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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State/Territory: Mississippi 

LIENS AND ADJUSTMENTS OR RECOVERIES 

1. The State Division of Medicaid uses the following process for determining 
that an institutionalized individual cannot reasonably be expected to be 
discharged from the medical institution and return home: 

Mississippi does not have a lien law; therefore a determination of when 
an individual can reasonably be expected to be discharged is not 
applicable to this state. 

2. The following criteria are used for establishing that a permanently 
institutionalized individual's son or daughter provided care as specified 
under regulations at 42 CFR §433.36(£): 

The statement of primary care giver, collateral contacts, and/or 
documentation of recipient's medical history may be used to establish 
that a specified person rendered care enabling the recipient to stay at 
home rather than in an institution. 

3. The State Division of Medicaid defines the terms below as follows: 

o estate - any real or personal property owned by the individual in its 
entirety or by shared ownership. 

o individual's home - the recipient's residence prior to 
institutionalization in which he has an ownership interest. 

o equity interest in the home - the money value of property or of an 
interest in that property in excess of any claims or liens against it. 

o residing in the home for at least one or two years on a continuous basis 
- having possessions in that home, receiving mail at that address, 
sharing or paying all of the expenses, having no extended periods of 
absence, having no other place of residence. 

o lawfully residing - being able to use dwelling as principal place of 
residence. · 

4. The State Division of Medicaid defines undue hardship as follows: 

a. the property is the sole income-producing asset of the survivors and such 
income is limited; 

b. an adult relative who is a recognized heir has lived in the home of the 
decedent, depended upon that home for his principal place of residence 
for at least one (1) year prior to the recipient entering the nursing 
facility, has remained in the house continually, either has or has not an 
equity interest in the property, and has given care so that the person 
was kept from entering the nursing facility during the year; 

c. the asset in the estate totals $5,000 or less and there is no prepaid 
burial contract or other money set aside for burial; 

d. the estate is of modest value as defined by the Secretary. 
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5. The following standards and procedures are used by the State Division of 
Medicaid for waiving estate recoveries when recovery would cause an undue 
hardship, and when recovery is not cost-effective: 

The State Division of Medicaid receives notification of death from the 
Medicaid Regional Offices and the MMIS. Research is completed through use 
of the eligibility case file documentation and pertinent legal documents, 
tax receipts, etc. If there is evidence of undue hardship as defined in 
state/federal guidelines, no pursuit is affected. While the state will 
attempt to recover all amounts that are not waived for undue hardship, 
recovery is not deemed cost effective if the amount to be recovered is less 
than $2,000 or the value of the estate is less than 25 percent of the 
recovery amount if attempted recovery will require protracted litigation. 
The findings and conclusions are documented in physical and computer files. 

6. The State Division of Medicaid defines cost-effective as follows: 

While the State Division of Medicaid will attempt to recover all amounts 
that are not waived for undue hardship, recovery is not deemed cost 
effective if the amount to be recovered is less than $2,000 and protracted 
litigation is required to recover, or the value of the estate is less than 
25 percent of the recovery amount making Medicaid's potential recovery less 
than 25 percent of the recovery amount and protracted litigation will be 
required to recover. These thresholds are based on the legal time and 
expense involved in pursuing recoveries through the courts. 

7. The State Division of Medicaid uses the following collection procedures: 

If an estate exists, within 30 days of death date, a letter is mailed to 
survivor indicating the basic law, value of estate, Medicaid's recovery 
amount, dates of service, and explanation of fair hearing. The letter can 
be used by the survivor as a formal request to the Division of Medicaid for 
a fair hearing or to write an undue hardship explanation. If no response is 
received from the survivor within 15 days of the date of the notice, the 
case is referred to the Legal Unit which files in the proper court as a 
creditor of the estate or notifies the survivor in writing of Medicaid's 
recovery amount. If a request for a fair hearing is timely received, the 
hearing date is set within 10 days of receipt of request. The survivor is 
notified of hearing date at least 10 days prior to the date. The time for 
hearing may be extended if survivor has good cause; i.e., illness, failure 
to receive notice timely, being out of the state, or any other reasonable 
explanation. If good cause for filing a timely request is shown, a hearing 
request will be accepted. After the hearing occurs, the hearing officer 
forwards a transcript with recommended action to the Executive Director for 
a final decision. The Executive Director renders a decision which is sent 
to the survivor in writing. The survivor is entitled to seek judicial 
review in the court of proper jurisdiction. The Division of Medicaid must 
take final administrative action on a hearing within 90 days from the date 
of the hearing request. Hearing procedures have been promulgated and are 
available to the survivor upon request for a hearing. 
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