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PHARMACY SERVICES INTRODUCTION 
Medicaid, as authorized by Title XIX of the Social Security Act, is a federal and state program of 
medical assistance to qualified individuals. Each state designates a state agency as the single 
state agency for the administration of Medicaid. State law has designated the Division of 
Medicaid, Office of the Governor, as the single state agency to administer the Medicaid program 
in Mississippi. 

The Mississippi Medicaid Prescription Drug Program conforms to the Medicaid Prudent 
Pharmaceutical Purchasing Program (MPPPP) as set forth in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1990 (OBRA 90). A pharmacy provider’s participation in the Mississippi Medicaid 
program is entirely voluntary. However, if a provider does choose to participate in Medicaid, 
he/she must accept the Medicaid payment as payment in full for those services covered by 
Medicaid. He/she cannot charge the beneficiary the difference between the usual and customary 
charge and Medicaid’s payment. The provider cannot accept payment from the beneficiary, bill 
Medicaid, and then refund Medicaid’s payment to the beneficiary, except in cases of retroactive 
eligibility. Services not covered under the Medicaid program can be billed directly to the 
Medicaid beneficiary. 

The Mississippi Medicaid program purchases needed health care services for beneficiaries as 
determined under the provision of the Mississippi Medical Assistance Act. The Division of 
Medicaid (DOM) is responsible for formulating program policy. DOM staff is directly responsible 
for the administration of the program. Under the direction of DOM, the fiscal agent is 
responsible for processing claims, issuing payment to providers, and for notifications regarding 
billing. Medicaid policy as it relates to these factors is initiated by DOM. 

ADDITIONAL COVERAGE FOR CHILDREN UNDER AGE 21 
Beneficiaries under the age of twenty-one (21) may have more prescription drug coverage if 
medically necessary under the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
program.  

BENEFICIARY ELIGIBILITY 
A beneficiary’s MS Medicaid or green card should be checked at every pharmacy visit to 
validate the current identification number.  Eligibility status can be verified through the AVRS 
system at 866-597-2675 or 601-206-3090.  Pharmacists are to use their professional discretion to 
verify patient identity. 

RETROACTIVE ELIGIBILITY 

Retroactive Pharmacy Claims can be processed electronically through the POS system for up to 
one calendar year from the original date of service on a Medicaid beneficiary. Retroactive 
Pharmacy Claims older than 12 months may be processed via paper submission on a MS 
Medicaid Pharmacy Claim Form or via the web portal, as long as the claim submission date is 
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not more than 24 months from the original date of service. See Web Portal Pharmacy Claims 
submission for detailed instructions for submitting Retro Pharmacy Claims. 

CLAIM PAYMENTS 

Providers who wish to inquire about their check amount are referred AVRS at 866-597-2675 or 
601-206-3090. 

FRAUD 

If you suspect a case of fraud, please contact MS Medicaid’s Program of Integrity at 1-800-880-
5920 or 601-576-4162 or http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/contact/report-fraud-and-abuse/fraud-and-
abuse-complaint-form/.  

BENEFICIARY SIGNATURE 

The beneficiary or his/her representative must sign for the prescription each time it is filled. One 
method in use is the signature book or form, which indicates the date medication is received, 
prescription serial number, a signature, and if necessary, relationship to the beneficiary. A 
counseling acceptance/refusal form maintained in date order and fulfilling the above stated 
requirements will be satisfactory. A signature is required for each medication received by 
individuals,  with  the  exception  of  beneficiaries  residing  in  long-term  care  facilities.      MS 
Division of Medicaid defines long term care facilities as nursing homes, intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID), and Psychiatric Residential 
Treatment Facilities (PRTF). 

Electronic signatures are acceptable for Medicaid beneficiaries. If multiple prescriptions are 
dispensed, there must be a signature for each and every prescription dispensed. One signature for 
multiple entries is not acceptable. The method of attaining beneficiary signatures must comply 
with the MS Board of Pharmacy, state, and federal requirements, if applicable. 

If someone other than the beneficiary receives the prescription, it is the pharmacy’s 
responsibility to obtain the signature of the actual person receiving the drug, in addition to the 
beneficiary’s name and their relationship to the beneficiary.  If the beneficiary or his/her 
representative is not capable of signing for the prescription, then the pharmacist may do so, 
stating the circumstances that would not allow the beneficiary or his/her representative to sign 
for the drug. The pharmacist must sign the prescription signature book/record with his/her own 
name and the beneficiary’s name.  If a prescription is delivered to a beneficiary, the pharmacy is 
responsible for obtaining signatures and maintaining these signatures on-site and in an auditable 
manner. 

If a prescription is shipped or delivered to a beneficiary, the pharmacy is responsible for obtaining 
signature(s) of the individual (s) receiving delivery of the medication.  The pharmacy is 
responsible for maintaining these signatures on-site and in an auditable manner. Prescriptions 
delivered by means other than pharmacy delivery personnel must have a signature by the 
beneficiary or his/her representative on file. Providers shall take necessary steps to prevent loss 
of medications in the shipping process, as Medicaid will not reimburse for medications not 
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received by the beneficiary.  Beneficiaries and/or providers may not waive the signature 
requirement. Having a beneficiary’s and/or responsible party for the beneficiary’s signature on file 
will not suffice and does not meet this obligation. 

Signatures must be retained for audit purposes for a period of five (5) years. If the medications 
have been shipped, then the beneficiary signature as well as delivery confirmation must be 
retained by the provider for audit purposes for a period of five (5) years. 

CO-PAYMENT 
Refer to MS Administrative Code, Title 23, Part 200, Chapter 3 Rule 3.7 for Beneficiary Cost 
Sharing policy. 

Providers are prohibited for advertising and/or soliciting business by waiving a beneficiary’s 
copayment responsibility. 

CO-PAYMENTS 

Co-pays for all drugs (Brand, Generic or OTC) are $3.00 per prescription.  When filing claims use 
the following Exemption Codes if incorrect copayment amount is returned: 

  Infants (newborns only) - K 

  Children under age 18 - C 

  Pregnant women - a “P” must be written on the prescription 

  Long Term Care Beneficiaries - N 

  Family Planning Beneficiaries - F (yellow card holders) 

COST AVOIDANCE/PRESCRIPTION DRUG CLAIMS 
Medicaid is the payer of last resort.  Federal regulations require that Medicaid agencies identify 
any third-party resources to meet the medical expenses of Medicaid beneficiaries.  Third party 
Liability or TLP assures that Medicaid is the last payer to reimburse for covered Medicaid 
services.  Medicaid participating providers must seek reimbursement from other liable services 
such as private and/or public insurance companies.  It is the responsibility of the servicing 
pharmacy to pursue all requirements of the primary insurer including, but not limited to, prior 
authorizations, or drug utilization reviews. 

Medicaid covered drugs which require prior authorization (PA) from DOM will continue to 
require PA for claims if the primary insurer approves the drug and DOM reimburses any part of 
the costs. 
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Medicaid co-payment, if applicable, is required, regardless if any part of the claim is paid by 
DOM. 

For the Medicare/Medicaid or dually eligible beneficiary, Medicaid is responsible for coverage 
of CMS mandated Part D excluded drug categories only.  Medicaid considers Medicare Part D 
payment as payment in full.  For additional information regarding Medicare/Medicaid drug 
benefits and DOM’s pharmacy program, please refer to the Medicare Covered Drugs and Non- 
covered Pharmacy Services section of the Pharmacy Services Provider Reference Guide. 

For additional information regarding cost avoidance and prescription drug claims, please refer to 
Title 23, Part 306: Third Party Recovery of the MS Administrative Code. 

COVERED PHARMACY SERVICES 
The Mississippi Medicaid Prescription Drug Program conforms to the Medicaid Prudent 
Pharmaceutical Purchasing Program as set forth in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 
1990 (OBRA ’90). 

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 (OBRA ’90) mandated major changes in 
coverage and reimbursement for Medicaid–covered outpatient drugs. OBRA ’90 created the 
Medicaid Drug Rebate Program which requires drug manufacturers to have a national rebate 
agreement with the federal government to receive federal funding for outpatient drugs provided 
to Medicaid beneficiaries. This law also required Medicaid programs to cover all prescription 
drugs manufactured by a company that has signed a drug rebate agreement, with certain specific 
exceptions. The exceptions are listed in the MS Administrative Code, Title 23; Medicaid, Part 
214 Pharmacy Services, Rule 1.3: Drugs Subject to Exclusion or Otherwise Restricted. 

Although the pharmacy program is an optional program, DOM offers a comprehensive 
Pharmacy Program for Medicaid beneficiaries.  Covered drugs are limited to Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) approval or medically accepted indications and dosing limits.  Medically 
accepted indications refer to any use supported by one or more of the following official 
compendia: 

  American Hospital Formulary Service-Drug Information (AHFS-DI), 

  United States Pharmacopoeia-Drug Information (USP-DI) or its approved 
replacement and/or successor publication, and/or 

  The DrugDEX Information System. 

To view a listing of manufacturers that participate in the drug rebate program, please reference: 
http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Prescription-
Drugs/Covered-Outpatient-Drugs-Policy.html 
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Disaster billing: Officially Declared Emergencies 
During officially declared emergencies, pharmacists should enter a value of ’13-Payor Recognized  
Emergency’ in NCPDP Field ‘420-DK’ when it is necessary to override the following service 
limit edits: 

  2 brand/non-preferred or 5 prescription limit, or Early refill. 

At the time a declared emergency announcement is made, the fields noted above will be opened 
for the specified time period.  Pharmacy providers are advised to use professional judgment in 
emergency situations.  The Division of Medicaid may conduct audits after such events to ensure 
appropriate care was taken in dispensing medications for affected beneficiaries.  Providers and 
beneficiaries residing and/or receiving care not in an evacuation area must have documentation 
on file to justify rationale for early/excess fills.  Medicaid monies may be recouped if supporting 
documentation is not found. 

