
 
 
 

Medicaid Eligibility Guide For the 
Healthier Mississippi Waiver 

 

 

An Eligibility Guide for Persons Age 65 
or Over or Disabled with No Medicare 

 
 
 
 

Enrollment in the Healthier Mississippi Waiver (HMW) started in January, 2006, for individuals who 
meet the following requirements: 

 
  The individual cannot be covered by Medicare. 
  The individual must be age 65 or over, or 
  If under age 65, the individual must be disabled, using the same rules as the SSI program. 
  Total monthly income can be no more than 135% of the federal poverty level: 

 $1,375 for an individual 
 $1,843 for a couple (using income of both members of the couple, even if only one 

member is applying.) If any household income is from wages, the allowable income limit is 
higher. 

 Disabled children can qualify for this program. The income limit is based on the parents’ 
income and the number of other children in the family. Your Regional Office can assist you 
with income information. 

 
 

If, at any time, the individual does not meet the requirements as stated above, eligibility for the waiver 
program will end.  In some cases, the individual may qualify for other Medicaid coverage.  For exam- 
ple, when Medicare coverage begins, it is no longer possible to be in the HMW, but the individual will 
be reviewed for eligibility in a Medicare cost-sharing coverage group. 

 
Effective November 1, 2010, the maximum number of individuals who can be enrolled in this waiver 
may not be more than 5,500 at any given time. If enrollment reaches 5,500, the waiver is closed to 
enrollment until the number of individuals enrolled is fewer than 5,500. 

 
Resources----These are assets or what a person owns. 

 
Certain types of resources are not counted toward the resource limit. 
These include: 

 

 Home property, 
 Certain property that produces income, 
 Up to two vehicles, depending on use, 
 Household goods, 
 Personal property up to $5,000, 
 Life insurance up to $10,000 in face value, 
 Burial funds up to $6,000 if kept in a revocable form. 

 
 

Resources that count include money in the bank; the value of stocks, bonds or other 
investment accounts; the value of non- home property that does not produce income. 

 

 

More Information 
 

DOM HMW 03/01/2015 



Brandon 601-825-0477 
Brookhaven 601-835-2020 

Canton 601-978-2399 

Clarksdale 662-627-1493 

Cleveland 662-843-7753 

Columbia 601-731-2271 

Columbus 662-329-2190 

Corinth 662-286-8091 

Greenville 662-332-9370 

Greenwood 662-455-1053 

Grenada 662-226-4406 
Gulfport 228-863-3328 

Hattiesburg 601-264-5386 

Holly Springs 662-252-3439 

Jackson 601-978-2399 

Kosciusko 662-289-4477 

Laurel 601-425-3175 

McComb 601-249-2071 

Meridian 601-483-9944 

Natchez 601-445-4971 

New Albany 662-534-0441 
Newton 601-635-5205 

Pascagoula 228-762-9591 
Philadelphia 601-656-3131 
Picayune 601-798-0831 
Senatobia 662-562-0147 
Starkville 662-323-3688 

Tupelo 662-844-5304 
Vicksburg 601-638-6137 
Yazoo City 662-746-2309 

 

The Office of the Governor, Division of Medicaid complies with all state and federal policies which prohibit discrimination on the basis of age, race, sex, national 
origin, handicap or disability- as defined through the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Civil Rights Act of 1964. 

 
 

COVERED SERVICES 
 
The following services are covered for all persons 
(adults and children) enrolled in the Healthier 
Mississippi Waiver Program: 
 
 Inpatient hospital services 
 
 Outpatient hospital services 
 
 Laboratory and radiology services 
 
 Physician services 
 
 Home health services 
 
 Hospice services 
 
 Transportation services 
 
 Dialysis services 
 
 Community mental health services 
 
 Federally qualified Health Center (FQHC) 

services 

 
NON-COVERED SERVICES 
 
None of the following services is covered for 
individuals over age twenty-one (21): 
 
 Chiropractic services 
 
 Podiatry services 
 
 Dental services 
 
 Vision services (eye exams are covered under 

physician services but eyeglass frames, eyeglass 
lenses and contact lenses are not covered). 

 
 Long-term care services (including nursing facility, 

and home and community based waivers). 
 

 
 

Individuals under age twenty-one (21) may be eligible 
for these services with an approved plan of care. 

To apply, visit a Medicaid Regional Office (RO) or contact the office for the location of a site other 
than the Medicaid Regional Office where a Medicaid Specialist will be to accept an application. 
Medicaid Regional Office contact numbers are: 
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