fee 
for the date of service billed.

Outpatient LARC placement (supplied by the HOSPITAL)

 y The hospital may submit an outpatient claim for all 
services provided and include the LARC device billed 
under the appropriate Revenue code(s) with the 
appropriate device CPT and/or HCPCS code and the 
NDC for the product supplied.

 y Reimbursement for LARCs will be at the current 
outpatient prospective payment system (OPPS) rates 
for the date of service.

 y Any professional claims submitted should not 
duplicatively include a LARC device.

 y Outpatient LARC placement (supplied by the 
PHYSICIAN)

 y The hospital will not be reimbursed for the LARC device 
when it is provided by the physician.

 y All other services provided by the hospital must be 
billed on the outpatient hospital claim and will be 
reimbursed at the outpatient hospital rate for the date 
of service billed.

 y The physician will submit a CMS-1500 professional 
claim for services provided and include the appropriate 
device HCPCS code and the NDC for the product 
supplied.

 y Reimbursement for the LARC will be the physician fee 
for the date of service billed.

The current reimbursement rates are in the chart below:

 

Code Description 
Physician 
Fee 

Outpatient 
Hospital 

J7297 Levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine contraceptive system, 52mg, 3 year 
duration 

$750.00 $750.00 

J7298 Levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine contraceptive system, 52 mg, 5 year 
duration 

$972.61 $972.61 

J7300 Intrauterine copper contraceptive $886.80 $886.80 

J7301 Levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine contraceptive system, 13.5 mg $780.38 $780.38 

J7307 Etonogestrel (contraceptive) implant system, including implant and 
supplies 

$925.82 $925.82 
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PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVE AREAS BY COUNTY
AREA 1

Jonathan Dixon (601.206.3022)
jonathan.dixon@xerox.com

AREA 2
Prentiss Butler (601.206.3042)

prentiss.butler@xerox.com 

AREA 3
 Clint Gee (662.459.9753)

clinton.gee@medicaid.ms.gov
County County County
Desoto Alcorn Bolivar

Lafayette Benton Coahoma
Marshall Itawamba Leflore
Panola Lee Quitman

Tate Pontotoc Sunflower
Tunica Prentiss Tallahatchie

Tippah Yalobusha
Tishomingo

*Memphis Union
AREA 4 

Charleston Green (601.359.5500)
charleston.green@medicaid.ms.gov

AREA 5
Tori Molden (601.572.3265)

tori.molden@xerox.com

AREA 6 
LaShundra Othello (601.206.2996)

lashundra.othello@xerox.com
County County County
Attala Holmes Kemper

Calhoun Humphreys Lauderdale
Carroll Issaquena Lowndes

Chickasaw Madison Neshoba
Choctaw Sharkey Newton 

Clay Washington Noxubee
Grenada Yazoo Winston
Monroe

Montgomery
Oktibbeha

Webster

AREA 7
Erica Guyton (601.206.3019)

erica.cooper@xerox.com

AREA 8
Justin Griffin (601.206.2922)

Zip Codes (39041-39215)
justin.griffin@xerox.com 

Randy Ponder (601.206.3026)
Zip Codes (39216-39296)
randy.ponder@xerox.com 

AREA 9
Joyce Wilson (601.359.4293)
joyce.wilson@medicaid.ms.gov

County County County
Adams Hinds Covington
Amite Leake

Claiborne Rankin
Franklin Scott

Jefferson Simpson
Warren

Wilkinson
AREA 10

Porscha Fuller (601.206.2961)
porscha.fuller@xerox.com

AREA 11
Pamela Tillman (601.359.9575)
pamela.tillman@medicaid.ms.gov

AREA 12
Connie Mooney (601.572.3253)

connie.mooney@xerox.com 
County County County
Clarke Copiah George 
Forrest Jefferson-Davis Hancock
Greene Lawrence Harrison
Jasper Lincoln Jackson
Jones Marion Pearl River
Lamar Pike Stone
Perry Walthall
Smith
Wayne Mobile, AL

OUT OF STATE PROVIDERS Katrina Magee (601.572.3298) katrina.magee@xerox.com 
Tora Monroe (601.206.2929) tora.monroe@xerox.com

PROVIDER FIELD REPRESENTATIVES
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Prentiss Butler 
(601.206.3042)

Clint Gee
(662.459.9753) 

 

Charleston Green 
(601.359.5500)

Tori Molden 
(601.572.3265)

Erica Guyton 
(601.206.3019)

Porscha Fuller 
(601.206.2961)

 

LaShundra Othello
(601.206.3013)

Randy Ponder 
(601.206.3026)  

Justin Griffin
(601.206.2922) 

Joyce Wilson 
(601.359.4293) 
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Pamela Tillman 
(601.359.9575)    

Connie Mooney 
(601.572.3253) 

Jonathan Dixon 
(601.206.3022)



XEROX STATE
HEALTHCARE, LLC
P.O. BOX 23078
JACKSON, MS 39225

If you have any questions 
related to the topics in this 

bulletin, please contact
Xerox at 800 -884 -3222

Mississippi Medicaid 
Administrative Code and Billing 

Handbook are on the Web
www.medicaid.ms.gov

Medicaid Provider Bulletins are
located on the Web Portal

www.ms-medicaid.com

Checkwrites and Remittance Advices are dated every Monday. Provider Remittance Advice is available for download each 
Monday morning at www.ms-medicaid.com. Funds are not transferred until the following Thursday.

SEPTEMBER 2016
 

THURS, SEP. 1 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

MON, SEP. 5 Labor Day. DOM closed. 
   Checkwrite

THURS, SEP. 8  EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m

MON, SEP. 12  Checkwrite; 

THURS, SEP. 15  EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

MON, SEP. 19  Checkwrite

THURS, SEP. 22 EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

MON, SEP. 26  Checkwrite

THURS, SEP. 29 EDI Cut Off - 5:00 p.m.

OCTOBER 2016
MON, OCT. 3 Checkwrite

THURS, OCT. 6 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

MON, OCT. 10 Checkwrite

THURS, OCT. 13 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

MON, OCT. 17 Checkwrite

THURS, OCT. 20 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

MON, OCT. 24 Checkwrite

THURS, OCT. 27 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

MON, OCT. 24 Checkwrite

NOVEMBER 2016
THURS, NOV. 3 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m. 

MON, NOV. 7 Checkwrite

THURS, NOV. 10 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.

FRIDAY . NOV. 11  Veterans Day

MON, NOV. 14 Checkwrite

THURS, NOV. 17 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m

MON, NOV. 21 Checkwrite

THURS, NOV. 24 EDI Cut Off – 5:00 p.m.
   Thanksgiving

MON, NOV. 28 Checkwrite

PRSRT STD
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Jackson, MS
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