For your easy reference, this document is posted under on the pharmacy services webpage at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2014/04/BillingFor72HourEmergencySupply.pdf. 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 
All providers participating in the Medicaid program are required to maintain records which 
disclose services that have been rendered and billed under the program and, upon request, make 
premises and such records available to representatives of DOM, the Office of Attorney General, or 
the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) in substantiation of any or all claims. These records 
should be retained and maintained in an auditable manner a minimum of five years in order to 
comply with all state and federal regulations and laws. 

In order for DOM to fulfill its obligations in the verification of services that have been paid for 
by Medicaid to eligible beneficiaries, the pharmacist must maintain auditable records that will 
substantiate claim(s) submitted to Medicaid. At a minimum, the records should include the 
following: 

  The prescription meeting all pertinent regulatory authorities, 

  Wholesale invoices of drug merchandise purchased, 

  A complete and accurate beneficiary signature record, 

  Delivery confirmation, if applicable, and 

  Licensure and ownership documentation including the employee roster. 

Copies of prescriptions, invoices, signature records, delivery confirmation, licensure, ownership 
documentation, and employee roster shall be furnished to the Division of Medicaid, the Office of 
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the Attorney General, or the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) upon request and at no cost to 
the requesting agency. 

If pharmacy records do not substantiate services, which have been paid for under the Medicaid 
program, the pharmacy is required to refund to the Mississippi Medicaid Program any money 
received within 30 days. If a refund is not received within 30 days, a sum equal to the amount paid 
for such services may be deducted from any future payments that may be due the provider; or 
DOM may choose to require immediate payment plus interest. 

Records must be in an auditable form, which includes the requirements that the prescriptions are 
filed in numerical order and easily retrievable. 

A pharmacy provider who knowingly or willfully makes or causes to be made false statement or 
representation of a material fact in any application for Medicaid benefits or Medicaid payments 
may be prosecuted under federal and state criminal laws.  A false attestation can result in civil 
monetary penalties as well as fines, and may automatically disqualify the pharmacy provider as a 
provider of Medicaid services. 

DRUG LIMITS 
Beneficiaries are entitled to five prescriptions per month, of which, no more than two may be 
non-preferred/brand products. This includes refills. Long term care residents, defined as 
beneficiaries residing in nursing facilities (NH), intermediate care facilities for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID), or psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRFT), are exempt 
from this limit.  Refer to Pharmacy Billing section of the Pharmacy Services’ Provider Reference 
Guide for additional information regarding billing specifics. 

PRESCRIPTION BENEFITS 

Description Prescription Benefits 

Regular Beneficiaries Full Prescription Benefits 

Long-Term Care Beneficiaries Full Prescription Benefits 

Dually Eligible – Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) Medicare Part D 

Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Children under 21 

Full Prescription Benefits 

Family Planning Beneficiaries Limited Prescription Benefits 
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Dually Eligible – Specified Low Income Medicare 
Beneficiary (SLMB) 

Medicare Part D 

K- Baby (newborns without a Medicaid ID number) Full Prescription Benefits 

DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT/MEDICAL SUPPLIES 
Most durable medical equipment (DME) and/or medical supplies are traditionally not covered 
through the Pharmacy program. Pharmacies that wish to provide DME and/or medical supplies 
must be enrolled as a Medicaid DME provider. 

In order for DOM to reimburse for DME/medical supplies in the pharmacy venue, the pharmacy 
must be enrolled as a MS Medicaid DME provider.   All DME items and/or medical supplies 
must be filed on a CMS 1500 claim form. 

FRAUD 
Refer to the CMS 1500 section of the Billing Manual for addition instruction(s). Refer to Title 
23, Part 209 of the MS Administrative Code for more information. 

GENERIC MANDATES FOR PRESCRIPTION DRUGS 
The only exceptions to the generic mandate are: 

  Observed allergy to a component of the generic drug, 

  An attributable adverse event, or 

  Drugs generally accepted as narrow therapeutic index (NTI) drugs. 

In the absence of a specific request for the brand name drug from the prescriber to the pharmacist, 
the pharmacist must follow standard practice guidelines for the State of Mississippi and fill the 
prescription with the generic equivalent. 

Please note that some generic drugs may be classified as non-preferred by the MS Division of 

Medicaid (DOM) and require prior authorization.  This occurs when a branded drug is less 
expensive to DOM due to the federal and/or supplemental rebates.  In such cases, the dispensing 
pharmacy is required to bill the branded agent rather than the generic agent. 

The prescriber must indicate the following on a written or faxed prescription: 

  Brand name medically necessary, and/or 

  Dispense as written, and/or 
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  Do not substitute. 

DOM recognizes some drugs as narrow therapeutic index (NTI) drugs in which the generic 
mandate does not apply. Claims must be submitted with a DAW equal to “7”. MS Medicaid 
considers the following five drugs as NTI drugs: 

  Coumadin® 

  Dilantin® 

  Lanoxin® 

  Synthroid® 

  Tegretol® 

The prescriber must indicate one of the following on a written or faxed prescription in order for the 
pharmacist to submit the DAW 7: 

  Brand name medically necessary, or 

  Dispense as written, or 

  Do not substitute. 

HEALTH INFORMATION PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY 

ACT (HIPAA)  
All point of sale or POS transactions submitted to MS Division of Medicaid must be HIPAA 
compliant. Data must be encoded to comply with NCPDP D.0 format. 

HOSPICE DRUG COVERAGE 
Medicaid beneficiaries enrolled in Hospice Services are covered under a per diem rate which 
includes all services for that beneficiary. For those beneficiaries receiving Medicaid Hospice 
Services, all palliative therapy, or drugs used to treat beneficiary’s terminal illness, is to be billed 
to the Hospice provider. Medicaid will only pay for drugs used for an indication not directly 
related to the beneficiary’s terminal illness that are within the applicable Medicaid prescription 
service limits. Since plans of care are specific for beneficiaries, it is the responsibility of the 
dispensing pharmacy to bill the Hospice provider or Medicaid appropriately. The dispensing 
pharmacy must retain documentation regarding Hospice Service drug coverage for beneficiaries 
which is easily retrievable for auditing purposes. 

All Medicaid policies and procedures such as prior authorization requirements and limits are still 
applicable. Pharmacy providers must maintain the explanation of benefits (EOB) from other 
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insurance companies or payers, i.e., Hospice. These records must be available to Medicaid upon 
request. 

HOW TO BILL A NON-COVERED HOSPICE DRUG 

Pharmacy may override electronically by entering a “3‟ in the “Other Coverage Code” field. It is 
the responsibility of the pharmacy to have documentation and proof that Hospice was billed first 
and that they received a denial of ‘drug not covered’ in case of an audit. 

WHEN HOSPICE IS NO LONGER IN EFFECT 

Hospice Providers must submit a disenrollment form (DOM-1166) for Medicaid beneficiaries who 
are no longer receiving care by that Hospice Provider. Hospice disenrollment forms and 
submission directions can be found at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-resources/. 

For additional information regarding Hospice refer to the Title 23, Part 205 and the Hospice 
Provider Reference manual at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Provider-
Reference-Guide-205.pdf. 

IDENTIFICATION OF PRESCRIBERS 
As required by federal regulation, effective January 1, 2008, pharmacies must use the National 
Provider Identification (NPI) to identify the prescriber on prescription claims. Pharmacy claims 
must use a valid prescribing provider type and national provider identification (NPI) number for 
an individual and not a building, i.e., clinic or hospital. A ‘prescriber’ must be a person and not a 
building. Valid provider types are physicians, doctors of osteopathy, podiatrists, dentists, 
optometrists, nurse midwives, nurse practitioners and physician assistants. 

The pharmacy is responsible for maintaining accurate and current prescriber identification 
information and access must be made available to all pharmacy employees. Accurate prescriber 
identification of the prescription issuer is required. Non-compliance may result in termination of 
POS privileges and/or recovery of false claims. 

A current Prescribing Provider’s List is available by accessing the DOM website at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov and clicking on “Pharmacy Information” in the third column or by 
contacting the fiscal agent. 

IMMUNIZATIONS IN THE PHARMACY VENUE 
In the MS Medicaid Pharmacy program, the following immunizations are covered services for the 
fee for services Medicaid Beneficiaries: 

  Influenza and pneumonia immunizations for Medicaid beneficiaries ages 19 
and older who are not residents of long-term care facilities.  
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  For the dually eligible, refer to Title 23: Medicaid, Part 224 Immunizations of 
the Administrative Code, which may be found at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/administrative-code/, for billing 
instructions. 

  Zoster immunizations for Medicaid only beneficiaries ages 60 and older. 

o For the dually eligible, bill the beneficiary's Medicare Part 
D plan. 

As with other pharmacy services, a hard copy prescription must be on file. Immunizations 
provided from a credentialed pharmacist will count against the service limits and co-payments are 
applicable. MS Medicaid reimburses for the drug’s ingredient cost and pays a dispensing fee for 
immunizations administered in the pharmacy venue. No administration fee is paid for 
immunizations administered in the pharmacy venue. 

All immunizations for children age 18 and younger must be handled through the 
Vaccines for Children Program (VFC). For additional information regarding immunizations 
and Medicaid policies, refer to Title 23: Medicaid, Part 224 Immunizations of the 
Administrative Code, which may be found at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/administrative-code/. 

INCARCERATED BENEFICIARIES 
The MS Medicaid Program is prohibited by federal regulations 42 C.F.R. §§ 435.1009 and 
435.1010 from paying for services for Medicaid beneficiaries who, on the date of service, are 
incarcerated in a correctional or holding facility for individuals who are prisoners, including 
juvenile correctional facilities, are detained pending disposition of charges, or are held under 
court order as material witnesses. 

If medications are requested for incarcerated Medicaid beneficiary, the medications cannot be 
billed to the Medicaid pharmacy program and are subject to recoupment.  Pharmacists should 
contact the correctional facility regarding the facility’s reimbursement procedures for the 
requested medications. 

LOCK IN 

Beneficiaries can be locked into a specific pharmacy provider, and/or prescriber(s), which means 
they can only receive their prescriptions from an assigned provider. If they attempt to have their 
prescriptions written or filled at a provider other than the one assigned, their claims will deny. 
The MS Division of Medicaid’s Bureau of Program Integrity administers this program and can 
be reached at 1-800-880-5920 or 601-576-4162. 
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LONG-TERM CARE FACILITY 
DOM defines ‘long-term care facility’ as a nursing home, intermediate care facility for Individuals 
with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID), or psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF).  Long-
term care (LTC) residents may receive prescriptions, if the medication orders, signed by the 
prescribing provider, are documented in the individual patient record at the LTC. The pharmacist 
must maintain all transcribed documentation in his/her own prescription files. The patient‘s 
place of residence must be identified by placement of the facility’s name on the front of the 
prescription documentation at the pharmacy.  DOM reimburses claims for prescriptions for NF 
residents when the prescribing provider’s authorization is indicated in the patient’s chart and 
he/she authorizes prescriptions by initialing his/her medication orders. Pharmacists are advised to 
periodically check with the LTC consulting pharmacist to assure that the prescribing provider’s 
orders are being reviewed. Maintenance medication dispensed for LTC residents from patient 
chart instructions should generally be prescribed in one-month quantities, except as required for 
titration or short-term treatment. 

Prior authorization requirements for specific drugs and/or class of drugs exist for LTC residents 
as do for the general population. The cost of any drug supplied to residents in opposition to 
Medicaid policy and/or prior authorization requirements are not allowable on the facilities’ cost 
reports. 

Section 1902(a) (23) of the Social Security Act guarantees beneficiaries the ability to obtain 
Medicaid services from any institution, agency, pharmacy, person or organization that is qualified 
to furnish the services and willing to furnish them to that beneficiary. Participation in any package 
plan for medical care, such as those furnished by an LTC facility, must be strictly voluntary. 

A resident of a long-term care facility defined as a nursing facility, intermediate care facility for 
individuals with intellectual disabilities, or psychiatric residential treatment facility is allowed 
freedom of choice of pharmacy providers for drugs covered by the Medicaid drug program. The 
freedom of choice is limited to pharmacies that meet labeling and packaging requirements 
established by the Board of Pharmacy. 

Consequently, once a beneficiary chooses a particular provider or LTC facility, he or she has 
clearly exercised freedom of choice with respect to all items of medical care included within the 
scope of that care, including all services provided or arranged for by the LTC facility which are 
reimbursed through the LTC rate. For those services, the State should not pay for care other than 
from the LTC provider or LTC arranged providers, because such payments would be redundant. 

Although the individual retains freedom of choice for services that are not reimbursed through 
the LTC facility, there may be restrictions imposed by the LTC facility as a condition of 
residency. While the State should not withhold payment to providers other than those approved 
by the LTC facility for care actually rendered, the LTC facility may refuse to permit such care 
under its own rules (if, as discussed below, those rules are consistent with NF certification 
requirements).  By choosing the LTC facility, the individual voluntarily accepted those 
restrictions. The individual’s freedom of choice would only be violated if those restrictions were 
imposed by the State. 
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Violations of a beneficiary’s freedom of choice of provider may be reported by contacting the 
MS State Department of Health’s Health and Care Facility Complaints’ Hotline at 1-800-227-
7308. 

All providers participating in the Medicaid program are required to maintain records that disclose 
pharmacy services that have been rendered and billed under the program and, on request, make 
premises and such records available to representatives of DOM or the Office of the Attorney 
General in substantiation of any or all claims. These records should be retained and maintained in 
an auditable manner a minimum of five years in order to comply with all State and Federal 
regulations and laws. 

Long-term care beneficiaries are exempt from the monthly prescription drug limits. The 
dispensing fee for all drugs dispensed to a beneficiary in LTC is $3.91 per day. 

LOST/STOLEN MEDICATIONS 
If a beneficiary’s medication is lost or stolen, DOM allows the beneficiary to have a prescription 
refilled in some situations with an override from the Pharmacy PA unit if monthly service limits 
have not been exhausted. If you have questions, contact the Pharmacy PA unit. 

MAX DAILY DOSE 
The maximum daily dose sets a drug utilization review (DUR) edit for “high dose, if the daily 
dose exceeds the maximum daily dose on the drug file. If a beneficiary’s medical condition 
requires a higher dose, DOM allows the beneficiary to have the higher unit dose with prior 
approval, which is handled by Pharmacy PA Unit. 

MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE COST (MAC) 
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has established federal upper limits 
(FUL) or maximum allowable cost (MAC) on certain multiple source drugs to ensure that the 
Federal government acts as a prudent buyer of drugs. The FUL list includes those drugs where 
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has determined there are sufficient generic equivalents 
and where national drug pricing compendia (e.g., First Data Bank, Medical Economics and 
MediSpan) demonstrate there are sufficient drug suppliers listing the drug for sale nationally as set 
forth in 42 CFR § 447.332. This is an aggregate upper limit. 

The most current FUL drug listing can be found at the following web site: 
http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Benefits/Prescription-
Drugs/Federal-Upper-Limits.html 

Medicaid cannot exceed the FUL or MAC set on these drugs regardless of the provider. DOM may 
not routinely cover all drugs listed on the FUL drug listing. 

DOM has the authority to establish upper payment limits for other multi-source products. 
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MEDICARE COVERED DRUGS 
Beneficiaries eligible for both Medicare and Medicaid are known as dually eligible beneficiaries. 
Medicare is the primary payer for the dually eligible beneficiary.  Dual eligible beneficiaries 
have prescription drug coverage through Medicare Part C or Part D if enrolled in a Medicare 
Advantage Plan. 

In accordance with federal guidelines, Medicaid is not responsible for covering pharmacy benefits 
or pharmacy benefits for the full dual eligible, except for drugs in the Medicare Part D excluded 
drug categories. Coverage is limited to drugs covered for other Medicaid eligible beneficiaries in 
the following classes: 

  Over the counter drugs (OTCs). 

  Cough and cold preparations. 

  Prescription vitamins. 

  Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB) are not eligible to receive pharmacy 
benefits through the Medicaid program. 

  Medicare cost-sharing groups (QMB, SLMB, QI) who enroll in Part D 
benchmark plans have no premium or deductible charges with Part D. 

Medicaid does provide coverage of deductible and co-insurance amounts for Medicare Part B 
covered drugs and other Medicare covered services with the exception of those covered under 
Part D. 

MEDICARE PART B DRUGS 

Refer to Part 209 Chapter 1 Rule 1.4 regarding billing of Medicare Part B drugs and associated 
crossover payments for dually eligible Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries. 

Beneficiaries with Medicare Part B services are allowed minimal prescription drug coverage. 
DME pharmacy providers may submit Medicare crossover claims to Medicaid using a CMS- 

1500 claim form. Refer to the CMS-1500 section of the Billing Manual for further instructions. 
DOM does not process any Medicare Part B claims via pharmacy point of sale or POS. 

MEDICARE PART D DRUGS 

Medicare Part D is the portion of Medicare that covers prescription drugs. Any Medicaid 
beneficiary eligible for Medicare Part A and/or B is eligible for Medicare Part D and must enroll 
for coverage.  Medicare Part D payment is considered payment in full and should not be submitted 
to Medicaid for additional payment. Medicaid is always the payer of last resort. 
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For drugs and drug classes not covered by Medicare Part D, Medicaid offers limited coverage for 
the true or full dually eligible. 

BILLING INFORMATION 
Claims submitted through the pharmacy point-of-sale (POS) system for Medicare covered drugs 
will be denied for dually eligible beneficiaries. 

NON-COVERED PHARMACY SERVICES 
For detailed information regarding non-covered pharmacy drugs and/or drug categories, please 
refer to the MS Administrative Code, Title 23, Part 214 Pharmacy Services, Rule 1.3: Drugs 
Subject to Exclusion or Otherwise Restricted. 

DOM does not cover drugs in therapeutic classes covered by Medicare Part D for dual eligible 
individuals entitled to receive Medicare benefits under Part A, Part B and/or Part C.  Failure to 
receive prior authorization for a Part C or Part D drug is not a reason for Medicaid to reimburse for 
a Part C or Part D drug. 

DOM covers to the same extent it covers for all Medicaid beneficiaries under Section 1927 (d) of 
the Social Security Act, for the CMS standard excluded or otherwise restricted drugs or classes 
of drugs, or their medical uses with the exception of those covered by Part D plans as 
supplemental benefits through enhanced alternative coverage as provided in 42  CFR, § 

423.104(f)(1)(ii)(A) to full benefit dual eligible beneficiaries under the Medicare Part D 
Prescription Drug Benefit. 

OVER THE COUNTER (OTC) DRUGS 
DOM covers selected over-the-counter (OTC) drugs pursuant to a legal prescription in writing or 
verbal order. Only those OTC products manufactured by companies who participate in the 
Federal Drug Rebate Program are covered. Prescribing of these OTC drugs is strongly 
encouraged whenever appropriate. OTC drug prescriptions are included in the monthly drug 
benefit limit. DOM may not cover all available package sizes. 

Charges to Medicaid shall be no more than what is charged to the general public for retail sale, 
otherwise known as shelf price. DOM reimbursement to providers may be based on the unit price 
represented by the largest package size if significant cost savings would be realized. 

Effective January 1, 2014, over the counter drugs (OTCs) can no longer be billed to MS Medicaid 
as a point of service (POS) claim for beneficiaries residing in LTC facilities, i.e. NH (nursing 
homes), ICFIDD (intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities), and 
PRTFs (psychiatric residential treatment facilities.  For these beneficiary populations, DOM’s 
OTC formulary items are now considered  ‘stock items’ and are to be included in the facility’s cost 
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report.  This excludes OTC insulin, Pseudoephedrine and Pseudoephedrine combination products 
listed on the OTC formulary, and Guaifenesin/codeine listed on the OTC formulary. 

The Over-the-Counter (OTC) Drug List is subject to change. Refer to the Pharmacy Services 
page on the DOM website at www.medicaid.ms.gov for a current listing of over the counter 
drugs covered by the Division of Medicaid. 

PAPER CLAIMS 
Should be submitted to the following address: 

MS Medicaid Program 

P.O. Box 23076 

Jackson, MS 39225 

Refer paper claim questions to Xerox, formerly ACS, at 1-800-884-3222. 

PHARMACY BILLING 

72-HOUR EMERGENCY SUPPLY 

According to Title XIX of the Social Security Act, in emergency situations, DOM will allow 
payment for a 72-hour supply of drugs requiring prior authorization (PA). A 72-hour emergency 
supply of drugs may be provided to beneficiaries while waiting for the acknowledgement of a 
PA. The pharmacy will be reimbursed for this product even if the prescription is changed to an 
alternative medication or the PA is denied. 72-Hour Emergency Supply prescriptions should be 
submitted through the pharmacy’s point of sale (POS) system. 

The emergency fill will apply to non-preferred drugs on the Preferred Drug List and any drug 
affected by a clinical or therapeutic edit requiring prior authorization.  Emergency supplies 
should be reserved for situations when all the following conditions are met: 

  If the beneficiary’s monthly prescription benefit limit has not been met, 

  When a medication is needed without delay, 

  If the prescribing provider cannot be reached and/or is unable to request the 
PA, and 

  No more than two (2) emergency fills per drug per month have been 
dispensed. The 72-hour emergency fill functionality should not be used for: 

  Routine and continuous overrides, or 
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  If the drug is not subject to a prior authorization and/or the claim meets the 
prior authorization criteria. 

If the drug is approved for PA, then the emergency supply quantity should be reversed, and the 
entire quantity should submitted.  DOM will only reimburse for one dispensing fee and only one 
copayment, where applicable, may be collected. 

For billing directions regarding point of sale (POS) billing of a 72 Hour Emergency Supply, refer 
to the Pharmacy Services’ page on the DOM website at www.medicaid.ms.gov. 

If the drug is approved for PA, the emergency supply should be submitted as part of the original 
fill. The dispensing fee and beneficiary co-pay may not be collected until the remainder of the 
drug is dispensed. 

CYCLE BILLING - AUTOMATIC REFILL 

DOM does not allow prescriptions to be automatically refilled for MS Medicaid beneficiaries. 
The refill of a prescription must be initiated by the beneficiary and/or beneficiary’s responsible 
party. 

31 AND 90 DAY SUPPLY 

Beneficiaries are limited to a maximum of a 31-day supply based on the daily dosage for all 
prescriptions, with some exceptions. Refer to the MS Administrative Code Title 23 Medicaid, 
Part 214 Pharmacy Services, Chapter 1 General Pharmacy, Rule 1.6.F. 

MS Medicaid allows a 90 day supply on a limited number of maintenance medications. For the 
current 90 Day Maintenance List, go to 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-resources/.  The 90 Day Maintenance 
list is subject to revisions. 

DECIMAL UNITS/POINTS 

DOM’s Pharmacy Point of Sale (POS) accepts quantity amounts including decimal units. 
Pharmacy claims are to be submitted using the actual unit(s) dispensed, including any decimal 
increments.  Decimal units should not be rounded up or down since this practice may result in 
under or over payments and/or create rebate disputes for the State of Mississippi. 

DISPENSING FEE 

The dispensing fee is $3.91 for branded products and $4.91 for generic products. The dispensing 
fee for beneficiaries residing in a Long Term Care (LTC) facility is $3.91 for all drugs. 

LTC pharmacies are limited to one dispensing fee per drug, defined as same chemical entity and 
strength, per month. 
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DISPENSING NATIONAL DRUG CODE (NDC) REQUIREMENTS 

The National Drug Code, or NDC Number, is a unique number identifying drug products and is 
issued by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). NDC numbers are comprised of three 
components: 

  The first component identifies the drug manufacturer (“Labeler No.”), 

  The second component identifies the product (“Product No.”), and 

  The third component identifies the package size (“Pkg.”). 

It is the responsibility of the pharmacy provider to bill the correct/appropriate NDC number for 
the product on each claim.  The NDC number must be for the drug and package size actually 
dispensed and must include all eleven (11) digits for the NDC to be correct. This requirement is 
for all products, regardless of legend or over the counter (OTC) status. 

Most drugs distributed by re-packagers are not covered by Medicaid because the re-packager 
does not participate in the federal rebate program with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS).  A pharmacy may not dispense a re-packager’s drug and then bill Medicaid 
using the original manufacturer’s NDC number. 

Medicaid has the authority to recoup monies when an audit determines that the incorrect NDC 
number was billed. 

SUSPENDED CLAIMS 

Mississippi Medicaid does not suspend any pharmacy POS claims. Claims pay or deny. 
Exceptions are some claims entered through the web portal. See the Web Portal Section for 
specific information. 

TIMELY FILING LIMITS 

Providers must submit claims within 365 days. 

THIRD PARTY LIABILITY 

Pharmacy providers are required to bill prescription claims to private third party insurance 
carriers for those beneficiaries covered by both Medicaid and other third party insurance. 

Pharmacy providers must keep explanation of benefits (EOB) from other insurance companies. 
These records must be available to Medicaid upon request. 

Remember, Medicaid is always the payer of last resort. If a beneficiary tells the provider that 
his/her insurance policy is no longer in effect, that the policy never existed, or that the policy is for 
something other than medical insurance, the provider should obtain a signed statement from the 
beneficiary which includes the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the ending 
date of coverage. The signed statement should be forwarded to the DOM Bureau of Recovery. 



Mi ssi ssi p p i Med i cai d P ro v i d er Ref eren ce Gu i d e 

P a r t 2 14 Pharmacy Services 

 

 

Updated as of July 2014                                                                                  21 

Upon receipt of this information, the patient’s statement will be researched and, if necessary, the 
third party resource file will be updated. 

Mississippi Medicaid Electronic Procedure for Billing Other Insurance A. Beneficiaries whose 
data on file with Medicaid indicates other third party coverage: 

1. Pharmacy sends electronic claim to fiscal agent and it is rejected with 
NCPDP Reject Code “41” which will display the message, “Submit Bill to 
Other Processor or Primary Payer”. The text of the rejection message 
(NCPDP Field # 504-F4) will also state the Third Party payer information 
including name, address and telephone number. 

2. Pharmacy sends claim to Third Party Payer. 

a. Third Party Payer pays 100% of the Medicaid allowable charge- Claim may be 
resubmitted to Medicaid but no payment will result. 

b. Third Party Payer pays less than 100% of the Medicaid allowable- Claim should 
be resubmitted to Medicaid. 

3. Enter the total amount paid by Third Party Payer in the “TPL Amount 
Paid” field (NCPDP Field # 431-DV – “Other Payer Amount Paid‟). 

4. Enter “02” in “Other Coverage Code” Field (#308-C8- Other Coverage 
Exists- Payment Collected). 

5. Submit claim to Medicaid fiscal agent for the full usual and customary 
amount. 

DO NOT SUBMIT COPAY AMOUNT ONLY. 

6. Resulting payment will be Medicaid allowable minus TPL Amount Paid. 
7. Third Party Payer sends back a $0.00 Paid Amount* (Rejection or 

Denial) *Valid Values  for  “Other  Payer  Reject  Codes‟  (Field  #  472-
6E)  received  from  other insurance are: 

a. 40= Pharmacy Not Contracted with Plan on Date of Service 

b. 65= Patient is Not Covered 

c. 67= Filled Before Coverage Effective 

d. 68= Filled After Coverage Expired 

e. 69= Filled After Coverage Terminated 

f. 70= Product/Service Not Covered 

g. 73= Refills are Not Covered 

h. 76= Plan Limitations Exceeded 

8. Enter $0.00 in the ‘TPL Amount Paid’ Field 431-DV 
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9. In Field #‟308-C8,’Other Coverage Code’ one of the following applicable 
values should be entered (this field is optional when Field #308-C8 ‘Other 
Coverage Code’ = 01, 03 or 04): 

a. 01 = No Other Coverage Exists (Ex: Claim denies due to coverage expired) 

b. 03 = Other Coverage Exists-Claim Not Covered (Ex: Claim denies due to non-
coverage of drug by insurance and drug is covered by Medicaid) 

c. 04 = Other Coverage Exists-Payment Not Collected 05 = Managed Care Plan 
Denial-Not an acceptable value 

d. 06 = Other Coverage Denied- Not Participating Provider (Ex: Beneficiary has 
insurance coverage but the pharmacy and/or prescriber are out of the insurance 
company’s network. 

e. 07 = Other Coverage Exists- Not in Effect on Date of Service 

f. 08 = Billing for Copay-Not an acceptable value iii.  

10. Submit claim to Medicaid fiscal agent. 
11. Claim will pay Medicaid Allowable. 

Beneficiaries whose data on file indicates no other coverage but provider is aware of other 
insurance coverage. 

  Follow steps under “a” above. 

  Provider must report the beneficiary’s other insurance to Medicaid: Call 
Bureau of Recovery, Division of Medicaid at 601-359-6095, or (preferably) 
FAX information to: 1-601-359-6294. 

Report insurance coverage via the form on the DOM website at: 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/provider-resources/. 

Refer to directions posted on Pharmacy Services webpage regarding billing other insurance at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/pharmacy-resources/. 

PHARMACY DISEASE MANAGEMENT 
Pharmacy Disease Management services are those provided by specially credentialed pharmacists 
for Medicaid beneficiaries with specific chronic disease states of diabetes, asthma, hyperlipidemia, 
anticoagulation therapy, or other disease states as defined by the Mississippi State Board of 
Pharmacy. It is a patient-centered concept integrating the pharmacist into the health care team 
with shared responsibility for disease management and therapeutic outcomes. The process 
provides cost-effective, high-quality health care for beneficiaries referred by their physicians. 
The referring physician requests pharmacy disease management services from any credentialed 
participating pharmacist in Mississippi. With the appropriate transfer of pharmacy care records, 
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including a written referral from the physician to the pharmacist, the referral is considered 
documented. All laboratory test results must be included because the pharmacist is not allowed 
reimbursement for laboratory procedures. In order to be cost-effective for the Medicaid program, 
the pharmacy disease management services performed by the pharmacist cannot duplicate those 
provided by the physician. 

The pharmacist must be knowledgeable about pharmaceutical products and the design of 
therapeutic approaches that are safe, effective, and cost-efficient for patient outcomes. The 
pharmacist is to evaluate the patient and consults with the physician concerning the 
suggested/prescribed drug therapy. After the drug therapy review with the physician, the 
pharmacist counsels the patient concerning such topics as compliance and provides the patient 
with educational and informational materials specific to the disease or drug. The pharmacist is to 
function in an educational capacity to ensure the patient understanding and compliance with the 
proper usage of all drugs prescribed by the physician. The involvement with the patient and the 
education of the patient about lifestyle changes and improved drug regimen compliance are 
aimed at improving overall health and the reduction and/or avoidance of costly hospitalizations 
and emergency care. 

The State Pharmacy Act in its Disease Management Protocol requires communication with the 
referring physician.  Pharmacy disease management services follow a protocol developed 
between the pharmacist and patient’s physician. 

The primary components of this service are as follows: 

  Patient evaluation, 

  Compliance assessment, 

  Drug therapy review, 

  Disease state management according to clinical practice guidelines, and 

  Patient/caregiver education. 

The pharmacist must provide a separate, distinct area conducive to privacy for a seated, face-to- 
face consultation with and education of the beneficiary, for example a partitioned booth or a 
private room. 

A copy of the pharmacy care records, including the documentation for services, is shared with 
the patient’s physician and remains on file in the pharmacist’s facility available for audit by 
DOM. 

To provide this service, a pharmacist must be a registered pharmacist with the Mississippi Board 
of Pharmacy who has completed a disease specific certification program approved by the 
Mississippi Board of Pharmacy practicing within the scope as defined by state law. All disease 
management pharmacists must renew their specific disease management certifications as 
required by the Board of Pharmacy. 
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The pharmacist applying to become a pharmacy disease management provider must complete an 
enrollment packet and Mississippi Medicaid provider agreement form. The enrollment 
application must include proof of Mississippi Pharmacist registration and National Institute for 
Standards in Pharmacists Credentialing certification in the pharmacy disease management areas 
for which reimbursement is sought. Mississippi Medicaid Pharmacy Disease Management 
Provider Agreements will not be initiated or maintained with any pharmacist whose place of 
business is physically located more than 30 miles from the borders of Mississippi. Only the 
individual pharmacist may enroll as a pharmacy disease management provider. Businesses such 
as partnerships and corporations do not qualify. Enrollment packets can be obtained from 
Medicaid’s fiscal agent. 

Pharmacists credentialed to provide pharmacy disease management services may receive 
reimbursement using only the individual Medicaid pharmacy disease management provider 
number. 

Pharmacies with multiple individual pharmacy disease management providers may apply for 
group services under one group provider number. Each pharmacist in the group is still required 
to have his/her own individual provider number. This number must be entered on the claim in the 
servicing provider field. An enrollment packet must be completed and a group number must be 
received for the servicing location. 

Pharmacy disease management services are reimbursed on a per encounter basis. When billing 
for an encounter, pharmacy disease management providers must use the CPT code 99402. An 
encounter must be at least 15 minutes and average 30 minutes. The number of encounters is 
limited to 12 per beneficiary per fiscal year. 

Pharmacy disease management services are not covered for beneficiaries in long term care 
facilities or for beneficiaries receiving home health services.  Neither OBRA-mandated 
counseling nor JCAHO- mandated institutional discharge counseling qualify as a pharmacy 
disease management service. 

Pharmacy disease management services are available to the parent or other responsible guardian 
when the beneficiary is a minor and/or mentally challenged and living at home. All claims will 
be filed to the beneficiary’s Medicaid ID number. The pharmacist provider must personally 
render all pharmacy disease management services billed to Medicaid. A relief pharmacist 
employed for pharmacy disease management services must bill Mississippi Medicaid using 
his/her own individual Medicaid provider number. 

PHARMACY DISEASE MANAGEMENT DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 

In addition to the documentation requirements applicable to all pharmacy providers, pharmacy 
disease management providers must maintain additional documentation. 

The disease management pharmacist must maintain at his/her place of business proof of current 
certification for the specific disease state for which reimbursement is sought. A pharmaceutical 
care record (patient record) must be maintained on each individual beneficiary for whom services 
are billed. These records must be retained and maintained in a manner conducive to audit, 
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e.g., in alphabetical order, for a minimum of five years. At a minimum, the following documents 
must be maintained, in date order, within each individual beneficiary’s pharmaceutical care record: 

  A referral from the beneficiary’s physician/nurse practitioner, 

  A copy of the protocol in accordance with the National Clinical Practice 
Guidelines authorizing pharmacy disease management of the beneficiary, 

  Documentation of all oral and written communication with the beneficiary’s 
physician/nurse practitioner, 

  Copies of all laboratory data provided, & 

  All pharmacist notes, including progress reports, pertaining to the care of the 
beneficiary. 

PHARMACY 
The Division of Medicaid (DOM) recognizes the definitions of these terms as set forth by the 
Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy.  A pharmacy eligible to participate in the Mississippi 
Medicaid program must be licensed in the state of MS to dispense pharmaceuticals and adhere to 
all state and federal guidelines as well as to DOM policy. Pharmacies are required to file a copy 
of their current MS Board of Pharmacy permit with DOM. Failure to do so may result in the 
withholding of payments and/or enrollment termination. 

Listed below are the pharmacy provider categories for the Mississippi Medicaid program: 

RETAIL PHARMACY 

Pharmacies that hold either a Community Pharmacy or Non-Resident Pharmacy permit and 
participation in the Mississippi Medicaid program requires the pharmacy to be a community. A 
pharmacist must be on premises to dispense drugs to the general public. A prospective drug 
utilization review of beneficiary records is required prior to dispensing prescriptions. An 
opportunity for face-to-face counseling must be provided to beneficiaries or to their 
representatives (guardians, relatives, etc.). DOM will not reimburse a retail pharmacy provider 
for dispensing of prescriptions where a personal provider/beneficiary relationship does not exist. 

Pharmacies located out-of-state or non-resident pharmacies, which provide medications to MS 
Medicaid beneficiaries, including, but not limited to mailing and/or shipping, must be licensed 
by the state in which they are located and hold a current permit by the MS Board of Pharmacy.  

CLOSED-DOOR PHARMACY 

Pharmacies hold a Specialty Community Pharmacy permit and participation in the Mississippi 
Medicaid program is limited to dispensing infusion therapy drugs or dispensing drugs to 
beneficiaries in an institutional setting (ex: a nursing home or similar long term care facility). A 
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pharmacist must be on the premises to dispense drugs. Prospective drug utilization review of 
beneficiary records is required prior to dispensing prescriptions. Face-to face counseling is not 
required if the beneficiary is a resident of a long term care facility or the dispensed drugs are 
administered by a physician, nurse, or similarly authorized health professional.  If the medication 
is shipped to the beneficiary, then phone counseling will be available. 

INSTITUTIONAL PHARMACY 

Pharmacies that hold an Institutional I or II Pharmacy permit are limited to the dispensing of 
drugs to beneficiaries in an institutional setting (ex: a nursing home or similar long term care 
facility). These pharmacies are on-site, may have limited hours, and may dispense to outpatient 
beneficiaries. Prospective drug utilization review of beneficiary records is required prior to 
dispensing prescriptions. Face-to-face counseling is not required if the beneficiary is a resident of a 
long term care facility or the dispensed drugs are administered by a physician, nurse, or similarly 
authorized health professional. 

Permit holders who dispense drugs outside of the specified required criteria listed above are not 
eligible to be a Mississippi Medicaid provider of pharmacy services. 

Medicaid Pharmacy Provider Agreements will not be initiated or maintained with pharmacy 
wholesalers or with holders of only a Drug Room Permit, Retail, Closed-door, or Institutional 
Pharmacy physically located more than thirty (30) miles from the state borders of Mississippi. 

Exceptions to the thirty (30) mile limit may be made if the servicing pharmacy provider is: 

  Located outside of the thirty (30) mile limit, and is the source of a drug 
not obtainable from any pharmacy provider within the thirty (30) mile limit, 
or 

  Providing drugs to a Mississippi Medicaid beneficiary who is a resident 
of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID) or psychiatric residential treatment facility 
(PRTF) that is located outside of the thirty (30) mile radius, or 

  Providing drugs to a Mississippi Medicaid beneficiary receiving 
specialized care and services (e.g. transplant) in a facility located outside the 
thirty (30) mile limit. 

PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT 
DOM reimburses pharmacy providers only for prescriptions that are received via hand delivery 
by a beneficiary or his/her representative, received directly via phone, fax, mail or other electronic 
means such as e-mail or electronic prescribing from a prescribing provider licensed under State 
law or an agent with medical training under the health professional’s direct supervision (ex: 
nurse). 
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DISPENSING PHYSICIANS 

DOM does not enroll dispensing physicians for reimbursement as a pharmacy provider type. 

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP LIABILITY 

When a participating pharmacy changes ownership and the new owner desires to participate or 
continue participation in the Mississippi Medicaid program, the new owner, upon consummation 
of the transaction effecting the change of ownership, shall, as a condition of participation, 
assume liability for any and all amounts that may become due to the program as a result of audit. 
The new owner further agrees that such amounts may be withheld from the payment of claims 
submitted when determined, provided, however, that the assumption of liability by the new 
owner shall not be in any way construed as relieving the previous owner of his/her liability to 
DOM. 

When there is a change in ownership or federal identification number of a provider, the new owner 
shall immediately notify the fiscal agent and request a new provider application and agreement to 
obtain a new provider number. After completion of a new provider application and agreement, and 
in accordance with enrollment procedures, the fiscal agent will assign a new provider number. No 
payment will be made until the provider number is assigned. 

Providers with questions about remittance advice statements, check inquiries, billing medical 
supplies, publications, and beneficiary eligibility can call the Provider Inquiry Unit: 800-884-
3222 or 601-206-3000. 

Providers can also utilize the Mississippi Medicaid Web Portal for the most current information. 
Providers can enroll online, check claim status, check eligibility, and check policy through the 
web portal. Once registered as a provider, pharmacies can also submit claims (CMS 1500 claims, 
72 Hour Emergency, Retro-eligibility and TPN claims) online, through the Envision web portal. 
The web portal is a one-stop shop for Medicaid providers. The Web Portal address is: 
https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com 

Contact Information for Pharmacy Providers 

  Telephone Fax

Xerox, formerly Affiliated Computer 
System (ACS) 

Fiscal Agent 
800-844-3222 or 

601-206-3000 

 

601-206-3059 

Automated Voice Response System 
(AVRS) 

Eligibility 
866-597-2675 or 

601-206-3090 
 

Division of Medicaid (DOM) Pharmacy Services 800-421-2408 or 601-
359-5253 

601-359-9555 

Pharmacy Prior Authorization Unit Prior Authorizations 877-537-0722 
 

877-537-0720 
Pharmacy Helpdesk  866-759-4108 866-209-4520 
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CLAIM PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS 

Providers who wish to inquire about their reimbursement should contact AVRS at 866-597-2675 
or 601-206-3090. 

PREFERRED DRUG LIST 
The Preferred Drug List (PDL) is a list of drugs, which have been reviewed and proposed by the 
Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee, a group of physicians, pharmacists, nurse 
practitioners, and/or other health care professionals. Final approval is the responsibility of the 
Executive Director of the Division of Medicaid. The Division of Medicaid (DOM) recommends 
that prescribers use the drugs on the PDL list. 

The preferred drug list contains a wide range of generic and preferred brand name products that 
have been approved by the FDA. A medication becomes a preferred drug based first on safety 
and efficacy, then on cost-effectiveness. Drugs on the PDL are as effective as non-preferred 
drugs, but offer economic benefits for beneficiaries and the State of Mississippi. PDL addresses 
drugs dispensed in the pharmacy or point of sale (POS) venue only.  It is not applicable to drugs 
provided and billed by physician offices. 

The Mississippi Medicaid Preferred Drug List is subject to change.  It is updated at least annually 
and as needed. New to the market drugs in classes which are included on the PDL are considered 
non-preferred until reviewed.  Refer to the Pharmacy Services page on the DOM website at 
www.medicaid.ms.gov for a current listing of prescription drugs on the PDL. 

PREFERRED DRUG LIST EXCEPTIONS 

Drugs must be prescribed and dispensed in accordance with medically accepted indications for 
uses and dosages. No payment may be made under the Medicaid program for services, procedures, 
supplies or drugs which are still in clinical trials and/or investigative or experimental in nature. 

PDL exception request will be reviewed and a determination notice provided within 24 hours 
from receipt of request by telephone or other telecommunications device. The prescriber must 
initiate the PDL exception request for non-preferred PDL drugs that require prior authorization. 
PDL exception and/or PA forms will be signed by the prescriber.  The form must remain in the 
patient’s chart and will be subject to audit by the Division of Medical Services or its authorized 
representatives. 

In emergency situations, the Division will allow payment for a 72-hour supply of drugs that are 
to be authorized. 

Refer to the Pharmacy Services page on the DOM website @ www.medicaid.ms.gov for a 
Preferred Drug List Exception Request Form. 
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PRESCRIPTION REQUIREMENTS 

TELEPHONE, ELECTRONIC AND/OR FAXED PRESCRIPTIONS 

All prescriptions must be from a provider licensed under state law. Prescriptions may be 
electronically transmitted (e-prescribed), telephoned or faxed from the prescriber in accordance 
with federal and/or state laws and regulations. E-prescribed and telephoned prescriptions are to 
be transcribed to a hard copy document including all required information including the name or 
initials of the pharmacist dispensing the prescription and the name of the individual 
electronically or orally transmitting the order. It is the provider’s responsibility to ensure the 
integrity of the prescription. 

All covered outpatient drugs must be prescriber by a practitioner qualified under state law and 
within the scope of his and/or her practice, and in accordance with federal and state guidelines. 

PRESCRIPTIONS FOR NEWBORNS 

Prescriptions for a newborn must clearly indicate “NEWBORN” on the prescription. This will 
assure the pharmacist that he/she can file a claim. Pharmacists must use the baby’s name, baby’s 
date of birth, the mother’s ID number, and the infant exception code (K) when filing a claim for 
these prescriptions. 

PRESCRIPTION DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 

All written prescriptions must contain, but not limited to, the following components and 
information: 

  Beneficiary’s name, 

  Beneficiary’s address if the prescription is for a controlled substance, 

  Date of issuance of prescription, 

  Name of prescribed drug and quantity to be dispensed but no more than a 31-
day supply, 

  Specific directions for its use in order for the pharmacist to dispense 
medications within the framework of rules and regulations of DOM regarding 
prescribed drugs, 

  Prescriber’s signature, 

  Authorized refills, if applicable, 

  Prescriber’s name and DEA number, 
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  Prescriber’s address if the prescription is for a controlled substance, 

  Date filled and serial number of prescription. 

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION 

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS REQUIRING PRIOR AUTHORIZATION 

The MS Division of Medicaid requires prior authorizations for reimbursement of pharmacy 
claims under certain circumstances. The prior authorization process is designed to encourage 
appropriate use of cost-effective pharmaceuticals for Medicaid beneficiaries. The Mississippi 
Division of Medicaid requires prior authorization for reimbursement of Synagis. 

In addition, clinical edits, as well as limits placed on drugs based on age, gender, quantity and 
dosage, as approved by Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board and/or Pharmacy and 
Therapeutics Committee may require PA. There is a maximum approval limit of one year. 

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION PROCESS 

Processes related to prior authorization for prescription drugs must be handled according to the 
procedures set forth by the Pharmacy Bureau PA Unit. Prior authorization forms are located on 
the Pharmacy Services’ webpage at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/resources/forms/ and select 
Pharmacy Services. 

The prescriber must initiate the prior authorization (PA) for prescription drugs that require PA. 
The PA request form will be completed by the prescriber.  A copy of the PA form must remain 
in the patient’s chart and will be subject to audit by the Division of Medical Services or its 
authorized representatives. 

In an emergency, for those drugs for which a 72 hour supply can be dispensed, a pharmacy may 
dispense up to a three-day supply of a drug that requires clinical criteria.  This provision applies 
only in an emergency. 

Refer to the Pharmacy Services’ webpage for information regarding prior authorization and 
forms as well as the current DOM Preferred Drug List or PDL. 

REFILL TOO SOON (EARLY REFILL) 
The refill-too-soon or early refill logic is set up to allow a beneficiary the opportunity to get their 
prescriptions filled no more than 25% early for regular legend drugs and no more than 15% early 
for controlled drugs. 

  DUR overrides do not stop the early refill edits from posting. 

  Early refill requests are handled by the Pharmacy PA unit. 
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REIMBURSEMENT 
EAC (Estimated Acquisition Cost) is defined as the Division’s estimate of the price generally 
paid by pharmacies for pharmaceutical products. EAC may be based on the Average Wholesale 
Price (AWP) or the Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) or the State Maximum Allowable Cost 
(SMAC). 

Usual and customary charge for prescription drugs is the price charged to the general public. 
DOM defines the general public as the patient group accounting for the largest number of non- 
Medicaid prescriptions from the individual pharmacy, but does not include beneficiaries who 
purchase or receive their prescriptions through a third party payer such as Blue Cross and Blue 
Shield, Aetna, etc. 

Medicaid does not cover delivery charges. 

PARTICIPATING FEDERALLY QUALIFIED HEALTH CENTER (FQHC) PROVIDERS 

In reference to billing of Discounted Drugs, the Veterans Health Care Act of 1992 Title VI-Drug 
Pricing Agreements changed the way that drugs are billed to Medicaid by Federally Qualified 
Health Center (FQHC) in-house pharmacies. The Act requires that State Medicaid Agencies not 
request rebates on drugs that have already been discounted in price by the manufacturer at the 
time of purchase. The effective date of the applicable Section of the Act is December 1, 1992. 

All drugs, as defined by the Act, purchased by an in-house pharmacy of an FQHC at a discounted 
price are to be reported on the cost report and be reimbursed through the core services encounter 
rate and not billed through the Pharmacy Program. 

PHARMACIES PARTICIPATING IN THE 340B PROGRAM 

Pharmacies participating in the program established by Section 340B of the Public Health 
Services Act must notify DOM regarding their participation. Said participants must also be listed 
on the HRSA website, www.hrsa.gov/opa/.  Providers are required to complete the required 
certification forms and supply three recent and comprehensive invoices annually. 

Drugs with discounts generated from participation in this program are ineligible for federal drug 
rebates and pharmacy claims from 340b providers are not submitted to manufacturers for drug 
rebates.  Pharmacies participating in this program must submit actual acquisition costs when 
billing the Medicaid program. Submission of additional invoices may be required for auditing. 
Charges to Medicaid in excess of the actual invoice costs will be subject to recoupment by 
DOM.  As manufacturer price changes occur, providers must ensure that their billings are updated 
accordingly. 

For the current DOM Pharmacy Reimbursement methodology visit the DOM website at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/. 
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RETURN OF UNUSED LONG TERM CARE MEDICATIONS 
The Division of Medicaid will not reimburse for medications in tamper-resistant packages 
prescribed for a resident in a long-term care (LTC) facility but not dispensed to the resident. 
Such medication must be returned to the dispensing pharmacy and not billed to Medicaid. A 
medication is considered to be dispensed when it leaves the dispensing pharmacy and is delivered 
to the long-term care institutional facility. Return of unused medications in the long term care 
facility venue must be in compliance with the MS State Board of Pharmacy regulations and state 
and federal guidelines. 

Medication is considered to be dispensed when it leaves the dispensing pharmacy and is delivered 
to the institutional facility.  Medications prescribed to a LTC facility resident are considered not 
dispensed if: 

  The medication was discontinued prior to delivery, 

  The resident expired prior to medication being delivered, 

  The resident was in the hospital (on discharge status from the LTC 
facility) at time of delivery, 

  The medication dosage was changed prior to delivery, or 

  The resident had excess medications remaining from a previous cycle with a 
documented explanation by the Director of Nurses 

Any such medication subject to return must be intact with no doses removed from the blister 
package (unit dose).  Medications dispensed and placed in bulk packaged and accepted by a 
responsible party at the long term care facility cannot be returned to the dispensing pharmacy for 
any reason.  All medication subject to return must be returned to the dispensing pharmacy within 
five (5) days. No controlled substances may be returned. 

The LTC facility must have written procedures regarding returning medications not dispensed to 
the resident to the dispensing pharmacy. The dispensing pharmacy must approve, in writing, the 
LTC facilities return procedures to ensure that any returned medications have been properly 
stored and have not been tampered with. The dispensing pharmacy must maintain those 
procedures in its files. Written procedures must be available from both the LTC facility and the 
pharmacy upon request by DOM. 

The provider pharmacy must implement approved procedures which ensure that any returned 
medication has been properly stored, has not been tampered with, and the integrity of the 
medications remains intact.  Documentation of the aforementioned criteria must comply with the 
MS Board of Pharmacy’s regulations. 

The record of adjustment may be a copy of the void/adjustment form or a documented note in the 
pharmacy’s billing computer as to the date of adjustment. 
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RETURN TO STOCK/CLAIMS REVERSALS 
Notwithstanding any other Division of Medicaid regulation, and for purposes of billing for 
prescribed drugs, the date of service means the date a prescription is filled. If the drug has not 
been received by the beneficiary or the beneficiary’s representative within fifteen (15) calendar 
days from the date the prescription is filled, the pharmacy must reverse the claim and refund the 
payment to the DOM. The date of service/ the date the prescription is filled are considered as 
day1.  The pharmacy must retain a record of the reversal on file for audit purposes. 

DOM cannot adjust pharmacy claims submitted by point of sale (POS).  To correct information 
submitted on a pharmacy POS claim, the pharmacy must reverse and resubmit the claim with the 
correct information.  For assistance with claim reversals, please contact DOM’s fiscal agent or 
Xerox at 1-800-884-3222. 

SUSPENDED CLAIMS 
DOM does not suspend any pharmacy POS claims.  Claims either pay or deny. Exceptions are 
some claims entered through the web portal. Please refer to the Web Portal Section for specific 
information regarding this. 

TAMPER RESISTANT PRESCRIPTION PAD/PAPER 
All non-electronic prescriptions must be written on tamper-resistant pads/paper in order to be 
eligible for reimbursement by Medicaid.  The tamper-resistant prescription pads/paper 
requirement applies to all outpatient drugs, including over-the-counter drugs. Tamper–resistant 
prescription pad/paper is more difficult to erase, alter, or fraudulently reproduce. This type of hard 
copy prescription pad/paper includes features that resist duplication and changes. The intent of 
this policy is to reduce forged, unauthorized and altered prescriptions and to deter drug abuse. 

This mandate applies whether DOM is the primary or secondary payer of the prescription being 
filled. This new provision impacts all DOM prescribers: physicians, dentists, optometrists, nurse 
practitioners and other providers who prescribe outpatient drugs. 

A prescription must contain at least one feature in all three categories in order to be considered 
“tamper-resistant.” 

CATEGORY 1- COPY RESISTANCE: 

One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent unauthorized copying of a 
completed or blank prescription form. Examples may include but are not limited to: 

  “Void” or “Illegal” pantograph with or without reverse “RX” 

  Security back print (artificial watermark) 

  Special paper watermarking 



Mi ssi ssi p p i Med i cai d P ro v i d er Ref eren ce Gu i d e 

P a r t 2 14 Pharmacy Services 

 

 

Updated as of July 2014                                                                                  34 

CATEGORY 2- ERASURE/MODIFICATION RESISTANCE: 

One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the erasure or modification of 
information written on the prescription by the prescriber. Examples may include but are not 
limited to: 

  To Prevent Erasure 

o Erasure revealing background 

o Toner receptor coating/Toner lock c.   Chemically reactive paper 

  To Prevent Modifications 

o Quantity check off boxes and refill indicator 

o Quantity Border/ refill Border and Fill (Computer generated prescriptions on paper 
only) 

Note: While only one feature from Category 2 is required, DOM recommends that one feature of 
erasure and one feature of modification resistance be used. 

CATEGORY 3- COUNTERFEIT RESISTANCE: 

One or more industry-recognized features designed to prevent the use of counterfeit prescription 
forms. Examples may include but are not limited to: 

  Security features and descriptions listed on prescriptions 

  Thermo chromic ink 

For additional information regarding industry-recognized features refer to the DOM website at 
www.medicaid.ms.gov under Pharmacy Services. 

Note that computer generated prescriptions are not exempt from the CMS mandate. 

Pharmacies presented with a prescription written on a non-tamper resistant prescription 
pad/paper may satisfy the federal requirement by calling the provider’s office and verbally 
confirming the prescription with the physician or prescriber. The pharmacy should document 
through notations on the hard copy of the prescription, or electronically, that such communication 
and confirmation has taken place. Documentation should include the following: 

  Date 

  Time 

  Person who verified the prescription 

  Beneficiary’s name 
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  Beneficiary’ age 

  Drug information (name, strength, quantity, number of refills) 

  Verification that all medications were ordered if more than one medication is 
specified 

Emergency fills with a non-compliant written prescription are allowed as long as the prescriber 
provides a verbal, faxed, electronic or compliant written prescription within 72 hours. 

EXEMPTIONS 

Exemptions to this mandate include: 

  Prescriptions presented by other modes of transmission, e.g., facsimile, 
electronic or e- prescribed, and telephone 

  Refills for which the original prescription was filled prior to April 1, 2008 

  Written orders prepared in an institutional setting, including intermediate 
care facilities and nursing facilities, provided that the beneficiary never has 
the opportunity to handle the written order and the order is given by licensed 
staff directly to the dispensing pharmacy 

  Transfer of a prescription between two pharmacies, provided that the 
receiving pharmacy is able to confirm by facsimile or telephone call the 
authenticity of the tamper-resistant prescription with the original pharmacy 

A prescription order written on a tamper resistant prescription pad/paper does not automatically 
make the prescription compliant or valid. The pharmacist must ensure the validity of any 
prescription received and comply with federal and state statutes, laws and regulations when 
dispensing. Prescribing providers are required to comply with federal and state statutes and laws. 

A uniform layout, format, or style is not required. Prescribing providers who prescribe for 
Medicaid beneficiaries are responsible for ordering the pads. Prescribers may choose to customize 
the layout and use the pads for non-Medicaid beneficiaries. 

TOBACCO CESSATION 

TOBACCO CESSATION MEDICATIONS 

The following types of tobacco cessation medications are covered in the Mississippi Medicaid 
program: 

  Over-the-counter nicotine products, 



Mi ssi ssi p p i Med i cai d P ro v i d er Ref eren ce Gu i d e 

P a r t 2 14 Pharmacy Services 

 

 

Updated as of July 2014                                                                                  36 

  Legend or prescription nicotine replacement products, 

  Bupropion Hydrochloride, and 

  Varenicline Tartrate. 

A physician’s prescription is required for all legend and over-the-counter tobacco cessation 
medications. Each prescription will count toward the monthly drug limit. 

DOM authorizes benefits for tobacco cessation medications for the purpose of supporting 
beneficiaries who are trying to quit tobacco use with the temporary assistance of nicotine 
replacement therapy. It is expected that utilization of these products will be in accordance with 
medical standards of practice, FDA guidelines, and manufacturers’ recommendations which 
generally limit product use to approximately 12 weeks. DOM will monitor the beneficiary’s 
utilization of tobacco cessation products for over utilization or misuse, and in instances where 
there are patterns suggesting over utilization or misuse, the prescribing physician(s) will be 
contacted for justification of medical necessity. 

TOBACCO CESSATION COUNSELING 

To maximize the effectiveness of tobacco cessation medications, several telephone and on-line 
help centers are available for beneficiary use in conjunction with cessation medication. 

Resource Program Description Contact Information 

MS Tobacco 
Quitline 

A telephone counseling, information, and tip line that is 
available for anyone interested in kicking the habit. 
Tobacco Quitline Hours are 8:00 am - 8:00 pm M-F 

1-800-784-8669 (1-800-QUIT-NOW) 
www.quitlinems.com  

http://www.cancer.org/healthy/stayawa
yfromtobacco/quit-for-life 

American Cancer 
Society’s Quit For 

Life® 

Tobacco cessation program that links callers with trained
counselors. Participants are matched with a quit coach 
who helps develop a personalized quit plan, provides 

guidance in choosing medicines and give ongoing 
follow-up support. 

1-800-227-2345 (1-800-ACS-2345) 

 

National Cancer 

Institute 

Get information and advice about quitting smoking 
through a confidential online text chat with an 

information specialist from NCI's Cancer Information 
Service - Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 

p.m. Eastern Time at LiveHelp 

1-877-44U-QUIT (1-877-448-7848) 
http://livehelp.gov/smokefree Monday-

Friday 9:00AM-11:00 PM EST 
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Resource Program Description Contact Information 

National Cancer 

Institute 

Get information and advice about quitting smoking 
through a confidential online text chat with an 

information specialist from NCI's Cancer Information 
Service - Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 

p.m. Eastern Time at LiveHelp 

1-877-44U-QUIT (1-877-448-7848) 
http://Livehelp.gov/smokefree Monday-

Friday 9:00AM-11:00 PM EST 

American Lung 
Association: 

Freedom From 
Smoking Online 

Tobacco cessation program that allows caller to chat or 
email the Quitter INYOU program. 

1-800-LUNG-USA 

Nicotine 

Anonymous 

Non-Profit 12 Step Fellowship of volunteers helping 
each other live nicotine-free lives.  Nicotine Anonymous 

welcomes all those seeking freedom from nicotine 
addiction, including those using cessation programs and 

nicotine withdrawal aids.  The primary purpose of 
Nicotine Anonymous is to help all those who would like

to cease using tobacco and nicotine products in any 
form.

http://www.nicotine-anonymous.org 

 

TOTAL PARENTERAL NUTRITION 
Medicaid may reimburse for certain total parental nutritional (TPN) solutions if it is a combination 
of two or more drugs that satisfies the following criteria: 

  At least one drug is covered in the Mississippi Medicaid program, 

  The finished product is not otherwise commercially available, and/or 

  The finished product is being prepared to treat a specific beneficiary’s 
condition. 

Medicaid will not reimburse for those drugs not typically covered in the Mississippi Medicaid 
program as defined in Part 214 Pharmacy Services of the Administrative Code. Therefore, any 
drugs in the combination not covered will not be reimbursed. 

TPN solutions include those used for hyperalimentation, intradialitic parenteral nutrition, and 
intraperitoneal nutrition. Each has specific requirements that must be met for reimbursement. 

HYPERALIMENTATION 

In order for hyperalimentation to be covered through the Mississippi Medicaid Pharmacy 
program, all of the following must apply 
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  Documentation from the prescriber must be clear and precise to verify that 
the patient suffers from a permanently impaired gastrointestinal tract and 
that there is insufficient absorption of nutrients to maintain adequate strength 
and weight. 

  Records must include documentation that the patient cannot be maintained 
on oral or enteral feedings and that due to severe pathology of the alimentary 
tract, the patient must be intravenously infused with nutrients. 

  Infusions must be vital to the nutritional stability of the patient and not 
supplemental to deficient diet. 

  Physical signs, symptoms and test results indicating severe pathology of the 
alimentary tract must be clearly evident in any documentation submitted to 
DOM. 

INTRADIALYTIC PARENTERAL NUTRITION (IDPN) AND INTRAPERITONEAL NUTRITION (IPN) 

IDPN and IPN are methods of administration of certain types of hyperalimentation for dialysis 
treatments. 

These nutritional solutions are not covered for the beneficiary with a functioning gastrointestinal 
tract whose need for parenteral nutrition is only due to, but not limited to the following: 

  A swallowing disorder, 

  A temporary defect in gastric emptying such as a metabolic or electrolyte 
disorder, 

  A psychological disorder, such as depression, impairing food intake, 

  A metabolic disorder inducing anorexia, such as cancer, 

  A physical disorder impairing food intake, such as dyspnea or severe 
pulmonary or cardiac disease, 

  A side effect of a medication, or 

  Renal failure and/or dialysis. 

In order for IDPN or IPN solutions to be covered through the Mississippi Medicaid Pharmacy 
program, all of the following must apply: 

  The prescribing provider must submit clear and precise documentation to 
DOM to verify that the beneficiary suffers from a permanently impaired 
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gastrointestinal tract and that there is insufficient absorption of nutrients to 
maintain adequate strength and weight to sustain life. 

  Records should document that the beneficiary cannot be maintained on 
oral or enteral feedings and that, due to severe pathology of the alimentary 
tract, the patient must be maintained with IDPN or IPN. 

  Infusions must be vital to the nutritional stability of the beneficiary and not 
supplemental to a deficient diet or deficiencies caused by dialysis. 

  Physical signs, symptoms and test results indicating severe pathology of the 
alimentary tract must be clearly evident in the documentation. 

BILLING REQUIREMENTS 

Claims for TPN (hyperalimentation, IDPN, and IPN) solutions must be submitted as follows: 

  The initial claim must include a medical necessity statement from the 
prescribing provider that identifies whether the needed solution is for 
hyperalimentation, IDPN, or IPN and provides information by which DOM 
can determine that the above criteria have been satisfied. 

  Claims are to be billed via the web portal on a paper Mississippi 
Medicaid Pharmacy Claim form and sent to DOM. Please write “TPN” on the 
top of each claim for identification purposes only. 

  Claims are to be billed monthly for up to a 31 day supply. 

  Claims should list the actual NDC number(s) with the corresponding 
quantities of each ingredient used beginning with the most costly ingredient. 

  The provider should bill for the number of milliliters of TPN that was 
dispensed to the beneficiary during the billing period. 

  To receive the compounding fee, enter a C on the claim following the 
NDC for each ingredient. 

  The maximum dispensing fee shall not exceed $30.00 per liter. 

  The quantity for those non-covered NDCs will not be included in the total 
liter quantity to determine the dispensing fee. 

The pharmacist is responsible for maintaining the documentation in the pharmacy file. 
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For dually eligible beneficiaries having both Medicare and Medicaid, Mississippi Medicaid will 
not cover these TPNs if Medicare denies the therapy based on Medicare’s coverage criteria. Such 
claims should not be submitted to DOM. 

UTILIZATION REVIEW 
The Medicaid Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Program promotes patient safety through state- 
administered utilization management tools and systems that interface with the Medicaid 
Management Information systems (MMIS) Medicaid DUR is a two-phase process that is 
conducted by state Medicaid agencies. In the first phase (prospective DUR) the state’s Medicaid 
agency’s electronic monitoring system screens prescription drug claims to identify problems 
such as therapeutic duplication, drug-disease contraindications, incorrect dosage or duration of 
treatment, drug allergy and clinical misuse or abuse. The second phase (retrospective DUR) 
involves ongoing and periodic examination of claims data to identify patterns of fraud, abuse, 
gross overuse, or medically unnecessary care and implements corrective action when needed. 

The pharmacist assumes professional responsibility in dispensing drugs to eligible beneficiaries 
under the Medicaid Program.  He or she may refuse to dispense any prescription that appears to 
be improperly executed or, in his or her professional judgment, is unsafe as presented.  He or she 
may refuse to dispense drugs to known addicts or to persons known to “shop” for physicians or 
pharmacies in an effort to obtain more drugs than one physician would authorize. 

PROSPECTIVE DRUG UTILIZATION REVIEW (PRODUR) 

Prospective Drug Utilization Review (ProDUR) alerts provide for a review of drug therapy at the 
point of sale where each prescription is filled to allow the pharmacist to make sound professional 
judgment decisions concerning any potential drug therapy problems.  The pharmacist may 
override the ProDUR alert, after professional consideration of the information, if an override is 
necessary for the health and well-being of the beneficiary.  All information pertaining to ProDUR 
overrides is retained on file with Medicaid. 

Pharmacists may process claims that contain prospective Pro-DUR message by using standard 
NCPDP DUR outcome and/or intervention codes which can be located on the DOM Payer Sheet 
at http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/billing-manual/.  ProDUR is a function of Medicaid’s 
claims processor. 

RETROSPECTIVE DRUG UTILIZATION REVIEW (DUR) 

Retrospective Drug Utilization Review (DUR) is required in order to identify patterns of abuse, 
misuse, inappropriate and/or medical unnecessary drug care among Medicaid providers or 
beneficiaries.  The focus of drug utilization review is to enhance and improve the quality of drug 
care and beneficiary outcomes by encouraging optimal drug care for MS Medicaid beneficiaries. 

The MS DOM Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board was established in order to comply with 
federal regulations contained in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 (OBRA 90). 
The DUR Board is comprised of twelve members, six practicing physicians and six practicing 
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pharmacists.  Board members are active MS Medicaid providers and in good standing with their 
respective regulatory boards.  Members are gubernatorial appointees, serve three year terms, 
may be reappointed and receive no honorariums. 

The DUR Board meets quarterly to discuss the methods to assure appropriate use of drugs in the 
MS Medicaid beneficiary population and reviews utilization of drugs therapy, and evaluates the 
long term success of the treatments.  The DUR Board meetings are public meetings, conform to 
the MS Public Meetings Act, and the public may attend.  Meeting agendas, minutes and other 
information about the DUR are available on the DOM’s Pharmacy Services’ webpage at 
http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/pharmacy/drug-utilization-review-dur-board/. 

DOM contracts with a third party vendor to assist the agency with the federal mandate of DUR 
retrospective drug review. RDUR is a function of MS-DUR, a faction of the University of 
Mississippi, School of Pharmacy’s Center of Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management. 

VACATION SUPPLY 
DOM does not allow for a vacation supply. 

WEB ADDRESSES 
MS Division of Medicaid http://www.medicaid.ms.gov/ 

GHS, Goold Health Services, PDL and 
supplemental rebate vendor http://www.ghsinc.com/ 

MS-DUR http://www.pharmacy.olemiss.edu/cpmm/msdur.html 

Xerox, formerly ACS, fiscal agent https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/ 

WEB PORTAL CLAIMS ENTRY 
DOM allows certain claims to be submitted for reimbursement through the web portal at 
https://msmedicaid.acs-inc.com/msenvision/index.do. 

  72 hour emergency fill claims 

  Disputed Reimbursement pharmacy claims 

  Regular POS pharmacy claims in emergency situations 

  Retroactive eligibility claims older than 12 months 

  TPN- Total Parenteral Nutrition claims 


